Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.hostforweb.com
Hostforweb General Information
  Hostforweb is providing Linux and Reseller web hosting services, has been founded in 2001 and now it's years in business.

hostforweb.com average uptime is 99.993% (rank #1172 on our directory) with total 86310 successful and 6 failed checks, monitored since 2006-01-29. Similar companies with 99.993% uptime are and naf.com.

Search for "hostforweb.com" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 75700 results so company name popularity rank is #79.

There have been 45 positive votes for Hostforweb and 15 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #134 (similar companies are imhosted.com and netmart.com)

Web Hosting Packages
  Supreme (Type: Linux) - 10 GB space, 500 GB bandwidth for $19.95/mo

Budget (Type: Linux) - 500 MB space, 50 GB bandwidth for $4.95/mo

Basic (Type: Linux) - 5000 MB space, 250 GB bandwidth for $9.95/mo

HFW-X-SP* (Type: Reseller) - 10 GB space, 150 GB bandwidth for $19.95/mo

HFW-0 (Type: Reseller) - 15 GB space, 200 GB bandwidth for $24.95/mo

HFW-2 (Type: Reseller) - 40 GB space, 400 GB bandwidth for $49.95/mo

HFW-1 (Type: Reseller) - 25 GB space, 300 GB bandwidth for $34.95/mo

HFW-3 (Type: Reseller) - 50 GB space, 500 GB bandwidth for $69.95/mo

HFW-4 (Type: Reseller) - 70 GB space, 1000 GB bandwidth for $89.95/mo

Some technical data about hostforweb.com
  IP Location: Illinois - Chicago - Hostforweb Inc
Blacklist Status: Clear
Nameserver: HFW1.HOSTFORWEB.NET HFW2.HOSTFORWEB.NET
Registrar: ENOM, INC.
Server Type: Apache/1.3.33 (Unix) mod_auth_passthrough/1.8 mod_log_bytes/1.2 mod_bwlimited/1.4 PHP/4.3.11 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 mod_ssl/2.8.22 OpenSSL/0.9.7a
Website Title: HostForWeb.COM - Full Featured Web Hosting
Description: HostForWeb.COM - High Quality PHP, CGI, JSP and RESELLER Web Hosting

Back to "H" directory


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
NZ, 05th 2011 August, 2011
I have a dedicated server with Hostforweb only once I had my server hacked because i didn't have a strong password. Since then they have installed firewall software so if a person fails to login after 3 attempts their ip address gets blocked. Their support is very good. I think most of the complaints on this thread come from people that are not so competent in looking after their accounts. Their are many cyber criminals trying to hack web servers to send out criminal activity
Tim Carroll, 29th 2011 April, 2011
I have been with HFW reseller package for about 8 yrs with 100 to 150 sites most problems have been sorted within hours mins 85% via live chat, no problems with payments they didn't demand payment when I was late. Installed stuff for me. Sites went down for a few days in 2004 before major upgrades they notified me and I in turn notified my clients 98% of those clients are still with me, if you ask for support not demand support you get a much better response, if I ever have a concern I ask to have my request passed on to Alex the boss, I normally get a response within the hour. I had a problem with 2 fishing exploits this turned out to be a module in a nuke application. wouldn't host with anyone else.
got money taken, 21st 2010 December, 2010
They billed me for a vps and my shared and didn't want the vps, I told them to cancel it, they said it was canceled, but still showed in my paypla, they said notify them if it was taken out, instead of canceling the transaction with paypal, the payment went threw, I called billing and they said it can only be handeled with billing by email, and the email now gives me a deamon no such email.... further, the support team asked for the transaction id, I sent them all the info again, its been over a week now since I reported, have the money gone and now it's almost christmas and needed the extra money fro christmas. THEY ARE THIEVES AND SCAMS WATCH OUT!
Ex Customer (Thank God), 08th 2010 July, 2010
I had a dedicated server with them and I strongly believe someone on their staff is responsible for all the hacking.

Any time I gave them the password for root within hours or a couple of days loads of accounts on my server had spam mailers placed on them & on others fake sub domains used for bank fraud. This happened a few times & I noticed that it was only when they had access to the password.

After each hacking I had to go through every account & clean up the mess & change root password etc. Everything worked fine for months.

Next time I had a problem & they needed root hacked all over again shortly after.

This happened on at least 3 occasions all after they had just been given root pass. I realised the pattern & started inspecting the fake bank emails the spam email had sent out to contact the host & have them remove the fraudulent sites incase anyone gave in their bank security details, as the fake sites looked very realistic. I traced the sites and noticed that EVERY SINGLE ONE had a connection with HostForWeb. Seperate dedicated aervers, whatever. HostForWeb was at the top of the pyramid.

This was mentioned to the staff along with my belief that they had a rogue staff member. They said that it just couldn't happen.

Obviously they must get lots of complaints about hacking by now and are unwilling to sort it out. This leads me to believe that the management know full well what is going on and are happy to participate in covering up the illegal fraud and theft of innocent people.

STAY AWAY OR WATCH YOUR BACK EVERY SINGLE TIME YOU GIVE THEM ROOT PASS. YOU WILL BE SORRY!!!
aljuk, 06th 2010 May, 2010
I've been with them as a reseller (on the cheapest reseller deal) for 3 or 4 years, and maintain a bunch of small business sites. I've had a pretty good experience, no downtime, no issues with security, a minor issue with spam which got fixed, and decent support ticket communication. For me it's been a good solution.
unforgiveable, 21st 2010 January, 2010
this is by far the best host yet
TooBadSoSad, 31st 2009 May, 2009
I thought this was a good change but after I moved all my sites over to them I spend more time keeping out hackers and protecting my cpanel than I have for development.

I once had other peoples accounts in my CPANEL -WHOA!!! while some of the techs truly try to help, there are just too many holes to patch and I just don't have the time - and yes we kept getting shut down because of spam - hacked through server insecurity and spoofing our legitimate web business sites.

Was forced to run some software files on 777 which is a no-no but it was the only way to run because of the way their servers were set up.

So many problems - not sure if it's Cpanel, whm, their fault, softwares' fault. Like I said, don't have the time to trouble shoot their problems that are ruing my business - going for the dreaded migration again.....
Zeca, 23rd 2008 December, 2008
By far the worst host. I share Tj's sentiment completely after being there for over 4 years I have seen their service go from great to terrible. You can do so much better, avoid the head aches and move on if you are serious.
Daryl, 17th 2008 December, 2008
After being there for years, it is time to move on. I have been blacklisted because there server had another account that sent spam mail, mhy account has been locked out when paying by paypal. I would avoid them by all means. Not a good host. impossible to speak to a human. I was a reseller, but since they have no desire to care for there customers, it's time to move on.
Mahmood, 17th 2008 October, 2008
I have not had any real problems with them. I have been hacked a few times, but this is also because dolphin was not working right. But they were quick to help me secure the open directories and even helped me update a few scripts that they openly do not support. I am not going to say they are grade A but I would give them a 7/10 to 8/10
Xavier L, 08th 2008 October, 2008
WARNING

AVOID THIS COMPANY BY ANY MEANS
HOSTFORWEB IS A SCAM. THEY DON`T RESPECT YOUR PRIVACY.
THEY ACCESS TO YOUR ACCOUNT AND USE IT FOR CRIMINAL ACTIVITY.
IN MY ACCOUNT WWW.RAZZZA.COM THEY CREATE A E-MAILS ADDRESS AND USED THEN TO BUY STUFF ON THE INTERNET WITH STOLE CREDIT CARDS OF OTHERS CUSTOMERS.
WHEN I COMPLAINED THEY JUST CANCEL MY ACCOUNT
THEY SCAM CUSTOMER ACCOUNTS AND AFTER THEY BILL YOU TO REMOVE THE VIRUS THAT THEY INSERT AND THEIR OWN SERVER.
IF YOU HAVE AN ACCOUNT WITH HOSTFORWEB PLEASE CANCEL IT RIGHT AWAY.
HOSTFORWEB IS UNDER INVESTIGACTION AND THEIR SERVER GOING TO BE SHUTT DOWN SOON.
THE CHICAGO POLICE IS OPENING A CASE AGAINST HOSTFORWEB.
PLEASE AVOID THIS CRIMINALS...
Xavier L, 08th 2008 October, 2008
WARNING

AVOID THIS COMPANY BY ANY MEANS
HOSTFORWEB IS A SCAM. THEY DON`T RESPECT YOUR PRIVACY.
THEY ACCESS TO YOUR ACCOUNT AND USE IT FOR CRIMINAL ACTIVITY.
IN MY ACCOUNT WWW.RAZZZA.COM THEY CREATE A E-MAILS ADDRESS AND USED THEN TO BUY STUFF ON THE INTERNET WITH STOLE CREDIT CARDS OF OTHERS CUSTOMERS.
WHEN I COMPLAINED THEY JUST CANCEL MY ACCOUNT
THEY SCAM CUSTOMER ACCOUNTS AND AFTER THEY BILL YOU TO REMOVE THE VIRUS THAT THEY INSERT AND THEIR OWN SERVER.
IF YOU HAVE AN ACCOUNT WITH HOSTFORWEB PLEASE CANCEL IT RIGHT AWAY.
HOSTFORWEB IS UNDER INVESTIGACTION AND THEIR SERVER GOING TO BE SHUTT DOWN SOON.
THE CHICAGO POLICE IS OPENING A CASE AGAINST HOSTFORWEB.
PLEASE AVOID THIS CRIMINALS...
Xavier L, 08th 2008 October, 2008
WARNING

AVOID THIS COMPANY BY ANY MEANS
HOSTFORWEB IS A SCAM. THEY DON`T RESPECT YOUR PRIVACY.
THEY ACCESS TO YOUR ACCOUNT AND USE IT FOR CRIMINAL ACTIVITY.
IN MY ACCOUNT WWW.RAZZZA.COM THEY CREATE A E-MAILS ADDRESS AND USED THEN TO BUY STUFF ON THE INTERNET WITH STOLE CREDIT CARDS OF OTHERS CUSTOMERS.
WHEN I COMPLAINED THEY JUST CANCEL MY ACCOUNT
THEY SCAM CUSTOMER ACCOUNTS AND AFTER THEY BILL YOU TO REMOVE THE VIRUS THAT THEY INSERT AND THEIR OWN SERVER.
IF YOU HAVE AN ACCOUNT WITH HOSTFORWEB PLEASE CANCEL IT RIGHT AWAY.
HOSTFORWEB IS UNDER INVESTIGACTION AND THEIR SERVER GOING TO BE SHUTT DOWN SOON.
THE CHICAGO POLICE IS OPENING A CASE AGAINST HOSTFORWEB.
PLEASE AVOID THIS CRIMINALS...
JT, 02nd 2008 October, 2008
6 years, always put this "This Account Has Been Suspended" if you pay by paypal... after that, you chat 1 or two hours for check you been paid... after that 1 day to activate...
the servers are ok... but you company maybe not
Justin, 29th 2008 September, 2008
This is the worst host I have ever been with, service has been down for hours with no help from the support staff. They have stole my money and they will not give it back! Please do not host with this company unless you like lots of downtime and no support.
Robert, 24th 2008 September, 2008
I would urge anyone looking for hosting NOT TO use Hostforweb. Their customer service is horrible, their pricing is deceptive and anyone who uses them needs to be aware of what they are getting into. Host for we must be avoided!
Arvind, 10th 2008 September, 2008
System down everyweek.. incompetent support staff.. Yoday my VPS is down for 15 hrs.. still not up..

And VPS goes down even on a weekly backup. I am told everytime they back up the server will go down.. ! ! Does that happen with other hosts...?

And strange people manning the support give random answers to tickets.. Once a rogue script that got into one of my sites.. i was adviced not to keep any files with permission 777., as if the cpanels are open for the whole world to walk in and do what they want..

contrary to what I'm seeing around.. my sites are up hadly 90% of the week.. and my blood pressure and acidity is going up.. !!
Tj, 17th 2007 November, 2007
I had my website hosted by hostforweb for over 4 years and saw their service drop from stellar to absolutely horrible, forcing me to seek out a new hosting company.

I don't know where to begin with how disappointed I was with them.

Their mailservers went down almost every two weeks until I finally hired a third party to handle my mailing lists.

When I had problems, their tech support was so incompetent that I often would have to ask the tech support for my message boards look into the hostforweb problems to tell me how to tell HFW tech support how to fix it.

Once, they suspended my account without prior notice and accused me of using the website to spread spam. I had to instruct tech support on how to read the header of the offending email to show that it was spoofed and not from my website.

The first time their server hosting our site was hacked it was through, according to their own words, "An old and well known bug in Cpanel". When I asked them why this "old and well known" security problem hadn't been patched or updated they told me to "ask the Cpanel developers". So you see, the fact that they are funning outdated and unpatched versions of cpanel, it's the developers of Cpanel's fault.

The final straw that made me find a new host was the last time their server hosting my site was hacked. Again, a script kiddie exploited a security loophole in the outdated and unpatched version of apache they were running. The difference this time was that after I alerted them to the fact that my users were being attacked a trojan virus it took ten days (9 of which I was unable to upload any files)before they would even acknowledge that the server had been compromised. When they finally did see the problem, they accused me of being responsible and suspended my account until I fixed the problem. Luckily, my new webhost was ready to roll just a few hours later. No problems since I changed hosts.

On a final note: I started with a 10 dollar a month account. Even though I wasn't using the maximum resources allotted to my account, they claimed that I needed to upgrade to a Virtual Private Server. I barely used the resources on the VPS and continued to have problems. Again, they suggested a dedicated server. I was paying $169 a month for worse service than I have now at my new host for $20 dollars a month.

In short, Hostforweb is the worst webhost I could ever imagine. In 2003, they were the best.
Masta, 20th 2007 September, 2007
I have few Dedicated and Virtual servers with HostForWeb.

Very good support and $$$ :)
mkweltin, 24th 2007 April, 2007
I am a reseller with Hostforweb.com and have a minor problem that is turning into a major problem.

A number of email addresses within my clients can't receive server generated activation or verification emails, and therefore, cannot join many professional sites. It seems to be problematic with php generated email.


The last two sites that I have tried to join are:

Drupal.org and Joomla.org.

HostforWeb keeps saying that is the fault of the webserver that I am trying to activate membership on. I am getting the royal run around while I am losing paying accounts.

Any body with this problem on HostforWeb.com or any other web host?

Also, I can receive the verification email on other mail addresses - both POP and IMAP.
Write Your Review
Your name

Your hostforweb.com review

Positive Negative


Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. 2004 - 2010