Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.addr.com
Addr General Information
  Addr is providing Linux web hosting services, has been founded in 1997 and now it's years in business.

addr.com average uptime is 99.994% (rank #837 on our directory) with total 88185 successful and 5 failed checks, monitored since 2005-11-19. Similar companies with 99.994% uptime are and ihubnet.com.

Search for "addr.com" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 447333 results so company name popularity rank is #23.

There have been 164 positive votes for Addr and 1052 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #2135 (similar companies are hq-host.com and xtreme-host.com)

Web Hosting Packages
  Basic (Type: Linux) - 1000 MB space, 40 GB bandwidth for $7.95/mo

Silver (Type: Linux) - 3000 MB space, 60 GB bandwidth for $9.95/mo

Gold (Type: Linux) - 5000 MB space, 80 GB bandwidth for $14.95/mo

Some technical data about addr.com
  IP Location: Performance Systems International Inc
Blacklist Status: Clear
Nameserver: NS.ADDR.COM NS2.ADDR.COM
Server Type: Apache/1.3.27 (Unix) mod_perl/1.27 PHP/4.2.3 mod_fastcgi/2.2.12 FrontPage/5.0.2.2510 mod_jk/1.2.0 mod_ssl/2.8.11 OpenSSL/0.9.6g
Website Title: [ ADDR.com: Web Hosting, Web Design, Domain Name Registration, eCommerce ]
Description: ADDR.com offers professional web hosting and web design services. Known for excellent 24/7 technical support, reliable services, and affordable pricing

Back to "A" directory


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
ALex, 16th 2011 August, 2011
I use to work for ADDR back in 1999. Let me tell you. The staff, teenagers that want to learn about IT. No one is a professional IT specialist. Servers, back in 1999 Intel P3, 4Gig RAM, OS FreeBSD, and 1000 users per server. ADDR is making money by ripping people of. The two owners use to tell us look over the old accounts and charge them all. DO NOT use ADDR. You will regret it.
Nancy, 10th 2011 June, 2011
Where is ADDR.com? This is June 10th - I have no email service and all the phone numbers are busy, or disconnected. What should I do? My entire business is on my computer, and I can't send or receive for 48 hours now. How can I find out what happened?
Thanks for any help.
Sualia Jrani, 28th 2011 May, 2011
ADDR.com is trying to bill me for years of service. I cancelled my account 5 years ago. I got an email saying my credit card is no longer valid and I need to update card info and that I owe $740!

I've been trying to get this cleared up with them for 2 weeks now, but all they keep saying is that I need to give them a valid credit card for billing!

TOTAL ASSHOLES!
cvs murthy, 09th 2011 May, 2011
very poor thinking on emploees thy closed in bangalore but not paying the PF of employees
Lewis, 18th 2011 April, 2011
I've been with ADDR for ten years and they just shut my site down for no reason even though I paid for hosting through December.

Most of their phone numbers are disconnected, and I keep getting a call center in India that refuse to put me though to billing or tech support.


Stay away from these people.
Kevin, 30th 2011 March, 2011
Worst hosting experience ever.
Steve Bradley's Nightmare, 18th 2011 March, 2011
Their security is terrible; my site was thoroughly hacked. My content was wiped out and replaced with hundreds of folders and sub-folders of hacker material.

ADDR put my account on hold. They never notified me. It took me 6 weeks to find out my site was offline. They canceled the hold on the site, and told me to clean up. But I could NOT - the hackers had changed the permission such that I could not delete their files, and accessing the File Manager through the Cpanel gave system errors.

They would not
(1) restore my content from backup
(2) delete the hacker's files
(3) refund me the 8 months of unused hosting fees when I decided to ditch them.
Jon, 10th 2010 August, 2010
addr is a DISASTER, stay away. Today was the last straw -- their email has been down for most of the DAY, their chat help is off line, their tech support phone number is so behind that the mailbox is full and not accepting messages....the absolute worst. Do yourself a favor and go with a more reputable ISP.
Ernie, 07th 2009 December, 2009
Scumbags... unscrupulous scumbags... tried to send bill YEARS AND YEARS after account was closed.
Illegally used my copyrighted artwork to keep the front page up at another webaddress to try to keep billing me.
had to file bankruptcy to get them off my back nothing else worked.
Ernie, 07th 2009 December, 2009
I hosted with ADDR.COM for one year, found their service to be mediocre at best and cancelled my account. Moved to another hosting company that was local- and by local, I mean the people actually spoke english and didn't pretend their names were "Johnny Johnson" and "John Smith" etc...

After about six years of not using their service I received a bill for .. I believe it was $700 plus dollars. I got emails to the executives and billing and sent them all a letter , they agreed to knock off all of the other charges and just charge me for a year. And IF i'd pay the year, they'd agree to cancel my account. (What???)
Until then charges would continue to accrue. I finally got them to admit the account was closed, they closed it after I went looking for it and saw that they were using MY ARTWORK to keep a pseudo account published so that they couyld continue charging fees. It was a screen splah of the first page of my old web site. again... MY ARTWORK.
Anyway... the only way I was ever able to resolve this (STILL ONGOING ACTUALLY) was to file bankruptcy on their account. Being layed-off for six months, I had to do this anyway and adding them was a bonus to be sure...
My opinion is to avoid these morons like the plague
Nick, 19th 2009 September, 2009
I received an email from addr.com and a phone call to my parents home stating that I had an account balance since 2003. In 2003 I was 15 years old and didnt have a bank account or credit card. Im not sure how they even got my info considering I dont ever remember signing up for anything on their site. WTF
Can't Believe It, 20th 2009 August, 2009
Well, yesterday I got a phone call from these people. I cancelled my account with them 6 YEARS AGO! I have received emails over the years but this is the first phone call. Why? Why are they still in business? It amazes me that people are so corrupt.
Garry, 10th 2009 August, 2009
Aside from their appalling service and practices, they are a rip-off
Google the best hosting sites - addr have nothing to offer. I'm at a loss to understand why they are even still in business
Linda, 10th 2009 August, 2009
I was with them for 10 years without too many issues, then I wanted to host another domain on my account, they asked for the details, put the domain on there then took extra money off my credit card without my permission, then refused to refund it. I closed my account online, sent them emails closing my account and they ignored all of them and kept taking from my credit card. Unbelievable. Dont go near these thieves! I cant believe they havent been shut down yet
sandra, 27th 2009 June, 2009
I just got an email too, saying i owe 793.00. the funny thing is, i was under ago when i signed up for this accnt, i never even gave them a cc # or anything else, they dont even have my real name. and they say they are sending a collections agency after me, im in canada.. good luck.. but i never signed up for a actual pay accnt, i just signed up to the website.. funny.. it was like 6 years ago or more
jenny, 26th 2009 June, 2009
ADDR just billed me hundreds of dollars for an account I cancelled years ago. I'm going to report them to BB and the FTC.
Alicia W., 18th 2009 June, 2009
If you are thinking of signing up for web hosting with addr.com, think again!

Their service is so so. Nothing special, and with some issues such as slow page loads, mysql downtime is very common, and their email service is useless.

I used them back in 2006 for almost 10 months before I canceled and moved on. Yes, I have all of the emails confirming my cancellation. However, I've just received a bill for over $400! I've been trying to resolve this issue with them since Monday (4 days ago) but the issue is still not resolved. These people are complete morons and thieves.

I would have probably not caught it on my credit card bill if addr.com hadn't contacted me stating that my card had expired and I needed to provide them with updated info.

I called my credit card company and had them cancel my current card and reissue a new card. There is no way addr.com will ever bill me.

If you are a former customer of this ripoff company I would suggest you do the same.
Randy, 31st 2009 May, 2009
It is really time for a class action law suit against ADDR.COM They have apparently dug up some old account records and are now claiming people owe them hundreds of dollars for service not provided (accept some old web page they have maintained on thier own machine)
justice, 19th 2009 April, 2009
I think anybody that has been wronged by addr.com should go to this url & make account then put url link back to this page.http://www.aboutus.org/Special/wiki/edit?section=6&title=Addr.com
S/E, 16th 2009 April, 2009
Big Scam. Avoid ADDR.com. Like many of you they tried get me to pay for services that I no longer used. They even threatened to get a collection agency.

Their billing practices is very undesirable.
Bob K., 12th 2009 April, 2009
WTF! Addr keeps sending me emails saying that my domain name has the wrong DNS info and is not pointing to their server! I cancelled my account in 2001! Are these people really this big of an asshole?!
K., 11th 2009 April, 2009
I had two accounts which i cancelled about 4.5 years ago. Within a year or so they sent me a new bill saying my credit card number was expired. I explained I had already cancelled the year before. They said put it in writing. I sent them an email. Every now and then they send me either a notice that my credit card needs to be up dated or a new bill with another years service fees. I contacted them again in April 09 and now they say to go to the website and fill out the cancellation form and that I still owe them. They are claiming the websites are up, but I i verified years ago that they were no longer active. Please let me know where all you have filed complaints as I want to file them in all the same places that others have.
Tashia, 21st 2009 March, 2009
Over a year ago I noticed that this domain hosting website had began charging me ridiculous amounts of fees, so I called and spoke to a customer representative about cancelling my account with them. I was told that my account was closed as of that phone call. It has been approximately eight or nine months since then, and this company just sent me another email acting as though my account has been active all along and telling me that I owe them this enormous debt. My current debt with them is now up to $666.65 according to them. This is a company that was initially supposed to cost $7.95 per month. How crazy is that? Thankfully the credit card I had with them has expired, so they're not debiting my money anymore like they did for some of you poor people. I'm going to ftc.gov to file a formal complaint!
Mike Byron, 19th 2009 March, 2009
Like many posters here and elsewhere on the web, I recieved a threatening e-mail for them yesterday (3/18/09) demanding over $1,000.00 for an account I closed in 2002. I had heard nothing subsequent to that from these creeps until I recieved a demand for more than $900.00 in 2008. I replied to them that thier missive appeared to be spam & therfore do not correspond further.
These criminals clearly need to be closed down.
Mary T, 11th 2009 February, 2009
Addr.com stole over $400 from me a couple of months ago when they billed my credit card for an account I had back in 2004. I was only with them for less than a month when I realized how bad their service was and I canceled my account per their 30 day satisfaction guarantee. Sad to say that I did not actually receive a refund but after a dozen emails and many phone calls I did get a cancellation notification. At that time I was so pissed at them I just took my loss and moved on. Then, back in November 2008 I saw a $437 bill on my credit card from Addr.com. Dozens of phone calls and emails back and forth I was not getting anywhere with them so I filed a complaint with my credit card company who did a full refund on all charges. It took 2 months but I got all of my money back. My credit card company reported that Addr.com failed to respond to the false charges and it is the credit cards policy to refund 100% of the money in those cases. The lack of response on Addr.com's behalf just goes to show that they know they are stealing money. I call them everyday, sometimes many time a day at 1-877-ADDR.COM just to remind them how much they suck. I suggest everyone does the same.
Harris, 08th 2009 February, 2009
I did file an FTC complaint against them. I am going to do as much as I can to stop them. I suggest everyone else do the same and post their solutions so they are reinforced with as much attention as possible until they are stopped.
Harris, 08th 2009 February, 2009
They are still at it. Scumbags are trying to bilk me out of over $500 on an account that was closed around 10 years ago. Glad they didn't have my current CC#'s. They need to be shut down. I am more than happy to join a class action suit or start a petition to send to authorities. If anybody has a solution on how to cause them a bit of grief over what they are doing, post it.
Toni Weel, 13th 2009 January, 2009
Last year June 2008, after I closed my account with Addr.com 8 years ago, they sent me an invoice for $537.30. I called and they told me I should cancel the account in writing, which was already done in 2000, so i didn't do it again. They kept sending the same invoice over and over. I told them to stop their harassment and their fraudulent invoices. I had not heard anything till today. This time it's an invoice for $644.76 and I'm told that if I don't pay they will interrupt their service. I haven't had any service for 8 years! They also said that they started collection procedures because I never responded.
I think I will start procedures for harassment.
How can we stop them from sending their fraudulent invoices??
Anonymous, 15th 2008 December, 2008
Yup. They billed my credit card for almost $500 a couple of months ago. I cancelled my services with addr 2 years ago. Even 2 years of service didn't total the credit card charges. Total BS. I called my credit card company and they did a full refund. Good idea about cancelling the credit card and having another one issued. I will do this. This will prevent these theives from stealing my money.
BillyBob, 14th 2008 December, 2008
Count me as another ex-addr.com customer that is getting harassed for payment on an account that was closed several years ago. Luckily, the CC they have is no longer valid, so they have not been able to actually make any bonus charges. Today I got a phone message from a guy with an Indian accent with the same old story - "the card is expired, login and update it, yadda-yadda". I have replied to several of their emails telling them the account was closed long ago and I owe them nothing. Now that they have tried to telephone me, that's it - I'm going dark on them.
kyle, 14th 2008 December, 2008
ticked off, wrote "I'm in this category too. Addr is trying to collect after 4 years of inactivity,no bills, contact or correspondence of any kind. If we don't pay, what can they do to our credit score?"

If ADDR doesn't have you SSN then they can't do anything about collection or report you to credit collections.

MBH, 12th 2008 December, 2008
I think ADDR is trying to scam us, this just isn't right. I have contacted the Federal Frade Commission wiith a formal complaint. perhaps you should too. visit, http://www.ftc.gov/index.shtml
ticked off, 12th 2008 December, 2008
I'm in this category too. Addr is trying to collect after 4 years of inactivity,no bills, contact or correspondence of any kind. If we don't pay, what can they do to our credit score?
Paula, 15th 2008 November, 2008
I guess I am joining this group. Suddenly I get an email after four or five years from addr.com that I owe them over 500 dollars. I have web hosting another place but I started with Addr.com and paid for one year only. That was 4 or 5 years ago. Suddenly I owe over 500 dollars? How can this be? They're idiots if they think I'm falling for this. It's just a big scam. I got no emails from them until now. GoDaddy.com sends emails each year when it's time to renew. Addr.com is practicing fraud.
robert, 06th 2008 October, 2008
addr.com has been trying to hijack my domain name! i used to be a addr customer two years ago but moved to godaddy and transferred my domain registration there too. over the past week addr has attempted to change the nameserver information on my domains to match their nameservers! what assholes!
Tom, 05th 2008 October, 2008
I can sum up my web hosting experience with addr in 3 words....

POOR....POOR....POOR

Nothing but a big headache.
kyle, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
Kate wrote, "Any suggestions on what to do?"

Hi Kate. Sorry to hear about your issues with ADDR.com.

My advice is simply to just ignore them. They can't do anything to you as far as collection goes. I'm guessing that they don't have your credit card info. If so, good. If they do, contact your CC company and cancel the card and have them reissue you another card with a different account number.

If ADDR.com has your email address just change your email address. It's a small price to pay.
Kate, 01st 2008 October, 2008
I'm so glad I found this website. I've been on the phone with these people all freakin day trying to resolve something. My story is pretty much like everyone else's. I suddenly got a bill for over $500 about two months ago. I addressed it immediately (of course) and they said they've been sending me invoices and emails for the past 5 years on an account I didn't even know was still open.

I'm at a loss at this point. They don't offer 'customer' service, AT ALL. They just have robots that constantly repeat the same thing, over and over again.

I said I just wanted to resolve the issue and close my account, and it's as if they don't hear me. They just say, 'pay your balance', I've never heard anything like it!!

Any suggestions on what to do?
PJ, 22nd 2008 September, 2008
UPDATE: Well, its been 5 days since I requested my account be closed and refunded per their 30 day guarantee. They replied today via email.

Addr.com replied that they will refund the extra charges on my credit card less one year of hosting. I called them on the phone and told them that this is unacceptable as I want to cancel my account and I want 100% of my money refunded as I've already moved to another host. They refused.

Bottom line, Addr.com stole my money and I'm sure that I'm not the only one.

Their statements on their website about any guarantees or service statements are pure bullshit. The testimonials are also bogus.

Addr.com is nothing but a scam business.
Jackie, 19th 2008 September, 2008
Hi, I recently received an email saying i owed $720 on my account, which I closed (or assumed I'd closed) 4 years ago!. They say they won't cancel my account until I pay up. I told them I did email to cancel and I will not be paying. Why did it take them so long to tell me about it if I still had an account with them?. Hm. I'm still waiting for a response. Luckily they don't have a current credit card on their records.
I've taken legal advice and I've been told if you've emailed to cancel your account and have changed companies, they cannot take money from you. There's also legal action you can threaten them with, including taking legal action for harassement under the protection from harassement Act. I'll certainly be mentioning that if they bother me again.
PJ, 17th 2008 September, 2008
I signed up 2 weeks ago for basic hosting for a one year period. They charged my credit card $382.20! I've called them on the phone several times to get this resolved and so far they won't. I just got off the phone with them insisting that my account be closed and all of my money be returned per their 30 day money back guarantee. The guy on the phone said that they need to turn it over to an account specialist for review. I can't wait to see their response!

STAY AWAY FROM THESE LOSERS!
Susan, 16th 2008 September, 2008
Why can't you speak to an American at addr.com? The photo on their website shows at least 50 white Americans that I'm assuming are employees. Where are these people when you call? I always get some Indian speaking fool that can't understand a simple thing!
kyle, 14th 2008 September, 2008
Joe wrote,
"They dnt have any good communication.... peoples are unable to understand my call..."

Call them up and ask to speak to an American and see their reply. Very funny!
Joe, 11th 2008 September, 2008
They dnt have any good communication.... peoples are unable to understand my call... below the gift for Billing department..and ADDR peoples
..............//)
............/....//
.........../....//
.....//..../\
.././.../..../..../.|
(.(....(....(..../.)..)
.\................\/.../
..\................. /
....\..............(
......\.............\
Mike R., 11th 2008 September, 2008
Technically poor standard coding of ADDR.com. They dont have any proper QA for web sites...
mark r., 10th 2008 September, 2008
sorry to report that i'm the latest victim. they charged my credit card $431.67 for hosting and i haven't been a customer since 2002. and, yes, i did cancel my account properly. i called them yesterday and they told me they will review the information with an account speciallist and they will get back to me. after reading the reports here i already know what they're response is going to be. i've already reported the theft to my credit card company.
kyle, 08th 2008 September, 2008
steve, wrote,
Has ADDR tried to report anyone here to a collections agency?

Don't worry about it Steve. You did not give them you SS when you signed up, therefore, they cannot utilize a collection company to collect bogus charges.

Just change your email address to stop the harassment from this BS company. Its a small price to pay.

Also, be sure to cancel any CC you've used with ADDR.com and have your CC issue you a new card.

steve, 02nd 2008 September, 2008
Has ADDR tried to report anyone here to a collections agency? I cancelled my account years ago, they are still sending me invoices, and they are threatening to take me to collections on the amount I "owe" to them, even though I dont owe them anything as I closed my account.
Juan Enrique, 01st 2008 September, 2008
This guys sent me an email that said I owe them 670 dllrs from a site I got for free in the 2003. Nobody gives a service with out a credit card or a payment in advance.
Ryan K., 29th 2008 August, 2008
I switched to addr.com web hosting last month. Since then my mysql database has been down more that up. My sales have dropped off over 60% and my customer complaints have increased by over 400% due to unresponsive website and lack of email response which I've never received the original email from the customers! I call addr.com tech support almost everyday with issues. Very, very poor! I'm out of here!
Jack O., 23rd 2008 August, 2008
I googled addr.com hosting review and found this page along with several other review sites which pretty much had the same types of complaints about addr. I am so happy that I searched! Thanks for the info. Saved me!
Goofy Lady, 23rd 2008 August, 2008
I LOVE ADDR.COM! But, then again, I'm a moron!
Another Dissatisfied Customer, 03rd 2008 August, 2008
How in the heck do these guys have a "satisfactory" rating from the San Jose BBB?!

http://sanjose.bbb.org/WWWRoot/Report.aspx?site=68&bbb=1216&firm=207055

They only became accredited in 4/2007 though. Something isn't adding up.

They do get a D- from Denver though:

http://denver.bbb.org/WWWRoot/Report.aspx?site=33&bbb=0885&firm=34000167

Strangely enough, they only show 1 complaint though...either alot of people aren't really filing compaints, or the BBB really isn't keeping up to date with this.
Jeremy, 03rd 2008 August, 2008
Well...add me to the list of people who got an email from out of the blue, proclaiming that I owe them a considerable sum of cash. They tell me I owe almost $750 for an account that was closed years ago...they don't have my current credit card number, and they don't have my social security number.

I already tried talking to some Indian guy on their billing line...he wasn't able to do pretty much anything but tell me how to cancel it. I did that, with some notes about the account having already been closed years ago. I'm going to filing the BBB complaints in California and Colorado, and telling these guys where to go.

It's funny though...I only even saw this email because I checked my spam folder for some reason. Apparently, so much spam must come from there that they are blacklisted on quite a few email services. They have a track record of being hacked...when I changed away from their service all of those years ago, the amount of spam that I received went down by about 99%...I am not even exaggerating.

I hope someone manages to get addr.com shut down sometime...I don't think they behave legally...let alone ethically.
Toni, 30th 2008 July, 2008
About 9 years ago I had an account for 3 websites with ADDR.com for about 1.5 yr. Nothing but problems back then also, it was always one thing after another. I finally cancelled and the accounts were closed.

That should be the end of it, but to my surprise, about a month ago, I received an invoice for almost $1000. They weren't able to charge my credit card and that I should login and give them different credit card.

Being pretty upset by this I called and after several times trying to get ahold of someone I actually spoke with customer service. Of course he couldn't do anything. I was told to login to my account (DUH!) and cancel. Yeah right...
I told him "not a chance" and that I wanted to receive a confirmation that it was cancelled 7 years !!! ago.
I was told I had to send an email about that, which I did. I took them 4 weeks to respond. In the meantime I received daily reminders for at least a week, but today I actually received a response to my complaint. It was short: the accounts were still open, plus again...an invoice.

They even went as far as sending me 'proof' that I still had an account there... mydomain.addr.com.
They either fabricated that on the spot, or someone 7 years ago made a mistake by not cancelling it.
They also claimed that they had sent me frequent reminders all these 7 years... NOT!
Then they said they never closed an account for non-payment. The bill just accumulates...

Don't believe that these problems occur because the system was hacked. I talked to customer server, I received an email that is clearly from ADDR.com.

Apparently, the company was sold and now they're going over old, old databases to see where they can get some money from.

Well, it won't be me!

All I can advise is to find a reliable webhost, who is US based, with US based servers, who has 24/7 LIVE support by someone who actually speaks English, an 800 number that is not forwarded to anywhere outside the US.

Needless to say I urged ADDR.com to stop harassing me with their fraudulent and fake invoices.
I also emailed them the link to this website, because I think we should not only inform the BBB, but also every forum, bulletin board and blog we can find to report them.

Here are their details:
ADDR.com Billing
1608 W. Campbell Ave.
Suite 368
Campbell, CA 95008
USA

Bill Harris
ADDR.com Billing (24/7 availability)
billing@addr.com
http://www.addr.com
Toll Free : 1-877-ADDR-COM
International : (408) 938-0698
Fax : (408) 516-9488
Chat : http://chatwith.addr.com
Bob, 19th 2008 July, 2008
Funny, when you call tech support they using forwarding calls to India, each customer support person have an American name, they mostly using "celebrities" like;> hi my name is james cagney, how can I help you< cool but with an Indian accent, also there are many more: Robert Henry, Mel Gibson, etc, it is fun for them to fool us I guess
anna, 19th 2008 July, 2008
YES THEY ARE IN INDIA, COLLECTING OUR SENSITIVE INFO, THE WEBSITE ADDR.COM WAS PURCHASSED BY SOME PEOPLE FROM INDIA, DON'T TRUST THE PICTURE IT IS A FAKE, THERE ARE NO AMERICAN EMPLOYEES AT ALL, I WROTE TO BBB AND A FRIEND TO LAW ENFORCEMENT, THEY RIPPING OFF PEOPLE.
Jules R. , 16th 2008 July, 2008
anna wrote:
Did you know that they are actually located in India, they are NOT in the USA. They only renting the equipment in the USA.
It could be a serious privacy issue...



Funny. The picture of their employees on their website look like they are all white Americans. Obviuosly a fake picture.
Jules R., 16th 2008 July, 2008
If there are any ADDR customers here that use MySQL do you have any issues? I joined ADDR last month and my basic html pages load OK but a little slow at times, however, my MySQL pages often time out with a MySQL error. I'd say 50 to 70% downtime!

I've place several support tickets which were addressed very slowly and all tickets were closed with "no issues found"! Huh!?

I wish I found this site prior to ordering their web hosting service. Oh well, time to move on. I'm not even going to give them the curtosy of cancelling my accout. My domain is registered elsewhere and I ordered the hosting with a temporary CC number issued by my bank.

Good luck to ADDR! What a bunch of morons!
anna, 13th 2008 July, 2008
Did you know that they are actually located in India, they are NOT in the USA. They only renting the equipment in the USA.
It could be a serious privacy issue...
Anna
Kevin, 10th 2008 July, 2008
I urge anyone that cancels with addr.com to also cancel the credit card they have on file. They charged my card a over $1500.00 dollars a year after I quit using them. Today several years later I received emails telling me I owed them money for domains I do not even own anymore. I cannot believe these crooks are not in jail.
CA, 09th 2008 July, 2008
Just got billing $1000+ email after ~8 years of canceling their service for all the reasons below.
I really wonder for how long you can officialy still peoples money here in US and they seems to be doing well and no one even try to shut them down???
CHERYL K., 04th 2008 July, 2008
BASIC WEB HOSTING OK. MOST EMAILS DON'T GET THROUGH. I'VE CALLED TECH SUPPORT WITH THE EMAIL ISSUES SEVERAL TIMES BUT WITH NO RESOLUTION. I DON'T KNOW WHAT BLACKLIST MEAN FOR EMAIL.
J.T., 01st 2008 July, 2008
H. Cain wrote: Be sure and Contact The BBB. The more complaints you register the faster we can shut these scammers down.

ADDR.com does not respond to BBB complaints so the BBB can only post a negative rating on them.

ADDR.com also does not respond to credit card company inquiries so if you complain to your CC company you will get 100% of your money back because without a response from ADDR.com the CC company must return the money.
H. Cain, 24th 2008 June, 2008
Be sure and Contact The BBB. The more complaints you register the faster we can shut these scammers down.
H. Cain, 24th 2008 June, 2008
I too had cancelled my Addr account and after a few years they are trying to collect $403 dollars from me for nothing. Screw them and thier illegal billling fruad. Just cancel your CC card and report them to the BBB.
WTF!?, 02nd 2008 June, 2008
I had an addr.com web hosting account 3 years ago and canceled it due to one issue after another. I only had the account for 2 week before I cancelled it. Now I got an email from addr.com saying that my name servers in my dns records aren't correct because they don't list their name servers! I haven't been there for 3 years! What are these people doing!? Are they really this stupid?
Richard June, 25th 2008 May, 2008
My site stopped responding last Wednesday. Multiple calls to tech support resulted in no satisfaction or resolution to the problem. Addr said that my database got corrupted. I asked if the database could be restored and they told me that they do not have a current backup! Their last backup was in February which was 4 months ago! WHAT!?

I back up my site and database weekly. I thought this was a safe move on my part as I thought that my web host had daily backups as they advertise! BULLSHIT!

Addr.com is total incompetence.
Diane Riley, 15th 2008 May, 2008
UPDATE: I've switch my hosting over to GoDaddy. The whole process which included ordering the hosting package, confirmation, account setup, uploading my html files, creating database, importing saved database, and setting up my email accounts took approx 4 hours.

I did have to call GoDaddy's tech support on the phone for a problem that turned out to be quite simple and just a misunderstanding on my part. I was on hold for about 5 minutes but I was professionally greeted by a knowledgeable tech support person who quickly answered my question. Wow! What a difference over the morons at addr.com!

I wish I didn't have to go through the aggravation with addr.com. Oh well, lesson learned. Time to move on.
Diane Riley, 13th 2008 May, 2008
I signed up 3 weeks ago and my site still isn't running. They have serious issues with their database. I called tech support and it appears that they don't offer support for database integration.

I wish I did my homework on this crap company before I ordered their services.

Disgusted in Ohio, 10th 2008 May, 2008
I can't believe that this company has been around for so many years. How do they make a profit? Their service sucks and there technical support is a joke. I've had a support ticket opened for 3 weeks and its still not resolved. Everytime I call I get placed on hold and they never pick back up. I was on hold today for over 3 hours. I wish I saw these reviews before I signed up with them. I did use a credit card so I'll have to watch my statements carefully becuase I'm certainly not going to continue hosting my site with these idiots.
brian, 23rd 2008 April, 2008
ADDR.com's billing practices are not an isolated issue. They routinely double bill accounts and bill closed accounts just as long as the CC used to order the account is still valid.

Any good CC company will remove the false charges. The CC will file a dispute with ADDR, but, ADDR will not respond as they know that they have stolen the $$$.

For former ADDR.com customers, the only way to fully protect yourself is to cancel the CC that you've used to order hosting. Just contact your CC company and ask them to cancel your card and have another card issued. ADDR.com will attempt to make contact with you once they attempt to charge your card. They will even threaten you with collection and reporting bad credit. Not too worry as ADDR.com does not have this ability. These are merely scare tactics. Just laugh at them.

Remember, if you've been scammed by false charges by ADDR.com you must report this to your CC company! They will remove the charges.
dave, 23rd 2008 April, 2008
so I had the same thing happen with these basta*ds , I had 2 accounts in 2001-2 one that i closed and the other that was up to date, i got a message from them that my current accounts credit card on file was expired, without thinking, cause I had no idea about the other account I gave them my credit info, the next thing that happened was my credit card was charge over $850 for an account that hasn't been touched in 5 years, I disputed with my credit card and it took a while to get it straight but they never responded to their enquiry, so BEWARE of this comapny!!! seriously they are trying to get money for nothing, maybe a new buisness plan of theirs is to steal money, it must work or they would'nt do it. There are much cheaper hosting companies out there so they must be getting nervous or going under and trying to get what can from people, just don't trust them, I reported them to the better buisness bureau, but that didnt do anything, just remember to tell your friends not to use them, and if people do, cancel your credit cards as stolen, and if you signed up a depit card oh no!
Newar, 22nd 2008 April, 2008
I was referred to the addr.com to work as their content researcher from home. I slugged for almost a month, day and night and got their work done on time. But they turned out to be thieves and crooks as I've never received any payment yet. On contacting them thereafter a couple number of times they never replied back. Get this news abroad and protect innocent people from getting trapped by them.
Laurie, 17th 2008 April, 2008
They suck! No one there speaks audible English nor do they understand plain English. Have been billing me for months for a domain that I don't even have!!!
Don't waste your time, 09th 2008 April, 2008
Don't waste your time with addr.com web hosting. Service is so so. Email service with the addr.com hosting account is useless. Most emails don't get through. Tech support is non-existent.
jerome, 03rd 2008 April, 2008
to jenniffer who says "good hosting so far":

good luck with your hosting! i hope that you never have problems. you won't get a satisfied resolution. also, do you know that if you use your addr.com email service that you are blacklisted from 80% or more isps?

also, if you cancel your account with addr i hope that you didn't use a credit card that they can automatically bill because they will just keep billing you until you cancel your credit card.

like i said, good luck!
jerome, 03rd 2008 April, 2008
just to reaffirm what Ike says about not trusting this company with your credit card!

they billed me for 3 years of service 4 years after i cancelled my account! no refund. when i complained they said that they would talk to their billing manager. a day later i got an email saying my request for a refund was denied. no other reason. yes, i did cancel my account and i have proof.

i had to file a complaint with my credit card company. the cc company did take the charges off. the cc company said that addr.com did not respond to the dispute so it was the cc policy to remove the charge.

addr.com are nothing but thieves. the people who work for addr can't be very happy people knowing that they earn their living from stealing from people.
jenniffer, 02nd 2008 April, 2008
good hosting so far
Ike, 29th 2008 March, 2008
Don't trust this company with your credit card! Company is slow to honor your cancellation. I got nailed for a whole years worth of hosting because they didn't cancel my account, then refused a refund. They offered to apply it to a new account for us. I had several accounts through them over the years and this happened twice. Kinda like what AOL used to do, continue charging your card after canceling. Service is so-so.
Big Dog, 26th 2008 March, 2008
I closed out my hosting account a couple of months ago and now these morons are trying to make changes to my domain name records! Are these people really this stupid!?
Sue, 13th 2008 February, 2008
Mack, ADDR was hacked years ago. New customers are being scammed and false CC charges have been charged. I know I never got my money back after they charged my credit card for 4 years of non-use after I closed my account. ADDR didn't dispute that they charged my credit card. They said that I never closed my account but I have all of the info that I emailed and faxed to them.
Mack, 12th 2008 February, 2008
I worked for Addr.com and everything that has been said here was true when I last worked for them when they were HACKED and the credit card database was stolen.
Steve Y., 10th 2008 February, 2008
I've been trying to deal with Addr for the last 4 days trying to request a refund for fraudulent charges to my credit card. It doesn't appear that they care. No customer satisfaction.

I've just cancelled my credit card and filed a complaint. Lets see these assholes charge me now!

If Addr people check these reviews this is for you
..............//)
............/....//
.........../....//
.....//..../\
.././.../..../..../.|
(.(....(....(..../.)..)
.\................\/.../
..\................. /
....\..............(
......\.............\
frank, 09th 2008 February, 2008
i've got good news! no, i didn't just save a ton of money on my car insurance....but, i did add addr.com to my email spam filter! now, no more stupid emails from addr billing trying to collect for an account i closed in 2002!
D.M., 01st 2008 February, 2008
Denise, don't worry about ADDR. They can't do anything to you to collect. It's not your fault. ADDR are thieves and they just intimidate. That's all they can do.

If they don't have your CC# then just ignore them.
Denise, 28th 2008 January, 2008
Well, I received a short e-mail with previous payment information and that I owe them since 05. Where can you find the terms and agreements of web hosting? Of course, I can't find anything on their website.

http://www.addr.com/help/show.cgi?howtos-close_account.htm

Where is the usage policy that they refer to? We didn't provide a SS# or CC# and paid by check.
J.T., 27th 2008 January, 2008
Herb York wrote, "I LOVE addr.com! But, then again, I'm a moron too!"

Yeah Herb, you sound like a real moron!
Herb York, 25th 2008 January, 2008
I LOVE addr.com! But, then again, I'm a moron too!
D.M., 25th 2008 January, 2008
Denise, if you didn't provide them with your SSN then they can't report you to a credit bureau.

I used a temporary CC# issued by my CC company to sign up for ADDR hosting. After a couple of months I closed my account and moved to a better host. That wasn't too big a deal....there aren't many more hosting companies out there worst than ADDR! ;)

Three years later I started to receive emails from ADDR saying that my CC rejected my renewal charges. I responded with all of my email and fax correspondence where I closed my account with ADDR. It was funny watching them trying to collect. I played with them for a while before I just added their domain to my spam filter. Now, any emails from ADDR go right to trash....where they belong.
Denise, 24th 2008 January, 2008
We are the the same situation with the billing. No notice of any charges for the past two years after cancellation and now all of a sudden we owe over $300. This is obviously the only way they can make money. They will not provide an itemized listing of the charges but continue to ask for payment even after constant requests. Can they really expect me to pay the amount they say is due without even understanding what the charges are. Do they report it to the credit bureau's? If so, maybe I need to send a communication to them also?
kar, 19th 2008 January, 2008
ordered basic account last week. ftp times out constantly. i can't upload my files! calls to support are like talking to my dog. two thumbs down for addr!
yasi, 10th 2008 January, 2008
i signed up back in 11/07 and things went bad from the start. within a month i had over a dozen service tickets which most went unanswered and unsolved. now i'm with godaddy.
James F., 03rd 2008 January, 2008
I'm a former customer of ADDR. Their hosting was extremely bad. Too many issues and no communications.

I cancelled my account 2 years ago and today I get an email from my domain name registrar that ADDR attempted to edit the DNS info on my domain!!!! WTF!? Are these people really this stupid!?
anonymous, 01st 2008 January, 2008
thanks for the heads up about the deceptive billing practices with addr.com. saved me a big headache!
KT, 31st 2008 December, 2007
ADDR email servers have been blacklisted. If you use their email service with your hosting account chances are your email won't be getting through. Several calls to tech support has resulted me just sitting on the phone. It doesn't appear that they are too interested in this problem. They are interested in making sure my contact and billing information is correct.
Mike, 31st 2008 December, 2007
Cheryl, you won't be getting a credit. Sorry. The best thing you can do is report it to your CC company and have them reissue you another card so ADDR.com can't bill you again. They will try and they will contact you but at least they won't be able to automatically bill you. You may also want to change your email address that you've used to order services from ADDR.com.

Sorry to see that you are another victim.
Cheryl, 28th 2007 December, 2007
I ordered hosting with the Basic plan on 12/11/08. Last week I decided that I wasn't happy with their service so I contacted them for a refund. I've been placed on hold time after time. My account has not yet been disabled and I have not had a credit on my credit card. After reading these reviews I think I'm in trouble. At this time I have not been able to cancel my account with addr. Has anyone else had this problem?

Here are their terms:

ADDR.com offers a full and unconditional, 30-day money back guarantee on all web hosting packages. If for any reason our services do not reach or exceed your expectations, please let us know within the first 30 days of service and we will issue a complete refund. No questions asked. With this guarantee you can try out our services, systems, and hosting features absolutely risk free.
Mike, 27th 2007 December, 2007
WOW! After several years, addr.com has sent me an invoice for all the years I have NOT been a member. I went through all the correct procedures and continue to forward all of it to them; they just want to disregard the proof!

I never knew there were so many problems with this crappy company.

DO NOT sign up with this company. Their billing practices are sketchy and border criminal to say the least...
WOW!, 19th 2007 December, 2007
Wow! I am sure glad I decided to check ADDR.com out before I purchased hosting from them! Sorry to see so many victims! WOW!
Mike G, 17th 2007 December, 2007
The link to cancel has never worked so I sent an email. Moths later they hit my card for over a thousand dollars for accounts I cancelled in good standing months earlier. Cancel your cards people do not trust ADDR.com This is no billing mistake it is theft.

They belong in jail.
Angie, 29th 2007 November, 2007
Yesterday I got a bill for several years worth of hosting from addr.com. I cancelled this account years ago. I even remember the specifics. The link to cancel didn't work so I called and waited an exorbitant amount of time for support. I spoke w/someone by the name of Shawn which I only remember because he was foreign and I seemed to get him almost every time I called for support. I remember thinking he must be the only support person which is why it takes so long to get through. So last night I called the billing department who claimed they sent an email to a bogus email address which I know I never used as a contact email even though it might have been listed on the website which was a client of mines website. They said that since I never "confirmed" the cancellation the account never cancelled out and I'm basically out of luck. They don't have any credit card information, thank goodness!!
I think they have a whole billing scam going on. They told me to fax them which I did but I refuse to give any of my personal financial information to obvious scammers. It sounds like they are billing lots of their old clients trying to tell them they owe a bunch of back pay challanging you to come up with proof that you don't owe them. They are trying to bully us to pay.
Steve, 26th 2007 November, 2007
I had the charges removed from my credit card as well. I don't know if addr responded or not. It is funny though as I get an email from addr every day to contact their billing department. I just send the cancellation and confirmation emails from 6 years ago. I think that addr.com may be run by a bunch of kids who have no idea about business.
Anonymous, 25th 2007 November, 2007
ADDR.com sounds like the same people running it as Anywherehost.com be sure to read up on them also!
BK, 22nd 2007 November, 2007
Sorry to hear that ADDR.com got another victim Bob. Good luck with your CC dispute. If you have a good CC company they will take care of you. My CC company took the charges off and then reissued another CC with a different # so ADDR.com can't rebill it. My CC company said that they have not had any response whats so ever from ADDR.com regarding the charges. This alone tells me that ADDR.com is a scam.
bob, 22nd 2007 November, 2007
Yup, they've just charged my credit card for 4 years plus some extra! The total for 4 years should have been $381.60 but they charged me $435.33!

I cancelled my addr account in 2003 after only having it for 2 months. Worst hosting experience I've ever had.

Nothing makes sense here.

I have a dispute filed with my credit card company.
Jerry H., 11th 2007 November, 2007
One word sums up addr.com

SCAMMERS!

STAY AWAY!
JJD, 04th 2007 November, 2007
I switched my company website from Yahoo to ADDR because it was 1/5 the cost. I thought I was doing the best thing. Oh, how wrong could I have been!

My page loads so slow and sometimes not at all. Other times it loads right up. This tells me that they have oversold their shared hosting servers. I know that I should have a dedicated server for my business but I never had this problem with Yahoo. I was just trying to save money.

Also, clients have reported that they have not received emails from my business sent using the email services of the ADDR hosting account. Again, never had this problem with Yahoo.

Lesson learned.
Charlie, 30th 2007 October, 2007
Run don't walk away from doing business with this company. I cancelled back in 2002 and they apparently have been billing me into the fall of 2007.
They are bad news.
Anonymous, 28th 2007 October, 2007
While not perfect, ADDR really hasn't been that bad(for me). Though last year they failed to bill me for their services; however, they made up for it this year by doubling the price. Which is fine. Occasionally, the email does have its quirks but overall it's okay.
Yeah, OK, 22nd 2007 October, 2007
I closed my hosting account 4 years ago and today I got an email last month saying that my credit card has expired and I need to update my billing information! I have the email from when the account was closed. I've been trying to get these people to understand that I don't owe them any money. I've sent them the original email from when the account was closed and they keep sending me the same notice. When I call them I'm placed on hold and nobody ever picks back up! I've been on hold today for almost 2 hours! Are these people for real?
ADDR.com stole $$$ from me, 13th 2007 October, 2007
I gotta laugh at the "Today's New Clients" counter. This ought to be "Today's New Victims"! Oh, how true!
Sick and tired of addr.com, 11th 2007 October, 2007
I've been around and around with these people and they won't budge. I'm filing a report with my state's attorney general, bureau of consumer fraud and I encourage you to do the same. Maybe if enough of us complain, we'll get somewhere with this company.
ADDR is a joke!, 10th 2007 October, 2007
In reply to bo7.....its a waste of time contacting the BBB. ADDR.com will not respond to any BBB complaints so the BBB will just close the report as unsatisfactory. If ADDR.com billed your CC then you will need to file a dispute with your CC company. That's what I did. My CC company reported that ADDR.com failed to respond to the dispute but my CC company took the charges off anyways...although it took several months. Bottom line....ADDR.com is not a real company with real business ethics. They are theives and they rip ppl off everyday.
bo7, 09th 2007 October, 2007
I have the same bad experience as the others. This company suddenly sent billing statement to in Auguest, 2007 charging me for the last three years even though I never accessed it since 2004. Thanks for your guys suggestion. I'll contact BBB as well.
K.M., 09th 2007 October, 2007
The biggest problem I have is their email service. It seems that they are blacklisted from several ISPs. Most emails won't get through. I haven't noticed significant downtime. I have noticed where the pages load extremely slow but they do eventually load. Sometimes it takes a couple of minutes to load.
hjgjkg, 09th 2007 October, 2007
Do not use addr.com for commercial use! You will be disappointed!
Mark Keller, 07th 2007 October, 2007
Addr.com is rated at 5 unhappy faces :( :( :( :( :(
Rob, 07th 2007 October, 2007
My site has been down since Thursday night. Can't get to site, control panel, or email. No reply to support via email. I've sat on the phone waiting for a reply for hours. No reply.
L.E., 06th 2007 October, 2007
The uptime shown here for addr has either got to be wrong or addr hosts their site on another host cause my uptime for addr this year is 94.2%. Not very good in my book. Also I've stopped using their service for email and got myself a yahoo email for better reliability. In 2 years of being a customer with addr I have over a hundred service tickets for lost emails and down time.
LOL!, 05th 2007 October, 2007
LOL! I'm a current ADDR.com customer and I've had enough so I was searching the internet for hosting reviews and came across this page. LOL! I feel your pain! I can directly relate to many of the posts here.
One who knows..., 05th 2007 October, 2007
Can you say RIPOFF!
sjt, 04th 2007 October, 2007
these ppl just dont have a clue what they are doing. the support ppl dont have any knowledge of anything to do with hosting. they seem to be non-trained non-english speaking help. why does it take so long for their control panel to load? it literally takes 2 minutes for each mouse click to activate. what a freakin nightmare!
James F., 03rd 2007 October, 2007
Signed up for Basic account last month and noticed that they doubled billed me for an annual subscription. I called to bring the error to their attention. After sitting on hold for 45 minutes to talk to someone (is this what I can expect for service) I finally was able to let them know about the issue. They replied that they would take care of it.

Today, my site is down for non-payment. It has been down for over a week. The double charges have not been taken off my credit card.

I've already contacted my credit card company but they are waiting for a response from addr regarding the matter.

Stay away from addr at all cost.
Jack Ryan, 25th 2007 September, 2007
I've had several issues with addr.com as well. I've been a customer since May 2007. I haven't been totally happy yet as I've had multiple support tickets open.

They are extremely slow to respond to support tickets. I've had connection problems with my site often unavailable. Missed emails is a daily occurance.

On their website they show approx 50 or so people in front of their sign. Funny, I've never spoken to anyone on the phone that could speak english! Where are all of these people in the picture? I doubt they really exist.

At this time I'm searching for another host. I came across these reviews and I'm not sure whether to laugh or cry.

Thanks for the advice to cancel my credit card. I won't have the billing issues described as I used a temporary CC # issued by my bank for internet purchases. You can't be too careful.

Good luck to all of you that got ripped off by these crooks.
Susan K., 25th 2007 September, 2007
Deceptive billing practices and they don't seem to care when you dispute an erroneous charge. I'm sorry I ever ordered their hosting.
Gonna get even, 24th 2007 September, 2007
ADDR.com fails to respond to BBB complaints. This tells everything.

http://data.denver.bbb.org/commonreport.html?bid=34000167

These people need to be shut down!
2 thumbs down, 23rd 2007 September, 2007
If you don't care about your website, if you need unreliable email service, if you don't mind lost emails, if your database is not important to you or or company, if double billing your credit card your suprise billing statements aren't important to you, if you don't mind to continue to be billed even after you cancel your account....then I would highly recommend the hosting services of ADDR.com.

However, if any of the above are important to you or your business do not consider ADDR.com for your hosting needs. You will be highly disappointed and frustrated.
ripped off by addr.com, 23rd 2007 September, 2007
to all addr.com current and past customers....you are advised to cancel your credit card which you've used to purchase services from addr.com! this is the only way they will stop billing you!
Christi, 16th 2007 September, 2007
I just finished reporting them to the BBB, and they offered to lower their fraudulent $500 bill to $340 and will only close my account if I pay it! The BBB has closed the case and reported that I was dissatisfied with the company. I am so frustrated! I cancelled my account during the first 30 days of the trial period and they are claiming the account was never closed and now they won't close the account until I pay. What can we do?
Lief Sorensen, 11th 2007 September, 2007
I signed up with Addr.com on November 7, 1999 and signed up for a Silver account for 1 year by paying $108.46. In April of 2001, I was going through my records, and saw that I had not yet been billed for the second year. So I sent them an email and asked them if I shouldn't have been billed by now for the second year, which started in November of 2000? I sort of doubted that their services were free! They gladly sent me an invoice on April 15 asking me to pay $107.46 for a second year. I gladly paid it. Well, that was the last bill they ever emailed me.

By November of 2004, I had signed up with a new web hosting company since Addr.com no longer provided the options and storage space I needed - and I wasn't sure about their service anymore since I never heard from them. Of course I did not renew my yearly plan by simply not paying. After all, according to the invoice, it states that service would be interrupted if you do not pay - which means to me that service would be discontinued.

I was shocked when on August 17, 2007 I received an email from Addr.com stating that I owed them $441.59, with $322.38 being back charges. I emailed them back on August 22, telling them that I purposely had not paid them for the past 3 years because I had dropped their services and have not been using them. I kindly reminded them that their invoice states that service will be interrupted when payment is not received. Every service I know about is automatically disconnected when payment is stopped. So I presumed the same here. Furthermore, what do they expect when they have not sent me any annual bill since April 2001 - and that one only because I asked for it?

I also am aware of the fact that in 2001, 46000 customer records were stolen from Addr.com - including credit card numbers, etc. Fortunately, my card is expired. However, tonight I received another notice from Addr.com stating that I must respond within 48 hours. It also asked me to update my credit card information - which makes me very suspicious as to whether I am dealing with the right people - or the thieves.

It is obvious that Addr.com totally ignored my previous message sent on August 22. So I sent the same message again to them, explaining that the reason they have not been paid for the past 3 years is because I switched to a different web host company and I no longer wished to use their service. It is not my fault if they did not interrupt the service when I did not renew my yearly service. Again I reminded them of what the invoice said back in 2001, and even this last one, that service would be interrupted if payment is not received. In my book, this means automatic service deactivation when payment is no longer received - and no customer can be held liable years later because the provider failed to close the account as promised!
Kathleen, 04th 2007 September, 2007
Got an email that looked like spam telling me my cc acct number at addr was expired. Puzzled, since I cancelled over 3 years ago and their customer svc. admits that there was no access to the acct since 2004, but that I still owe them for the past 3 years. They say if I don't pay they will report to a credit agency. What a waste of my time. I really don't know what to do about this yet, but I'll be darned if I give them a single dime. What a bunch of crooks! Thanks for tolerating a vent and hope this helps someone before they get caught up in this odious web of fraud. Grrrrrr,,,,,
Shelly, 04th 2007 September, 2007
I too have had a horrendous problem with Addr.com. I have been with them for a number of years, with really no problems or issues to speak of.

In April of this year, I had them host a new web site for us and placed a year billing on my credit card. The amount was to be for $221.44, for one year web hosting.
When I got my monthly credit card billing, they had charged me $885.82. They had billed be four (4) times for the same site hosting.

When I called the company, who now outsources to India, they would not resolve my issue on the phone because they said they wanted me to fax them a copy of my credit card statement.

There is no reason for anyone to send a copy of a credit card billing for charges made incorrectly by that company. If they have legal and proper accounting practices in place, they would be able to look up the charges and determine where the problem is. It does however require research, which is the least they can do for placing charges on my credit card illegally.

When they refused to credit my account, I disputed the credit card billings that I was overcharged. I recieved a credit on my next credit card statement in the amount of $664.38, the amount that I was overcharged. That meant that the correct billing, in the amount of $221.44, stayed on my credit card. So that should mean that I am paid for one year right???

Well, here is it, September of 2007, I am trying to do business online with my site and I am getting an error code saying that my web site was found but was not obtainable.

When I called Addr.com, they proceeded to tell me that since I did a charge back on my credit card for the illegal charges they placed on it, that they discontinued my service, ALTHOUGH I PAID FOR ONE YEAR!

When I spoke with their billing deparment, who also happens to be the customer support and tech service deparment, I was guaranteed that it would be taken care of. After my second phone call, the person in billing put my site back up stating that it would stay up until my billing issue was resolved.

When I went to get some important things done with my site this morning, the site was again shut down. Again, so much for professionalism.

I wrote to all the pertainent people concering this problem waiting an answer. Thank your for that info.

I gave them a deadline and will proceed with another charge back if they don't fulfil their contract with my for keeping up my web site.

So far, I have worked with 3 companies that were fine to deal with, until suddenly they started outsourcing their business to India and the professionalism is to be desired.

Even after this is all resolved, I will drop Addr get another web hosting company, and make sure everyone knows about the unprofessionalism with addr.com and not to use them.
Seth, 27th 2007 August, 2007
Yep, they just sent me a bill for $500 after I canceled my site YEARS AGO. Scammers. I told the customer rep I'd be talking to my lawyer before paying them a dime. I will also contact the BBB.
Ernie, 27th 2007 August, 2007
Oh.. my ... gawwwddd.
I really hate this company. I canceleed over three years ago.. they keep billing me! Can we please get a class action lawsuit together?

Jason Ling, 22nd 2007 August, 2007
ADDR is a complete scam. I too had an account in 2004, canceled it on the phone with a real live person, then receveid an email last week stating that my CC # had expired. the directed me to go to their site and put in another CC#. I was FREAKED OUT because this account should have been canceled back in 2004.
this is unreal... in searching the internet, most of the reviews I are the same story as below, scam artists indeed!!!
I am threatening with leagal action, but need ot check with the Better Business Bureau first.
Christi, 20th 2007 August, 2007
I cancelled my account with ADDR.com years ago (after using it for TWO WEEKS ONLY) and just received a bill for $500! I am filing a report with the BBB. They need to be investigated.
addr screwed me, 30th 2007 June, 2007
Attn former ADDR.com customers! Be sure to cancel your credit card that you used for ADDR! They will rebill you once you cancel and you won't get a refund!
Debra, 20th 2007 June, 2007
Avoid this company at all costs!!!! I cancelled my account with over 3 years ago and now they are suddenly trying to bill me again. Even threatening to report me to credit bureau if I don't renew my credit card information!!!! It's a scam. They need to be investigated for fraud.
Sandy, 01st 2007 June, 2007
I'm another dissatisfied ADDR.com customer. :(
Steve Jenkins, 21st 2007 May, 2007
I requested a refund from these ppl months ago but have not been completed. Has anyone ever got a refund from these ppl before or should I just kiss my money goodby?
TK44, 13th 2007 May, 2007
How have these ppl been in the hosting business for 10 years? They can't have many repeat customers.
billy k., 05th 2007 May, 2007
our club moved our web page to addr a couple of weeks ago and we can't use it. it is useless now. just doing some research on addr and now i understand why! we moved the web page to save some money. oh well. lesson learned.
Stupid Me, 05th 2007 May, 2007
I wish I found these reviews before I switched to addr for web hosting. Now I'm in search of another web host. Anyone have any suggestions on a really good hosting?
Hmmmmm, 27th 2007 April, 2007
Hmmmmm...why can't a negative vote be placed here against ADDR.com? I guess well just have to read all of the posts here where ADDR.com ripped off customers.
Robert S., 26th 2007 April, 2007
Billing old clients seems to be a thing for ADDR.com. They just billed me again and I cancelled my account 3 years ago!

If you are a former customer of ADDR you may want to cancel your CC and have a new one issued!
Chris, 23rd 2007 April, 2007
Deceptive Billing Practices - Buyer Beware! Charged me $500 4 years after my contract ended.
pri_data, 12th 2007 April, 2007
Don't even think about addr.com for hosting. You're better off with no website!
HAHAHA, 09th 2007 March, 2007
*!@#!@318*^68923495*%(87%*%(%(%*$(%*&(%**(%*%^(^*(^*%^($%*&*^*(()&*()&*_*_**(*^%^$&$^&$^%&^$^%$&$&#@&$*%*(^)^^)(^(*^^^^^^^^^^)&)(^(%*&*&AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAVVVVVVVVVVVVVVV
*!@#!@318*^68923495*%(87%*%(%(%*$(%*&(%**(%*%^(^*(^*%^($%*&*^*(()&*()&*_*_**(*^%^$&$^&$^%&^$^%$&$&#@&$*%*(^)^^)(^(*^^^^^^^^^^)&)(^(%*&*&AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAVVVVVVVVVVVVVVV*!@#!@318*^68923495*%(87%*%(%(%*$(%*&(%**(%*%^(^*(^*%^($%*&*^*(()&*()&*_*_**(*^%^$&$^&$^%&^$^%$&$&#@&$*%*(^)^^)(^(*^^^^^^^^^^)&)(^(%*&*&AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAVVVVVVVVVVVVVVV
*!@#!@318*^68923495*%(87%*%(%(%*$(%*&(%**(%*%^(^*(^*%^($%*&*^*(()&*()&*_*_**(*^%^$&$^&$^%&^$^%$&$&#@&$*%*(^)^^)(^(*^^^^^^^^^^)&)(^(%*&*&AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAVVVVVVVVVVVVVVV
Styles, 23rd 2007 February, 2007
I moved to ADDR.com a couple of months ago but had several support issues. Tech support does not seem to exist and even if a problem is solved there is no reply as to what the problem was.

My account was "suspended" because of "excessive support tickets"!?!

I moving to another host but I wanted to delete all of my files and database from the ADDR.com web server but they won't let me! I've sent several emails to try and get this resolved but have not received any response.

Fortunately, I have all of my data backed up. But I had to have all of my data in the hands of ADDR.com!

My advice, if you're thinking about ADDR.com for webhosting......save yourself trouble and find another host. Ask around....find out who your friends are hosting with.
R.T., 23rd 2007 February, 2007
addr.com is crap hosting. period.
gmedia, 13th 2007 February, 2007
we've just dumped addr.com after 5 months of headaches. email problems. database errors. site not responding. not good for business.
Jules K., 12th 2007 February, 2007
There is no way the positive statements listed here are real. This was the worst hosting company I ever had! Fast loading and excellent uptime???? I'm must have been with the wrong addr!
Kyle Derrikson, 12th 2007 February, 2007
WTF!? I cancelled my hosting plan with ADDR.com over 2 years ago because they are a crap hosting company. Nothing but email problems and site was always down or slow loading. Now they just billed my credit card again!!!! I've been trying to get a refund for the last week and just keep getting the run around. This has got to be illegal!
Dan W., 07th 2007 February, 2007
I have been with ADDR.com for about 3=years now. I keep threatening to pull all my sites, and client sites of and go with another host provider due to the enormous amount of PORN, VIAGRA and STOCK Spam ads constantly, all day long, every day. Tech support keeps saying they are going to block such spam emails, but after several years it only gets worse. I really wonder if they are not the ones sending the spam ads because they have a vested interest in PORN, VIAGRA and the STOCKS.
Mac, 15th 2007 January, 2007
Only site that provides true fast site and 99.9 uptime as they guranateed i love that part..

My site has never been down for nearly past 2 years

however they also need to improve in there control panel features
Jim, 30th 2006 November, 2006
Addr.com Webhosting's is good servers

Server's aren't packed and load fast. you can go for addr
R. Elliott, 22nd 2006 November, 2006
Extremly good i have been hosting with them for nearly 3 years from now they are reliable and the best in the hosting industry..

There new site is extremly fast and now i say they are stable since the last host i was in they were shut down within months, i believe addr.com is from nearly 10 years thats another great thing about this company...
david, 13th 2006 October, 2006
Dont do it.... poor customer support, no technical knowledge, and poor uptime
Samuel, 17th 2006 July, 2006
Good Host
Joan B., 12th 2006 July, 2006
Switched to ADDR.com to save money on hosting. Big mistake. Poor uptime. Email never really worked. Cancelled my account when site was down for 4 days without any reply from tech support. Now I'm trying to get my site data from ADDR for over a month...no replies to email and when I call their phone all I do is sit on hold. I was on hold for over 4 hours the other day. Never again!
Jerome Kyle, 12th 2006 July, 2006
Bad news.
Brad, 05th 2006 July, 2006
Overall good hosting..

I recommend it
Vincent, 05th 2006 July, 2006
Provides good Technical support and good in there own Kind..
Sue, 17th 2006 May, 2006
addr ripped me off as well. my site was alway down. lost emails. just a big headache.
Brian, 15th 2006 May, 2006
I was a customer of ADDR.com a couple of years back. Everything was OK for a bit, then the technical issues started. My site was down for over a week. I attempted to call them via telephone but never got an answer so I sent them an email. It took over a week for the problem to be resolved and they never told me why my site was down.

I cancelled my order and moved my site to another host. I've been with the other host for 5 years now and things couldn't be better.

Then, I started to notice new charges on my CC from ADDR. I contacted them and they told me that I never cancelled my subscription for their webhosting. They just started to rebill my CC after 4 years of non-use!!!!

If you are a previous ADDR cutomer, be sure to check your CC statements!!!! Trust me on this one!
Peter, 27th 2006 April, 2006
Surprised to see that these thieves are still online. Years ago they overcharged my credit card by several 100's of $ and tried to steal my domain which I only managed to get back after several weeks of dealing with the registrar and faxing lots of stuff to the US. Definitely my most painful experience with a hosting company ever!
Write Your Review
Your name

Your addr.com review

Positive Negative


Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. 2004 - 2010