Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.bluehost.com
Bluehost General Information
  Bluehost is providing Linux web hosting services, has been founded in 1997 and now it's years in business.

bluehost.com average uptime is 99.873% (rank #2130 on our directory) with total 3147 successful and 4 failed checks, monitored since 2005-06-29. Similar companies with 99.873% uptime are cheetahsolutions.com and hostony.com.

Search for "bluehost.com" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 280000 results so company name popularity rank is #31.

There have been 1152 positive votes for Bluehost and 239 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #57 (similar companies are site5.com and serversanddomains.com)

Web Hosting Packages
  Professional (Type: Linux) - 600 GB space, 6000 GB bandwidth for $6.95/mo

Some technical data about bluehost.com
  IP Location: Electric Lightwave Inc
Blacklist Status: Clear
Nameserver: NS1.BLUEHOST.COM
Registrar: WILD WEST DOMAINS, INC.
Server Type: Apache/2.0.52 (CentOS)
Website Title: Web hosting provider - Bluehost.com - domain hosting - PHP Hosting - cheap web hosting - Frontpage Hosting E-Commerce Web Hosting Bluehost
Description: web hosting provider php hosting cheap web hosting, Web hosting, domain names, front page hosting, email hosting. We offer affordable hosting, web hosting provider business web hosting, ecommerce hosting, unix hosting. Phone support available, Free

Back to "B" directory


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
Tiffany, 08th 2011 October, 2011
I didn't get far into my experience with bluehost, thank goodness. I was very surprised to see on my receipt that I was being billed for 2 years in advance. There was no checkout screen before they charged my card, so I only saw this amount in the receipt email. I live chatted with a rep and check this out:

"Al Deans: [8:26:50 PM] Welcome to our real-time support chat. Please be patient, as I am working with multiple customers at a time. How can I help you today?
Tiffany: [8:26:50 PM] When did it say I was going to be billed for 24 months all at once?
Al Deans: [8:28:16 PM] That would be in section 2 of the
[8:28:21 PM] Terms of Service.
[8:28:28 PM] When you first sign up.
Tiffany: [8:28:55 PM] oh yes, deep into the terms novel. well, that's a very dirty trick.
Al Deans: [8:29:14 PM] Subscriber agrees to pay all applicable fees for Services in effect at the time of sign-up registration and/or renewal, subject to these Terms. Subscriber agrees to update and keep current all of Subscriber's billing information, email and all other contact information.
[8:29:47 PM] Its only in section 2. Clearly marked payment. I'm sorry for the confusion.
Tiffany: [8:30:20 PM] There should be the amount displayed at checkout. It wasn't there
[8:30:29 PM] That is only right.
Al Deans: [8:32:22 PM] I understand. We've been trying to get the upper management to get that changed for a while."

The only good thing I can say is that Al canceled my transaction and I am currently awaiting a refund. We'll see how this goes...
Mike, 04th 2011 October, 2011
Great Service.
Been with them for 4 years and absolutely love them. Granted I don't use a database or SQL, etc. But I do host about 20 Gig of pictures there with over 350,000 hits and have never had a problem with service or even down time.

Don't know about others but for me this has put an end to the nightmare of trying to find decent webhosting at a price I can afford.

Will gladly recommend them.

Mike
bluhost 4 mormomns, 25th 2011 September, 2011
bluhost is for mormons unless your mormon dont use it or convert to mormon. OHHH you must have at least 8 wives also to qualify like the morman want to have.
Bluehost is a spammers' heaven, 31st 2011 August, 2011
Shared IP means, if someone sends spam, the IP gets black-listed. You contact Bluehost but they don't do anything. They never block the spammer's account. The result is, you can't send any emails.
They should be shut down.
Paul, 15th 2011 August, 2011
Been with Bluehost for years now. LOVE them, they have been fantastic and very helpful!
anon, 06th 2011 August, 2011
I was with bluehost and found the service atrocious.
You cant use many resources at all. All you pay for is to have a very basic website.

I movied to a company called deepbluehosting.com and have found that I am paying more but also getting a far better deal.
The reason for it is that I dont actually have to worry about downtime...

Before I was paying for a service that may aswell have been non existant.
Now I am paying for a real service!
Although I pay about $10 a month, I am getting far better value than I did with bluehost!

I guess you get what you pay for.
rob, 27th 2011 June, 2011
the email server i'm using at bluehost was blacklisted SORBS and they told me to fix the problem myself - they claim SORBS is engaged in extortion - I have the chat exchange with their rep if anyone cares - they refused to help by reconfiguring me to a different email server. avoid bluehost at all cost
jay, 28th 2011 May, 2011
BEWARE of Bluehost if you are an UK or EU customer, they will charge you VAT but will not provide your statutory consumer rights, and cannot provide and will not provide a VAT number as they are not VAT registered, hence not permitted to charge VAT as you need to be VAT registered to do so. i have been with bluehost for years with multiple accounts but BEWARE as to their new tactics. which is a SCAM.
krap sucker, 01st 2011 May, 2011
if you like fucking crap suck web host then use them you should never trust mormons
Bill, 25th 2011 February, 2011
I stopped using these guys, they were just too unpredictable.
Unsatisfied with Bluehost.com, 12th 2011 February, 2011
These people are the absolute worst hosting providers ever. They can't do backups and their cpanel is not true cpanel. They claim it is a customization of cpanel which doesn't have the same functionality as cpanel users expect.

Customer Service is awful and their unending desire to push extra fees and upsell you when you login into email or login to your control panel is painful.

Oh and finally the straw that broke the back here is their clear instructions on setting up custom nameservers - WHAT FREAKING JOKE!!! - you follow everything to setup custom nameservers even having to transfer your domain to them (enom) is required so okay you do that right? Well how about nothing resolves once you do this and their FINE technical support team admit that the custom nameservers do not function properly and you must use the bluehost.com nameservers.

Stay away from BlueHost.com UNLESS you just need to have a basic website presence just some of the time and dont need reliable ftp access or reliable email service.

CLOWNS and if they truly have 20 million domains/websites they should be reported for robbery!!!
Anonymous, 27th 2010 December, 2010
Horrible experience with Bluehost. I will never advise anyone to go with bluehost. they will suspend your account if you have a couple of databases. Horrible.
al, 18th 2010 November, 2010
Bluehost is fine if you have a small website that does not use very many resources or get a lot of traffic. If you use too many resources, they kill your website without warning.
But like I said, great for a small blog
Don, 24th 2010 October, 2010
My websites are very slow with bluehost. Awful server load time.
Mario, 21st 2010 October, 2010
Switch from yahoo to bluehost back in 2008 but canceled it right away after finding that I am being charge too much and for a year.

Since it is a switch, these crooks included the domain name ownership. After 2 years, got an email saying I am being billed for maintaining a domain name.

How can they own a domain name when it was not theirs in the first place?

Guess, this is their way of getting money out of your pocket.

NEVER, NEVER TRUST BLUEHOST.
Joe, 20th 2010 October, 2010
@debbied:
They are doted indians and do not have a freaking clue what they are doing. If you host 100+ domains with them, you must be stupid. Nobody in this world would woth with these idiots and claim they deliver good services.
So, go back to your desk at Bluecrap and stop faking positive reviews. There is nothing positive about this "company".
Joe, 20th 2010 October, 2010
@debbied:
They are doted indians and do not have a freaking clue what they are doing. If you host 100+ domains with them, you must be stupid. Nobody in this world would woth with these idiots and claim they deliver good services.
So, go back to your desk at Bluecrap and stop faking positive reviews. There is nothing positive about this "company".
Nick, 22nd 2010 April, 2010
Bluehost are great until you need help from their tech suport. That has to be the worst I've encountered. I've been sending tickets for 7 days for a cron job error message, and yet to recieve a reply.

They don't even have a complaints depeartment because that would be my next ticket.
Tim M, 07th 2010 March, 2010
On March 3rd, 2010, I opened a hosting account with Bluehost. There was a DDOS attack, which meant that I couldn't access my site. Bluehost refused to move me to a different server. On March 5th, I canceled my account after I was assured I could retrieve my domain name for use with another hosting company. My new hosting company informed me that my domain had been registered with Moniker by somebody else. I contacted Bluehost, and I was told:
"When you canceled your hosting account and domain, the domain name name was released back into the available pool. Someone then purchased it through MONIKER ONLINE SERVICES, INC. This is public information and can be viewed at who.is."
The problem is that the domain was registered two hours AFTER I received my bluhost order/domain confirmation and two days BEFORE I canceled my account. They are theives!
Tony, 03rd 2010 March, 2010
they guys "were" adequate but now they totally suck! They're customer service is pathetic at best, I don't have all day to sit on the phone with these guys trying to figure out why my passwords keep changing, they said they would call back but never do. I finally spoke to a Supervisor named Mike who was totally useless, talking to him was like watching a monkey trying to hump a football! He offered zero solutions to my problem of my passwords constantly changing, they keep zero documentation on their calls with customers and lastly, I found from another carrier, that they are know for selling off your email addresses to other companies. I had to pay an extra for Postini to block all our spam emails...this is absurd!!! I get over 100 spam emails a day, they're system still can't filter them out...I'd rather have a chisel and slate than deal with these bone head idiots!!! Like I said, a monkey trying to hump a football!!!!!
cccp1970, 21st 2010 January, 2010
I have used Bluehost for almost a year now and I'm really happy with them. I only have one complaint: i was hosting a domain that had the word sex in the url. This wasn't porn...there was no images, just text about bad sex. Bluehost closed the url and told be that I violated their anti-porn policy. No amount of argument with the support people could convince them that the site was all TEXTS and contained no porn.
VERY UNHAPPY, 15th 2010 January, 2010
Bluehost billed me for another year of hosting ($107) without my approval, authorization or knowledge AND they did it TWO WEEKS before my current year of hosting was set to expire. I did not wish to continue with them!!! Plus, my original annual bill was $70 so why was the renewal so much more???? No answer from them. No response or help from Bluehost. I filed a complaint with the BBB.
Mike Spencer, 14th 2009 December, 2009
BLUEHOST ARE DISHONEST CROOKs, STAY AWAY FROM THESE CON ARTISTS.

One day I awoke to find all traces of my websites had vanished and were repaced by a message advising the site owner to contact customer sevrice, which I did.

I sent over 20 emails asking what the problem was, but the rambling drivel I recieved in reply did not at any point give any reason.

Then they closed my account without one word of explanation despite having paid for another 7 months web hosting.

I have now lost all my websites, including the one I depended on to make a living. Bluehost have seriously damaged my life.

They are a truly horrible, despicable, nasty, dishonest, crooked, thieving buch of crooks who belong in jail.
Tim, 01st 2009 December, 2009
Bluehost is a SCAM!! Please cancel the service wit them
Little, 05th 2009 November, 2009
@HATE BLUEHOST: Looks like, since your post was submitted at almost a spam standard that you may have some personal/technical issues...not just hosting issues.
Melanie, 23rd 2009 October, 2009
Bluehost registers your domain in THEIR name. They are not affiliated with CANN. Make sure you go with a CANN company. And they won't release my domain unless I pay their chargeback for the charge I had removed from my credit card, $50.00. STAY AWAY FROM BLUEHOST.
Mandy, 19th 2009 October, 2009
Bluehost is the fecal matter of the web hosting world. Their servers are pathetically slow. When there is a problem on their end, tech support twists things around to make me feel like I was causing the problem. Tech support was so rude and nasty to me that they made me cry.

After 18 months of this kind of abuse I finally left for a better web host.

The straw that broke the camels back was when they started throttling my site with only 5 people on it. It was so slow it wouldn't even load.

Bluehost is rotten to the core. Do not use them.
nnb, 10th 2009 September, 2009
Bluehost is terrible. I let my hosting subscription expire and they are still billing me. I haven't used their services in over 2 years because I tried to do a domain change and transfer of the webpage but everything was lost and I couldn't get in touch with anyone there.
nnb, 10th 2009 September, 2009
I don't recommend Bluehost. Although they were great in the beginning. They got my site up fast and the support was good. However, I let my account expire and they are still billing me. I haven't used this site in over 2 years because I tried to transfer domain names and everything was lost and I couldn't get in touch with anyone there. Just a caution to everyone out there, when your hosting subscription expires, make sure you call them and cancel.
Jonathan D, 21st 2009 August, 2009
These guys are horrible -- I constantly try to get a response from support but it's no use. I have moved several sites elsewhere and will be moving more ... STAY AWAY!!!
carl, 22nd 2009 July, 2009
blue host sucks! one breakin to their software and they took down 5 of my websites. They violated their own 3 strike policy. They took them down without warning. cant even ftp from them. they are ok until there is a problem and then they are totally unreasonable. I was a good customer for a long time before that, never missed a payment date, never had any problems. Regardless of what they say once someone broke into my account they were totally unreasonable.
VISTAINTER SUCKS, 19th 2009 July, 2009
SUCKS TROJAN WEB
Bashforlaugh, 14th 2009 July, 2009
You guys are funny,"STOLED MY MONIES!"

Yea right, They offer pro rated refunds, as for domains you can go to bluehost.com/dm and get your domains and move them to where ever the hell you want.
falcongirl2u, 01st 2009 July, 2009
To Bluehost in reponse to a "no reply email from Matt (the owner) Dear Matt, you have some really bad issues going on at your company. From Saturday night until tonight I was unable to move a domain from one account at Bluehost to another account at Bluehost due to several reasons:

1.) Day 1 Saturday: I wanted to move the domain xxx.com from my account to their own at Bluehost. But I couldn’t because of Postini. That’s right, Postini. Apparently, your billing dept is the only dept that supports Postini because none of the other depts. “know how to do it properly”. So the only dept that can support Postini doesn’t work 24/7! And when they are working, apparently they don’t understand how to add or remove postini from accounts either! So despite cancelling all of my plans to go to Summerfest to move this domain, I was left high and dry by Bluehost on a Saturday night during the largest music festival in the world (Go Milwaukee!)

2.) Day 2 Sunday: The techs had hoped that someone from the billing dept. would come in and work on the issue. Not happening! No domain move today.


3.) Day 3 Monday: Finally on Monday, the billing Dept. emailed me in response to my trouble tickets starting Saturday night that clearly said “immediately remove Postini from all xxx.com accounts” and in the emails asked “when should we do this??” even though I done a trouble tickets starting Saturday night (oh yeah, see #6). So when they finally got around to removing Postini on Monday afternoon, somehow it got ALL screwed up and every time I tried to move the domain, Postini came up and said I couldn’t because it was still set. After multiple reassurances Monday afternoon that the Postini issue would be fixed SOON, I tried AGAIN to move the domain. Well guess what! I couldn’t because the Postini still wasn’t removed. And every time I tried to move the domain it lost the DNS settings, so I had to start trouble tickets for A records to be reset. Nothing progressed on Monday beyond a big mess. No website, no emails.

4.) Day 4 Tuesday: A tech thought that I didn’t know how to un-assign a domain from one account and assign it to another account. Despite my warnings that Postini was blocking the transfer of xxx domain, he took it upon himself to “teach” me how to transfer a domain” and in the process took down the xxx.com website and 30 emails. He eventually was able to get the emails working by transferring the domain back to my account, but forgot about the A record for the website.

5.) Day 4 Tuesday Continued: Called back and asked for a supervisor. Your Supervisor “Joe” was asked to only change the “A” record on xxx, but of course he changed the MX record also which resulted in the email accounts to be lost for the 2nd time in one day! By the way, I know advanced DNS, let those of us who know who to manage advance DNS do it ourselves. It took 2 hours on hold to: Find out what happened, Ask for the A record change AGAIN, and correct the MX record change. I spent a total of 6 hours on the phone with tech support to get these all of the issues from Day 1 – Day 4 resolved.

6.)Trouble tickets: The new Cerberus system sucks. You can’t even check on current or past trouble tickets to see their status. Your techs assured me that as trouble tickets were dealt with I would get updates. Yeah right.

7.)The email setup system sucks. When you type in the first letter of an email, a check mark pops up to show “yeah you typed one letter” and stops the rest of your typing until you reposition the cursor after the first letter of the email name.

8.) Email continued. You can select the email domain to manage. But just try changing the # displayed per page. Then it goes back to all emails under your account.

9.)Yes, I’ve asked for a refund for all my problems, but I was told that you were “so cheap” that they (the billing dept. again) couldn’t realistically reimburse for a few days of downtime.

10.) The final insult: I typed this all to a “no reply email”. What a chicken you are. You can't even stand up and take good or bad emails from your clients. Way to go loser. So next time, don’t bother with your “Hey I’m getting off my royal throne to send my subjects an email”. We really don’t care. First clean up your house and then you can talk about new products. In the meantime, I’m looking for a new webhosting company that is PAYING ATTENTION TO WHAT IS GOING ON!

Sincerely,

Falcongirl2u
Pacho, 19th 2009 June, 2009
They are pure publicity!!! Do you know that all this 3 Hosting Providers are the same?
- BlueHost
- HostMonster
- FastDomain
This company has 3 different webpages and 3 different names, but there is only one service, chat agent, sales people, and .....
Jimmy, 19th 2009 June, 2009
Be aware: UNLIMITED WEBSPACE means a file quota of 50 000.
You'll find out after uploading...
Jonathan, 05th 2009 May, 2009
i have been using them for a year now - everythig is fine! things just work and site are always online. That's all i need. I had my fair share of terrible hosting providers big and small. Bluehost is the best i have seen. great value for your money - and i personally got them many other cleints by recommending them.
busta-site, 21st 2009 March, 2009
This is so funny. If Bluehost were as bad as so many here say, there would be no way for them to exist in this lawsuit happy USA.
DON EVER GO FOR BLUEHOST!, 15th 2009 March, 2009
THE SHARED SUPPORT SUCK, DON'T GET FOOLED BY IT. IF YOU WANT A REAL GOOD HOST DON EVER CHOOSE THEM BECAUSE THEY ARE JUST A BUNCH OF SCAMMERS!!
Tom, 13th 2009 March, 2009
They are criminal idiots - we should get a class action lawsuit put together and sue the crap out of these morons. Interested? e-mail to r_3 at gmx dot net.
WORST COMPANY IS BLUEHOST, 03rd 2009 March, 2009
I SENT $ 932 DOLLARS FOR TO BLUEHOST.COM TO OBTAIN DOMAINS AND THEIR SERVICE FOR 36 MONTHS, WITHIN ONE MONTH THEY CANCELLED MY ACCOUNT WITHOUT NOTICE, CLAIMING A VIOLATION TO THEIR TOS I WAS NEVER PRESENTED WITH, YET, THEY REFUSE TO CLAIM WHICH VIOLATION OR TO WHICH CLAUSE, THEY NEVER RESPONDED.
FILE YOUR COMPLAINTS WITH THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU AT : http://www.saltlakecity.bbb.org/

AND NOW THEY EVEN REFUSE TO GIVE ANY MONEY BACK
John, 03rd 2009 March, 2009
DAMN HOSTING EVER!! DONT GO FOR IT ITS NOT WORTH!
SUCKS AND SUCKS, 01st 2009 March, 2009
THE LIVE CHAT SUCKS GREAT TIME! TRY IT YOURSELF TO BELIEVE IT. THE WAITING COULD BE ... 10-30MINS LONG! SALES ARE FAST, SUPPORT DAMN SLOW. ALSO THE ATTITUDE SUCKS, ACCORDING TO MY EXPERIENCE, IF THEY DON HAVE/ DON KNOW ANYTHING, THEY KEEP QUIET OR THE WORST, HANG UP THE CHAT SYSTEM.

MORE SUCKING SERVICE TO BE SEEN. FIND IT YOURSELF!
BLUEHOST SUCK FROM GOOGLE, 01st 2009 March, 2009
THE LIVE CHAT SUCKS GREAT TIME! TRY IT YOURSELF TO BELIEVE IT. THE WAITING COULD BE ... 10-30MINS LONG! SALES ARE FAST, SUPPORT DAMN SLOW. ALSO THE ATTITUDE SUCKS, ACCORDING TO MY EXPERIENCE, IF THEY DON HAVE/ DON KNOW ANYTHING, THEY KEEP QUIET OR THE WORST, HANG UP THE CHAT SYSTEM.

MORE SUCKING SERVICE TO BE SEEN. FIND IT YOURSELF!
DO NOT GO FOR BLUEHOST!, 01st 2009 March, 2009
THE LIVE CHAT SUCKS GREAT TIME! TRY IT YOURSELF TO BELIEVE IT. THE WAITING COULD BE ... 10-30MINS LONG! SALES ARE FAST, SUPPORT DAMN SLOW. ALSO THE ATTITUDE SUCKS, ACCORDING TO MY EXPERIENCE, IF THEY DON HAVE/ DON KNOW ANYTHING, THEY KEEP QUIET OR THE WORST, HANG UP THE CHAT SYSTEM.

MORE SUCKING SERVICE TO BE SEEN. FIND IT YOURSELF!
BLUEHOST SUCKS, 01st 2009 March, 2009
THE LIVE CHAT SUCKS GREAT TIME! TRY IT YOURSELF TO BELIEVE IT. THE WAITING COULD BE ... 10-30MINS LONG! SALES ARE FAST, SUPPORT DAMN SLOW. ALSO THE ATTITUDE SUCKS, ACCORDING TO MY EXPERIENCE, IF THEY DON HAVE/ DON KNOW ANYTHING, THEY KEEP QUIET OR THE WORST, HANG UP THE CHAT SYSTEM.

MORE SUCKING SERVICE TO BE SEEN. FIND IT YOURSELF!
HATE BLUEHOST, 01st 2009 March, 2009
THE LIVE CHAT SUCKS GREAT TIME! TRY IT YOURSELF TO BELIEVE IT. THE WAITING COULD BE ... 10-30MINS LONG! SALES ARE FAST, SUPPORT DAMN SLOW. ALSO THE ATTITUDE SUCKS, ACCORDING TO MY EXPERIENCE, IF THEY DON HAVE/ DON KNOW ANYTHING, THEY KEEP QUIET OR THE WORST, HANG UP THE CHAT SYSTEM.

MORE SUCKING SERVICE TO BE SEEN. FIND IT YOURSELF!
HATE BLUEHOST, 01st 2009 March, 2009
THE LIVE CHAT SUCKS GREAT TIME! TRY IT YOURSELF TO BELIEVE IT. THE WAITING COULD BE ... 10-30MINS LONG! SALES ARE FAST, SUPPORT DAMN SLOW. ALSO THE ATTITUDE SUCKS, ACCORDING TO MY EXPERIENCE, IF THEY DON HAVE/ DON KNOW ANYTHING, THEY KEEP QUIET OR THE WORST, HANG UP THE CHAT SYSTEM.

MORE SUCKING SERVICE TO BE SEEN. FIND IT YOURSELF!
gseattle, 22nd 2009 February, 2009
Also had a bluehost tech person tell me to send my password to him by email, what!
gseattle, 22nd 2009 February, 2009
BlueHost refuses to install the SQLite module for Perl, SQLite is the most deployed SQL db in the world.
BlueHost asks user for password in tech calls to verify identity, insecure and amateurish bad practice, instead passwords should only ever be stored encrypted where the only purpose is to programmatically use the same encryption to verify that they match, yes or no, on secure connections, not passed around over phone lines and shared with other people.

I'm shopping for a better hosting company.
Charlie, 21st 2009 February, 2009
I have to say, I get a lot of my clients from bluehost. Not to shamelessly plug myself, but I do hosting, our website is a mess. But we are small, we care, and overall do what we can to work with anyone.

www.shfhosting.com

onlinejunkie, 10th 2009 February, 2009
Shame on them - they just shutdown my website which is currently receiving traffic and serving very important information - and a good source of revenue - all this without even a notice! They said its causing server performance problem - what the hell does that mean? Meaning receiving 1000 people in a day is causing them problem? Are we supposed to create websites just to sit there with no traffic? How can we all file a claim against this shitty company! i can be reached at morphies_law@yahoo.com
Justin, 09th 2009 February, 2009
http://amphosted.com is much better. same plans, same price, twice the support, and twice the stability
joanna, 04th 2009 February, 2009
They don't really suck according to this statistics at http://hostingsthatsuck.com/bluehost-sucks

There are some sour grapes of course with any hosting in the world.
Vernette Carbon, 23rd 2008 December, 2008
Bluehost is the WORST hosting company I've ever dealt with. My site has been down for almost a week now. Bluehost completely wiped out my site because they said somebody called in and told them to delete my site. Absolute madness! The only other person with my password info is my webmaster and I know he didn't do something like that. Either way, they deleted the site completely with no backup. My webmaster has a backup, but it's from a month ago. My site is constantly updated on a daily basis. I angry as hell that anyone could get a hold of your password, call Bluehost and they delete a site without notifying the owner of the site or verifying if the person calling is the owner of the site. A pass is not enough verification.

Also, Bluehost is always down, several times a day my site is down. They should be put out of business for this mess.
Bruce Decker, 22nd 2008 December, 2008
Sorry, one more thing. If you are on BlueHost, know that they go by many names and you might be using bluehost without noticing. This is what crooks do when their name gets tarnished -- adopt and alias and scam some more. Please, I urge you to whois your ISP and if it leads to bluehost, RUN AWAY NOW BEFORE ITS TOO LATE!
Bruce Decker, 22nd 2008 December, 2008
Unethical company. Shuts down sites without notice. Belligerent 'abuse' department. Do a 'whois' on the sites that review them well, chances are, they _ARE_ bluehost's patsy sites. If you need a quality hosting company, look elsewhere.
Another victim, 21st 2008 December, 2008
Bluehost was fine for me at the beginning. Now its the most horrible hosting you can have.
Just for using a wordpress blog with 20 visitors at the same time I get a CPU quota problem and shutdown my site. Bluehost has oversold the resources it has. It does nor work.
The worst is wordpress.com recommends that hosting. I guess bluehost pays for the publicity.
DO NO BUY HOSTING THERE!!!!!
Carlos Garcia, 15th 2008 December, 2008
the first months, all is ok
after that, the mysql server is down continuously, the site is many times at day down due tu "cpu excess" and so on.
if you want to kill your site, this is your isp.
if your site is not a homemade web site, you will kill with this people.
Kyle D., 03rd 2008 December, 2008
Horrible. Shutdown my site for having a link to a warez site which was generated by a user on my forum. And I looked up the member who posted it and found out the IP's were from the same account a BluHost rep used to help me out with a SQL Problem.

They obviously rigged this as it is impossible for them to catch this within 3 minutes of posting. I don't know why, but it's obvious.
Heather, 09th 2008 November, 2008
Blue Host is horrible. I have a small e-commerce site that has been with them for a year and a half. I woke up this morning to find my website offline, my email not working, and unable to log in to my cpanel. I don’t have any protected content on my site. I have never sent a SPAM email. I haven’t done anything that could possibly violate anyone’s terms and conditions. They have completely shut down my business and will not give me a hint as to why. After going back and forth with support and no answers, their last response is that “sales will get back to me shortly”. They have all my files and my sales database and apparently they are not giving it back. They are not giving me any reasons or answers. Just 100% gone.
Brian P, 01st 2008 November, 2008
Just joined Bluehost 5 days ago. I also required a dedicated IP and SSL for my site. Tech support took 3 days to set this up and not even SSL is working yet. Tech support from this host is snappy for the first 2-3 emails after you join, but quickly turns to sh*t after that. I'm asking for a refund.

My advice:
Find another host that does not overload there servers with websites.
This company offers a slow hosting service, and poor tech support.
yuyo, 30th 2008 October, 2008
so far is working for me i hope that they don't f**** my service will see
Bluehost user, 24th 2008 October, 2008
Bluehost really sucks. I started a blog based on wordpress 3 years ago and it was very good until now. The database has be growing and now the site is down most of the time due a CPU restriction. The maximum number of reader I have in 5 minutes is 30 and the post are 1200. It shouldn't be so demanding. I cannot understand the problem. Of course I repair and optimize the MySQL tables, but it does not make a different.
They offer you a lot of megabytes and a good bandwidth that you will never use because this CPU limitation. If you want more you have to pay much more, a money that google ads will never cover.
Bluehost is ok if you have a very unsuccessful static html site, but it really SUCKS otherway.
Knots125, 18th 2008 October, 2008
As owner of three accounts and 300+ domain names, at one time Bluehost was exceptional service, now, it is the other extreme!

Hearing excuses about who’s fault it is regards to hardware is in excusable in itself! No one but no one changes servers or transpose information without back up first and if the new system doesnt work revert to a working system. However, in the first place the new hardware and software shopuld have been thoroughly tested!

IT IS INEXCUSABLE AND UNPROFESSIONAL~!

Three weeks downtime on the http://www.oceanmc.com account. When finally they got their act together it was discovered all the backups I had since over a year ago were corrupted because your system failure.

I have had 3 1/2 weeks down time. Four years of work lost! One website alone has lost so much data it is never going to recover. Information supplied from veterans from several navies throughout the world.
Most of my domains are within the top ten places of Google, Yahoo, etc….
Thanks Blue host, you fucked up BIG TIME. Owning 300+ domains I have a good mind to post what I think on each front page! Since all the data is gone I have nothing else to place there!

One very angry customer!

Where are the days when Matt sent personal emails??????? And people cared???

psssttttt……. I have a long list of level 1, 2, 3 so-called techs here. After countless phone calls. Dozen or so support tickets. Duty Managers, et cetera, I probably know the employee staff better than Matt himself~!!!!

GET YER BLEEDIN ACT TOGETHER AND QUICK~!!!!
Ernest Loyer, 30th 2008 September, 2008
Bluehost sucks. Try one (of 10) of my websites. IT HAS BEEN DOWN 2 WEEKS NOW!!! thefishingstation.com
moreteavicar, 04th 2008 August, 2008
For the occasional punter who thinks we are all losers for signing up to try and get the most GB per buck and then whining... well I didn't sign up to Bluehost in order to get the cheapest amount of drive space and bandwidth! Indeed, Bluehost wasn't even the cheapest when I signed up two years ago.

Why I did sign up was primarily because they gave you a linux shell console. This meant I could do things like selectively compress certain directories I wanted to backup, whilst ignoring others. I was also attracted to the shopping cart package and SSL. I was not attracted to mega transfer allowances because I had a fairly fixed number of visitors (delegates for a conference). The problem, however, is as others have mentioned, frequent downtimes, very slow servers, in all entirely useless. I thought because I had a small site and low number of visitors, I didn't have to worry about server loading, but clearly they are trying to pack as many accounts to a server as possible. So... you get a package with lots of features, but you can barely use them. I am choosing my next host more carefully.
NigHost, 16th 2008 July, 2008
What sort of host disallows profanity in their TOS? I had to choose someone else because I say a dirty word from time to time
in the biz 12 yrs and unix admin for 20, 26th 2008 June, 2008
If you all would stop buying based on ridiculous claims of unlimited disk and unlimited transfer then hosts like this would stop overloading their servers.

Choose a hosting plan appropriately sized and put a realistic price on what your business web site and email are worth to you - get a clue ... If you value your business tools at the cost of a couple of big macs you will get all you deserve!
Cindy, 25th 2008 June, 2008
Bluehost is basically hostmonster. I've been with hostmonster now for over a year. After trying different top named hosts, this is the one I'm staying with. Everything just works as it should. I'v had no problems with downtime. My data bases always work. Customer service is patient and usually will help even with scripts that I set up. They go out of their way to help if you have a question. I highly recommend them! I won't go anywhere else. They're great!
Trinity, 18th 2008 June, 2008
BEST HOST - WEB HOSTING SERVICE - WEB HOSTING REVIEW

Buddy, Bluehost sucks whatever what you saw on the other websites.

{I hope this page will have a good rank on google for people looking for hosting service}
Jackson, 09th 2008 June, 2008
I've a professional developer, and I signed up with blue host to find an environment to develop in. Their servers are overloaded at 110% 95% of the time, and 120% 75% of the time. What does this mean? Slow/inability to access sites, transfer data, you name it. It doesn't matter if you can host a billion domains and transfer tons of data if all your sites are unbearly slow and all your data transfer is moving at 524 bytes a second.
Bryan, 06th 2008 June, 2008
We've been with Bluehost for over a year now, and I've had accounts with them dating back 3 years. At first Bluehost was a fairly responsive and quality host, however those days are long gone. As it began to grow it fell apart? Especially in customer service, which Bluehost fails so miserably at, they don't even have a customer service department. You end up dealing with their hit or miss tech support or sales, which love you when you sign up, see you as a burden there after. They're the kind of company that leaves you for 30 minutes on hold if you call looking for someone to talk to that even remotely cares that their mistakes and poor management cost you money. Particular mistakes include unannounced changes to the backend hosting software which rendered the site unusable for over a week, frequent slowdown or flat out downtime and failure to notify us of payment for essential services that crippled the site and sent customers elsewhere. They can send me a dozen emails through out the year trying to trick me into renewing my domains through them, however they fail to properly notify us that one of the entire accounts was up for renewal and shut it down until the issue was straightened out.

It sounds like a bad case of poor management and excessive cost-cutting.

If you have a cheap website that isn't reliant on backend scripting, or uptime, then Bluehost is for you. It's cheap and has all the basic features, with a few frills as well. Otherwise, don't say you haven't been warned. In our case we have easily lost more money tenfold than it would have cost to get a superior hosting service.

Net Gear, 05th 2008 June, 2008
This is my first visit to this site, and it's better than the Comedy Channel. What a bunch of losers. Wawawa, I had a problem...{pimp my blog to read the entire story} Wawawa, my site blew up...{pimp my pay per click PR0 trash site} You whiners need to get a life.
HappyUser, 05th 2008 June, 2008
They give you the space, and you can do pretty much what you like with it.
Tech support is helpful, but with the amount of people using their service, it can be a little slow. That said though, I can't complain for the price. I was with Fasthosts before this, a company you pay allot more for, and I will never change now. As long as Bluehost remains as good as it is now, I'm a loyal customer for life.
I hope the others who had a bad experience will give them another try, as they really are a great company.
SadGal, 02nd 2008 June, 2008
Bluehost does all it can to belittle it's customers - on it's tech floor. while you are on hold, listen carefully when they reconnect you; what you will hear will make you hang up.

snide comments, rudeness and imcompetence are the three talents on their techfloor.

matt heaton is known to his employees as a "Mad Man" and that he certainly appears to be to run his company into the ground like this.

I have been a customer with them for over 4 years. but within the past 2 years it has been a steady downhill slide.

just because you offer support 24hrs a day does not mean, that customers get support. in my case that was the problem, over and over for backside issues that they just don't fix.

it's not that they can't fix them - they are just so pompus they say screw the customer, and don't fix anything. basically screw you customer.

a wordpress database problem started this never ending scenario. their attitudes toward fixing it was the final straw for me - as I am looking for a friendlier home for my 20+ domains.

Bluehost is now BlueHOSEd off my shoe...
cbl, 19th 2008 May, 2008
Don't make the mistake of moving to startlogic. I am on this site because I am looking for a new server. They f#$^$ up my site. It has been more than 72 hours and still no solution to a minor problem that they made worse. My site was up about 90% prior to their support "fixing the problem". Noe my site is gone and only saying "Unable to connect to database server!". My files were reverted back to Feb. '08, basically missing all my other files. I suggested reverting back to the day before they "fixed" my site. That was 3 days ago, and counting.
AVOID THEM!
Another Alex, 15th 2008 May, 2008
Totally agreeing with the previous poster (also Alex). BH have nice UI (cPanel) but since about a week ago my sites are non-responsive. Moving on to startlogic.
BlueHost sucks big time!
Alex, 13th 2008 May, 2008
Stayed with them for two months and then moved away: the server remained heavily overloaded for several days in a row, the website was hardly useable most of the time and not useable about 10% of the time. They refused to move me to a less crowded box. The server load was constantly creeping up, usually when it reached 70 (8 cpus) they interfered and everything was OK for an hour. This happened 5-8 times a day for several days. I guess I lost a lot of customers by not leaving them earlier.
Lee P., 01st 2008 May, 2008
@ Ben: I believe you should watch what your saying. Stop talking like a smart arse for everybody's sake. You think finding a "real" hosting service is easy nowadays? And hey, what makes you think that everybody's a small player? There are people like me who need the space and the bandwidth, and since it's a business case and needs a lot of agreements to be gathered up, it's not exactly possible to get dedicated hosting right away. So exactly why shouldn't I use it, when at the first glance all reviews are nice and cool? It's only after giving it a try that you find out the truth...
bluehost problems, 01st 2008 May, 2008
If anyone has ANY sort of traffic at all they will notice that Bluehost screws with their cpu usage, no matter the space and bandwidth promises. Site is always screwing up, is done professionally, just this host sucks. Defamation is illeagle, But truth is not and consumers beware.
Angel, 17th 2008 April, 2008
3 years without downtime (monitoring 24hours), with a db with more than 576000 customers, 80 domains in 1 account, I love bluehost!, more than 30,000 unique visitors.

Excelent support in live chat, response to support tickets in 6 minutes!!!

It´s not perfect but is amazing.

http://www.grupoalianzaempresarial.com
bryan davis, 16th 2008 April, 2008
this hosting sucks!!!

their representative are incompetent!!!

if you have a business you should be friendly to your clients!!!

Crazy Penguin, 12th 2008 April, 2008
Bluehost and their TOS says it all.

http://crazypen.wordpress.com/2008/04/12/bluehost-tos/

Avoid Bluehost! Save yourself some grief and find a better hosting company.
Ben, 28th 2008 March, 2008
You guys crack me up. You're like a bunch of cheapskates who buy knockoff watches that sort of look like the real thing from a distance and then get all worked up when it stops ticking. If you need reliable service, look at uptime ratings, not at how many zillions of gigs of bandwidth you'll get for a buck fifty...
Aasemoon, 20th 2008 March, 2008
I've just had an extremely bad episode with bluehost. To put the long story short, first they accused me of violating copyright, then of violating their tos, and when it's became obvious that I've done neither, they've forced me to remove my material from the server, quite obviously because they have no intention of actually letting you use the space they are offering. It's all a huge scam. You can read the whole thing here in my blog:
http://blog.aasemoon.com
varrys, 15th 2008 March, 2008
i know that bluehost its a fake, just to trick people and get the money, after the required period from which you can't claim your money back any more (1-2 months), they remove your account.
john, 14th 2008 March, 2008
O yeah, i agree, bluehost SUCKS a lot, i had the worse experience with bluehost... i feel stupid for spending my money for nothing. bluehost really sucks
vvv, 14th 2008 March, 2008
BLUEHOST SUCKS, its FAKE they will suspend your account WITHOUT A REFUND, they put extreme CPU LIMITS SO bandwidth/space IS USELESS, they support also sucks,

STAY AWAY FROM BLUEHOST = FAKEHOST
ANY GOOD COMMENTS ARE MADE FROM THEM.
Crazy Penguin, 08th 2008 March, 2008
Technical support sucks, email sucks, uptime sucks, Bluehost sucks.
Moderators censor the Bluehost forum and are very rude.
Read about my nightmare with Bluehost here http://inetintegrity.com/weblog/?p=1
eroticone, 14th 2008 February, 2008
BlueHost f-ing sucks, the worst hosting experience I have ever lived through, it was a nightmare from day one, always down, always slow and if you want a major head ache sign with them. Idiots!!!!
Herb York, 07th 2008 February, 2008
Visit my website at www.astromart.com and register. I need the money.
Charles Pedley, 06th 2008 February, 2008
I have had NO PROBLEMS WITH BLUE HOST! The price is right. They are constantly making improvements to their site and to the extras they offer for FREE! I have consistently noticed upgrades in speed over the almost 2 years I have been with them. Go to CPEDLEY.COM or CHURCH-SOFTWARE-STORE.COM and SIGN UP> Never will you get so much for so little>
Kevin O...., 06th 2008 February, 2008
I work for Blue Host and I have to admit that most of our customer are upset about our service but who cares because I'm rich bitch!
Blue host, 06th 2008 February, 2008
I'm a current customer of Blue host and I do not understand how they are still in business. The only thing I can think off is that they try and take advantage of stupid people. this is about how I am feeling right now. I purchased a custom website $$$ it has been 6 months already and we have not even graduated from being able to spell common words like Internet right. They take the money and delay the product hoping that their customers will just leave and give up. At this rate my merchant account should be up and working sometime in 3001
CT, 25th 2008 January, 2008
gene jacobson,

That's good for you (if you are not their employee posting such perfect 10 review). I have another few accounts with them which give little problems. But just one account with problem of long down time, slow performnance, killing my ppc campaign conversion and waste my money. It kills my entire expereince with them. For ticket dated 22 Jan, they have not replied my request today. (My first request to ask for change of server since about a year ago.)

If you know anyone of the tech support, please tell them about my problem. This will be the best PR you can do for them. Thanks.
gene jacobson, 22nd 2008 January, 2008
They've been nothing but great for me. Been with them since August 2007. No downtime. Tech help is outstanding. The only complaint is they need more of it. Long waits on line to get to live tech help "you are caller 15", etc. But their advice has been spot on, I've had NO downtime at all and they've been responsive to every question I've had either live or by ticket. Great company, in my opinion.
CT, 22nd 2008 January, 2008
One of my account with them always down. Since 1 Jan 2008 (today is 23 Jan 2008) this "box276.bluehost.com" was down at least four times, long hours down. It has been creating problems since last year. But Bluehost support decline to change my this account to another server.

Their tech support have been trying to upgrade and improve this sever but with no avail.

Today, the server down again. and it will take 6 hours for some "file maintenances". Mind you, they were upgrading this server on early Jan to apache 2. it took them another 6 hours. all my PPC campaign money durig the hours wasted.

The live chat support, Tom, basically end the chat prematurely when I ask for a long term solution. And his reply came 10 minutes after my first question. And he ended the chat after that. I still have the chat script in my gmail.

Now I try live chat again, the person took my chat only after more than 10 minutes of waiting.

Other than this box276, my other accounts with them seems ok. Anyway I will not renew this account. I will just sign up a new account and move everything there.
Aaron, 02nd 2007 December, 2007
Kenny, you hit the nail RIGHT on the head!
Its a pity that people are going for the cheaper stuff. They are awesome deals! Yet you get what you pay for!
You want a mercedes, you buy a mercedes... Not a Toyota badged Mercedes!

Just because it looks good, doesnt mean it is...
I am paying about $60 a month to deepbluehosting.com
I was paying Bluehost $7 for the same thing... The difference is, the new company is a lot better with their uptime, support, and sales.
Their pricing is bloody expensive, but my site has never been down. It was using too many resources at one stage, but they let me know, and got in touch with the sites script makers and had it sorted out within 24 hours!
Kenny Chumbley, 02nd 2007 December, 2007
You guys crack me up. You're like a bunch of cheapskates who buy knockoff watches that sort of look like the real thing from a distance and then get all worked up when it stops ticking. If you need reliable service, look at uptime ratings, not at how many zillions of gigs of bandwidth you'll get for a buck fifty...
QueenEve, 29th 2007 October, 2007
I thinklike Andrew said below bluehost let somone writes on their behalf, bluehost is the worst host you can count on, the worst data base holder, source should be uploaded file by file so you do not miss all the content, stay Away
John Lai, 19th 2007 October, 2007
Bluehost sux, don't even think of use their service. They give me nightmare and my site down so frequently. Bye bye! Blowhost! You go try them, you suffer.
Christopher, 15th 2007 October, 2007
Not only do I get CPU limit reached, I also had files corrupted by blue host. Thank god I had downloaded everything to my computer.

I installed caching on all my wordpress blogs and I still get the error.
xan, 09th 2007 October, 2007
I never had a problem with them. Excellent speed and reliability.
Tommy, 08th 2007 October, 2007
I agree with John Bluehost is on of the good hosting companies. http://www.TopTenHosting.com
Ron, 21st 2007 September, 2007
Worst web hosting company ever!
andrew, 21st 2007 September, 2007
Wow it looks like Bluehost actually sends people to write on their behalf.

Since when are people not supposed to buy premade scripts? Maybe we shouldnt buy pre-made software either.

Who would use chat is an alternative to speaking to a rep? If I have a pressing problem I want to speak to someone now! Maybe Bluehost can make that chat work for hospital ERs too. "Oh and if you had half a brain you would know to use their live chat for easy issues as you get faster results."

"You don't need it., 20th of June, 2007
This site is ridiculous as most of your complaints have nothing to do with the bluehost severs but your in ability to program or manage a website correctly. I have several sites on their hosting and they work fine. Instead of using pre-written scripts code a good site or pay to have one coded. Also it is illegal to use someones name without their permission especially in a defamatory way. Get it together and the next time you have an actual complaint about a good hosting service call them and get your issue resolved. Oh and if you had half a brain you would know to use their live chat for easy issues as you get faster results."

Tim, 16th 2007 September, 2007
Use ixcoupon.com to get $99 dollars cash back from IXWebHosting.com a top rated web host.
John, 25th 2007 August, 2007
Used to be good, but not anymore. Do not respond to support issues within 48 hours and put way to many websites on one server. Mine has 1100 sites :(. You can imagine what performance you get with this :(
ds, 03rd 2007 August, 2007
BlueHost Support rocks. I was getting a few cpu exceed errors then I optimized my php and index my mysql database, and I haven't had a problem since. Thanks for helping me through his Bluehost. Great technical support!
FBH, 01st 2007 August, 2007
BlueHost sucks, they were great until March 2007. Then most sites hosted by them got CPU errors.

The flunkies they hire all blame the php code, then one day, it works great for 3 weeks, then back to CPU errors, even though we didn't mess with any code.
Screw them.

If you even try to use that 3,000 GB if transfer when you reach 700 GB you get an automated letter your site uses to many resources and is terminated, that's email is usually in your junk folder so you might not even see it coming in time to make a back up. BlueHost = Fraud
AD_Mega, 25th 2007 July, 2007
The reviews are true. I constantly get CPU exceeded messages. When I call support they claim its my php that the problem. If you have a basic site that don't use a database you will be fine with bluehost but if you plan to have a database look else where. I will move my site soon.
Asghar, 20th 2007 July, 2007
Bluehost is a nice webhosting but sometimes you get cpu exceed message which of course sux...if you have a high traffic website then it is not recommended otherwise it is good.
Find best, 20th 2007 July, 2007
I use godaddy.com for about 5 years, i have http streaming and news site which is daily updating, the SQL and database imagen the database is over 1000 MB. had never down time since switched to godaddy.com
Anti-Spammer, 17th 2007 July, 2007
They refuse to delete a usenet spammers account who is spamming hostmonster.com's affiliate program.
current bluehost user, 07th 2007 July, 2007
If you are running a site with a fair-sized database like we are, beware….if you have too many database queries that take “too long” it will cause CPU exceeded errors which will bring all your sites down for something like 5 minutes! This is a deal-breaker for us...we have been using them 2 years and will be leaving now due to site downtime and lack of support from them to solve the issues. The last tech support rep we worked with was rude and not knowledgeable enough to help with the CPU exceeded problems…
You don't need it., 20th 2007 June, 2007
This site is ridiculous as most of your complaints have nothing to do with the bluehost severs but your in ability to program or manage a website correctly. I have several sites on their hosting and they work fine. Instead of using pre-written scripts code a good site or pay to have one coded. Also it is illegal to use someones name without their permission especially in a defamatory way. Get it together and the next time you have an actual complaint about a good hosting service call them and get your issue resolved. Oh and if you had half a brain you would know to use their live chat for easy issues as you get faster results.
Siva, 04th 2007 June, 2007
This sucking company owner always sends you junk emails saying "Let me explain you what happened yesterday, and why your sites were down...". This sucking hosting will always be down. There is no need to send such junk emails again.

BLUEHOST SUCKS FOR EVER
Siva, 04th 2007 June, 2007
Bluehost sucks. Worst service. Always your website will be down. Worst customer support. Even they have stolen my domain also.

BLUEHOST SUCKS FOREVER
Peter, 15th 2007 March, 2007
I used to be with ixwebhosting and found their admin interface so limited and ability to control the anti-spam settings was non-existent. Their helpdesk was very slow and lame.

By contrast, bluehost have been excellent. Their technical help has been outstanding, being very quick and you actually get someone knowledgeable on the other end. Having ssh access is a real godsend and probably the single biggest reason I moved to bluehost.

The only downside I've had so far are the semi-regular reboots of the servers (average about week to 2 weeks). This results in an outage of <5min, so I can live with that.
Don Parks, 13th 2007 March, 2007
The CPU quota crap on bluehost sucks. Only recommended for low traffic sites with very simple interfaces.
Christina, 04th 2007 March, 2007
I'm back. So far they've improved and their support has be extra helpful. When I read the reviews on other hosts, bluehost appears to be much better as far as shared hosting goes.
Christina, 27th 2007 February, 2007
For next to three weeks now I've been getting really, really, really, unreliable service. Blue HOST SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I got to tracerroute.org and click on random servers and my domain dropsoul.com and every single box (box100.bluehost.com - box190.bluehost.com) on NUMEROUS servers loads in 92.86ms with many, many hops and usually it just poops out at gw0-cust-BLUEHOST-COM.slkc.eli.net -- 70.97.59.22. This is not just from my ip to you, it's from many many many many ips to my site. There is something wrong with your boxes. I get spotty, slow service and it's driving me nuts why my old host with a site I have there comes up in 11 hops and mine takes 25 on average from different parts of the US.
Chuck, 21st 2007 February, 2007
I have a high traffic site and I'm starting to get lots of "You have exceeded the maximum CPU usage" messages.

My site, then, is offline for 5 minutes each time I get that message.

It's a good service, but not to high traffic sites.
timmy, 20th 2007 February, 2007
So far so good. I just started my domain transfer from ipowerweb. Can't be any worse then ipowerweb's 45 min-1hr customer service times.
dave, 18th 2007 February, 2007
After 45 minutes waiting for tech support, they hang up and the operator comes on to tell you your call has been disconnected. HOWEVER if the Techs do come online, they are the best you can get to solve complex problems.
Troy Henderson, 16th 2007 January, 2007
I have nothing but good things to say about these guys. The few times I have had minor issues, I was able to CALL, not chat online, and get it fixed almost immediately.

One example, I happened to be responding to a huge group email, all among friends, that got flagged as spam. I guess each time I did a "reply all" to about 20 people in the thread, it counts towards a daily threshold. If you hit a certain number, you are flagged as spamming. I called their tech support, and they explained the situation. They took a look at my situation, saw that I wasnt spamming, and fixed it on the spot.

I have to admit, I dont really have much of a website, so I cant tell if there is much downtime. But, I will say that anytime there has been an issue, the owner of the company mass emails all clients to explain what went wrong, and why. He also tells what they are doing to prevent it happening again in the future.

I guess what I really like is the communication. It basically looks like a company that has had some growing pains, but resolve them quickly. They are also growing their network to support new customers.

Overall, the service has been great, and I highly recommend them.
Ian, 08th 2007 January, 2007
Bluehost is the ISp for at least one phishing scammer. Keep clear!
names given below - reprinting reviews h, 21st 2006 December, 2006
Noor, 05th of December, 2006

I have an auction site. And at the peak of the auction it crashed saying "You have exceeded the maximum CPU usage". When i called support, different persons give different replies.
Not recommended if you are using sites with high traffic.



Frustrated User, 08th of November, 2006

Bluehost has been a very good site in the past especially its support personnel, but recently upgrades etc. have substantially overloaded support. Now [Nov. 2006], there are considerable delays in replying to queries or only cursory replies--e.g: if you provide a multipoint question, each point is unlikely to be answered. All you likely to get is a one-liner reply which may or may not be appropriate.

Bluehost [as do many other hosts] has deplorable on-line help files, especially cPanel--the site's user utility interface--whose 'help' is primitive as it provides few technical details or system parameter info etc. For example: what scripting info (php files etc.) is needed in folders for certain functions to be carried out, or what files are needed files restore sites, directories to original defaults (uninstalled state) etc. etc.

Bluehost could vastly improve its service by upgrading these on-line help files, as the user could sort out many questions without having to contact Bluehost support, thus allow its technical people to concentrate on jobs that really do need their help.

(BTW, all help files appear to have been written by Linux/UNIX people who seem not to want to write them in the first place and who assiduously avoid nitty gritty cross-references to Windows. This info is really needed by Windows users with little experience of Linux conventions. For example, cPanel's File Manager will DIE if you upload it files whose filenames contain certain legitimate Windows characters but which are not legitimate in cPanel's File Manager, features such as delete or rename file just lock up necessitating support's intervention. These are serious issues and take ages to resolve the first time around, yet there is NO information about them in Bluehost's on-line help let alone any form of workaround. Proper technical reference help would clearly resolve many of these issues.)

Despite my criticisms of Bluehost, many of which are common to others, still it has much going for it. Bluehost probably offers the greatest monthly transfer and storage/hosting space in the business for less than $7 per month--an excellent offer. It also offers a stack of other features too numerous to mention here. If it would only solve the help and support issues Bluehost would certainly be number one once again.

All up, it's a very good hosting site.




jp, 23rd of October, 2006

Good a year ago, bad now. Site times out all the time, lots of sites are having problems, and being sold upgrages that don't fix the problem. They have been monitoring the forum and deleting any posts that address the issues they have been having. They are doing their best to hide this from prospective customers.

David, 29th of September, 2006

They were great when I got them last year, except now the FTP/HTTP is very slow. I think instead of boosting they're diskspace/bandwidth limits they should consentrate on getting more/better hardware.

Hy, 28th of September, 2006

Definitely not recommended. I tried it out for less than a month and cancelled the account. At least they have 30 days money back.

Bluehost limit your CPU usage and could not serve even 1 (one) user browsing photos gallery of resized images (less than 100KB per image.)


George, 08th of September, 2006

Using bluehost is a very positive experience so far.
Walleluia.com recommends bluehost

chris, 07th of September, 2006

bluehost was great a year ago - overloaded now. very slow to respond to tickets. i no longer recommend them.

todd, 06th of September, 2006

Not recommended. The years in business points should be lower. They have been around for 2 years, not 10. They also changed the CPU quota. Overselling is kinda accepted with this type of hosting but leave it up to Bluehost to take it to the next step. Expect to see close to one thousand domains being hosted on one machine.

Tom Provost, 04th of September, 2006

Been with bluehost for over a year now andthey are fantastic, just starting to move company clients on to their servers. They ad some growth pains recently but there was no significant downtime in the past year and each time there was, they were on top of it. Great support, good people.

nick, 01st of September, 2006
bluehost is the best company i've ever worked with, hands down.


rails user, 25th of August, 2006

Tech support is NOT good, it takes more than 24 hours for a respnse if any. Their servers are down every day for about 30 minutes.

john, 22nd of August, 2006

.........
Noor, 05th 2006 December, 2006
I have an auction site. And at the peak of the auction it crashed saying "You have exceeded the maximum CPU usage". When i called support, different persons give different replies.
Not recommended if you are using sites with high traffic.
Frustrated User, 08th 2006 November, 2006

Bluehost has been a very good site in the past especially its support personnel, but recently upgrades etc. have substantially overloaded support. Now [Nov. 2006], there are considerable delays in replying to queries or only cursory replies--e.g: if you provide a multipoint question, each point is unlikely to be answered. All you likely to get is a one-liner reply which may or may not be appropriate.

Bluehost [as do many other hosts] has deplorable on-line help files, especially cPanel--the site's user utility interface--whose 'help' is primitive as it provides few technical details or system parameter info etc. For example: what scripting info (php files etc.) is needed in folders for certain functions to be carried out, or what files are needed files restore sites, directories to original defaults (uninstalled state) etc. etc.

Bluehost could vastly improve its service by upgrading these on-line help files, as the user could sort out many questions without having to contact Bluehost support, thus allow its technical people to concentrate on jobs that really do need their help.

(BTW, all help files appear to have been written by Linux/UNIX people who seem not to want to write them in the first place and who assiduously avoid nitty gritty cross-references to Windows. This info is really needed by Windows users with little experience of Linux conventions. For example, cPanel's File Manager will DIE if you upload it files whose filenames contain certain legitimate Windows characters but which are not legitimate in cPanel's File Manager, features such as delete or rename file just lock up necessitating support's intervention. These are serious issues and take ages to resolve the first time around, yet there is NO information about them in Bluehost's on-line help let alone any form of workaround. Proper technical reference help would clearly resolve many of these issues.)

Despite my criticisms of Bluehost, many of which are common to others, still it has much going for it. Bluehost probably offers the greatest monthly transfer and storage/hosting space in the business for less than $7 per month--an excellent offer. It also offers a stack of other features too numerous to mention here. If it would only solve the help and support issues Bluehost would certainly be number one once again.

All up, it's a very good hosting site.


jp, 23rd 2006 October, 2006
Good a year ago, bad now. Site times out all the time, lots of sites are having problems, and being sold upgrages that don't fix the problem. They have been monitoring the forum and deleting any posts that address the issues they have been having. They are doing their best to hide this from prospective customers.
David, 29th 2006 September, 2006
They were great when I got them last year, except now the FTP/HTTP is very slow. I think instead of boosting they're diskspace/bandwidth limits they should consentrate on getting more/better hardware.
Hy, 28th 2006 September, 2006
Definitely not recommended. I tried it out for less than a month and cancelled the account. At least they have 30 days money back.

Bluehost limit your CPU usage and could not serve even 1 (one) user browsing photos gallery of resized images (less than 100KB per image.)
George, 08th 2006 September, 2006
Using bluehost is a very positive experience so far.
Walleluia.com recommends bluehost
chris, 07th 2006 September, 2006
bluehost was great a year ago - overloaded now. very slow to respond to tickets. i no longer recommend them.
todd, 06th 2006 September, 2006
Not recommended. The years in business points should be lower. They have been around for 2 years, not 10. They also changed the CPU quota. Overselling is kinda accepted with this type of hosting but leave it up to Bluehost to take it to the next step. Expect to see close to one thousand domains being hosted on one machine.
Tom Provost, 04th 2006 September, 2006
Been with bluehost for over a year now andthey are fantastic, just starting to move company clients on to their servers. They ad some growth pains recently but there was no significant downtime in the past year and each time there was, they were on top of it. Great support, good people.
nick, 01st 2006 September, 2006
bluehost is the best company i've ever worked with, hands down.
rails user, 25th 2006 August, 2006
Tech support is NOT good, it takes more than 24 hours for a respnse if any. Their servers are down every day for about 30 minutes.
john, 22nd 2006 August, 2006
bluehost is awesome!
great control panel ... I've had many with other hosts, but bluehost is the best !!
http://www.Blashing.com uses them.
ken, 11th 2006 August, 2006
only one comment?
Tony Kimbley, 07th 2006 June, 2006
Great company with no complaints. I find no other web hostoing plans that compare. Tech support is good. Contrary to what other reviewers say, their support is 24/7 now.
Write Your Review
Your name

Your bluehost.com review

Positive Negative





Do not miss - latest discount from bluehost.com
Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. © 2004 - 2010