Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.cihost.com
Cihost General Information
  Cihost is providing Linux and Windows web hosting services, has been founded in 1997 and now it's years in business.

cihost.com average uptime is 99.993% (rank #1100 on our directory) with total 88832 successful and 6 failed checks, monitored since 2005-09-02. Similar companies with 99.993% uptime are and naf.com.

Search for "cihost.com" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 108666 results so company name popularity rank is #62.

There have been 135 positive votes for Cihost and 80 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #109 (similar companies are easystreet.com and simplenet.com)

Web Hosting Packages
  Starter Plan (Type: Linux) - 8000 MB space, 250 GB bandwidth for $11.91/mo

Graduate Plan (Type: Linux) - 16 GB space, 500 GB bandwidth for $24/mo

Starter Windows Plan (Type: Windows) - 8000 MB space, 250 GB bandwidth for $13/mo

Graduate (Type: Windows) - 16 GB space, 500 GB bandwidth for $24/mo

Innovator Plan (Type: Linux) - 40 GB space, 1000 GB bandwidth for $35/mo

Some technical data about cihost.com
  IP Location: New Jersey - Williamstown - Cihs
Blacklist Status: Clear
Nameserver: NS.CIHOST.COM
Registrar: REGISTER.COM, INC.
Server Type: Apache/1.3.33 (Unix) PHP/4.3.11 FrontPage/5.0.2.2510
Website Title: Managed Web Hosting Services - Dedicated Servers, Server Colocation and Web Page Hosting For Companies - C I HOST
Description: Managed Web Hosting - C I Host provides Internet web hosting, dedicated server and colocation solutions for thousands of companies worldwide.

Back to "C" directory


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
john doe, 15th 2010 May, 2010
I worked for them, they lie everyday to customers. Cf is a fat stinky money hungry pig. I hope he dies a slow painful death.
David, 14th 2010 May, 2010
Chris Faulkner is cihost. I think cihost is shut down now, but Faulkner runs a bunch of other business in Dallas and is a conman fraud. I cant believe hes not in jail. From reading other comments it looks like having a lawyer in the family can keep anyone out of prison.
bhaskar, 18th 2010 March, 2010
Get All Host Ned coupons, Host Ned coupon codes and Host Ned promo codes from deals365.us and save a lot on your online shopping at Host Ned.
Steve, 06th 2010 February, 2010
They did not renew my domains automatically and I cannot renew them myself... why? All their systems except the home page are down.

Bye bye, CIHost...
Greg, 10th 2009 December, 2009


The truth about CI Host

Ci Host
#1 in server outages with no explanation
#1 terrible customer support
#1 in fraudulent billing practices
#1 poor business ethnic
#1 poor service

Many years ago they were an average company you could get affordable bandwidth and customer support but not any more. I noticed changes with them a few years ago and left. I had 2 dedicated servers and canceled months ahead of time but they still tried to bill me. My credit card company denied the charge and I didn't have to pay but I would not recommend this company to any one. Their customer service is awful and the few reps they do have don't know what the hell their doing. People make sure any credit card you have on file with them is replaced with a new number as soon as possible when you decide to make the switch.
Do not waste your time or money on extras because they don't exist ( that's right ). Any of those so called extras you buy to add to your server aren't real. The guy Rocky I dealt with lied through his teeth so I would fork over more money for something I never got. The owner of this company has been in and out of court so many times its not even funny, this is hands down the worst hosting company in the world and I would not recommend them to my worst enemy. People if your with them you need to leave immediately do not procrastinate its not worth the headache!
Greg, 10th 2009 December, 2009
The truth about CI Host

Ci Host
#1 in server outages with no explanation
#1 terrible customer support
#1 in fraudulent billing practices
#1 poor business ethnic
#1 poor service

Many years ago they were an average company you could get affordable bandwidth and customer support but not any more. I noticed changes with them a few years ago and left. I had 2 dedicated servers and canceled months ahead of time but they still tried to bill me. My credit card company denied the charge and I didn't have to pay but I would not recommend this company to any one. Their customer service is awful and the few reps they do have don't know what the hell their doing. People make sure any credit card you have on file with them is replaced with a new number as soon as possible when you decide to make the switch.
Do not waste your time or money on extras because they don't exist ( that's right ). Any of those so called extras you buy to add to your server aren't real. The guy Rocky I dealt with lied through his teeth so I would fork over more money for something I never got. The owner of this company has been in and out of court so many times its not even funny, this is hands down the worst hosting company in the world and I would not recommend them to my worst enemy. People if your with them you need to leave immediately do not procrastinate its not worth the headache!



Holly, 03rd 2009 December, 2009
I was on hold with the accounting department for 40 minutes before deciding to hang up. I cancelled my account in 2008 and recieved a collection notice from Escallate in Nov. 2009. When I cancelled the account, $168 charge was removed from my account as I cancelled it several times before. Almost a year later after not receiving any bills from CI Host, I get a collection notice. Customer service is horrid and I am so sorry my web guy ever got me signed up with CI Host. Such a waste of my time spent trying to deal with them.
Zach Calvert, 11th 2009 November, 2009
Terrible service. 4 day outage, 4 days on the phone with their IT. Their network admin hosed an entire subnet of machines and tried to fault the companies for it. Took several racks down for 4 days.
Stephen, 10th 2009 November, 2009
CI Host is shutting down their Bedford, Texas location. http://www.star-telegram.com/business/columnists/shlachter_perotin_fuquay/story/1746183.html

Good riddance.
Another Fool, 09th 2009 November, 2009
I've been trying to call DEDICATED Unix Support for the last 24 hrs and the line has been busy... I've now called 10 different phone numbers associated with CIHOST and they are all busy. Even better -- the 911@cihost.com emergency address for server outage is not working....

I've been with the company since 2003. When I can get through to them I'm going to start the cancellation process. I'm a fool for encouraging them with my money for so long. By the looks of some other comments on here, they're as crooked as they come in terms of observing and acknowledging a clients wish to cancel. Luckily my husband is a fairly successful civil attorney and should they try anything funny I'll make sure Christopher Faulkner and the mother he holds so dear to him are paying out the ass.

I've feared switching companies because I didn't want to lose the database and following I had built. Now I have someone who can help me take my stuff elsewhere. CIHOST sucks.

Stay away if you can!
Dustin Marks, 28th 2009 October, 2009
CiHost CEO is Christopher Faulkner I hope hackers turn his life upside down. You got problem with me?
Will, 19th 2009 October, 2009
I have been a CIHOST customer since 2005. I have had ups and downs with them over the years, but due to the economic climate I had to canceled the account this year. I canceled as requested to do so online. Only to receive a bill 2 months later. Luckily the billing credit card was canceled before hand.

Also, I purchased 2 hard drives and had them installed in to my dedicated server; as of right now they are holding them hostage for a sum of over $2,500. (the cost of the dedicated server package)

Now I have a collection agency bugging me to pay a bill that is not valid.

I have wrote off the HDD as a loss. And I have turned over the collection problems to the lawyers. I bet a letter from my lawyer will shut them up. But who knows.

Peace
will
CiHostSucks, 14th 2009 October, 2009
The whole Cihost Dallas is down now for at least 30 minutes at 3:30AM 10/14/2009. The tech said that the network admin was doing maintenance unscheduled. My server was down for 38 hours on 10/6/2009 and 10/7/2009.
greg, 22nd 2009 September, 2009
After waiting 50 minutes on hold (number 1 in line) I was suddenly bumped two number 2 in line only to be hung up 10 minutes later for a server that had been down for 2 WEEKS... WTF..?
Another Cihost Victim, 11th 2009 September, 2009
Cihost is the worst Company ever. They rip you off, steal your money take your computers, and sue you if you say anything bad about them .. Chris is a freakin idiot along with his mother and father that brought him into this world. The better part of Chris ran down his mothers leg or she swallowed it. Jesica is another Idiot, i hope they all die a slow death so they suffer bad because CIHOST Sucks Crap. Stay away because they are rip off artists
Average Customer, 04th 2009 May, 2009
BAD!!! STAY AWAY!! Tech support 100% Billing department will screw U!. I used CI Host for several years called 3/4th of the way thru this last year to check all the things I needed to do to end my contract. Everything sounded fine, I got NO BILL, NOT EVEN A PHONE CALL! They charged my bank account.. I followed the instructions I was given and they ended up charging me 1200 bucks and now say the contract had terms I didn't adhere to, I am out the $1200 so sorry bye bye... Now they refuse to return my emails or money.
Grim, 31st 2009 March, 2009
Hell yes the shared hosting is gone,This means
support for colo and dedicated customers,Ive been with cihost for2 years had some ups and downs but i have noticed tech support really kicking in and taking on my issues more aggressively than before and solving my issues hell Ive even got a call back by tech support that has never happened ,and up time does seem to be getting better,Billing dep. well needs work bad,I thank after these shared domains that was sold to x7 hosting will free up there time and be positive for us still hosting with cihost. All & All i think they will be coming back strong and on top real soon.
So I'm staying with cihost.
screwed again, 11th 2009 March, 2009
CIHOST is down again... all support lines are busy.
Ed, 12th 2008 December, 2008
CI Host ILLEGALLY CHARGED my Credit Card after 2 years of canceling my account! BE AWARE!
Also the problems trying to transfer a domain are terrible. Phone support is the worse in the market!
Jeff - jeff@jeff-net.com, 04th 2008 December, 2008
Anyone who wants to be part of a class action lawsuit, please email me. I can't take it anymore. I got a call this morning from a collections agent. My story is the same as others. I cancelled every way possible and they did not cancel. Now they say I owe. I WANT TO FILE A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT. Please contact me if you want to be a part of it.
Email: jeff@jeff-net.com
Seab, 01st 2008 December, 2008
I signed up for hosting with CI Host in the first qtr of 2003 through mid 2006. I had many accounting issues with CI HOST, but thats another complaint.

I received a collection notice from ESCALLATE for service in April 2003. The funny thing is that CI HOST did direct billing from my bank account until 2006 with everything paid in full when we left CI HOST.

When we call ESCALLATE, they say we need to talk with CI HOST and the $50 will go on my credit report if I don't pay now.

When I call CI HOST they WON'T even look at the account to verify. They say I need to call ESCALLATE.
bad business, 06th 2008 November, 2008
It hard for me to believe they still are in business because there are many other hosting options for reliable and cheap.
Longtime, 23rd 2008 October, 2008
CiHost will rip you off! Let them go out of business!!!
Michael, 21st 2008 October, 2008
CIHost is Sending me to collections for services never rendered. During my 2 years with them the server was often down. At the end of my 2nd year when I went to cancel my account they gave me the run around. I would call and they would tell me to cancel online, I would cancel online and I would hear nothing from them. They automatically renewed my contract for a year even though the server was already off . They sent me to their Escallate collection agency to collect on the year of service that I never received that is due to expire in 03/09. I am now in the process of filing with the BBB and will be considering a lawsuit against CI Host.
Jeromy, 20th 2008 October, 2008
Can't get into my server in LA, I heard they might be closing the LA location also, at the end of this quarter I am dumping co-located services and just going with a virtual server with Go Daddy or something. Its cheaper and far more reliable, and when I say cheaper I mean it would cost me less in downtime than the lame "crazy deal" I have. I am kicking myself for even falling for this nonsense, and with the economy faltering my customers are even more sensitive to downtime.
TJ, 16th 2008 October, 2008
I cant explain how bad they suck find another host
WorstEver, 09th 2008 October, 2008
CIHost is the worst hosting company I have ever dealt with. During my 1 year with them the server was down for 1.5 months. They would simply pull it from the network with out warning or reason. Then when I went to cancel my account they gave me the run around. I would call and they would tell me to cancel online, I would cancel online and I would hear nothing from them. They automatically renewed my contract for a year even though the server was already off and I was with another provider. In short they sent me to their Escallate collection agency to collect on the year of service that I never received. I am now in the process of filing with the BBB and will be bringing a lawsuit against CI Host.
Steve, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
That costs money and that is money the owner of CiHost would rather keep in his pocket.
Time Warner, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
They are now blaming Time Warner Cable for >>> cutting their line in Dallas. <<<

A hosting provider should have more then one line from one provider. For redundancy, they need multiple lines from multiple providers.

We do.
Steve, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
Ours did also. You know the time it would take to drive from CI-Hosts HQ's to downtown Dallas where Time Warners offices are and deliver a check would take about the same amount of time the servers were down. hmmmmmmmm
Don, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
Our servers, just came back on line
3:39pm CST
Steve, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
hmmmmmm. me wonders if the cable was cut or they didn't pay their cable bill.
Steve, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
They are now blaming Time Warner Cable for cutting their line in Dallas. They always, always, always blame someone else. Anyone else but them, that's the Ci-Host way!
portheous, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=726774
portheous, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
here's another thread about today's outage..grrr
Steve, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
Now they are saying it is a cut cable. Seemed to take them 3 hours to figure that out. I KNEW they would blame someone else. They always do. This means Chris will try to sue them and make him some money. We won't ever get an apology from them but then they don't think it is their fault. They have never heard of Redundency! When I called 2 hours ago I was told their network administrator had just arrived. Not from lunch.... he is off site and on call, so he is only in when they have a problem. Thank GOD he was not on vacation in Mexico!
Don, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
CI Host left an outage message at 1:45 CST that the network will be down for 4 hours
Maha, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
5:45pm in which time zone?
G, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
These guys SUCK! I've been "1st" in line on their phone queue for almost 30 minutes. Their recording now says 5:45pm eta for coming back up, but doesn't say what the problem is.
Don, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
Got through to a garbled message on the status phone extension. 4hr ETR
lisa, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
does anyone know what the problem is today? No website and busy signal on phone.
Stefan, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
Stay away from cihost.

Several times this year, they go down for hours at a time.

Their 'system status' page has never worked. Calls to support go unanswered. Nobody responds to the chat room. Email to support will sometimes bounce, or go unanswered. If you're lucky, you'll get a response 1-2 days later.

Luckily, I only have one server there.
maha, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
anybody know what's going on at CiHost today?

http://headsetplus.com
Lisa, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
everything down for over an hour now. can't get through on phone line.
Andy, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
Their website and phone systems are down as well.
maha, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
ded server down for me too!! &%$!
Carl, 03rd 2008 October, 2008
10-3-2008, 2:00pm. CiHost is down. The entire site, along w/ everyone's websites. 'nuff said!
sandy, 30th 2008 August, 2008
as their live chat is not working, two days weekly holidays, our all sites are down.............oh Jesus pls help!
no name, 12th 2008 August, 2008
Every Bad Review above is True...
Hansom, 28th 2008 July, 2008
As a former employee, I can say Im not surprised to the amount of negative reviews on CI Host. I can attest to my anonymous friend about seeing better "data centers" in the third world countries!! I too cant believe a company would offer such services CI Host Data center really is not a data center. Its actually on a floor at a small 5 story bank building as a tenant of Hwy 183. It does not use servers but cheap custom PCs in white box cases!! All employees do have a negative attitude for most of them are either high drop outs from rural Texas or overweight women who hate their lives and blame everyone else! What so funny is the founder has his mother who is an attorney employed as an advisor who creates the legal text and fine print and Im sure handles his legal issues and another huge, heavy breathing women (probably his aunt) who is the operations, H.R. manager?? She has no operations skills what so ever, but she's probably a second mother figure.
Employees are underpaid for their technical expertise for they have no technical expertise. CI host also threatens employees against speaking out or leaving (by way of forced non compete contracts) and even brings frivolous lawsuits against customers and employees alike. (Hence the need for mom on the job!)
Stay away from this company and its "services" and may the only money spent on it be towards legal costs fighting the good fight in a class action suit in court to bring about its end.
Joe, 05th 2008 July, 2008
Our mail server is down from 4th onwards even though we have paid $256.00. A wonderful answer received when we talk to the Technical Team. Their billing department is not working fro three days just because of Series of holidays (June 4th, June 5th and June 6th) .All of them in CI host is sleeping at home. A customer like us struggling for the last 4 days with out any emails. We regret to choose CI host

Scott, 19th 2008 May, 2008
I just read a lot of bad reviews here, and I wonder if those people are swayed by the comments of others. I have ben using CI for almost 3 years now, and so far its been pretty painless with the exception of a small hiccup or two. I get decent speeds and decent uptime overall (although then they are down, it seems to be a little longer than the downtimes with another DataCenter I rack with). In the end, you get what you pay for. I get the same speeds and similar connectivity from both DC's, but i get better customer service and shorter (but as frequent) outages as with CI host (who I pay half the price fro)
eddie, 18th 2008 April, 2008
Left cihost due to poor customer service 2 yrs ago but the company is still sending me billing notices. THIS COMPANY IS RIDICULOUS!
SW, 11th 2008 April, 2008
Colo customer in dallas. Power was lost yesterday around ~10AM, they did not update their status system into well in the late afternoon (with a fake 'Good morning..' message). My rack lost power then came back up. Apparently they figured the A/C systems in the building were secondary requirements and did not bother to re-power them. Needless to say my servers + RAID began to overheat. My RAID has no way to be remotely shut off (just rebooted) and CIHOST was unreachable (and still is). I have attempted to email, and call EVERY single number listed at cihost.com. As of this morning, i have lost a handful of drives in my array due to overheating, resulting in complete loss of my data.

Are there any firms representing customers persuing a class action suite against cihost for similar losses? If so, can the firm name be left here?
Mike, 10th 2008 April, 2008
Our dedicated server has been down for 14+ hrs now .. and counting.

I have the feeling that today everybody there took the day off.

A DC with no power .. give me a break.

I'm looking for another hosting company right now.
Pablo, 10th 2008 April, 2008
My dedicated server has 12 hours down!!!!! by a fuse???
They say: Due to a severe thunder storm in our area last night, our Bedford, Texas, data center is currently without utility power.
WHAT???? is not a DATACENTER?? I supose the datacenters has this problems covered!!!!

Online Support and phone support is: is, is. not. not is.....
STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!
Mike, 10th 2008 April, 2008
THEY SUCK. Been down 12 hours now and no way to contact them as their phones are out too. SUCK SUCK SUCK, THEY SUCK.
eric, 10th 2008 April, 2008
this company is a joke. we need a simple server reboot and i've been on the phone holding for their support rep for over 2 hours now. their phone system says im in queue to be #3 and then suddenly jumps to #19??!?!?! its unbelievable they are still in business.
Anonymous, 16th 2008 January, 2008
As a former employee, I can attest to consumer complaints. I feel awful for consumer losses and feel this is the only way i can help so read carefully. I've seen better "data centers" in the third world and never in my life would have thought a company would offer such services on such inferior cheap brand x pc hardware. No real server hardware and plenty of dated/laughable consumer network gear. Employees are either underpaid for their technical expertise(thus they don't care for the job as it amounts to flipping hamburgers) or incompetent due to lack of experience. $8-10 an hour is way below industry wage for qualified IT professionals.CI host also threatens employees against speaking out or leaving (by way of forced non compete contracts )and even brings frivolous lawsuits against customers and employees alike.
The poor quality of service ties DIRECTLY with the lack of investment put towards infrastructure, personal and platform.
Stay away from this company and its "services" and may the only money spent on it be towards legal costs fighting the good fight in a class action suit in court to bring about its end.
Nick, 19th 2007 December, 2007
Colo'd with them for years. Closed account and now they won't let me get my servers. I can't get anyone to be at the LA DC and nobody wants to talk to me or return numerous phone calls. This is a disaster. If you get a bill that's older than a year (depending on your state) it has past statute of limitations. They lost. This is a bad company run by a bunch of losers. Years ago I visited the LA DC and saw the tech guy (who wasn't really a tech guy - just a switcher) working on CIHost's website. That should have said it all. I didn't heed the warning and now I am out of my servers/data/etc.
mike, 18th 2007 December, 2007
I guess I got off easy, they only charged me another year's service cause they only accept disonnect requests online and there was no way to disconnect online (sounds like the porn sites, doesn't it)
Michael Richardson, 07th 2007 December, 2007
Worst colo ever...
TJay, 06th 2007 December, 2007
Stay away. Been down 10 hours so far today. All I get is an answering service when I call the LA COLO.
Donald, 25th 2007 November, 2007
I won't be hosting with CI Host, this site has backed up what has been said on other sites. Thanks for everyone taking time to give honest reviews in making my decision, I have a small company and having a reliable firm is far more important that cost alone!
Rose Herenberg, 17th 2007 November, 2007
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.
We should create a Non profit organization to collect signatures and present a REAL CASE against this company. Partners must be traving all around the world with our money.
John Vering, 17th 2007 November, 2007
TERRIBLE.
They use horrible collections techniques. Try to extort customers to collect bills and if you the back look to speak with the manager he uses very nasty words
CROOKS!, 17th 2007 November, 2007
This company was started by a SNAKE OIL SALESMAN and is being run as such. A real BOILER ROOM OPERATION! Stay clear if you want to keep your money and your credit score intact. Expect plenty of downtime. Employees are criminally incompetent and billing department works on intimidation to get you to accept questionable billing practices. This company should be investigated by the Texas Attorney General.
Adriana Gonzalez, 15th 2007 November, 2007
As a vendor, my experience was the worst. CIHOst owners came down to Los Cabos and ripper my family company. He used my services and didn't paid for. I tried to collect and receive nothing but personal and very rude offenses to myself. He even call me crook, rob, and INFERIOR MEXICAN WOMAN. The worst, he came to GET MARRIED...
robbie, 08th 2007 November, 2007
I wanted to host with them, doing gaming servers, sales people wouldn't even get back to me, we went with Gator, I am glad these reviews are on here, buyer beware!
cilostmoney, 08th 2007 November, 2007
CI host = bad, check out all the reviews, their co-lo in Chicago was robbed, I read about it on Slashdot.
Tom, 07th 2007 November, 2007
After having my servers in several hosting companies, CI host is by far the worse firm I have ever dealt with. If you look at their Datacenters, any of them, they are all dirty, and in disorder. Just avoid these guys, Also they keep billing you after you cancel with them, just a bunch of dirtbags.
Barona, 02nd 2007 November, 2007
This company is incompetent and ran by crooks!!! Stay away!!! This company is all hype and false advertising to get you to sign up. Once they get you, watch out because your nightmare begins!!! A year after we canceled their very poor hosting service, we got a mail from a collection agency,Fidelity Credit Management, about an unpaid balance on our account. CI Host did nothing to settle or check their records before turning us in to the collection agency. Our online account info shows a balance of 0. Yet their billing dept. insist on us paying a balance. All attempts to settle with CI Host billing dept. were met with hostility. Emails were not return. This is the worst experience we ever had with any hosting company. Others have similar experience. Read more on:

http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/252/RipOff0252592.htm

http://www.epinions.com/inet-Web_Hosting-All-C_I_Host/sec_~opinion_list/display_~reviews/pp_~3#list

The Texas Attorney General should investigate this company for fraud, among others.
richard, 13th 2007 October, 2007
They had another break in at their "secure" datacenter in Chicago. They didn't have a security firm, and its all on public record so I am not making a false statement. AVOID AVOID AVOID, please avoid, don't end up being used as a customer by this dirtbag firm.
RIP-OFF!, 12th 2007 October, 2007
Read this before you consider signing up.

http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/250/RipOff0250968.htm
Bradley, 12th 2007 October, 2007
Easy to sign up, but cancel and you're in for a LONG NIGHTMARE!!! A year after we canceled a service that was nothing but problems, we continue to receive monthly bills. CI Host refuses to admit the billing error for something so obvious. All they have to do is check to see that the domain name has been transferred to another company months ago. This company is also trigger happy in turning in questionable invoices to collection agencies years after you canceled services. Untrustworthy - they are out to harass you till you give in. Tech support is mediocre at best. This company must be ran by crooks. Run for your life!
Robert, 10th 2007 October, 2007
Terrible firm, they don't pay venders, they can't keep security firms, and now they are looking on career builder for a full time armed security guard, for grand total of 15k a year, in Chicago, where the cost of living is so high, if you value security of you're gear find a place that has a true 24/7 data center with the money for the proper hiring of guards and techs, otherwise you will be risking you're ROI on you're servers. Chris Faulkner doesn't care, he is a cheap ass, all while making ad statements that his datacenters have 24/7 security as you can see by the many posts on here.
derek, 05th 2007 October, 2007
CI host keeps messing up my account information, I am do going to dump them as soon as I find a reliable hosting serivce nearby.
peter, 16th 2007 September, 2007
In the past year, I have called CIHOST perhaps 10 times because my site has been down, 4 of those in the last 6 weeks. It is hosted in Los Angeles on a Linux server. It usually takes a few minutes to get thru on the phone, and a few minutes after that the site is back up. In addition, I have noticed very slow service at times.

Though I am able to get thru on the phone, their technical support staff is combative, under duress, sarcastic, have an excuse for everything, have obviously been trained to be evasive, change the subject, etc. It is clear the staff has been trained to shovel BS they are combative and well practiced. It is almost like talking to a used car salesman.

I have approximately 9 websites and 3 hosting companies. I have never experienced this type of problems with any other hosting company, from the very small to the very large. Unfortunately my primary url is hosted with CIHOST, and that will change as soon as I find the time to move to another company.

I am reluctant to name my url for fear of retribution from this terrible host and wish I personally read online reviews prior to allowing my former IT person moving our main site to this bad company.

More Below:
I was instructed by CIHOST technical support to send an email to customerservice@hostingsupport.com which I did. Below is the email and response:

I have called CIHOST 4 times in the last 4 to 6 weeks because my site has been down. On all 4 occasions, I identified that the site was down, not CIHOST. This begs the question: How many times has the site been down and I did not notice?

I look forward to a reply.

Your ticket has not been accepted into the system. You are required to register at the following URL to submit any issues via Email: https://www.hostingsupport.com/

Once registered, you will be able to submit any issues directly by sending us Email. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.

HostingSupport
Pablo, 31st 2007 August, 2007
I have 8 years with this company, the last 7 years support was good, not great but well..... This year I bought another server in this company and the support is TERRIBLE NOW!!!. My support tickets have 24 hours to be solved and NOW MY SERVERS AND THEIR WEBSITE ARE DOWN!!!!

Im thinking to move out!!!
Hong Kim, 31st 2007 August, 2007
Damn it! Our server is just down again.
DO NOT use CIHOST. I will move to other hosting company soon.
Sinking_Ship, 29th 2007 August, 2007
CIHOST is a sinking ship. They are closing the Newark datacenter at a time when other people are expanding data centers. Bankruptcy is around the corner.

I think the collection agency scam is just a way to prolong the total demise of their shrinking business.
jorge, 21st 2007 August, 2007
Think your host is bad? I currently have a rack with 16 servers hosted at Ci-Host Newark. Weve had plenty of issues, such as 6 hour blocks of down time, the AC going out, the NOC Manager yelling at us when we only gave 3 days notice when we needed to come in.

What did we expect, we pay $360/month for 10mb/s and a full rack. Our contract states well get 24 hour access, biometric security, etc. What we really got such fabulous features such as:

Nicely rusted cabinets, that look like they spent months in the rain. Complete with hole where the fan should be.
Random downtime, always blamed on hackers, which isnt covered by the SLA
Not quite biometric security, more like a steal door that you have to knock on really hard with a key.
On site day care, actually better, the space is shared with day care center.
AC system is essentially a bunch of stand alone ac units with duct taped ducts
In the deep part of the ghetto in Newark.
Not quite 24 hour access, more like access between working hours with at least 3 days notice.
On site sysadmins that knew nothing of what we were doing. One guy actually dropped one of our 1U machines when helping us unload
Last Monday I finally get a call from Ci-Host, saying the facility in Newark will be closing. Closing August 31st, a whole 2 week notice to move 16 servers.

Of course I knew they were closing, since they called a friend who also has servers there, though they never told us. So even before they called us we already got a new host, at 111 8th Ave in the XO Communication facility.
Alan, 01st 2007 August, 2007
CI host may have been the cats meow 10 years ago, now all they are is a festering pile of crap, the datacenter is unkept, everything is always disorganized and they use old technology for dedicated servers. Save you're cash and go to one of the more top rated hosting firms. Even if its a bit more pricey in the short term.
Gauhar, 01st 2007 August, 2007
CI host is very bad, I had a server with them for several years, and everytime I called with a question, nobody called me back, also, they don't ever respond to email. They are very cheap, I guess you pay for what you get, but I suggest spending a bit more money and getter better service.
Paul, 01st 2007 August, 2007
Have a dedicated server with them. They are always down every couple of months for hours at a time. One time they were down for 12 hours. Tech support told me that their backup generators can only power half of their servers. How can a datacenter operate like that?? They suck period! Just signed with rackspace for 2 years. I called actual rackspace users and had 100% positive feedback about them. They are a little high in price but its worth it.
Alex - Florida, 25th 2007 July, 2007
After 10 years with cihost I neede a file restored, very important for me. Cihost UNIX support answer: sorry disk crash we can do it,
can restore a file, I'm out tist is costumer support, one request for help in 10 years , "sorry about this" is this the answer you want to get if you have problems ??
Larry, 25th 2007 July, 2007
They say they have a lot, what they have is power outages because they don't pay their electric bills, and non operational back up generators. The owner I hear drives a ferrari. Do you really want to make these guys richer?
John Doe, 23rd 2007 July, 2007
Terrible reseller plans. Terrible tech support. Terrible billing. Terrible account management. You order a windows account they give you unix. They send you logins that doesnt work. Beat around the bush service. That is the best they can do. Try sending them an e-mail, see if you get a response. I bet you, that you wont. The only way you will get a response is if you are buying a server or something. Try asking about a cheap software and some specs. They will tell you that i think it is this. Who cares what you think. You stink.
Reza, 23rd 2007 July, 2007
The worst Hosting Company in the world. I had a private cabinet with them. I had my most horrible time with them. DOnt even go close!!!!
michelle, 19th 2007 July, 2007
CI host has a plethora of problems, avoid.
jane, 06th 2007 July, 2007
cihost is the WORST hosting company..

..you will be put on hold for at least 90 minutes with music that will drive you crazy..
...they don't tell you when your contract is up so they can charge you a fee to get your site back up and running. Never received an invoice, they just took down the site...tech support is horrible..they definitely don't care about their customers. I have moved half my sites from there and plan to move the rest asap. I haven't received anything from collections...yet.
Dennis, 02nd 2007 July, 2007
Wow. There isn't one positive review here! I had the displeasure of using their services for about 11 months. I can't say my hosting was that awful, but their tech support was awful. And, big surprise here; I received a collections notice from that Fidelity group when I cancelled my account over a year ago! Seems like they're trying this scam with a lot of people. We should organize a class action suit.

I called them today and spoke to somebody in their collections department and she said to ignore it and they'll remove me from their system. We'll see.

I'm dreading having to transfer my domain registration to my current host from cihost. That is the last step in completely severing ties with them. Something tells me they'll try and say they can't do it because I owe them money.
Randey, 23rd 2007 June, 2007
3 years and 2 months after my account expired with C I Host I received my $388 debt collection notice from Fidelity Credit Management. I called C I Host and after a 45-minute hold the woman refused to investigate even though I had all my account details. Note, like others I prepaid for a year of C I Host and quit using in after 8 days as it was useless. C I Host is pure ripoff operation
AZ, 20th 2007 June, 2007
I have the same problem - I prepaid for a full year of service back in 2003. They had a massive outage and I was down for several days. After 4-5 days I couldn't take it anymore and cancelled. I also moved my site elsewhere. I only got about six months of service out of the year I paid for.

Then four years later I get a collection notice. I'm not going to pay it, but this is simply a bad way to do business. They should be the ones paying me since I never got what I paid for in the begining.

Someone needs to file a class action lawsuit against these guys for extortion.
ReallyFedUp, 04th 2007 June, 2007
Guess what? Connectivity issues again! In the last 4 months this is the 5th instance of the SAME PROBLEM. CI claims to fix it, things chug along for a bit then we are down again. We are so out of here in August. Given the false billing issues everyone seems to be having, I plan to cancel service via phone, e-mail AND certified letter.
MiKiHaSa, 02nd 2007 June, 2007
(Submitted to FTC.gov) Similar to: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/250/RipOff0250677.htm and: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/250/RipOff0250968.htm I received a letter from "Fidelity Credit Management" (Agoura Hills, CA 91376, 818-991-4220) stating that I owed them money. I called them, and they said it was from back in 2001. I pre-paid all accounts with CI Host, and cancelled them when I was done, so this claim is false.
Christine L., 31st 2007 May, 2007
I received one of these notices this week, claiming I owed $44.00, and they added about $16.00 in interest.

I have never, at any time, had an account with CI Host. I called Fidelity Credit Management, and asked them what the heck this was all about. They said it was from something in 2003! As someone who pays off her bills in full every month, I was really surprised to hear this!

I told the rep at Fidelity that I will not pay until they can produce a copy of an agreement that I actually signed with CI Host. Something sounds really fishy with these guys.
Bob, 30th 2007 May, 2007
I got a debt collection notice from Fidelity Credit Management 3 years and 2 months after I closed my account with CI Host demanding $317. This company's primary business is falsified debt collection, not webhosting. Avoid. If you too got scammed report to Fort Worth BBB at http://www.fortworth.bbb.org/
Craig, 30th 2007 May, 2007
Like the last 3 folks, yesterday we got a present from Fidelity in the mail. Stopped service 5 years ago when they couldn't keep the business site up for more than a few hours at a time. No notices or anything in that time. Like a bad penny......

grrrr
Chris, 30th 2007 May, 2007
Same problem as Warner and Matthew - account was closed over 4 years ago. Just received a debt collection letter for over $500 for services I did not receive. Not only that, they were absolutely horrible hosts before I canceled.
Matthew, 29th 2007 May, 2007
Just like Warner, I got the same letter from Fidelity Credit Management too. My account has been closed for 3 years. No service and no communication since my prepaid account expired. Stay far, far away!
Warner, 27th 2007 May, 2007
We canceled two years ago, when our prepaid contract expired -- and today we get a letter from Fidelity Credit Management demanding $240 plus interest of $46! No other billing nor notice of outstanding balance? Stay away, unless you enjoy being subject to petty extortion.
Reddymade, 22nd 2007 May, 2007
We have 2 dedicated server intel xeon 32.ghz raid very good servers. except the bandwidths available are very cheap and poor. the bandwidths available are worst than a dsl internet connection. feeling terrible terrible with CIHOSt, there customer service is a crap. it takes atleast 50 minutes and then you get to a person chris. he is a robot. he can't do nothing all he say is they are working on it someone will get back to us. thats all he say. Also did receive an email from Michael calmes saying the problem will be fixed by End of busines day. that was 2 weeks ago. still the problem is there and no one cares.
CIHOST is a Hoax, stay away from Jason brice/kevin crandell sales people. they make u feel you are speaking to a car mechanic.
I can prove if you want we still have 2 servers definetely counting the days to get out of there company.
Mike, 21st 2007 May, 2007
Whatever you do, don't pick CI Host! Their technical support is absolutely terrible! They insult and berate you, and even may shut your site down, if you don't go away!
Really Fed Up, 18th 2007 May, 2007
It took almost a week for our server to come back up. There was a LOT of back and forth and empty promises from CI. We have not even been up a full week and now we are down AGAIN. The problem this time? It is the same issue we were having for months before the hard drive failed - A device en-route to the server is intercepting and dropping traffic to this server. All TCP connections are being established with the rogue machine, then instantly dropped. We have reported this issue no less than 6 times over the last 3 months. The problem is fixed temporarily then it resurfaces.
alex, 16th 2007 May, 2007
I was trying to go to one of their hosted sites. Slooowwww..I figured I'd investigate to see what was up. Is this site hosted on someones home DSL connection? Nope. it's C I host. Nice going guys.It's a really simple page, yet it took over a minute to load.
Really Fed Up, 11th 2007 May, 2007
We have had a dedicated server with CI Host for a few years now. In the beginning they were great, however, the last 6 - 8 months we have had nothing but problems and such poor customer service, I wrote their CEO a letter. As I type this our server has been down almost a week because their equipment failed. At first they wanted us to pay them $75/hour to repair THEIR equipment. When I argued it with them they backed down. Now we have been waiting almost 24 hours for them to partition the drive so we can do data recovery. If I wasn't so far away, I would drive down to Dallas an offer to do the partition myself.
dave, 12th 2007 April, 2007
It is hard to imagine a worse company, their billing department just sends erroneous invoices for overages that are never justified even when presented with the facts. They then threaten to pull the plug on your servers unless the bill is paid. These people should be locked up!
Mark, 21st 2007 March, 2007
Warning! This company is as bad as you can possibly imagine. Never, never, never host with CIHost. You will regret it.
Ned, 07th 2007 March, 2007
CI Host is, to say kindly, the WORST hosting company I have ever come across. I am a web developer and made a mistake of recommending to a client to them. Customer service is manned by RUDE and UNPROFESSIONAL people; BILLLING is full of inaccuracies; features on their hosting packages are almost NON-EXISTENCE. This company operates like a is a fly-by-night company.
Jon, 27th 2007 February, 2007
Our email and website have now been down almost a week. I panicked yesterday and drove to their Dallas center. I spoke with Matt. He looked me in the eye and actually told me a quirrel took out the data center. I guess the squirrel copped to it. Anyway, he came back up and said we would definately be up 10 PM last night. I asked the sales staff how we can keep our server up. Rocky blew up and I left a message in "his bosses" voicemail. No return call yet. They are acting like I need to slow down and give them some more time to work on this. Especially since the admin of offsite. Again.
Simon, 26th 2007 February, 2007
Some of their system is back up. But. Some parts have been down for 12+ hours. Their newtork status page is a joke and give an error message when you go to it. All live chat options are unavailable. All tech tickets are still open. Looking real bad.
Igness, 26th 2007 February, 2007
I don't know why Harvey says that the power problems are resolved because it is now 12:04pm Central time, and they have been down for over 5 hours and are STILL DOWN!
Harvey, 26th 2007 February, 2007
Long time user. NT based shared servers have good uptime. 99% is quite believable. Which is fortunate because MTTR in problems is poor. Their windows support group is pleasant and caring but unable to effect repairs. Their admins have poor customer skills.

Todays power problems were very disturbing but resolved in 2 hours.
Richard, 26th 2007 February, 2007
I have a dedicated server as of last week. I paid for one year. BIG MISTAKE. Their sites are down as I write. They are terrible. We only signed up since it was easier -so we thought- to move from share to dedicate service with the same company.
ShouldaKnownBetter, 26th 2007 February, 2007
I've been a long-time cihost customer. I started with a colo about 4 years ago, now I have a rack of servers being hosted there. There entire Dallas data center of 3000 servers has been off-line for 2 hours as I type. I will be leaving there. Avoid at all costs.
Anti-CIHOST, 26th 2007 February, 2007
Our dedicated server is now offline as I type. Not only that, their main website is also offline. It looks to be a major problem with their backup generators or network. I am moving my stuff as soon as it comes back on. We are loosing big business.

STAY AWAY!
Paul Borsellini, 26th 2007 February, 2007
Terrible downtime, frequent issues needing rebooting, poor service... lost a lot of customers due to services not being available, and lost sales due to sites being down frequently.

avoid.
Brian, 22nd 2007 February, 2007
These guys are crap! I'm searching for a way out as we speak.

Email is crap. Tons of spam, I have been missing emails from clients. They just disappear. No undeliverable message to the sender - no arrival in my inbox. They just poof into thin air.

BE WARNED
Jerry, 21st 2007 February, 2007
Avoid at all cost. Do a google search for "CI Host review" and you'll see why. Save yourself some money and a great deal of headache. Look elsewhere.
John, 09th 2007 February, 2007
They are the worst at everything, but they are great at billing you to get money.
Unhappy, 03rd 2007 February, 2007
CiHost and its downtime, glitches, and lax security have cost my employer 100's of thousands of $$$ over the last year, including recently the loss of our biggest account. Thanks CI HOST! You are the bomb...
Jason F B, 25th 2007 January, 2007
I'm blown away by all the negative reviews. I had a shared plan with them for a couple years, then now a dedicated plan for a couple years. My worst experience was about 3-4 years ago when my site was unreachable for a day and a half. Other than that I've had no major issues aside from not being able to access the site for a couple minutes once every great while. I have found their customer service to be decent. I don't really call them but whenever I submit a ticket to TicketMonster it is handled usually quickly - even if I goofed up something and it was my fault.
Haris, 13th 2007 January, 2007
In very begining they were excelent. Now, they plain stink. I would not recommend. Myself, I am going to look for different ISP.
Source Of Frustration, 13th 2007 January, 2007
Don't Do It!

Trust the reviews you read hear - if you are a reseller, stay away. Like others on this post, my experience has been lots of down time, almost invisible Tech Support (try calling and listening to the horrible music loop for an hour), outages . . . you name it. 99.98% uptime - I don't think so. Some servers have a heavy load and are at times a bit slow, I can go on and on - I will spare you of all the negativity. If you have clients that depend on you for dependable hosting - DO NOT PARTNER WITH CIHOST!
Louis, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
I was hosted in the Chicago DC for a year or so. Continuous downtime, frequent power outages, incompetent tech support, out right lying about 24/7 onsite people. Terrible billing, unauthorized server reboots... Not recommended at all. I found out the reason for their low cost.
These Guys SUCK, 05th 2006 December, 2006
Worst tecnical support, worse 'uptime'. A LOT of downtime. Accounting people don't know what they are doing, totally incompitent. Sales staff tried to rip me off of THOUSANDS that my small company cannot afford. Went to new host.. thankfully.
Ayac, 04th 2006 December, 2006
Great package for low price. You get 3000-3500 GByte in the price of a dedicated server, Livestats and a bunch of Serverobjects. I have to admit that is cool!
Bad thing is their customer service sometimes and their billing department. There are a few guys who know what they are doing, but God save from those other ones who do not... Many times things gets done only if I get mad and tell them I will cancel my accounts... Basic stuff can be missing, I have to recall them many times asking to test their work, "redo" them...
Terrible, 09th 2006 November, 2006
Server continually down. Security problems. Dedicated server support doesn't answer phones, they would just ring and ring and then disconnect. DO NOT use cihost, I recently cancelled after being abused for a couple years. Dumb me.
cihost should be investigated, 28th 2006 October, 2006
I remember seeing cihost offering cogent free bandwidth hosting while every data center they had was using cogent bandwidth, they are the biggest fraud in the indsutry.

- www.thehostguru.com
CiHostSucks, 16th 2006 August, 2006
cihost is horrible. i can't believe i'm still with them for all these years. always the same story. server conks out..and they only fix it when you tell them. and each time it's the same story "we'll reboot and look into it". when i threaten to move, the server was up for almost 3 weeks! gasp! amazing.and now it's back to being horrible. avoid! learn from my mistakes!
Bryce, 21st 2006 June, 2006
Awful. Horrible. Not customer focused. The worst hosting company in the world.

These are just some of the sentiments I have toward ciHost. They lost all of our email addresses as a result of a hard drive failure. Somehow backups could not restore this information. The best part of all was that they didn't even inform us. I sat on hold for 2.5 hours so they could tell me there was nothing they could do.
ned@pcsuperdeals.com, 07th 2006 March, 2006
Absolutely the worst hosting company ever. We have lost over $100K of profit due to the downtime in the last four months. If its important for you to be up without any issues then do yourself a favor and do NOT use cihost. Also worst customer service.
Stephen, 02nd 2006 February, 2006
I had been using CIHost for several years, but mounting problems and incompetent support have forced me to go elsewhere. I was plagued by major billing inaccuracies and technical glitches. CIHost's employees were never friendly and gave a strong impression that they didn't care about any issues I had with their service. Not recommended at all.
Write Your Review
Your name

Your cihost.com review

Positive Negative


Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. 2004 - 2010