Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.discountasp.net
Discountasp General Information
  Discountasp is providing Windows web hosting services, has been founded in 2002 and now it's years in business.

discountasp.net average uptime is 99.997% (rank #281 on our directory) with total 86349 successful and 3 failed checks, monitored since 2006-01-28. Similar companies with 99.997% uptime are and v1hosting.com.

Search for "discountasp.net" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 171333 results so company name popularity rank is #47.

There have been 94 positive votes for Discountasp and 25 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #85 (similar companies are ndstec.com and clubwebhost.com)

Web Hosting Packages
  ASP.NET Hosting Plan (Type: Windows) - 1000 MB space, 80 GB bandwidth for $10/mo

Some technical data about discountasp.net
  IP Location: California - Hermosa Beach - Savvis
Blacklist Status: Clear
Nameserver: NS2.DISCOUNTASP.NET NS1.DISCOUNTASP.NET
Registrar: GO DADDY SOFTWARE, INC.
Website Title: ASP.NET Hosting, ASP .NET Web Hosting, SQL Hosting, Windows Webhosting, Microsoft Access Hosting at DiscountASP.NET
Description: Best value in ASP .NET hosting, SQL database hosting, Access hosting, and Microsoft Windows 2003 hosting.

Back to "D" directory


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
Rob, 09th 2011 March, 2011
Don't like that their default error pages show the filesystem location of the page with the error - it's like giving a roadmap to a hacker!!!
DiscountASP.NET, 04th 2011 February, 2011
Steve: We sucked, yet you hosted with us for over 6 months?
Discount ASP.NET, 04th 2011 February, 2011
Todd: We do not provide phone support. We offer great support through our helpdesk and email. We've always run our business this way and we still have won major Best ASP.NET Hosting awards from devproconnections and asp.netpro magazine for 6 years in a row. If our support was truly bad, there is no way for us to accomplish this. We understand issues can be frustrating but our support team will respond and assist you. There is no other information in the post, so I can't look into the issue further.
Todd, 30th 2010 November, 2010
I have never had a problem with DiscountASP.net until now. I am just curious why a company would not have a phone number one could call for support. I have put in a ticket and have not yet receive a response from anyone.
Steve, 07th 2010 November, 2010
OMG they suck! Had a shared account with them for about 6 months. Pathetic! Worst service ever!
Discount ASP.NET, 19th 2008 December, 2008
Nate: We are also rely on our web business for our livelihood - so we are in the same boat. We lost money too. Our team responded quickly to the latency issue and posted online in our forum and offsite emergency status site. The problem was outside our network and we needed our upstream provider engineers to fix the problem. That is why we could not give an ETA. A phone number would not have helped resolve the issue any faster and in fact, would have gotten a busy signal as 1000s of people would be calling the phone number making the situation even more frustrating. This is exacly what happens to the phone for other hosts during a global outage.
Nate, 18th 2008 December, 2008
Overall they have great service but today our site has been down ALL day, it's incredible. Not having a number to call doesn't foster confidence. I have emailed and received a response but nowhere can I get any IDEA of an ETA on a resolution to this outage. Our whole company runs through this server using web apps and has been severely hindered all day... And here I am with no ETA to tell them. I am suprised there is no backup plan here. I mean productivity wise we are losing more money today than we pay for hosting through them all year.
DiscountASP.NET, 21st 2008 April, 2008
RonH: We understand your concerns but our hosting system is much more fortified than most hosts out there. We were badly DOS'd once in 5 years. As in the Globat outage example sited in an earlier post - they have phone support and they experienced a total outage - the phone support turned out to be useless as no one could get through due to the high volume of phone calls. That is why we maintain a status page outside of our hosting location and we use it during any major outage. The status page is at daspstatus.com
Ron H., 16th 2008 April, 2008
They were very reliable, just a few minor problems until the DOS attack, lost half my subscribers by the time the smoke cleared. I'm SO NERVOUS about going back...no phone number...no chat support...but reliable on a normal day
DiscountASP.NET, 29th 2008 February, 2008
We have an Outages and Maintenance section of our Community Forum at http://community.discountasp.net so all our outages and maintenance are out there for anybody to see. We have had occassional total outages, in this case we maintain a website outside our network to communicate with our customers. Just recently Globat had a total outage and despite having phone support, their lines were all tied up and you still couldn't reach them. This is typical during any global outage. That is why we created that webpage outside our network to communicate. We used this page for the global outages described in our forum. Global outages will happen to any host big and small. But they are not a regular occurance as you can see by the clustered posts here around certain dates.
Joe, 19th 2008 February, 2008
Attacks or not they are down constantly in the past couple of months and NO WAY to contact them for information about what's going on. Plus, they only offer excuses, no apologies, not remedies, no redundancy.
Discount ASP.NET, 28th 2007 July, 2007
Lloyd does not provide a concrete example. I assume he is referring to the two days of downtime in June caused by a massive DDoS attack. This was a malicious attack - not something that we "caused". We resolved the matter using an Enterprise-class DDoS mitigation solution that is used by forune 500 companies, national ISPs, and news sites. Now our hosting platform is much more protected than hosts of similar size and even bigger.
Lloyd Connor, 24th 2007 July, 2007
I have found discountASP.net to be unreliable and slow. I run a website for homosexual males and their poor performance and unmotivated technical support team has forced me to look elsewhere for hosting. I definitely recommend shopping around so you don't get bitten by these guys.
Discount ASP.NET, 23rd 2007 June, 2007
John is misinformed. DiscountASP.NET is the target of a ddos attack for the past two days. Our team of more than 20 are working round the clock to bring systems online and prevent future attacks along with the senior security team of our upstream provider. The scale of this attack is massive. A similar scale attacked knocked out Yahoo some years ago. We do care and we are doing everything we can to bring about a resolution.
Discount ASP.NET, 23rd 2007 June, 2007
How incorrect is John. Yes, DiscountASP.NET was the target of a massive ddos attack yesterday and today. We take this very seriously and our team of more than 20 has been working round the clock on this issue with the senior security teams of our upstream provider. The ddos attack is large in scale. In fact a dos attack of similar magnitude took out Yahoo some years ago. We are working hard on resolving this and protecting our customers.
John, 22nd 2007 June, 2007
Getting on to the 3rd day of the DOS attack and still NO SOLUTION. I just sit around now and lose money and customers. Can't access my site or email!!! Ridiculous!! I believe these guys are ill equipped. They come across like a large provider but now I imagine 6 guys in a room going, Oh' S**T What do we do now? While their customers are hung out to dry...Thanks! DiscountASP!
Christie, 15th 2007 May, 2007
I used them for a bit and then decided to go to providerwebhosting.org because they were giving away free domain names. I may keep my account here as well though
Khoury, 21st 2007 January, 2007
Their servers are very slow, especially if you have SQL server.
Moreover, they only offer 500MB shared for all 500 pop emails available!
Paul M, 30th 2006 December, 2006
I've always had great support from them and my site is always online. Never any problems at all and I host a few different sites on their servers for the last year.

Technically, they charge quite a bit extra for a database (as much as the storage space itself) but they're very reliable which by far makes up for it.
Write Your Review
Your name

Your discountasp.net review

Positive Negative


Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. 2004 - 2010