Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.gate.com
Gate General Information
  Gate is providing Linux web hosting services, has been founded in 1996 and now it's years in business.

gate.com average uptime is 99.993% (rank #1271 on our directory) with total 82997 successful and 6 failed checks, monitored since 2006-03-02. Similar companies with 99.993% uptime are and naf.com.

Search for "gate.com" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 412000 results so company name popularity rank is #24.

There have been 215 positive votes for Gate and 82 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #42 (similar companies are websitesource.com and mediacatch.com)

Web Hosting Packages
  MACH 1 (Type: Linux) - 5000 MB space, 200 GB bandwidth for $9.95/mo

MACH 50 (Type: Linux) - 10 GB space, 500 GB bandwidth for $14.95/mo

MACH 500 (Type: Linux) - 50 GB space, 1000 GB bandwidth for $29.95/mo

MACH 1000 (Type: Linux) - 100 GB space, 2000 GB bandwidth for $49.95/mo

Some technical data about gate.com
  IP Location: California - Redondo Beach - Affinity Internet Inc
Blacklist Status: Clear
Nameserver: NS1.AFFINITY.COM NS2.AFFINITY.COM
Server Type: Apache
Website Title: Gate.com


Back to "G" directory


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
Mike, 01st 2010 March, 2010
My site is unaccessible - AGAIN! I have been having terrible lag/CPU loads over the last week. Site members are complaining! I have called multiple times to get my VPS restarted because I cannot browse to any of the sites or log in to Plesk at times. This is getting ridiculous. Ever since they made me relocate server to the new data center the quality of gone to shit (pardon my language but I am pissed off)!

All email forms on their site either lead to 404 pages or they submit to 404 pages.

Do not use this company - you'll be sorry for it eventually.
N, 13th 2010 February, 2010
I am afraid I have a subscription with them for another year that is already paid; however, I am been charged for registering the domain again which in previous years was included in the package I bought, but based on their words they said it was not included ??? and that it is in the new package they are including it but not in the package I was subscribed.

Its the same package!

I do not understand this as it was included in previous years! I am waiting for next week to get the statements from my bank and submit the complaint to BBB. I already registered with other hosting company a different domain and definitely will not make more businesses with gate.com again.
RK, 03rd 2010 February, 2010
Gate.com is not only the worst web hosting provider we've ever been with, but it comes close to being the worst vendor we've ever used.

We signed up for them several years ago for a Windows VPS package. Constant downtime, constant timing out, constantly unable to access either the http ports, or the RDP port.

We'd have to go through a ridiculous set of steps to get them to reboot our server, and that would last maybe a day.

We finally moved our files off of them and went to another site, although we had paid for a year's subscription. We tried to get our money back to no avail, but did cancel.

Even though we had canceled, we were charged an auto-renewal the next year!!!

We fought that tooth and tail, and canceled AGAIN and informed our credit card company to reject all charges to our account (keep in mind we hadn't even used the account or logged in for over a year at this point).

Even though we've canceled our account twice, they spent most of last year trying to auto-renew. It's an endless cycle.

That didn't stop them. Since they couldn't auto-renew our account on our credit card, they're now sending collection notices to us. WTF?! I've canceled this account twice and paid lots of money that I didn't even owe.

If our company's credit rating goes south b/c of Gate.com, I'll be pissed.

I can't emphasize enough how you should stay away from this company. If you choose them, you'll regret it...forever!!!
Alan, 23rd 2009 November, 2009
We have been with Gate for a few years now with no problems other than a suspicion that emails are not getting through. on 11/19 I requested that they move my website over to their Windows servers and that's when the nightmare began. My website has been down since then. I called support and opened a case, and keep getting told they need a few more days to resolve the issue. I was going to cancel my account with them tomorrow but after reading the reviews, I'm not looking forward to this. Their customer support is terrible!
fuzzy, 01st 2009 November, 2009
I cannot find their email address on their website. Their cancellation form page doesn't work, always points to a file that doesn't exit (I got 404 file not found error). I think I was too naive to choose a hosting company without any of their email address shown on their website.
Adison, 18th 2009 August, 2009
Been with Gate for three disgusting years. Their servers go down and NO recourse. They don't respond to user complaints. I've been trying to fire them for over three weeks and that doesn't work either!!! Trying to bet your moey refunded is a joke.
james, 07th 2009 July, 2009
I am an advanced student designer and I would like to build my portfolio of sites to show my future clients. If you need a site built under ten pages in size for your online biz then email me as I will build it for you for free if possible.
bobbysusi8@gmail.com
ScottG, 25th 2009 June, 2009
Stay away!! I've had a dedicated server with them for over a year. Constant network outages. When they moved datacenters they took everyone offline for 3 DAYS! If you try and call they dont speak good english and most of the time drop the call. Nevermind it takes 30 min to get a hold of anyone. Stay away from GATE.COM
INUMC, 16th 2009 June, 2009
It's nice to see we're not the only ones having problems with Gate.com. Our emails have never worked, and as of last week I can no longer update my website. Customer service takes [at minimum] a week to return our emails, and Gate.com continually switches the password back to the old password, so I never know which one to use to log in.

We're going to cancel, but we're not looking forward to it. According to everyone on here it's going to be a pretty big headache.
Doug, 05th 2009 June, 2009
The story that began in my post below just gets worse. I called gate.com's Domain Services Center yesterday morning and gave them the new DNS server names, but the woman typed the same name twice and so the order got rejected. They didn't email me about it until tonight (Friday) when the Doman Service Center is closed until Monday. So Monday morning instead of receiving another request from me to change the DNS, I'm afraid they will be receiving a request to transfer the registration. It expires at the end of June anyway, but I intended to keep it registered at gate.com just because I had no reason to bother moving it. Sadly, now I do.
Doug, 05th 2009 June, 2009
I've had a domain registered and hosted on gate.com for 8 years, and this is the first time I've had to ask for tech support. I requested to change DNS settings on a domain, because to my surprise they don't provide a UI for customers to do that. After waiting 3 days I called and gave them the ticket number. They couldn't find it or any support tickets for me, so they started a new one. Pretty stunningly unimpressive support.
John, 10th 2009 April, 2009
Terrible company. Continues to charge my credit card months after canceling my account. Horrible support options when we were with them, slow servers that barely functioned. Stay away!
rich, 06th 2009 April, 2009
sucks worst ever, i am currently on hold as i type this. it has been down for 4 days
Would have been client, 17th 2009 March, 2009
OMG! Gate does such an excellent job scarring away customers I had to write this. I called them up to inquire about their service and my call was dropped. They must have a call center overseas. So I call again and by now I have given up on my expectation to talk to someone with understandable English. The sales rep. decides to transfer me to the Tech. Support Dept.; what a joke, I don't think they have one. Just out of curiosity to find out how ridiculous they are I left the phone in "radio mode" and waited in the queue. After listening to the announcement proclaiming an estimated 6 minutes waiting for about 45 min. the system (or staff?) dropped my call. I can only feel sorry for those poor souls who are subjected to this kind of treatment. At least GATE.COM is good at being bad so I knew from the get-go not to bother with them. They should add to their name and make it something like GatetoFrustration.com, GateToBadHosting.com Stay away from these idiots.
Alan Staats, 11th 2009 March, 2009
Gate, since it was taken over by its latest buyers, sucks. Worse, the servers (and "support" staff) are now located in Bulgaria. Can you say hacker central. I have a total of 43 sites on their servers and EVERY one is migrating somewhere else.

The latest BS involves their FTP servers which apparently set records for failures. I spent 12 hours last Saturday trying to upload pages... They said the problem was fixed and it was... for about 20 minutes. Now, three days later, it's down again. Never again will I refer a client to this absolutely clueless group of morons.
RB, 18th 2009 January, 2009
Oh no, I thought it was just me. My email for one one of my sites has never worked. There was a problem also with the database. It disappeared. They apologized. And now, I'm locked out of another website of mine because there's a problem with Gate.Com's page-security function.
Mike, 16th 2008 November, 2008
Account was down for months and they couldn't figure out how to fix it. They also changed SQL Servers on me (and left the old one running) and didn't tell me, so any updates I did had no effect. Took a while to figure out that one.

Cancelled 2 months ago and they are still charging my credit card for the cancelled account.

And the hold music for tech support is the same song all day every day. I think I have it memorized. I believe it is there to drive me insane.
kyle, 11th 2008 November, 2008
I am currently backing up all of my files and then plan to cancel my account with Gate.com

Truly awful company. Nothing seems to work right and I've been having a terrible time trying to connect to my MYSQL database.

I also find it incredibly sketchy that they make canceling your account a real pain in the neck.

Stay away from Gate.
Greg, 03rd 2008 November, 2008
This is amazing.. Wasn't able to connect to MySQL database, so I sent them an email asking what was going on. They replied that their MySQL servers were having issues, and it should be resolved soon.

It has now been 7 days with no database access. I'm fortunate in that I'm just working on developing a site that isn't live yet. I can't imagine if I had an e-commerce site whose database just went down for a freakin' week! I'm sure there are some folks in that boat over at Gate.com.

Abyssmal. Just horrid. I can't even believe this company is still in business.
GATEHATER, 20th 2008 October, 2008
GATE.com is HORRIBLE. I've spent the last seven days on the phone dicking around with them trying to get my site up and working. They are horrible, their service is horrible, their speed is horrible, their prices are horrible! DO NOT USE GATE.COM
D Tomblim, 10th 2008 October, 2008
DO NOT USE GATE.COM

I can not stress this enough.

DO NOT USE GATE.COM

The service is absolutely terrible or no-existent. I have worked with several host for many years and I have NEVER dealt with a company as BAD ad GATE.COM.

A hosting company prove their value when there is a problem. I have never had a problem solved in under a week and sometime never solved at all.

GATE.COM will make you business look very very bad, or loose you clients.

DO NOT USE THEM !
Chris Stovall, 20th 2008 August, 2008
This is the worst service I have ever had with any company EVER!!!
N Harding, 19th 2008 August, 2008
Worst web host I have ever had, and I've been doing this for years. None of their features (blog, podcasting, DNS, or even basic server-side JMail component) work. I will be migrating to a new host before my contract expires. And thank God the credit card they have on file for my account also expires soon so they cannot bill me after I have left.
Aerosly, 18th 2008 August, 2008
I have had more than a dozen database outages since June (August now), and the current one is more than three days long. I have paid more than $300 in chargeback fees because my customers can't access the material they paid for.

Gate.com is completely unwilling to address the issue or resolve the problem. It will take more than a month to migrate my files to another host, but anything is better than Gate.com.
Gordito, 06th 2008 August, 2008
Bad, bad service!
uptime is about 96% since january!
they canceled my web stats without me even knowing. NEVER sent me an e-mail to tell me my account was upgraded and ready on their new servers, etc.etc.etc.

Anyways, when you call, everyone sounds feed up.

bye bye gate.com Welcome go daddy!
Daniel Fernandez, 05th 2008 August, 2008

-----Original Message-----
From: Daniel Fernandez [mailto:********@hotmail.com]
Sent: Monday, August 04, 2008 10:23 PM
To: billing-sp@gate.com
Subject: RE: (HW#12782348) RE: Your statement from gate is ready.

I called the number.

I chose the selection to cancel an account.

I got a recording that said I had to cancel the account online in my control panel, or by sending an email to billing.

So if I send an email I am told to call a number.

If I call a number I am told to send an email.

Do you want to help me cancel my account or not?

Regards,
--
Daniel Fernandez


-----Original Message-----
From: billing-sp@gate.com [mailto:billing-sp@gate.com]
Sent: Friday, July 25, 2008 2:08 PM
To: ********@hotmail.com
Subject: Re: (HW#12782348) RE: Your statement from gate is ready.


Hello,

Gate.com has received your request for cancellation. Please note that this request DOES NOT AUTOMATICALLY CLOSE YOUR ACCOUNT.

In order for to process your cancellation request, you must contact Gate.com Customer Relations Department at 1-866-856-7165, M-F, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Central Time. They will assist you with completing the cancellation process.

Please have the following information available when contacting Gate.com's Customer Relations Department:

1. Your Gate.com Customer ID or your domain name.
2. You SiteControl password, credit card number, or the date and amount of your last payment.

Once you contact the Customer Relations Department and complete the cancellation process, your account will be closed within 24 to 48 hours. A cancellation confirmation will be sent to you via email once your account has been closed. Full refunds are only available within the
30-day money back period (excluding setup and other fees).

If you do not contact Gate.com's Customer Relations Department by phone and complete the cancellation process, your credit card on file may be charged. You can find Gate.com's cancellation and billing policies at http://hostway.com/legal/billing_policy.html.

Sincerely,
Gate.com Billing Department
Rose W.

Login to:
https://sitecontrol-sp.gate.com

Online Manual:
http://help.gate.com

billing-sp@gate.com
1-866-856-7165





>Hello,
>
>In May of 2007 I transferred the domain hosted at winsave to another
>provider (see below). At the same time I cancelled the hosting account
>at winsave online. I never received a confirmation from winsave. I
>tried to contact customer support by email, but never received a
>response
>
>Shortly after May of 2007 I was billed for another quarter for hosting
>services. I sent an email to winsave customer service and submitted a
>request for reimbursement in an online form. Again I never received a
>response. Later I received a billing for more hosting services. I sent
>an email. Submitted information on a web form, and left a voicemail
>message with winsave customer service. Again, I never received a
>response.
>
>Hereís what I would like you to do:
>1. Reimburse all billings charged by winsave after May of 2007.
>2. Complete the cancellation of my hosting services with winsave and with you.
>3. Send me confirmation that you have cancelled all services.
>
>Thank you,
>--
>Daniel Fernandez
Alan, 18th 2008 July, 2008
I have had nothing but issues with gate.com I can't stand being on the phone for an hour or more and then talk to someone for a minute get transfered to another department and wait another hour. I have been tring to move 4 domain names for about a month and i am better off talking to a wall. this is the worst web host I have ever dealt with and I hope no one signs up with them and the shut down for good. At least I moved to another company that provides much better service, powersporthosting.com, never had any issues with them.
wayne haskett , 30th 2008 June, 2008
it sounds like a class action law suit to me
boo, 25th 2008 June, 2008
sites currently down for the thrid time this month!!... this company is the worst!!
bubs, 25th 2008 June, 2008
Email currently down. Hopefully they fix it as fast as last time (6 hours)
Jones, 21st 2008 June, 2008
Worst web hosting experience of my entire life. Huge email server and FTP problems website access got very spotty and random once they merged with hostsave. We have had an impossible time trying to switch out of their ghetto service. Their FTP server was totally down and wouldn't let us download the site files. The phone tech support was an 1 1/2 hour wait time. WE HAD TO CALL BACK THREE TIMES TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE - THAT IS 4 1/2 HOURS IN ONE DAY. Screw these guys. Incompetent, lazy, worthless. Save yourself some aggravation - don't touch these guys with a 10 foot pole.
mags, 04th 2008 June, 2008
What is going on with them? We are having fits with them!!
Chris, 02nd 2008 June, 2008
Same problems as described. Ridiculously slow upload of ADMIN and blog pages. Finally got through to Gate tech support. They fixed the problem...less than two weeks later, it is worse than before. Also have at least a dozen website clients I am now advising to move.
JBR, 30th 2008 May, 2008
Terrible hosting, lots of problems!!! I started with Hostsave in 2000, bought/merged with gate.com, problems ever since. I have a unix VPS with them, with 10 domains currently down now for 2+ days. Just ordered a Windows VPS, but will be cancelling, luckily my card expires this month. Still down from 12:15 AM two days ago. Called in three times, still not rebooted like they sayed they would do. Named Service wont start in Virtouzzo... looks to be DNS related. Lots of problems over the years, everytime I added a domain it included 2-10 hours on the phone getting the site to resolve to my VPS rather than their SHARED sites. They bounce you all over on the phone, from department to department, average call is 45 minutes on hold before you talk to anyone. Hopefully I can get this back up and move all my data off, including DB's, files, emails, etc. Definetely done with them now! DONT USE THEM!!!
Ouch!, 27th 2008 May, 2008
It seems things are coming back to life. All but two sites back up.
Unbelievable, 27th 2008 May, 2008
yep...ALL of my sites are down right now. I am a web and graphics designer and I have referred clients to gate.com. All of their sites are down as well and I expect that since they cannot contact me via email (since of course, the email isn't working either) I will have several phone calls to deal with in the morning. So much for depending on a hosting service because right now I have about thirty or so websites down and a lot of other suff that is hosted on my company's server for other services. That's pretty much the nail through the coffin for me I guess. So long gate.com. This is the final straw.
Ouch!, 27th 2008 May, 2008
Has this happened before? A bit freaky with eight sites down including the hosts' own site.
rugz, 27th 2008 May, 2008
Same here, they've been down all night. I can't even get my emails, how annoying. I'm expecting some important business emails, too, I hope they come through. I guess it's time to permanently start using Hotmail or Gmail.
Searching everywhere, 27th 2008 May, 2008
I've been searching everywhere and this is the only area that people are doing a forum on the issue... what gives. It's been out since about 6:30.
UpSet, 27th 2008 May, 2008
Gate.com review is BAD BAD BAD. DOWN again and again. We're moving every site we have to networksolutions.com asap. I don't know why I keep giving these guys another chance.
John, 27th 2008 May, 2008
Same here............
MADMADMAD, 27th 2008 May, 2008
THey've been down all night and they are not answering the phone... IT"S KILLING ME>
AT, 27th 2008 May, 2008
My website is hosted by Gate.com and I am freaking out right now! My website is down and the Gate.com website isn't working either. They just withdrew the monthly fee from my account at the beginning of the month. Anybody else having problems? I just don't want to lose my domain name.
gate.com RIPOFF, 21st 2008 May, 2008
BEWARE of gate.com

Evidently in their terms of service that you have to agree to; they can and do put their information in you domain information and then can change your domain registration company and renew without you saying anything and charge you almost 3 times the market cost even if you didn't want to renew the domain. They do not care whatsoever about their customers and refuse to refund anything. Save yourself the headache, time, and MONEY AND GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!
brandon, 26th 2008 March, 2008
Avoid this company at all costs.

Every block of IP addresses they had to offer for my dedicated server was blacklisted on Spamhaus. Every time I confronted them about their worthless IP addresses, they gave me a new block which had the same blacklist problems.

When I finally told them to cancel and give me a refund, they refused. I threatened to do a charge back and they refunded all but the $80 setup fee.

I did a chargeback on the $80.

It's a wonder this company is in business.
D Dow, 20th 2008 February, 2008
I got you all beat. They actually erased my database. A site I've had since July 2002, 29,000+ members, almost 1,000,000 messages on my message boards. People met each other, moved across the world to be together, got married and had children because of my site. People graduated Highschool, joined the Army, went to Iraq and got killed and they had documented their lives on my site. People went to college, graduated, got a career and still kept coming to my site.

All of it is gone now. I called them up because my phpMyAdmin stopped working. It had worked fine before, but it just stopped. They assured me it was because the code was bad which was, of course, bull*&^%. I obviusly hadn't touched the code. I deleted the directory and uploaded a fresh copy of phpMyAdmin and attempted to install and it didn't work. At that point they had to acknowledge that there was something worng. All of this time my site worked fine, I just wanted to make a backup of my data because I had some work I wanted to do.

Anyhoo, I was on the phone with them for nearly an hour and a half when suddenly the girl I had been talking through got on and apologized because they had accidentally erased my database. I was pretty upset, but she told me that they would have it restored from backup by the next morning.

I woke up the next morning and it still did not work. I called them. They said it would be a few hours. I called back a few hours later and they said that it would be done by the end of the day. At the end of the day it still did not work, but they were kind enough to send an email.

It said, "issue could not be resolved." I called and they told me that, contrary to what our contract stated and contrary to what their webste claimed, they had not been making backups of my database.

I can't tell you how much this devastated me. This wasn't just a business to me I had friends there. I met people there that I still know today. I had spent thousands of dolars and countless hours over the years building the site and my drecision to go to gate.com led to it's complete obliteration - like it had never been there.

Do not go to Gate.com, valueweb.com or any company affiliated with Affinity hosting.
Thunder, 14th 2008 February, 2008
Avoid this company.

The service is sketchy and we have experienced numerous database server problems over the cause of 6 months. The telephone support is very poor, we receive different answers from different people, and even a refusal to acknowledge the problem at all. The email support, well it's like pissing into the wind..

Basically, these guys will make your business look bad.
MKan, 09th 2007 November, 2007
I got my ASP.NET site up and running quickly. It took me a while to setup the e-mail, it turns out I had to call the customer support to get the e-mail activated. 99.99% up time is BS, I have experienced "connection time out" errors many times trying to access my site. It is quite cheap though around 9 box per month, first month free.

Just one reminder 99.99% up times means 3.6 days of down time in one year.
sushil, 04th 2007 October, 2007
want to fill form
Mario, 29th 2007 July, 2007
These guys are awful. I've been with them for 5 months and had quite a few problems. They just moved my server from Miami to Tampa Florida (2 days of downtime), and after the move I get 22KB/s inbound connection. For a dedicated server, imagine.

I have nothing good to say for their customer support, they send polite form emails that do not solve the problem.

I have another server with serveraxis, and these guys rock. Sure, they also had their share of problems in the past, but no bullshit - they would always say what the issue was and fixed it quickly of course.
Dwain Browne, 11th 2007 July, 2007
WTF... Of all the hosting companies I've death with (over 30) I've seen issues, but GATE.COM beat them all. I created a test site with a db backend of about 50,000 records and in less than 6 months Iíve had over 10 outages. Complained to the supervisor they said that the server I was on had "issues" so my response was, can you not replace the box or move my service to another box. He said they would do it, but yet still I had 2 down time after this... STAY AWAY FROM GATE.COM!!!!!!!!!!!!
jake, 17th 2007 May, 2007
Now i realized that i am not the only one who's having problem with gate.com.

They took 8 entire freaking day to recreate vps image (not resolved yet), and once they finally recreated the image,, they reset the password,, and i ve been asking for the pasword,, almost 2 days past,, but no answer...

they are joke,, freaking stupid joke
darci, 13th 2007 May, 2007
I have been using for about 6 months and find their sevice awful. They do NOT respond in a timely manner to either phone or email or website submissions.

AND they have not every been able to solve my issue. I am moving to a reliable hosting company in the next few weeks.
Lorinda Ortiz, 12th 2007 May, 2007
I have 4 sites hosted on gate.com and I have been very satisfied with their service. The only problem I had was with one of my php-based forms - occasionally the page would not load would not load. Gate responded within 24 hours of my inquiry. Gate has php persistent connection turned off, but once this was discovered my programmer was able to tweek the form to avoid any further issues.
Josh, 10th 2007 April, 2007
Stay away from GATE.COM. I've had way to many problems with their billing/cust. service dept. to EVER try them again. Right now working on legal action.
buddylee, 02nd 2007 February, 2007
The uptime statement I don't believe is valid. Their website claism that downtime is defined is one minute of consecutive trouble, but I frequently find hiccups in the delivery of simple content. Recently, I've had issues with spawning even simple 'hello world' cgi apps in that sometimes they just don't execute.

Customer service is very poor. They claim 24 response time via email, but I've yet to find a response within 4 business days.

My database files went missing and after 3 days, the issue is still not resolved.
tom yencer, 13th 2007 January, 2007
I have been very satisfied with gate.com. Everything works as protmoted. I have been with them since 2002.
flexible, 04th 2007 January, 2007
AVOID

They are the worst at issue resolution.
They have DNS Server issues. Servers are stating that certain Domains hosted on Gate do NOT EXIST when email servers do a reverse lookup to verify valid Domain.

### Gate does not care ###
billed, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
You must call them to cancel an automatic credit card charge even if your credit card expiration information is out of date and you clear the credit card information from their control panel. After catching the charge a few days later they refunded the charge less a full month.
Rickie, 14th 2006 December, 2006
Avoid. My client's website became blacklist from DNS servers and when i called to inquire they said its a ISP issue and contact them. I switched the domain to another company and no prob since. When I canceled the account through a customer contact form mail that they provided w a supplied 'cancellation' pull down menu I got no email confirmation and when I called up a few days later they told me that they have no records! And since the account was now past the recurring billing cycle that I would be charged for another month. What can you do when u've done the right thing thru a system they provided? A good company would have honored the customer and provided a full refund. Their control panel is mickey mouse as well. Not a happy customer. Look elsewhere, dont waste your time and money.
Jason, 11th 2006 December, 2006
I set up an account last night. Nothing is working right. I'm unable to access my site or FTP in using the registered address or the temporary address. I'm hitting certificate and SQL errors on the user admin pages. The DotNetNuke setup puked from the user admin pages. I have a support request out in both email and on their forums, neither which have been answer so far. Not impressed...
Centennial, 07th 2006 December, 2006
Our emails through gate.com aren't reaching their recipients. Our emails are being blocked. Apparently Gate is on a bunch of spam blacklists.
Richard, 21st 2006 November, 2006
AVOID GATE.COM VPS SERVERS. I've had an account for two weeks and it's been a nightmare. I have a host-tracker.com account which puts the uptime as 82.4% which is the worst uptime i've ever seen. It's constantly down for a period every day. I've asked for a refund but heard nothing, I too had a nightmare getting it set up. I'm off to try easycgi... so wish me luck!
flexible, 17th 2006 November, 2006

Gate.com has taken 2 + weeks to solve a problem with my email and they are STILL looking into it.

I have been told everything from Serv Problems to no problem to we don't know what is going on

Stay away
a mays, 17th 2006 November, 2006
I have had a business website with them since 6/2001. They have phone and email support. I have found them reliable and consistent. I have registered three sites with them. In all three cases, after the sign-up process, I had access to temporary access from the control panel and it worked immediately. Contrary to the other reviewer, I was able to get to all three domains' temporary access immediately after signing up for hosting. Then after the domain propagated overnight, the files were accessible via their respective domain names.

In the first years, their daytime tech support folks seemed more knowledgeable than those in evening hours. This has changed for the better in recent years. Phone/evening tech support is much better now than in the earlier years.

My experience with problems has generally been positive. I haven't had many problems in 5 years but have had to call them for a couple of complex problems. One was with regard to software they support, and everything I tried including manual configuration failed. It took several days to fix, but it did get resolved. Another time the server had a problem. The evening tech support person called me at home to get more info, and that problem too was resolved. It took several hours, but in all fairness the situation was to complex for an instant fix.

I have generally found the uptime to be reliable. The control panel is user-friendly, the the email is great. I signed up a non-profit organization's domain with them about 2 years ago, and the email can be used to build a members email diistribution list within the organization's domain. Email updates come into effect instantaneously.

I've had a business site with them for over 5 years. Later I signed up for hosting a fairly active non-profit organization and a person's domain name. The organization's site has been functioning well, including the busy times when people sign up for events and renew memberships for example. During my time of dealing with them, I've found them consistent and reliable.
afwo8e9@hotmail.com, 03rd 2006 November, 2006
funny ringtones
jgd7472@yahoo.com, 03rd 2006 November, 2006
funny ringtones
O Medina, 24th 2006 October, 2006
Gate.com has some unposted policies you need to be aware of *before* you open a hosting account with them and before you do a lot of work developing your website.

If your website uses a lot of files, like mine, be aware that they have a limit of 20,000 files (total) per account. So even if you are well below the storage space limit, MySQL database limit, and bandwidth limit, you can't grow your website beyond 20,000 files. This seems like an adequate number for most applications but ecommerce sites with lots of content wont' be able to continue to grow once they reach this limit. That is the case with my website. It is a stock photography website with thousands of images and an unlimited upper growth potential.

I discovered this the hard way after spending several months developing my online store. There is no mention of this limit in any of the sign up agreements or FAQ files.

The support staff has not been very useful in helping to resolve this problem and when I've open a trouble ticket, I receive an email the next day saying the problem has been resolved and the ticket closed but with no change tha fixes the problem. Trying speak with a supervisor high enough up the food chain to actually do some good has turned out to be like "trying to herd cats". Impossible.

Up until this point the hosting has been fairly dependable though they have been offline approximately 1% of the time I've been with them. Nowhere near the 99.9% they quote on their website.

Their pricing is pretty good for this type of hosting but useless if you want to grow an eCommerce website. So buyer beware.

I've already started the process to move to another hosting service.
Y Kislov, 06th 2006 June, 2006
STAY AWAY FROM GATE.COM!!!

Here is my experience:
Day1: Call Gate to setup my hosting account. Paid for one month of hosting and was assured that my account will be setup within two hours. The welcome email would give me the logon info and temporary link to my website.

Six hours later no email. During the call they tried to feed me BS about spam filters. Gave them a differnt email address. They gave me my username and PW over the phone which did not work. I was told to call back in couple of hours.

Called back to find out that they did not give me my full username. I am finally able to ligin to my control panel. Still no email from them and nobody is able give me my temporary link.

After another conversation I am told that my account was misprovisioned, "usually it takes up-to 24 hours to resolve a case, but in this instance it will most likely take couple of hours."

18 hours later still no resolution. After calling Gate again was told that 24 hours did not pass yet and that they still have a few hours to resolve the case. They told me to call back later.

Called back 26 hours after incident was opened. "The admins are still working on it" After asking about promissed 24 hour guarnted resolution time was told that cases like this take 48 hours to resolve and that I should repoint my name servers to gate.com. All I needed was a temporary link to start woring on my site, but I pointed to new name servers anyway. I was assured that my account would be setup by next day. Also was told that none of the admins work weekends (so much for a 24 hour shop with 99.99 uptime guarantee)

Next morning called them to talk to a supervisor. Before I got to supervisor was assured that it would be setup within 24 hours due to some server problems.

Waited another day and canceled an account with them. A was determined to make it work, but at that point....
Thank you gate.com for waisting four days of my time.

What a "great" company.
Write Your Review
Your name

Your gate.com review

Positive Negative


Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. © 2004 - 2010