Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.fatcow.com
Fatcow General Information
  Fatcow is providing Linux web hosting services, has been founded in 1997 and now it's years in business.

fatcow.com average uptime is 99.995% (rank #648 on our directory) with total 84583 successful and 4 failed checks, monitored since 2006-02-10. Similar companies with 99.995% uptime are and ihubnet.com.

Search for "fatcow.com" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 102600 results so company name popularity rank is #63.

There have been 241 positive votes for Fatcow and 60 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #96 (similar companies are olm.net and intermedia.net)

Web Hosting Packages
  The FatCow (Type: Linux) - 300 GB space, 3000 GB bandwidth for $7.33/mo

Some technical data about fatcow.com
  IP Location: Massachusetts - Burlington - Endurance International Group Inc
Blacklist Status: Clear
Nameserver: NS1.FATCOW.COM NS2.FATCOW.COM
Registrar: TUCOWS INC.
Server Type: Apache
Website Title: Web Hosting by FatCow - Affordable & E-Commerce Enabled
Description: Small business web hosting offering additional business services such as: domain name registrations, email accounts, web services, FrontPage help, online community resources and various small business solutions.

Back to "F" directory


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
zaza, 06th 2011 October, 2011
PATHETIC! Stay away at all costs.

I've been with these FATCOWS for about 3 months now, and I'm running a very very basic blog with NO vids, NO flash animation, hardly any pictures at all, and yet my page takes up to 15 seconds to appear. I submitted a ticket with them, guess what their response was: NOTHING wrong from our end, there must be something wrong with your connection. I have a 60 Mbps RCN package DUDE! So he goes: why don't try one of those Caching plugins? excuse me? that's not your business! it's me to decide whether I need a caching plugin installed on my blog or not!
Your business was to provide me with the server reliability I paid for! and I already have W3 Total Cache installed!

Guys.. learn from others' mistake. That's all I can say :(
You know what I'm doing right now? wasting my f* time watching tutorials on youtube on how to transfer a Wordpress blog from one server to another!

1 Star.
David, 13th 2011 September, 2011
Like many Fatcow is VERY, VERY SLOW!! and the customer service just keep saying everything is fine, DON'T USE!!!
peasnwaffles, 11th 2011 July, 2011
Used fatcow for a year. Constant website disconnections "error establishing connection database" errors due to concurrent connections and other database limitations.

FTP is slow 500kb and usually 100kb. Its ridiculous.

Its cheap for a reason. I wouldn't recommend.

Whats the point of having a site if it always crashes and making any changes takes forever.

RKS, 05th 2011 July, 2011
I hate fatcow. Its been 2yrs I 'm running websites with them. my traffic is 4/day because of slow page loading. mysql sucks very very slow. site crashed 4times and support are pathetic dont have any knowledge on technical things.
I am not a competitor of fatcow so dont think that way ok.
Now I'm planning to switch to hostgator but dont know how to move 4sites to them. Idiot fatcow dont give any support if you say you are quiting them.
I HATE FATCOW. CHEAP PLANS and CHEAP SERVICE. NO USE
Paul, 13th 2011 June, 2011
I am very disappointed with Fatcow, very slow at times and the technical team are not very good and have consistently let me down. Wouldn’t recommend at all. Extremely poor!
John, 05th 2011 June, 2011
I just have a chat with their Tech Support, how come that they doesn't support such an easy task as Cron Job... very frustating.. stay away from them... I'm moving my site off them... very...very..very... big mistake I made signed up with them... :(
Sunny, 07th 2011 April, 2011
Thanks guys, your reviews helped me to not to job fat ass
Dude, 10th 2011 January, 2011
ftp errors aplenty, server occasionally down. Cheap though.
sam, 06th 2010 December, 2010
Extremely bad, FTP stalls over 75% of the time, and their FAQ and CS reps have such brilliant suggestions as "disable your firewall and FTP will go faster!" REALLY?? No.
sam, 06th 2010 December, 2010
Horrendous, do not go with them. FTP stalls over 75% of the time while just uploading simple 4k html files. Their CS doesn't have a clue what to say, and their FAQ actually recommends disabling your firewall to get better FTP speeds. Yeah, no.
RG, 27th 2010 October, 2010
After using FatCow for a year, I come to the following conclusion:

Pros
* Quite affordable
* Easy to use
* Buttloads of space
* Get's the job done. Not greatly, but not bad either.

Cons
* FTP is veeeery slow
* Page loading time can be a b*tch too (at times), though I'm running a website with streaming videos of over 300mb each, and it seems to handle that just about adequately.

Perhaps I'm lucky here, I don't know.... so far I didn't need to use customer service, I've been able to access my FTP about 95% of the time and they haven't been doing any weird things financially either. Just got my domain name and the plan renewed automatically without problems.

Overall result: 7.5/10
If the FTP speed would be better, I'd give Fatcow 9/10
John, 04th 2010 October, 2010
Beware of fatcow, they are a scam. They will contact you to upgrade your plan they when you do this. They will forget to update your domain name. Once they let that go, they will hold it until you pay a huge fee to get it back. This is illegal, they are shady and will harrass you for more and more service. Stay away, if you ever have an issue they will not fix it. The answer is the bussiness office has it and you must wait. I lost my company website for two weeks. STAY AWAY
Heather, 14th 2010 September, 2010
my fatcow.com service has been fantastic! It is such a user friendly site ! i love it!
GetReal, 13th 2010 September, 2010
Be aware that FATCOW’s policy on how they handle your domain name, parking it if you ever let it expire and resolving disputes are of an extremely questionable nature. BEWARE if you ever have any issues with these people, they are underhanded in the way they handle their business and you may end up getting it up the arse.
Hendrix, 17th 2010 August, 2010
They Suck
Ivan, 17th 2010 August, 2010
I left fatcow because most of thier team is made up of idiots who can't understand simple english language. This is going to ruin the reputation of FATCOW in the future.
Pascal, 11th 2010 August, 2010
If you like to have your page down every once in a while, do sign up with fatcow. 3 days ago, our webpage was (once again) down....but this time for over 2 days (internal server error)!! What the hell...!!! Customer service, that I contacted several times, was no help at all. They were friendly but do not really now anything...

FTP is extremely slow and a pain in the ass if you want to update your site requlary.

Keep away from fatcow...!!
Ali, 21st 2010 July, 2010
Whatever you do not sign up with Fat Cow Hosting. You will experience slow load times aswell as downtime. And when I say that I mean on a regular basis.. You will be unable to access your ftp, your site will go down on occasions .. There is always slow load time.. Especially if you plan on using a content management system.. (Wordpress, Drupal, etc..)

The funny thing is they don't recognize there even being an issue. If you talk with them on live chat they say everything is loading fine on our end. I've request so many times to resolve the slow loading issue, BUT it cannot be done.

I requested for my money back, and they said they would send me a cheque, which I am still waiting for. They refuse to tell me how much I am being refunded..

All in all, avoid this hosting, and if you've been having issues with them I suggest you post it everywhere.. because otherwise a lot of people are being taken advantage of..

I should also add that ftp performance is terribly slow aswell, infact uploading your files even under 1MB take minutes instead of seconds..

Anyway, bottom line, if your thinking about signing up with them, then keep in mind you will suffer from slow load times, down time, slow ftp, inaccessible FTP at times.. Support will tell you nothing is wrong. They lie..

Also keep in mind that there is no such thing as unlimited bandwidth or space. I would suggest going for a company who honestly advertise there space & bandwidth. And make sure you check the websites load time so you can get an idea of how fast it loads..

Ben, 12th 2010 June, 2010
When i first started using them as a host things were great, now, they are so slow, it's ridiculous. Unfortunately my time with them doesn't end soon....will not be using them again after this.
Chuck, 06th 2010 June, 2010
Same Thing Slow Servers when they work.
CGI Peril FTP all trash lots of server errors. good money out the window.
Ali, 24th 2010 May, 2010
I signed up this month, this is a shit host.. I actually couldn't find any bad reviews on it at first.. and judging from the site it looked very reliable.. I saw some video reviews on it and the experience seemed good.. but do not sign up with them, they screw you over.. the load times are extremely slow, especially if your going to use wordpress.. or any type of blog/cms..
Paul, 22nd 2010 May, 2010
I have had a mixed experience with fatcow. After some start up problems (theirs) that took their tech support about a week to fix, things basically works. My simple site loads OK, no real complaints. But the tools on the other hand are pure torture. It takes MINUTES sometimes to log on and edit my site. Unbelievably slow. And I can move quickly around the internet on a separate tab in the same browser, so it has nothing to do with my local machine or network. I locked in for a 3 yr period, and my site is pretty simple and static, so I'll let that ride. But if I had known how bad the tools performance would be I would have looked further and picked another hosting company.
Gary Graefen, 14th 2010 May, 2010
After looking around, I decided to go with fat cow. So far I am very pleased.-I have had no issues with ftp. My site is working well and the installation of wordpress and phpbbs went smoothly and works great. The sql data base system worked excellent
Amber, 11th 2010 May, 2010
Used to love FC, now it's painfully slow and customer service just says it's running fine.
Billy, 27th 2010 February, 2010
I have chat with the live sales support to ask a few simple questions to understand how they will make sure other accounts will not overuse the resources and causing slow down to other account on the same server, but they can't even answer me the question and keep saying other things, it really sucks.
Craig, 24th 2010 February, 2010
They were fast when I first signed up. But decided I wanted to setup a Joomla site, Oh gosh, runs extremely slow. My contract ends on July 2010, so will be looking for a new site
Paulo, 08th 2010 January, 2010
DONT PAY FOR THIS! this is the worst webserver of world! always slow or down!!
Deb, 21st 2009 December, 2009
FatCow has been virtually unusable since the day I signed up a few months ago. FTP is so ridiculously slow - nonresponsive 98% of the time. Once in a blue moon I can actually do stuff with FatCow but for the most part it's a piece of junk. Moving my stuff elsewhere.
Kumar, 17th 2009 December, 2009
How can you give good review to FATCOW? I am using fatcow from last 4 month (Sepp to Dec 2009) and more than 20 times there server was down, even their own website down several time. Customer support is not much good, they dont even have technical knowledge. Don't use their services, opt for other good and reliable hosting company.
Roman, 23rd 2009 November, 2009
Assolutely - worst hosting ever!
Nik, 20th 2009 November, 2009
Hi guys,
Im getting Internal Server Error - Read from www.fatcow.com and also i cant seem to access my website. Whats going on? Im panicing
Gary, 25th 2009 October, 2009
Fatcow is an absolute shambolic host!

I am having nothing but trouble. from being unable to load up pages - unable to add a social network community - unable to get into email or send email - unable to place hyperlinks in text unable to place pictures on page (all because the server is too slow - webpage timed out)

This is becoming a ridiculous daily occurance I am sick of it. I am trying to run a time sensitive news website, and simply can't. I want my money back - but figure it is too late now. I definity won't be renewing my account with Fatcow unless something drastically changes.

Even free hosts are better service than this - the templates are terrible - drop down menus are none existant.

Sitebuilder is useless - and the software intaller is terrible !

Fatcow - Sort it out!
mark, 20th 2009 October, 2009
lots of great features, excellent support. technical suepport leaves a bit to be desired though. great prices.

I cant get over the features that are included even for advanced users
Aaron, 19th 2009 October, 2009
Yes. Fatcow is terribad. SUPER SLOW and customer service is crap, they tell you evrything is fine and the load times are just on your side.
We need to get the word out.
Rav, 14th 2009 October, 2009
Fatcow sucks big time. Don't ever believe you are gettingr 'unlimited' disk space. I bought hosting space from them to host full res picturess. They deleted my account for 'abuse of system resources'. I had about 30G of full res pics and these were familiy photos!!! Grrr.
chris, 12th 2009 October, 2009
I use rochen, 1and1, lunarpages, ipowerweb and by far Fatcow is the slowest and the most error full hosting. Their support person does not know anything just there to chat with you. They oversold their server and it is extremerly SLOW you cannot even use it for a personal page because it is slow!. If you plan to use joomla or any CMS with Mysql access, then forget about Fatcow. I had to switch all lmy domains to another hosting, which is at least 1o times faster.
Chris, 12th 2009 October, 2009
I have hosting accounts at 1and1.com, lunarpages.com, rochenhositng.com, ipowerweb.com. FATCOW is far the slowest and the most unreliable hosting. If you are using joomla fatcow is a absolutely no way. Internal server error is frequent. If you are working on the site it will give you internal error at least 10 times a day. I had to switch all my domains to another hosting and it is at least 10 times faster than Fatcow and no internal server error messages. It is not user error is the fatcow server error. They oversold so they have hundres of sites in aserver
sandeep, 08th 2009 October, 2009
never go for cheap things..fatcow included..
it sucks.. there server load time is awful.. better go for free webhosting then these guys.
fatcow is all bogus..
Paulo Nogueira, 07th 2009 October, 2009
Extremely slow for even small sites. moving away from them.
someone, 05th 2009 October, 2009
fatcow is sucks I am sure from that they telling you that you have monthly bandwidth 100 TB and unlimited space but in the real if you used more than 1 TB they delete your account they are sucks web hosting I tried them myself they just deleted my account what this web hosting who deleting account without warning the account owner really I will not see bad service like them fatcow cheap but not good one of the most bad hosting services which got ever in my life it's stilling
Chani, 25th 2009 September, 2009
I just signed up for FatCow, only to discover they do not support cron jobs. I'll let you know how they honor their 30 day satisfaction guarantee when I close down my account tomorrow. http://www.consumer-rankings.com/comparison.aspx is a worthless site since it provided wrong information on FatCow
Matt, 17th 2009 September, 2009
FATCOW IS TERRIBLE! I have internal server errors radomly!
Gary, 20th 2009 August, 2009
I have been complaining about slow server access for 3 months, since the DAY I signed up. They tell me it HAS to be on my end even after I show them documented proof that there are no slow spots thru 22 hops to their servers. An average of 93ms (still slow but this is Comcast). Then I htit there server and it just sits there. I wish I had read these reviews before! i would have spent my money elsewhere
karn, 19th 2009 August, 2009
Uploading files via FTP is even slower. good luck!
weewee, 19th 2009 August, 2009
Tech support sucks, and is completely useless.

Super slow. UNBELIEVABLY SLOW!
Christine, 16th 2009 August, 2009
hmmm....I am really happy so far. The only problems I had were right after a holiday.
Carrie, 19th 2009 July, 2009
I am new at the whole designing a website, so I was happy to find a company that could help me design and host a site. However it didn't take too long before I became frustrated and enraged by the fatcow customer support. i have tried and tried to update pics, and text yet they wont show up. After I use thier program to update and publish it shows while on their site that it is changed and updated. But look it up outside of thier site and it has remained the same. I have argued over and over with them about this. Yet they insist that it must be on my end, which its not, I have used other PC's on other systems to try and resolve this issue, but it still dosn't work. This has become a nightmare. I feel like i am speaking a different language to these people, how many ways can you say it just dosn't work?
Brijesh, 10th 2009 June, 2009
Oh man , same issue here. my site is taking around 3 to 4 min to load from my office. most of the time it gives internal server error, when i checked log, it said insufficient memory error. Such a ridiculous hosting service. I have so many data on this server, i cant think of moving to somewhere else.

I hope, this review helps other users, who are looking for cheap hosting services.
ENicholas, 10th 2009 June, 2009
The site has been very slow for days now. I contacted them two days ago (June 8) and was informed their MySQL server is having problems. What I find odd it that they can't tell me when it will be fixed. They were incredibly vague. "It may be fixed in a couple of days." I have a business I've just gotten up and running on the internet and am receiving emails from customers complaining about upload times. Very frustrating. Who do I go to?
Gintaras, 10th 2009 June, 2009
Fatcow needs to loose weight, ITS TOO SLOW!!!
Marc, 09th 2009 June, 2009
So slow! It's so slow that the site don't even load at my office half of the time.. I'm really disapointed..
Tim, 09th 2009 June, 2009
I currently have a blog on Hostmonster.com and a blog on fatcow.com the Hostmonster blog has a dozen or more images in addition to the blog and loads GREAT! Fatco however...SO SLOW I keep thinks the site is down. As soon as I can I'm jumping off of it. I'll take the bath on the money. I am really disappointed.
Patty, 05th 2009 June, 2009
Same problems. SLOW!
fatcow user, 01st 2009 June, 2009
Like most everyone else here, I agree fatcow has really started to go down hill. Very slow server response times. I would not recommend them as a hosting service.
Steve, 31st 2009 May, 2009
Fatcow fucking sucks.
Reza, 15th 2009 May, 2009
Worst hosting ever. I had a simple page with no pictures at all, and only a single mysql query which fetches only a single row directly from a table, and it takes 4sec for the page to load. WTF !! NOT ACCEPTABLE AT ALL.

Moreover the live chat tells me that they support cronjobs before I buy the hosting, and after I do, someone else tells me they dont.

Ok, now they give my money back, but they keep the money for the domain name, and now I am held hostage as I cannot even move my domain name before two months according to the internet rule.

DAMN, they just delayed my website launch by two months, imagine the loss and agony !!
SUCKSSS, atleast my experience was bad.

Regards
/Reza
Kelvin, 15th 2009 May, 2009
I hosted my blog in fatcow for a little over a month now, and I was very impressed with the user-friendly, feature packed control panel and awesome customer service. I recommended fatcow to my friends but with the recent experience I had, I am starting to regret it. Recently, my site had been running slower and slower day by day. Nowadays, it takes over 5 seconds to load. FIVE seconds!! are you kidding me? what the heck is going on? I never experienced this kind of slow down even from the free hosts I had in the past. I'm really getting sick of this and I am throwing my rotten tomatoes right now in faint hope of improving this situation. It's time to move your fat ass, fatcow.
billy, 13th 2009 May, 2009
yes... extremely slow for even small sites. moving away from them.
Robert, 01st 2009 May, 2009
Even small sites load incredibly slow...like dial up slow. I'm so disappointed.
Todd, 17th 2009 March, 2009
What a disappoint - they are all about selling you something and do not stand behind their product or service. Run fast - run hard - don't look back!
Marco, 16th 2009 March, 2009
I just started with fatcow and the product just sucks. 10-20 page load times and pathetic customer and technical support. They are a low-budget provider and deliver low-budget performance.

I would NEVER EVER again trust FatCow with any hosting product.
jake, 10th 2009 March, 2009
slow server response times, and server load test was horrid, and of course tech supports says everything is fine...BS! pluse they dont like to give refunds even though they advertise 30 day money back. Please read term of service completly because they have about 6 ways to Not give you a refund. Price is great, but like anything else you fet what you pay for. However if you just run a site with a pic of your dog and a few words on a html doc, then Fat cow is for you!
noname, 10th 2008 December, 2008
People do not be surprised your websites are slow... The host 41 605 websites on a server...
http://whois.domaintools.com/webdebris.com
PeggyOliviaSmith, 25th 2008 August, 2008
Tech support is incredibly rude and not at all helpful. And it's gotten sooooooo slow. I'm transferring now although they're attempting to hold me hostage.
Joanne, 27th 2008 March, 2008
I'm moving my website (disucssion forum) off FatCow this weekend because the response times are terrible. Technical support is unresponseive to repeted help tickets and phone calls.
Chris, 22nd 2006 September, 2006
Once upon a time, page loads were fast and I had NO issues with fatcow hosting. I'm on here because recently, my simple site pages are taking forever to load and customer support keep telling me things are fine. I know for a fact that there is some issue(s) with their service, so I may very well be moving my site soon.
Write Your Review
Your name

Your fatcow.com review

Positive Negative


Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. © 2004 - 2010