Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.cedant.com
Cedant General Information
  Cedant is providing Linux and Windows web hosting services, has been founded in 1999 and now it's years in business.

cedant.com average uptime is 99.993% (rank #1114 on our directory) with total 89694 successful and 6 failed checks, monitored since 2005-10-25. Similar companies with 99.993% uptime are and naf.com.

Search for "cedant.com" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 22500 results so company name popularity rank is #193.

There have been 29 positive votes for Cedant and 12 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #323 (similar companies are nethosters.com and greenbaynet.com)

Web Hosting Packages
  Cedant (Type: Linux) - 300 MB space, 25 GB bandwidth for $9.95/mo

Cedant XL (Type: Linux) - 10 GB space, 50 GB bandwidth for $14.95/mo

Cedant W (Type: Windows) - 50 MB space, 1000 MB bandwidth for $11.95/mo

Cedant WXL (Type: Windows) - 750 MB space, 50 GB bandwidth for $24.95/mo

Premier EXL (Type: Linux) - 20 GB space, 600 GB bandwidth for $39.95/mo

Premier (Type: Linux) - 15 GB space, 600 GB bandwidth for $25.95/mo

Some technical data about cedant.com
  IP Location: California - San Diego - Cedant Web Hosting
Blacklist Status: Clear
Nameserver: NS2.CEDANT.COM NS.CEDANT.COM
Registrar: ABACUS AMERICA, INC. DBA NAMES4EVER
Server Type: Apache/1.3.33 (Unix) mod_fastcgi/2.4.2 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 mod_jk/1.2.6
Website Title: Web Hosting, Dedicated Servers and Web Design from Cedant
Description: Web hosting, domain names, web design.Web hosting services offered by Cedant include affordable Unix Hosting plans. Hosting plans come with free domain name registration

Back to "C" directory


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
Anonymous, 25th 2008 September, 2008
Horrible support. They did something on their end that resulted in a PHP config issue which resulted in all of the .php pages resolving as Internal Server Error. This problem was reported at 4pm, it took them until noon the next day to fix it. They have NO admins on staff after 5pm so my client's website was down for nearly 24 hours until they got around to fixing the issue. I didnt not choose to host at Cedant, I inherited the site and hosting. I will be moving to a host that has true 24/7 support and away from the one that advertises 24/7 support that in reality is a phone bank full of flunkies that are trained to be patient and say "I'm sorry". Unacceptable!
Stacey Lemmond, 26th 2008 June, 2008
Update to my post from 2007. Cedant's support level has increased dramatically. I still get billed for domains that I have transferred but they are quicker about refunding and they have been much faster responding to requests for transfer codes. :)
Walt Hunt, 27th 2007 December, 2007
Cedant has hosted my website since 2001, cedant provided good service with no complaints but, the trouble starts when you need support or just need an answer to a problem, it takes days to get answers, if you lucky, if you call ,your put on hold or you get to talk to someone that you can't understand because of their broken English, I'm in the process of transferring all my files from cedant to another host. The reason is that five days before Christmas ( a busy time for our on line store) cedant suspended my website for using PHP Script and generating to much cpo traffic, or over usage, no warning, no e mails, no alert or we are going to shut you down, just close my store and let me wonder what's wrong, after several phone calls and e mails to support I found out about the suspension, cedant also wanted me to send an e mail stating that I would agree with their terms for over usage, when I asked, "what are your terms" no one could tell me, so I didn't agree with them. Being frustrated, I have since transferred my website to another host. Seems they lost touch with their customers.
steve wilinsky, 01st 2007 November, 2007
simillar story - ben with them for years no problem then over the past year it seems to have all gone wrong. - no telephone support, and emails not replied to.
Even pointed out a XSS securiy hole in their servers and the response I got back was that it would only effect the security of websites on the server and not their server so they didn't care. - currently looking for a new host but a bit scared to try and move based on stories I have heard - definatly stay away form them!
Stacey Lemmond, 16th 2007 October, 2007
I am so disappointed with this company. For awhile they provided good service. However, I had issues with some sites going down temporarily and needed to find a better solution for hosting. Another problem that occurred way to often with Cedant was double billing. Apparently at some point they changed their billing and it caused a lot of havoc. Regardless, it was a pain to sort out what was legitimate and what wasn't.

Up until 2006 I still used them for domain name registrations although I didn't use them for any other services.

For the past year, I have had repeated problems logging into my domain name panel and problems with updating information but the changes not taking effect. As you can imagine this is very frustrating.

I have never ever found Cedant support to be helpful. Days go by with no response to emails and it doesn't matter what time I call, I stay on hold for a long time and then I am given the option of leaving a message. Sometimes the call is returned sometimes it is not.

The worst problem has been trying to transfer domains from Cedant. Upon request of the transfer authorization code, I am repeatedly given the wrong code. The latest incident has caused me (and my client) grave concern. When I requested the domain transfer, Cedant changed my DNS and my password. I could log in using the newly generated authorization code and I could even change the DNS so that it appeared to be going to the correct place. However, it did not and a very important website was down for almost five days.

The goal of my company is to provide good quality services. It is horrifying for me to have to explain to a client that his site is down and know that there is nothing I can do about it.

I believe that this was a malicious act on Cedant's part. Unfortunately, I have several domain names registered with them and I can't risk client sites being down during a transfer. If anyone has any suggestions regarding future transfers I would love to hear them.

Cedant is the only company I have ever worked with that changes the dns when a transfer is requested.

Another issue I had with Cedant involved changing the contact and billing information from me to the client. When the client decided not to renew the domain name, Cedant tried to bill my credit card. Luckily the card on file had expired.

Again, I can not emphasize enough what an incredibly stressful situation this last domain name transfer situation has been. It is always my top priority to offer quality service and support. It is unacceptable to me that a dns is changed without my approval.


Susan Valentine, 29th 2007 August, 2007
I've also been working with Cedant for many years with no complaints. Since late July, as far as I can tell, they've completely removed any phone support and are very pithy and late with any email support. Many requests for email support go unanswered. It's a different company altogether. I have a site that I've been trying to get up for weeks unsuccessfully. I'm on the verge of closing my accounts after years worth of recommending them to everyone I know.
Manuel Marinho, 04th 2007 August, 2007
I have been working with this company for over 5 years. Never had a problem until recently. Their service has become horrible. I went out of my way to try to get them to address the poor support but was ignored. I even went as far as trying to increase my business with this company to be able to obtain better support, didn't happen. So I decided to close my account and take my business elsewhere. I placed a cancellation request on their web site (as requested by them) on 7/30/2007 to immediately close my account and issue me a credit for all the payments made to them in advance. It wasn't until wednesday 8/1/2007 that I got an email back saying my account would be closed on 8/9/2007. It takes them a few hours to setup a new account yet takes them over a week to close one. They have also ignored each and every email that I sent them regarding refunding my money and closing my account immediately. I started doing some research and found allot of other people that had the same problems getting their accounts closed. There is no contract whatsoever involved here. They also have many complaints on their Better Business Report.
mike judge, 27th 2007 March, 2007
The best, no complaints in over 5 years. I've recommended at least 5 other people, and they can't believe how good, and inexpensive, the service rates.
Jon Edwards, 16th 2006 October, 2006
I was pleased with the rather average service while I was a customer, but now that I've opted to switch to a host with more options for a better price, Cedant will not cancel my service. I've made three requests, and I still haven't received a cancellation notice. I've also been billed past the point of my requests.
Write Your Review
Your name

Your cedant.com review

Positive Negative


Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. 2004 - 2010