Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.gearhost.com
Gearhost General Information
  Gearhost is providing Linux web hosting services, has been founded in 2005 and now it's years in business.

gearhost.com average uptime is 99.998% (rank #127 on our directory) with total 83117 successful and 2 failed checks, monitored since 2006-02-20. Similar companies with 99.998% uptime are and zonerhosting.com.

Search for "gearhost.com" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 1684 results so company name popularity rank is #713.

There have been 75 positive votes for Gearhost and 11 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #1492 (similar companies are underdoghosting.com and hostingzoom.com)

Web Hosting Packages
  1ST Gear Plan (Type: Linux) - 2000 MB space, 10 GB bandwidth for $6.99/mo

2ST Gear Plan (Type: Linux) - 4000 MB space, 20 GB bandwidth for $9.99/mo

3ST Gear Plan (Type: Linux) - 6000 MB space, 40 GB bandwidth for $19.99/mo

5ST Gear Plan (Type: Linux) - 10 GB space, 80 GB bandwidth for $44.99/mo

4ST Gear Plan (Type: Linux) - 8000 MB space, 60 GB bandwidth for $32.99/mo

Some technical data about gearhost.com
  IP Location: Lazio - Rome - Gearhost Inc
Blacklist Status: Clear
Nameserver: NS2.GEARHOST.COM NS1.GEARHOST.COM
Website Title: GearHost : web site hosting, web hosting services, professional web hosting, discount web hosting, web hosting, web hosting company, affordable web hosting, affordable web site hosting
Description: GearHost : Web Site Hosting : Specializing in web hosting services, professional web hosting, discount web hosting, web hosting, web hosting company, affordable web hosting, and affordable web site hosting

Back to "G" directory


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
Bobby R, 13th 2011 September, 2011
Their new Cloudsite stuff is awesome. Extremely fast with great features. I would definitively recommend them to anyone looking for high performance hosting with .NET or PHP.
Jay Grewall, 07th 2011 April, 2011
I spent a long time looking for a reliable hosting company. One with all the latest features for deploying web and multimedia for my clients and me. A co-worker turned me on to GearHost and I've been exceptionally content with their services. Prompt and friendly service, strong servers, never a down-time, and great prices. I've been with them for 7 years now and have migrated many of my clients to GearHost. Keep up the good work, guys.
Lance McDonald, 07th 2011 April, 2011
I've been hosting with GearHost for over 7 years now. Great uptime, great customer service! Pricing is average but you pay for what you get in this market. I love these guys! They keep my site up and make me rich.
Mark D, 29th 2010 October, 2010
Good customer service and good pricing. Uptime is solid as well. Overall it's A+.
Unhappy, 19th 2010 August, 2010
Gearhost are a bunch of fucking shit bag thieves
Marc Tillmen, 22nd 2010 July, 2010
I've been with GearHost for 2 years now. Great company! I host about 20 sites with them with about 3 new sites a month. I've finally scaled from their shared hosting to my own dedicated server. I couldn't be happier!
Mark Feeman, 14th 2010 July, 2010
I've been with GearHost now for 6 months and just signed upgraded to their new cloud server deal. I host 30+ websites with them and add about 4 to 5 a year. Uptime is incredible but the best thing about them is their customer service. These guys really know their stuff. Thanks again GearHost!
Jb, 15th 2010 May, 2010
GearHost is a joke... end of story.
Stay away from them if you want a reliable host, if you want to spend to much money and fight with email downtime then they are for you!
Mark Troutman, 06th 2009 April, 2009
I've been with GearHost for about 6 months now. I love them. Great support, great network. My application resides on their special dedicated server cluster setup and runs like a champ. Thanks GearHost!
verybad, 12th 2009 March, 2009
very bad ...... 1000MB is a small space for 6.99$ ..

the webmasters find more space at other webhosting company's

More web hosting company's at review
http://whrev.blogspot.com
Matthew Bartlett, 08th 2008 August, 2008
I have been with GearHost for five years now and I've never had anything but great support, wonderful communication, and completely reliable service from them. They are priced competitively and are willing to work with their customers to meet their needs.
The CEO and his fellow employees are in contact with customers via the forums and they interact with us not only on a professional business needs level but also as people with varied interests (some of which are shared). They treat us less like "clients" and more like friends and real people that actually mean something to them and their business. That is something most businesses (web hosts included) are sorely missing these days. GearHost is a breath of fresh air in that regard!
Dave Auburn of www.commish3.com, 16th 2008 July, 2008
" GearHost is the best of the best in hosting. I now have three accounts including personal and business with GearHost and am very pleased with the ease of setup, service reliability and problem resolution. I would not hesitate to recommend GearHost for personal or business hosting. Their commitment to customer service is excellent and beyond expectation. "
Andy Mathews, 10th 2008 July, 2008
Iíve been using Gearhost for almost 6 years now and have nothing but good things to say about your products and your services. You offer almost every language in common use on the web, the two most popular database applications, and your Control Panel, GearPanel, is top notch. The times that Iíve had to create support tickets, Iíve gotten resolution on them usually within 1-2 days (notification that youíd started looking at the ticket within just a few hours). Your reps are pleasant, helpful, and seem to know their stuff. Iíve seen Gearhost through two website redesigns and at least one GearPanel update and I canít wait to see whatís next.
Mathew Barnes, 11th 2008 June, 2008
Our company has used Gearhost for the past 5 years. The level of customer service far exceeds any company that we've used in the past. Everyone we speak to is helpful, knowledgeable and goes above and beyond any assistance that we may need. This is a great hosting solutions company, the people are great the service is stable and I would highly recommend them.
Alfred Raouf, 11th 2008 June, 2008
I'm glad to be a client of Gearhost. Not only it is reliable reliable but also very fair service provider; let alone their great support team, requests I made through livechat were done on the spot while I'm online chatting with the support team representative. Thanks for the great business Gearhost.
Andy Matthews, 11th 2008 June, 2008
Iíve been using Gearhost for almost 6 years now and have nothing but good things to say about your products and your services. You offer almost every language in common use on the web, the two most popular database applications, and your Control Panel, GearPanel, is top notch. The times that Iíve had to create support tickets, Iíve gotten resolution on them usually within 1-2 days (notification that youíd started looking at the ticket within just a few hours). Your reps are pleasant, helpful, and seem to know their stuff. Iíve seen Gearhost through two website redesigns and at least one GearPanel update and I canít wait to see whatís next.

Andy Matthews
commadelimited
dream | design | develop
Ryan Kekos (CEO), 11th 2008 June, 2008
As CEO of GearHost my time is better spent focused on running the company so Iím going to keep this response short and to the point. As such Iím not going to post a long story about Shawn and his behavior as a disgruntled employee. Nor will I give a long explanation as to why his statements are false. Then again they are just that Ö statements.

As a rebuttal, I am simple am going to look at the facts. We successfully host thousands of domains, have thousands of happy customers, employee the best in the industry, build our own software and have been doing so for about 8 years. Weíre highly exposed and active as a company rather than the dormant and non-social description that was given.

Now think about it yourself, if half his claims were even half truths would we be the successful company we are today? If you still have questions or need any specific answers I would personally be happy to answer them myself. Please feel free to email me at ryan.kekos@gearhost.com or call me at 720-204-1302 and I would be more than happy to talk with you.
Mike Kauspedas (Employee), 09th 2008 June, 2008
My name is Mike and I have been an employee of GearHost for almost 4 years. I am responding to the allegations Shawn has posted. Due to the nature of the allegations I would like to take the time to touch on each point in order. So here it is.

The company has always gone by one name, GearHost Inc.

This is Ryanís 2nd web hosting company and has been in business since 2001 which does not classify it as a start up.

Ryan and GearHost are not involved in any legal situations.

Payroll has never been paid on a credit card.

We did not let go of Shawn so we could hire our new Systems Admin, the sys admin was hired before Shawn left GearHost.

We will soon implement 24x7 support and in fact have increased our support hours to 7am-7pm M-F and 8am-5pm S-S. We currently have 4 support engineers and plans to hire additional staff based on growth as needed.

The GearHost network is fully redundant. We have just spent hundreds of thousands of dollars on redundant Cisco switches, routers, firewalls, etc. However there will always be inevitable single points of failure. For example if a motherboard fails the server would be down a short while we replace it. But each of our servers is configured with redundancy in mind including RAID arrays making the hard drives hardware redundant. We also use redundant power supplies and redundant network cards. We are working towards putting in place an entirely redundant load balanced and fail over server infrastructure. Our current infrastructure is the reason we offer a 99.9% uptime and not 100%. The same reason almost every other hosting company offers the same promise.

We also have a full backup system and we run nightly backups on all servers including database, web, and email for all shared hosting accounts. We also offer this standard with our dynamic dedicated hosting plans as well. We retain customer data for 7 days. Shawn was confused because we offer a service for normal dedicated accounts if they require additional backup services, longer data retention, etc.

Shawn is incorrect on my history in the IT industry. I have been working IT since 1999 before I was out of high school. I have gone through programs at 4 different colleges. I donít have any certs or a degree, but I do have 9 years of experience, 7 of those years working directly with server technology and 4 specific to hosting. I also was not and am not the Network Admin, I have never held that title. I have done some systems administration for GearHost but specific to my job duties regarding hosting technologies. We hired a Systems Admin shortly after hiring Shawn to handle our company infrastructure and servers. We have a network admin on contract that handles all of our Cisco equipment.

I can also vouch for Ryan and Zeb who both have more experience than I. Ryan and Zeb both have at least 20 years experience between them. GearHost overall has 70+ years of IT experience among its employees. Shawn could not possibly have double the experience of our staff.

We have strict security at GearHost as any company does. We do not allow tier 1 tech support engineerís access to servers for obvious security reasons.

We have thousands of satisfied customers who host with GearHost and very happy employees.

GearHost policy is not to blame the customer, especially if the issue is the result of a server error or configuration issue. But in some circumstances, especially in the hosting industry, a customer may have a problem with their website specific to their code. This is where Shawn is confused about where the fault lies.

Our servers are not hacked and have not been hacked. There have been customer websites that have suffered compromises but unfortunately this is a burden of hosting. We continually monitor our servers and services to find these sorts of compromises and notify customers immediately. We do not develop the sites hosted with us so we cannot ensure their protection and hardening against common attacks such as SQL injection, form variable inserts, etc.

I would hope you take away from all of this that GearHost is a successful webhosting entity with our customerís concerns as our primary focus. We own our own equipment; have our own Data Center space, and the staff to support it. The below said allegations are just that. If ever you have any questions regarding our service or support we welcome you to contact us 888.535.5443.
Shawn, 11th 2008 February, 2008
This company has also gone by many names and has just dropped the names and customers.

I believe for Ryan Kekos that this is the 3rd start up of a web hosting company.

Which more then likely wont be around to much longer after the federal laws he has broken and all of the legal situations he is involved in.

Another interesting fact is be careful of a company that has to make payroll by charging it to a credit card.

One last thing to leave you thinking is a company that hires a Network Admin and has to let go of a support rep so they can pay the Network Admin.

This company has 1 support rep now and has no plans to ever offer 24 hour support as they dont want to pay for it. They dont even want to pay to have a tech that at least works on the weekends.

All on you! Just some info to know before you jump aboard a ship that is built like the Titanic. It looks OK, but once it hits that darn Ice Berg the ships is sinking and sinking fast.
Shawn, 11th 2008 February, 2008
As an employee that use to work there I can state this. Jon Goodman that posted his review was an employee there. Of course he is going to say something great.

I instead have witnessed the ugliness behind this company. There is no redundancy what so ever. What I mean by this is GearHost was to loose one of their connections they are completly down.

There is no redundacy with the servers or anything tha they have, in that matter.

They state that all servers are backed up and they are not. The only way your service is backed up is i you are paying. If a server was to crash everything is lost on it.

In reply to what Brad harrier states. The reason the other representatives speak in the manner of the CEO is becuase we are told that is the only correct way.

I have 4 customer service certificates and have been in the I.T Industry longer then Ryan, Zeb, and Mike. Mike is their Network Admin that has no degees, no schooling of any sort and is allowed to work on servers.

I walked in their with double the amount of experience and was not allowed to touch any of it.

I have been doing this since I was in the military and have wrked for many big corporations. This is by far the worst company to work for or in that matter have your hosting with.

What we were always told to the customer is the problem could not be figured out was to blame them. Even though I would tell them that hey your CEO that knows nothing about Cisco Equipment just set it up and has screwed everyone.

Their own corporate servers have been hacked and are easily hackable due to shidy coding. The entire company has gone down to changes made to Frewalls that the CEO has no clue about.

I would stay far, far away from this company for hosting. There are much better companies out there such as GoDaddy. I personally know the owner as I served with him and know numerous reps there.

They may be a little more expensive, but you get what you pay for.
Katablog, 07th 2007 December, 2007
We've used Gearhost for almost 3 years and it's certainly NOT a fly-by-night company. We've been provided good service, good up time and very competitive prices, especially for ColdFusion hosting.

I've personally talked with at least 4 different customer service people so I guarantee you, they are real.
Jon Goodman, 07th 2007 November, 2007
GearHost is a true brick and mortar company with real employees and has quite a large amount of hardware in an established datacenter. The current support hours are published as 8:00-5:00 MST. Any attempt to reach a representative before or after will be address the next business day, provided a voicemail is left. GearHost is not affiliated with Microclear.net, a company that went out of business several years ago, just like several other companies did during the dot.bomb.
GearHostís focus is to provide quality hosting solutions at a competitive price and back that up with high quality support for those that need it.
Brad Harrier, 03rd 2007 September, 2007
Apparently Gearhost used to be Microclear.net, a fly by night company in Colorado that trolled for customers in forums such as the Cold Fusion forum. People started to post that their credit cards had been billed for one or two years worth of hosting, and then one day microclear had a web page that gave some message saying that they were down for an indefinite period which gave a hotmail address for contact, and all the sites were down. It was a one-man show run out of an apartment in Inglewood by a Ryan Kekos, who did a great job of making Microclear sound like a big company.

If you read their own forums and analyze the writing styles it looks as though Gearhost is the same thing, lots of company representatives who write in a style much like their CEO. However, it seems like none of them can ever be contacted on the phone?
Write Your Review
Your name

Your gearhost.com review

Positive Negative


Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. © 2004 - 2010