Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.canaca.com
Canaca General Information
  Canaca is providing Linux and Reseller web hosting services, has been founded in 1998 and now it's years in business.

canaca.com average uptime is 99.995% (rank #571 on our directory) with total 87324 successful and 4 failed checks, monitored since 2006-01-15. Similar companies with 99.995% uptime are and ihubnet.com.

Search for "canaca.com" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 79100 results so company name popularity rank is #76.

There have been 58 positive votes for Canaca and 95 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #225 (similar companies are nsne.com and hostnuke.com)

Web Hosting Packages
  Bronze (Type: Linux) - 500 GB space, 2000 GB bandwidth for $3.95/mo

Silver (Type: Linux) - 1500 GB space, 5200 GB bandwidth for $7.95/mo

Gold (Type: Linux) - 3000 GB space, 11000 GB bandwidth for $16.95/mo

Reseller Plan (Type: Reseller) - 1500 GB space, 7500 GB bandwidth for $25.95/mo

Some technical data about canaca.com
  IP Location: Ontario - Mississauga - Canaca-com Inc
Blacklist Status: Clear
Nameserver: NS2.CANACA.NET
Registrar: TUCOWS INC.
Server Type: Apache/1.3.33 (Unix) mod_auth_passthrough/1.8 mod_log_bytes/1.2 mod_bwlimited/1.4 PHP/4.3.11 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 mod_ssl/2.8.22 OpenSSL/0.9.7a
Website Title: Canaca-com Inc. - Web Hosting , Domain Registration , and dedicated ( vps ) servers.
Description: Web hosting, domain web names, isp, dedicated web hosting, web hosting reviews, best web hosting companies, domain name registration,

Back to "C" directory


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
Dean, 23rd 2011 February, 2011
Canaca has been the worst hosting company I have had to deal with. They definitely do NOT live up to their 99.9% uptime promise. It's more like 80% uptime. And when you have an issue, there is absolutely no phone support... only email. But how are you supposed to email if your email isn't working which would be down for hours at a time almost on a daily basis. I kept being told that they had a server crash and have fixed the problem but yet the next day the very same problem.

After months and possibly a couple years of daily complaining and frustration they "finally" moved me to a new server which has gone down much less but it still goes down quite often.

Really... this company is only worth their $3.95 per month but it's too bad you have to prepay for a couple years to get this price. If it wasn't for that I'd have moved to a different company a long time ago.

My recommendation... DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!! You'll regret it.
Unvalued Customer, 23rd 2010 November, 2010
Poor, poor customer service. NEVER, NEVER consider them for webhosting!
Unvalued Customer, 23rd 2010 November, 2010
When our website went down this year due to their failed server, I had to contact them. This is the worst web host I have ever experienced. Their customer service is absolutely disgusting and they do nothing about it. They certaily do not appreciate their customers, hence I don't know how long they will have any for webhosting that is. NEVER NEVER, consider them for any reliable continuous web hosting.
Darthu, 10th 2010 November, 2010
Boorka boorka boorka..
no engrish. no service. just horsecrap.
Canaca.com sucks!!, 22nd 2010 June, 2010
Fuck you Canaca.com. Your service sucks! Unhappy ex customer.
Randy, 22nd 2010 June, 2010
BEWARE:
Canaca was a great hosting company 6 years ago when I started using them. Their service has desecrated to being the worst company I have ever had to deal with. I can deal with shitty customer service but when the server is continuously being overloaded then that is it for me. I'm taking my two accounts somewhere else. Canaca.com SUCKS!!
I HATE CANACA.COM, 01st 2010 June, 2010
The are the WORST and the MOST INCOMPETENT with their CRAPPY service CRAPPY attitude, CRAPPY people and CRAPPY accent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ross Hall, 21st 2010 February, 2010
The hosting was OK - although I suffered several outages in 2008 and 2009 which I had to inform them of rather than them noticing.

Unfortunately their support and in particular their accounts department are dreadful. It appears they've mixed up my account with someone elses, were unable to respond to queries about personal data at all and have refused to provide contact details for their CEO or indeed anyone else to whom a complaint could be made. They appear to now be proposing to send domain unlock keys to someone else entirely - which means my dormant domains are not being held in a secure manner.

They were my host for about 5 years and the past 2 years has been a serious roller coaster of a ride. Being a customer of theirs just is not worth the headache.
Antony, 30th 2009 November, 2009
I have been with Canaca since 2002 and overall I have found them to be fairly good. But in recent times there has been an increase in downtimes and a lack of contact options for them.

I cite this example.

My site went down along with their own site. The only option was to email them but I couldn't do this because both my and their sites were down.

There should always be a contact number for support.

I hunted around and found their technical support gentlemans contact details

Paul Louro

52 Knightswood Ave
Maple, ON L6A 1M2
(905) 553-3807

I provide it here so that others may avoid my frustrations.
James Stevenson, 04th 2009 October, 2009
WORST SERVICE EVER !!
STAY AWAY!!

THey hire INCOMPETENT and RUDE people- 95% are from INDIA - no wonder why they have their service like SH*T- thats what happens when you use programmers & techs from INDIA!!!

MANY DOWNTIMES and SERVICE interruptions, and When i ask WHY and start complaining they reply "SHUT UP or i will SUSPEND your account right now"!!
lol thats UNHEARD of! + i was using reseller 2 which is like 400$ per year!!!!


Oh, One more thing, when you need them you wait for hours for them to FIX their CRAP!

But when i told them i WILL NOT renew my account, It was stopped IMMEDIATELY several minutes later - it was that fast!

even the old suscription hadnt expired yet!!

SHI*T SERVICE, they hire INCOMPETENT AND RUDE PERSONNEL from INDIA - thats why they have BAD SERVICE - cause INDIA = CHEAP But NO QUALITY WHATSOEVER!

kalijuri, 25th 2009 September, 2009
canaca.com sucks! plain and simple.

they are also THIEFS.

i left them almost 1 year ago to the day; had a block put on my bank card (bad idea since i have recently found out that doesn't work! thanks Sovereign Bank!) and recently was reviewing my bank statement and found that on 9/11/09 canaca.com stole funds from my bank account.

i am not a current customer of their's, yet somehow i was still in their 'automated payment system'.

which put my account into the negative which, to this date, has caused $55 in fees ($5 being added each day they continue to hold onto my money illegally), that canaca.com is responsible to pay for. so that is $100.26 PLUS $55 and counting.

in the meantime, however, i look like an ahole that puts her bank acct into a negative!

if they had not stolen money from me, i would still have a balance of $58!!!

and yes, they overcharged for the theft! as they did when i was a customer. you always have to get money back from them. they act like they don't know how this happened, but they do it as a regular practice and then pretend it is a computer glitch.

they stole $100.26 of my hard earned money and i am not a customer of their's!!!!

i have literally been trying to get them to give the money back for 2 weeks now! they responded once, of course only via email, asking for a screen print of my account showing this theft and now i have not heard back since and my account is still in the negative!

you cannot talk on the phone with anyone EXCEPT IN SALES. THEY WILL DEFINITELY TALK TO YOU IF YOU WANT TO BUY THEIR SHTY PRODUCT!

my bank is now investigating this and putting the money back in the meantime.

i am not even a customer of this illegal company, but yet they stole money.

and you are correct. THEY ALWAYS OVERCHARGE YOU and if you live outside of Canada, they add a foreign exchange fee, which they were recently successfully sued over and had to repay ALL their customers this fee retroactively!

THIS IS A COMPANY THAT SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED TO EXIST IN BUSINESS AT ALL!

REASONS I LEFT AND WHY YOU SHOULDN'T EVEN THINK ABOUT GOING WITH THIS COMPANY:

1. no help via phone ever (UNLESS YOU ARE AN INNOCENT NEW CUSTOMER AND WANT 'SALES')
2. horrible email response time (if you ever get a response)
3. when you reply to their response, you are put back at the bottom of their queue (i was told this by a sales rep called Brenda).
3. overcharging and taking forever to put the money back
4. STEALING MONEY FROM BANK ACCOUNTS OF NON-CUSTOMERS and not putting it back and not responding to the customers NUMEROUS emails.

may canaca.com rot in hell!

i have sent all emails, timeline of emails, etc. to the US AG's office and the equivalent in Canada.

i will even give a plug to the company i switched over to - godaddy.com. i LOVE them. they help you via email and phone. they know what they are doing when they help you. they charge you what they say they will charge you. they respond in an insanely timely manner. they are always there for you 100%. if you want a great web service, go with them.

AMEN!
Mark, 26th 2009 May, 2009
As many on here have said, this is one of the worst companies you can host with. I set up a reseller account for myself and one for my employer and boy do I regret this decision. Everyday this week has had service interruptions, whether it's mail, ftp, or simply the entire server down, and this is not the exception - it's the norm. You are definitely lucky to get 65% uptime NO JOKE! Nobody there seems to have a technical clue on how to keep a server running smoothly. I can't work because I can't upload files half the time. It's pathetic. Technical support is there but the response is usually: " oh it was a server problem but it's fixed now" Then the next day the same story all over again. Spend a few extra dollars and go somewhere else. Definitely NOT recommended even to my worst enemy.
eric, 22nd 2009 March, 2009
My website is down and email. for 10 hrs. Still waiting.

I definitely wouldn't recommend them.
Oguz, 10th 2009 March, 2009
Hi guys,

Stay away from Canaca.com
-They used to be fine but not anymore.

We purchased their bronze package solution 2 weeks ago.
FTP was up only for one HOUR!
I have just sent the 8th e-mail in order to cancel our account but they are not responding.

Do you know what should be done under these circumstances?
Is there any authority in Canada that can help us?
tracy, 10th 2009 February, 2009
Hello I have been with cancan for about 3 years now and it was the first time ever having a website and I am still working on it lol. But I have to say the service has not been to bad there is a time delay sometimes for support about a couple of hours. I do remember a ways back that they had some issues about there response time.

I did do a test and there site is up about 84 percent. this was a test done over all about a month. There was a few hick ups and they where down about 2 hours maybe it happened 4 times. But overall the price is not bad . I had 3 accounts and I closed 2 of them down and they transfer the extra time over to my main account. There was not a problems with that.(but they wanted and answer why I was closing the other accounts down .

I have to do bulk emailing and I guess some people would call it spamming but it is directed to the industries . I call it a calling card. So I know this is a sensitive subject so I got I contact with cancan about sending out bulk email. They told me 50 email. Per hour is what they will accept after that you could be suspended. I guess if you where to send out 50 emails manually it would take you about an hour lol. There are some software that you can time your email intervals on when you next email will go out automatically so I would look for that option. Most servers out there are really on top of spamming and even the companies they specialize in bulk email sending all email have to be preauthorize. My site dose not get high traffic yet so using to much Bann with and problems with cancan concerning the bandwidth issues sorry I don’t have any experience yet let hope not.

Scott, 28th 2009 January, 2009
I have had them for 5 years now. They have had some minor down time here and there but nothing that would make me move to another company. The price is low so you cannot expect it to be perfect.
Shocked, 12th 2008 November, 2008
I'm shocked at the diverse reviews of this host... I have been a client for a few years and have found them to be quite frankly, adequate... That is of course if you don't mind having your site down for a couple of hours every day, and slow response from their great support transition team (24--36 hours before any response)..

But, for the price, it's not bad... I had the Silver plan (1.5TB space, 5200TB bandwidth).. A really great amount of resources to play with... I had a site up as a hobby and never really pursued it as a commercial gain, but just wanted to have some fun... so this worked out for me...

I had absolutely NO problems with Canaca.... That is UNTIL I tried to actually use the resources that I paid for... hahaha... THAT'S when the problems started... lol...

The are fine as long as you don't plan on actually having your own site... As long as you don't use up resources, they are really quite good...

I was never able to use what I was paying for... I had about 500 GB (33%) disc usage, 300 GB bandwidth (20%) before they decided to suspend my account...

They claimed I was in violation of their TOS which I later proved them to be lying about... I was told that they do this at random to people who start to use their resources which apparently causes problems because they have oversold their services and cannot give you what they sold you.... lol...

So, they decided to suspend my account and told me that I needed to find another host... They then tried to charge my card for renewal but I had already cancelled my card so they couldn't... They then sent me a bill saying that I needed to make payment for services.. lol... Had a good laugh over that... I told them that they were the ones who terminated my account and so there is no need to bill me for services that I will never get to use... lol..

All in all, my experience with Canaca is spotty at best.... When they were up and running, everythng was fine... But that wasn't very often...

As was said by others, "You get what you paid for..." But in this case, that's NOT true.... You get to pay for it, but you don't get to use it... cuz if you try to, you get booted... lol...

If you have more money than sense, then you can give them a try... But I would recommend you go elsewhere... A big thumbs down from me...

Cheers...

:)
anonysixx99999, 08th 2008 September, 2008
had this host for a few years. was a great price back when i signed up and paid in advance to save. but over time it gradually became AWFUL. avoid this host at all costs. you can only get support via email, auto billing nightmares, tech support barely speaks english, tech support can be very SLOW, tech support commonly responds to one question out of however many you asked initially. i'm in the process of transferring to a new provider. finally.. good luck
Ante Logarusic, 23rd 2008 July, 2008
I was a customer for 7 years. They were great at first but have completely dropped the ball the last few. I finally migrated my last site yesterday (over 90 domains spread over 50 accounts) and the final coup de grace was that when I told them to shut down the final account, they emailed me to confirm. So I did...and the email bounced back! hahahaha....goodbye canaca!
james, 19th 2008 July, 2008
canaca is the worst. they renewed my service and we immediately asked them to reverse it, at that point my original account wasn't expired yet but they are refusing to give me my money back.

they are the worst hosting company in canada and they all should be killed one by one. to same your time and money go somewhere else for hosting.
Cuky, 05th 2008 June, 2008
My account with them just got suspended a few days ago. They said that I was sending spam emails and overload their server. They sent me the evident email which was an email I sent to group about 20 people from a non profit organization for a meeting request and discussion of projects. I answered to them and asked for restoration of my email receiving account at least so I can download all the important business email that are still on the server (I'm using IMAP). They never answer both the Sales and the Support. The whole site is suspended. Those Canaca IT guys don't seem to know the differences between a spam email and a legitimate one. They also claimed that they host 200 accounts per server and that is I'm sending more than 100 email it would jam up their server. It seem by that they don't know how to configure their Linux server properly either. I asked around while looking for a replacement hosting service. Many can easily do 500 emails/hour. The funny thing is, I hardly ever send more that 20 emails a day. They can't find the problem with their server so they blame it on you.

By experiences, I also found that their server wasn't performance at all and experiences lots of downtime within one year of hosting with them. Each time, their site was also down.

So I strongly recommand to everyone NOT to host with Canaca. If you're already with them start looking for an alternative berfore they suspend your account. You can't afford your customer to see your website showing 'Account suspended' and cannot reach you by email either.

F*CK CANACA, 12th 2008 May, 2008
CANACA IS THE WORST HOSTING COMPANY.

THEY GUARANTEE 99.9% UPTIME! (BS)

YOU'RE LUCKY IF YOU GET 65% UPTIME!

MY EMAIL IS ALWAYS DOWN, MY WEBSITE OFTEN HAS ERRORS! THEY DON'T EVEN HAVE A TECHNICAL SUPPORT PHONE NUMBER! AND WHEN YOU EMAIL THEIR TECHNICAL SUPPORT DEPARTMENT, IT TAKES THEM 48 HOURS TO RESPOND WHEN YOUR WEBSITE IS DOWN!

WHAT KIND OF HOSTING IS THIS?

ABSOLUTELY THE WORST HOSTING COMPANY IN CANADA BY FAR, AND I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOU DON'T OPEN AN ACCOUNT WITH THEM, BECAUSE IF YOU DECIDE TO LATER LEAVE THEM, IT TAKES ABOUT 3 WEEKS FOR THEM TO ACTUALLY GET BACK TO YOU TO HAVE YOUR ACCOUNT TRANSFERED!

F*CK CANACA!!!!!!!
Ante Logarusic, 09th 2008 May, 2008
I wish to retract my review as of Dec. 2006. These guys have gone completely downhill - I couldn't run away from them fast enough!!!! Actually moved over 50 hosting accounts with them and the cash becuase it wasn't worth the hassle of fighting them.
curly, 04th 2008 May, 2008
Dear "client",

I do apologize if this has caused any inconvenience, but I hope you understand that automation of renewal is the only way to keep customers' sites online on renewal date, and avoid bothering them to confirm renews.

Invoice 244611 is for the automatic renewal of "girlfriendsandgod.com", via the on-file Visa card (starting in 45200).

Since our billing system is automatic "Cancellations must be done on or before the renewal date, by e-mail and sent to accounting@canaca.com or billing@canaca.com" (our contract http://canaca.com/contract.html).

If you have requested that, please provide us with the related ticket number and we will investigate the issue.

Best Regards,
Canaca-Com Inc.
Billing Department.

_____________DO NOT HOST WITH THEM______________________They make a fast buck with their 'AUTO RENEWAL' SCAM!
Never Canaca, 10th 2008 April, 2008
They want 6$ per GB additional Traffic !

Other Companiens only charge 0.20$ or less per GB.
Better you stay away from them !
matt, 04th 2008 April, 2008
cancelled my service with canaca and got a refund minus two months,the best thing to do is cancel your account and maybe you will get some money back,these immigrant cocksuckers must be shut down and stuffed in a hole on some boat and shipped back to where they came from.
Bob, 02nd 2008 April, 2008
I've been with Canaca for two years now and I've only had my site go down twice. Once was for only an hour and the other was a nine hour downtime. Only 10 hours of downtime in two years is pretty good in my book. Other then that, if your looking for maximum storage space, their 3000 gig storage with 11000 gig monthly transfer for under $20 a month is hard to beat.
matt, 30th 2008 March, 2008
if you think these reviews are bad check the ones at www.webhostingjury.com FOR canaca theres over 175 bad reviews for canaca there,
matt, 28th 2008 March, 2008
i would recommend everyone call their credit card company and stop any charges from canaca or else later a charge might pop up on your bill
Alan, 27th 2008 March, 2008
Hahaha..

I just found this on another site:


http://www.webhostingstuff.com/review/Canacacom.html





Subject: perfect support
- by homayoon shirazi of 66.49.203.220 on 17 Dec 2004:

" Canaca is one of the best company that i have ever seen.
Its technical support is the best they solved everything just send an Email and after less than a 1minutes your problem will be resolved.
I experience a excellent period with them.



What is so messed up is that the writer Homayoon works for Canaca.. lol...

I received an email from Homayoon when I had a problem with my site being down yet again..

Hahaha.. Now that should tell you about them...

Writing about how good the service is...

lol...
Alan, 26th 2008 March, 2008
I have to agree with most of the others.. I have been with them for just over a year now, and boy is that a HUGE mistake...

Unfortunately i was turned on to Canaca by a friend and it has been a pain in the ass from day one... They seem to be down every damn day for anywhere from 2 to 6 hours... They started me on one server that was just a total headache... Then moved me to another losing most of my files in the process... And recently they decided to delete my account by accident and now refuse to answer any of my emails that I've sent trying to find out what they did and why they did it...

Tho' I haven't had any of the billing problems as others, I did notice that they are quick to collect and slow (if at all) to respond to your cries for help...

If you are smart, you will avoid them like the plague... Unless you just want to throw away your money for terrible/non-existing service...

matt, 25th 2008 March, 2008
if your paying canaca 25$ a month they will make sure your service is okay,but if your only paying 7$ amonth you will have problems
matt, 25th 2008 March, 2008
i will be canceling my service with canaca soon just waaiting for my domain to be transferred,everyone should cancel their service with canaca,if we keep giving them money,they will stay operating,i switched to hostpapa.ca which is a really reliable company,report canaca to the bbb,ripoffreport.com and tucows as canaca is a reseller for them
Ben, 19th 2008 March, 2008
20 minutes server down by day and slow
that it bad service. i recieved 3 e-mail for another customers.
red, 10th 2008 March, 2008
god damn immigrants,lets stick this company on a boat and ship them back where they came from india maybe or france
matt, 09th 2008 March, 2008
report them to ripoffreport.com this company has resolved 100s of complaint and best thing is its free
matt, 06th 2008 March, 2008
everyone email tucows,canaca is a reseller for them and allowing canaca to scam people is illegal,also email pkarkas@tucows.com,sandro@canaca.com and paul@canaca.com I think sandro or paul is the personrunning the scam
matt, 01st 2008 March, 2008
emai tucows and tell them your problem as canaca is a reseller for them,canaca is the biggest scam on the web and they have been getting away with it for 10 years amazing! maybe it will take a class action lawsuit.
mike, 25th 2008 February, 2008
i am having the same issues as described by the other posters.
T. N., 13th 2008 February, 2008
Have not had any single issue with them and the support team is just fine.
Sara, 08th 2008 February, 2008
PS - I'm hosting 4 sites and as of yesterday started receiving a warning: "The name on the security certificate is invalid or does not match the name of the site" when I go to use cPanel or any of the 4 domains webmail!!! Anyone else receiving this and if so, is there anything that can be done about to stop the warning - it's REALLY annoying!!!!!
Sara, 08th 2008 February, 2008
Although I've had only a few issues in the month that I've been with them, they have NO support via phone - you have to email and HOPE they respond. I've sent three emails and have not had a return call or email. They also didn't send me the receipts/bills for the service I bought (I had to call and ask them to email them to me). Also, the email accounts they provide SUCK! I really wish I'd done a bit more research before going with them - as you've all stated, even though they are Canadian, their prices are listed in US dollars (you'd have to read the fine print on their FAQ page to find that one out though... total misrepresentation!!!).
Got my Money back, 06th 2008 February, 2008
I just got a chargeback for over 1500 Dollars. Dont waste your time with them just go straight to your credit card company. Make sure you present your case and save all emails from CANACA it will be your best evidence as they say anything over email. They cant even type in English and they are a Canadian company. I am now going to take them to court because one of the charges were too far back for the credit card company to investigate.
JORGE FERNANDEZ, 05th 2008 February, 2008
THE WORST my 5 sites hosted with them have been down, loosing pagerank, advertising and credibility for most part of this year. I belive these people are islam terrorist and would highly recommend the USA to investigate. Their method could me very radical and will kill you, your work or your sites like a mosquito without effort. Not only read my review... investigate. They are illegal all the way.
Jer, 03rd 2008 February, 2008
I have very bad experience with the reliability, refund policy, customer service with Canaca. The also has an unreasonable contract that you didn't know when signed up with them. People go to see what the contract state at http://canaca.com/contract.html
The claim they retain the rights to modify the contract with no obligation to inform you
Micheal, 25th 2008 January, 2008
I've been with them for just one week. What a MISTAKE!

Now, they won't even respect their 30-day garantee.

DO NOT SIGN UP WITH CANACA.
Ubuntu Linux User, 24th 2007 December, 2007
My website is down again even their homepage is not reachable.

Support is not the best and slowly.

i think its better to spend more money to an other Hosting Company.
Kevin, 24th 2007 December, 2007
Oh where to begin... lets keep it simple. Canaca has been a thorn in my side since I began web design in 2004 (I have experienced most of the same issues as posted above). There are other hosts out there that are not criminals. I would suggest looking for one of them. DO NOT GIVE CANACA YOU CREDIT CARD NUMBERS FOR ANY REASON!!!!
Bill, 20th 2007 December, 2007
To be honest, I haven't had much problems with these guys. I've been using them for 4 years now. I haven't experienced most of the problems these others are experiencing. e-mail accounts are crap but I don't care anyways.
PISSED OFF, 14th 2007 December, 2007
The 3.95 is US dollars. don't be folled thinking it's so cheap. it's the same as most other $5 per month places just worse service and they'll steal money anyway possible.
Sam, 14th 2007 December, 2007
I can't believe how this company still exists! DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THEM!!!!
Jane, 14th 2007 December, 2007
Do not sign up as an affiliate either. They'll never pay out and will just steal your money. They're disgusting
RL, 14th 2007 December, 2007
They are absolutely awful. The billing department charged my credit card when I had specifically removed auto-renewal on my account and then they admitted they enabled the function to charge the credit card and then disabled it again!!!! Morons! I'm contact the better business bureau. Watch out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Alejandro, 11th 2007 December, 2007
I had three webhostings in canaca. The last news: they reduced to 60 emails / hour / site. They fool. Two years ago was unlimited, then they reduced to 100 and this week to 60. Unlimited emails ?, how ?... I with Canaca, I receive a message: Domain ultraviajes.com has exceeded the max emails per hour. Message discarded.
neverusecanaca, 07th 2007 November, 2007
They suspended my account with no warning, they can not speak English, they do not understand English. You have to send emails over and over. They charge your credit card without notice. Dont give credits, you hvae to get your credit card company to do a chargeback. They STINK, they are the worse. My site was only doing 3000 Unique/day and 34Gb transfer per day. I had a VPS3 which was supposed to give me 2.4T/month.
chris, 30th 2007 October, 2007
dumb as hell support but cheap price
Brian, 26th 2007 October, 2007
Listen to all these people who say CANACA SUCK BALLS!!. WORSE SERVICE EVER!!

People who say they are ok, those people maybe registered 1 domain name and got a small basic hosting, maybe got lucky, but what kind of place doesn't have an emergency phone number?!?!?

I run a web design company so I own 30-50 domain names at a time. Among many other problems..

When I asked about a testimonial from their site, this is what they gave me:
Unfortunately we are unable to give out such private information, as we take our customer's privacy very serious.

Then, they somehow lost a domain name from our client and this is what

This was our response to them:
I sent you numerous e-mail in regards to this. I said if you are not capable of doing this I would go with someone else no problem. Then you did not replt to me all day. I thought your emergenct e-mail was 15 mins not 15 hours. Not only did I repeatedly e-mail you this I called as well.
There is no reason anyone should have gotten this over me. Thanks for your lazy, excuse filled service. Also that stuff you sent me showing the report here is the actual one.

one attempt 3pm FAILED

that was easy look at my report proving you guys tried, oh no confusion here.

Oh and thanks for sending me a useless number again. Maybe it's because you guys screw up so much that you can't have a customer service line.
Oh wait thats right, the customers abused the help line so it's our fault.

Thanks for screwing me over royaly, you suck!

Eddie, 26th 2007 September, 2007
Actually I have found them quite good; I admit that I have never spoken to a human being at Canaca but the few problems that I have encountered over the years have been handled using their ticket system.
Ron, 12th 2007 September, 2007
Same here, I did like Canaca, but since my webhost starter to go down and ask for support, they made it worse, some of websites and email service are down and this issue has last for 6 days and still waiting for a solution.
Canaca support really sucks!

Peter, 09th 2007 September, 2007
Warning
Be very carefull if you are thinking of using Canaca, they made an unrthorized charge to my credit card, and refused to refund it.
they make you run in circles when you try to resolve a problem, very condescending attitude.
I recommend that you do not use them, stay with servers within the USA
Roger, 30th 2007 August, 2007
NO NOT USE CANACA
Great prices and seems like great deal but no comunication when you have a problem. Email them your problem and it seems like they do not understand english. They just ignore your email. # of my sites are not working now for 2 days and they do not fix the promlem.
Kevin, 22nd 2007 August, 2007
wish I would have read these review before I signed up. I'm using their VPS service.
Price is the best I've been able to find on the net. A few things went wrong from the get go. Wrong OS image installed, 2nd request was done incorrectly again, 3rd request got me the correct OS, but it was corrupted after a re-install I did through the VPS control panel. There is almost no support, either via email or phone. Response times to emails are not acceptable. 24 hr-48 hr for a rebuild. My last emails didn't get a response for over 7 days!!!! Buyers beware.
Kew, 10th 2007 August, 2007
DON'T DEAL WITH CANACA.COM ~ THEY'RE THE WORST HOSTING COMPANY! IF YOU DON'T LISTEN, YOU'LL FIND OUT WHY!!
canacuser, 06th 2007 August, 2007
I have been using these guys for some time,, and i think they are ok. The support sucks, but if you get the unmanned service uhh what do you expect. For the price you are getting a deal. They are a good starting service, once your site sees more traffic and starts to generate revenue, move to another provider.
Erik, 26th 2007 July, 2007
FUCKING ASSHOLES told me I had a chargeback when I didn't. They wanted me to pay $45 to get my domain back. DONT USE CANACA. THEY SUCKS
It's a joke or suks, 20th 2007 July, 2007
visit www.canaca-sucks.com
stu, 04th 2007 July, 2007
worst ever. High down time. no support. Avoid at all costs!
John, 19th 2007 June, 2007
Is there any way to sue this company?
nicc, 11th 2007 June, 2007
Fucking ass hole company, i ever c the FUCKING servics in ma whole life...am we giving them money to fuck their fucking mothers...morals/shits ppls...

this is ma advise to all of u, never go with canaca,they will fuck ur ass badly...

CANACA SUCK !!!
Erica, 29th 2007 May, 2007
I have several account with them, and have for many years. I used to love these guys, but it's gotten bad. No communication. Poor communication when you force it.

Sorry Canaca... it's time to move on.
Eric, 15th 2007 May, 2007
well I have been with them for quite a while now.
I was with another hosting compny for quite a while and I have to say that you get what you are paying for. you can expect to host a website with many visitors for 3.95 per month, simply not possible, if you find a place, let me know.
I am a server admin myself and I totaly understand how these things work and reading the comments, I have to say most of them are just judging on theiir own side.

Canaca has been good until now, i have not have that many billing problems suntil now, fingers crossed wont have more.
Chris, 16th 2007 April, 2007
I'm wondering who, instead of Canaca, you might recommend be used. A cheap, good quality, Canadian company? I'm using Canaca - somewhat pleased with their service.
Nice, 06th 2007 April, 2007
Get away from canaca.com. Beware of their hidden charges. You'll never know you were charged until you receive your statement from you credit card company. No refund allow whatever they charged you.
John, 12th 2007 March, 2007
DO NOT USE CANACA !

They susended my email twice

NO NOTICE before suspending it
NO NOTICE after they suspended it

I never sent any spam as they claimed. they said i sent 11,000 emails in one hour.

i never sent more than 10 or 20 emails in one day. normal business only

it took them over one month to respond.

I am moving my account today.

NEVER AGAIN CANACA - YOU SUCK!
monstordh, 01st 2007 March, 2007
First, when I purchased their mid-grade, 1-year VPS hosting plan, what should have taken 24 hours took about 4 days, because they blamed me for their corrupt install, which they said that they would re-install "in 1 hour" and it took over 24 hours and a reminder.

Next, I log into my VHCP and notice that my RAM is 230MB LESS than what the package stated. I contact them to find out what the deal is and they say that they fixed it. I check it... no change. Another round of emails and it gets fixed.

Next, I'm about a week or so into the hosting and the server is down, so I request a reboot. A few days later the same thing. On about the third or fourth time I'm really concerned. This shouldn't be happening. Out of the blue I get the following email:

"Your VPS has been suspended due to high CPU usage. You should monitor your server always, but it seems that you do not. "

Does the term "Jerk" apply here? No warning. No notice. Nothing. I talk them into releasing the suspension and by the time I receive the reply saying they have released it, the site is suspended again. I request a call-back about 10 times to no effect, even calling their "support" line and emailing their "emergency" address requesting a call-back to no avail. Then I get this email:

"The CPU usage of your VPS is usually high and we found it a regular problem. This high CPU usage led to some problems for the MTS machine which your VPS is on. We had this problem with your VPS before and we had to suspend it as it seems it is going to be an ongoing problem and you are not going to monitor your VPS.

We have unsuspended it when you have sent us several tickets and asked to reboot the server; but the problem happened again so we suspend it and warned you about the issue.
I have unsuspended it now for the last time, but please monitor your VPS and make sure that this problem will not happen again.

Also please be noted that your server is an unmanaged one and we do not have technical support and phone support for our VPS plans." (note: they don't have phone support for **ANY** of their plans.)

And guess what? Before I even received the email, the account was suspended again (a three-minute window).

The list goes on, but it all boils down to this: crappy service and THE WORST "SUPPORT" RESPONSE I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH IN MY ENTIRE LIFE (and this includes my other 2 accounts with them -- which will soon be terminated -- that "include" technical support).

ps. I've had lots of problems with them not even reading my support ticket before answering. I have to ask the same question 2-4 times before they answer it. It's a circus.
TheOne, 20th 2007 February, 2007
We try since the first first to get a refund, we discover they sucks on support, impossible to contact them by phone, We ask for refund, they say ok, one month later they say we did not ask fro refund, They stole our money, We will contact VISA directly to resolve the issues
Chris, 11th 2007 February, 2007
F*$&N garbage of a company. Been trying to stop them from billing me, and to get a refund for a long time. They dont answer the questions you raise, just more andmore runarounds. Offshore accounting for sure, as people reply with bad syntax and grammar errors. They will be talking with my lawyers soon
Lili, 28th 2007 January, 2007
U know guys you most be more fair about canaca, I’m having 3 accounts with them for 2 years and I `m always satisfied with their support.
Michael, 26th 2007 January, 2007
So far I had canaca.com for over 2 weeks I can say the support isn't 100% that great, but I always get support from billing even with technical issues. One thing I do hate is when I do call I speak to the same lady over and over and she has bad attitude even if she tries to be nice, her voice is not pleasant. Why do I get always the same person on the line? Do they have only 1 person working there? At least I got a call from another technician in 15 minutes after sending an emergency email. Otherwise my site is always up no problems and very fast. The one thing I have problem with is downloading attachments from my email which I will talk to them about. Well you have to try everyone I guess. I had easyhosting.com before and they were amazing, excluding the technical phone wait time sometimes as long as 30min-1hr. But I put them on speaker phone and sang to them too! LOL!!! I want to try Canaca's internet service too, but I don't know? So far everything is good. But another strange thing is when the operator picks up the phone she never says hello this is Canaca how may I help you? Even in the video tutorial there is no mention of Canaca. Its like their is something fishy about them. I wonder how my bill will be next month?
Sarah, 13th 2007 January, 2007
I hate canaca. The support is totally sucky, they are slow, too many internal server errors. Now, I'm trying to leave them, and they suck harder...they won't tell me how to get out!
Terry, 08th 2006 December, 2006
As above, I have tried for over a year to get them to stop billing me. Best I've gotten out of them is $32 in refund. I'm now getting AMEX to go after them and am inclined to notify the police that they are using credit cards fraudulently.
Joey, 07th 2006 December, 2006
I hosted my first website with Canaca in early 2004. At the time, they had a direct phone number and I spoke with an outgoing sales rep (who may have been the owner for all I know). They offered a lot of bandwidth for a relatively good price back then but now there are tons of better hosting companies offering even better packages with real customer service. All through 2005 and 2006 there were times when my site was down and I felt as though if I didn't email them about it, the site would stay down. Other times my FTP access was cut off for many hours and tech support would email me that nothing was wrong. I recently asked to upgrade to their new system (cpanel) and it became a fiasco. I could seriously go on and on but the you get the point. Stay away from this company. You are just setting yourself up for a headache if you host with them. I now run 75 websites and all but the first one mentioned above are hosted somewhere else. I currently use 5 other hosting companies and the FTP is much faster on all of them, the tech support actually knows what they are doing, and are very reasonably priced. I'd rather pay a worthy company for true value, uptime reliability and quality service.
Ante Logarusic, 04th 2006 December, 2006
Sorry guys - I don't get the anger here. I host over 25 sites with them and have used them for over 4 years. Get an issue every once in a while but nothing worth getting twisted over..and it's always resolved. They're not perfect but are better than other places I've hosted with. Overall, I've found them to be a good value.
Caveat Emptor, 29th 2006 October, 2006
Caveat emptor is Latin for "let the buyer beware" . . . and you better beware of this company. I wish I had found this feedback before I got involved with them. I registered multiple domain names at $10 PER year and they charged my c/c $30US for each one. They claim that the second year is "renewal" although option of 1 and 2 year registration was given during the registration process. At least 3 places on their website says domain registration is $10 PER year. As with previous comment, nothing said about US dollars. I too thought I was dealing with a Canadian company and CDN dollars. Expect also customer service is offshore. Email responses frequently don't respond correctly to the issue raised and syntax is wrong. Haven't been able to get past receptionist to talk to anyone in charge and repeated emails receive a curt reply. Don't just bitch about them here, file a complaint. If you have a concern about the purchase of goods and/or services contact the Ministry of Consumer and Business Services:

Consumer Services Bureau
Ministry of Consumer and Business Services
250 Yonge St., 32nd Floor
Toronto ON M5B 2N5

Toll-free: 1-800-889-9768
Phone: 416-326-8800
TTY Toll-free: 1-800-268-7095
TTY: 416-325-3408
E-mail: cbsinfo@cbs.gov.on.ca
Matthew, 26th 2006 October, 2006
i just searched 'problems with canaca' and found this. i have been with them for less than a week and have had nothing but troubles. my email isn't working and there is zero customer support. worried after reading these claims that i'm going to have trouble getting my money back. did anyone notice then when you put their address in google maps and get a satellite image that canaca is located in a public park?!?!
andy, 14th 2006 October, 2006
they fucking suck all my domains were deleted the fucking morons I have 5 websites hosted with them, they repetatively go down all the time. I AM PISSED, they would not refund my cc's and are still billing a hosting account to my cc that they cant find cause the dns entry was deleted how fucking retarded is that too bad I cant find any information of how to sue I just chagned my credit card number they owe me for 3 accounts and about 10 months hosting time on my other two that I switched. They always ask for stupid things like copy of drivers license to do what, upgrade my hosting account from ensim to cpanel. idiots! never canaca it unless your life depends on it even then its iffy
Shelley, 27th 2006 September, 2006
Don’t be fooled by the two claims on their homepage:

• Free 24 hour emergency phone suppport and no setup fees. Have your site online in minutes.

• 30 Day Money Back! If you become dissatisfied with your service for any reason, you will receive a full refund (minus domain name registration fee).

First of all I should have been suspicious at the spelling mistake (3 p’s in support?). When my site wasn’t up in DAYS and I couldn’t get through to their technical department I decided that I wasn’t ‘satisfied with their service’ since I’d never received any. So I cancelled and requested my money back.

The billing department will only communicate through email (no phone calls allowed) and they refuse to refund my credit card because their service isn’t a free trial I have to provide an ‘acceptable’ reason for why I’m not satisfied. No really that’s what they’ve said.
Meech, 18th 2006 September, 2006
Absolute bunk. 2 years of crap from these idiots. I'm still trying to collect a refund for a hosting account they renewed without my consent. Rude customer service. Runaround sales reps. Downtime is atrocious (5 minutes each hour on the hour almost?!). Shady billing policies. Canadian billing adds a couple bucks to their pockets for each hosting account.

AVOID. Please!!!!! There are other hosting sites with comparable prices. This is not worth the hassle, expecially if you're trying to get out.
Robbie, 14th 2006 September, 2006
I just signed on with them and found my credit card was billed in USD after I read about their servers in Canada and their offices there too. Nowhere mentioned was the prices were not in CDN. Replies from billing and support were terse, at best.
Ajay, 19th 2006 August, 2006
Poor service, their servers go down regularily, and the only contact is through email, and their replies are short, and rude, and never answer specific questions. They will automatically charge your credit card after your term without you approval. I would highly suggest another hosting company, as these guys are garbage!
Ed J, 09th 2006 August, 2006
Do NOT believe the "30 day Money-Back Guarantee: If you become dissatisfied with your service for any reason, you will receive a full refund (minus domain name registration fee)" that is posted on the front webpage. You will have a hard time collecting it!
Zach, 06th 2006 August, 2006
Good and bad I suppose. I was with them about a year. Ended up just canceling because I got a better deal (1/4th the price they were charging me and I get twice the storage/bandwidth)... a few problems:
For ssh access, they asked me to send them a photocopy of my drivers license with my SSN, a copy of my signature, and a Note saying it was "for ssh access" to them in an email. When I said "Sure, but I would like to encrypt that info before i send it, got a public key?" they acted like i was crazy. Then when i asked them about gpg being installed on the server (to encrypt emails when i send them through a form), they told me it wasnt. Which was fine, exept that it was built on the server and configured, just waiting for keys to use. they are... well... morons over there
Aaron, 12th 2006 July, 2006
Very difficult time reaching customer service to change billing info. It appears as though they prefer to dodge issues and prolong them until the customer gives up. Don't use them. Start with a company capable and customer focused not Canaca.
Dave, 12th 2006 July, 2006
Poor response to server issues. Very difficult time attempting to switch billing information. This paticular issue has been going on for three months and they still haven't corected their accounting error.
Cliff Frost, 08th 2006 July, 2006
Been with canaca for over two years and only learned of one outage, which was back up in hours. Great price. Good service. Fair tech reps
George F., 05th 2006 July, 2006
servers is really bad. I rent servers from them and the server is always down. I was embarras with my clients when I try to show them my sites and they are all down. There's no 24/7 telephone support at that time.
Peter (sapcity.com), 13th 2006 June, 2006
Well, about once every 6 months the entire Canaca system goes down, including their own website. They always do this at night, US time. So me being in Europe, I have to wait with reading my important emails until about lunchtime, when the sun rises in the States and they go on-line again. It they would at least send out an email in advance if these are planned outages, or one to apologize after the fact!
TM, 05th 2006 May, 2006
All of what you read is true, about the e-mail/site going down often. Notice every time it happens canaca.com is never down. Slow administrator console and general site slowdown over time, yes and yes. About sarcastic support this is true too. They told me last week I could not recive my e-mail because my ISP (Comcast) was blocking port 110. That was the straw that broke the camels back for us. Needless to say it wasent the ISP, and that has to be the worst line of BS ive ever heard. Anyone even thinking about signing up with them do yourself a favor and pick someone else. I am not going to mention who i switched too, if i did this would sound like an advertisment.
Don, 01st 2006 May, 2006
I've been with them for 3 years, and they treat me well. unlike somebody else here they DIDN'T automatically charge my credit card. Their support is great, and the price is great. The only things i'd like are more mysql databases at the silver hosting level, and imap mail.
Robert, 20th 2006 April, 2006
I Signed up on April 17, and cancelled on April 20th. Now I realise that I can't be critical of the service as I was not with them long enough, but the customer service reps I spoke to ranged from ignorant to just plain rude. That, along with the startling number of negative reviews I've read (should've done that before hand), made me decide to get out while the getting's good. On a positive note, the cancellation was quick and painless. I've just signed on with CHI host, so we'll see how they fare.
Rick, 18th 2006 April, 2006
Beware -- requested that they restore my website with any backup made within a 6 month period. They claim that their only existing backup of my site was corrupt. Now I find that their main site is offline today...all day long. Responses to support emails are short almost to the point of being rude.
I definitely wouldn't recommend them.
Tim Van leeuwen, 04th 2006 April, 2006
Worst hosting company, poor service, lack of technical expertise, Refund policy is poor.
Nikki, 03rd 2006 April, 2006
I've been with Canaca for 6mths and the support staff has not been helpful enough with website questions regarding links and marketing tools. I have not been able to successfully get my site up for customer usage, they have not called to see if I need assistance and no one at this Canaca has a clue about templates, uploading logos or any web sense. Its very discouraging to pay for service and not have ANY backing if needed. I want out!!!!
Tom, 14th 2006 March, 2006
The main problem with this hosting service that I encountered is their reliability. I regularly have problems accessing the administration console. The e-mail service has problems which range from not being able to retrieve e-mail to e-mails sent to my address simply bouncing with "user unknown". Emergy technical support can hardly be reached and support through e-mail is slow.
Dean, 28th 2006 February, 2006
I have never had a problem with them. Support is pretty good too, been with them for 3 years. Can't beat the price, and I like to support companies from where i am from.
Eric, 07th 2006 February, 2006
Beware -- they will automatically charge your credit card year after year without you approval. While their hosting was acceptable in general, their deceptive business practices earn them a negative.
Write Your Review
Your name

Your canaca.com review

Positive Negative


Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. © 2004 - 2010