Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.hostgator.com
Hostgator General Information
  Hostgator is providing Linux and Reseller web hosting services, has been founded in 2002 and now it's years in business.

hostgator.com average uptime is 99.902% (rank #2124 on our directory) with total 8145 successful and 8 failed checks, monitored since 2005-10-05. Similar companies with 99.902% uptime are hosting24.com and icdsoft.com.

Search for "hostgator.com" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 207666 results so company name popularity rank is #42.

There have been 414 positive votes for Hostgator and 101 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #103 (similar companies are netsonic.net and futurequest.net)

Web Hosting Packages
  Hatchling Plan (Type: Linux) - 350 GB space, 3000 GB bandwidth for $4.95/mo

Baby Plan (Type: Linux) - 600 GB space, 6000 GB bandwidth for $7.95/mo

Aluminum Plan (Type: Reseller) - 24 GB space, 250 GB bandwidth for $24.95/mo

Copper Plan (Type: Reseller) - 40 GB space, 35 GB bandwidth for $34.95/mo

Silver Plan (Type: Reseller) - 60 GB space, 500 GB bandwidth for $49.95/mo

Gold Plan (Type: Reseller) - 80 GB space, 600 GB bandwidth for $74.95/mo

Diamond Plan (Type: Reseller) - 100 GB space, 700 GB bandwidth for $99.95/mo

Some technical data about hostgator.com
  IP Location: Texas - Amarillo - Theplanet.com Internet Services Inc
Blacklist Status: Clear
Nameserver: NS1.HOSTGATOR.COM
Registrar: ENOM, INC.
Server Type: Apache/1.3.34 (Unix) mod_auth_passthrough/1.8 mod_log_bytes/1.2 mod_bwlimited/1.4 PHP/4.4.1 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 mod_ssl/2.8.25 OpenSSL/0.9.7a
Website Title: Reseller Hosting - cPanel and Reseller Website Hosting by HostGator
Description: Reseller hosting, dedicated servers, and virtual webhosting as provided by HostGator LLC

Back to "H" directory


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
Sachin, 17th 2011 September, 2011
Try Manashosting.com their service is very good compared to the other cheap hosting providers. I was shocked to see their pricing and I guess they are the costly compared to any other hosting provider in India.
pays for good reviews, 29th 2011 July, 2011
Apparently this company pays for most of their good reviews. A social media marketing company contacted our design firm and hostgator as well as a few other hosts were listed as a reference and customer. It's not ok in my book to deceive customers with fake reviews.
CLK, 12th 2011 July, 2011
Exceptionally good service. They tried very hard to accomodate me on a shared hosting plan to run the software I needed to run. Unfortunately it can't work on shared hosting - it needed a Windows VPS which they don't offer. Subsequently I tried Mochahosts Windows VPS, 30 hours later I want to cancel with Mochahost, they are vague, can't spell and are slower than promised. I wished Hostgator offered Windows.
Allen, 13th 2011 June, 2011
I've used my fair share of crappy providers over the years. Finding an honest review about a host provider is next to impossible, because most of these companies hire poor third world folks to post fake comments.

I've been with Hostgator for 5 years. Their up time is what they claim and their support is amazing. I've only had two problems. They actually took time to fix a mistake I had made and they did it within an hour. Imagine that! They didn't give me the run-around and they didn't point the finger at me and say, well you know our Terms of Service say about you breaking your website...

They do put their money where their mouth is.

Looking over these comments, I see that the owner actually took time to drop by. This company is honest and up front. I've personally never experienced downtime or poor customer service.

They'll continue to get my money! :)
Zappa, 10th 2011 May, 2011
I switched from Ipower web three years back, and have been very happy with Hostgator.

There online ticket support works perfect!
Very fast

They have a real nice reseller program

test, 25th 2011 February, 2011
test
reviewit, 23rd 2010 December, 2010
HOST GATOR "NO CONTRACT" SCAM

Hello, I’m from Malaysia, and I believe everyone using the internet must have come across the "NO CONTRACT" representation made by HostGator to the internet users. In legal terms, no contract means there will not be any terms whatsoever governing the client. Client will be free to stay or leave, without any terms governing them. Client makes payment if they wish to continue, and HostGator terminate/suspend the account if there is no payment.

Can they assume continuance of service under the “NO CONTRACT” representation? Can they continue to bill you every month despite there are no domains configure to use their web hosting? No, and “NO CONTRACT” means “there will not be any terms and conditions” between the party. If there is one, all party must have waived because this is a “NO CONTRACT” relationship.

Surprisingly and after I decide and inform not continue using their web hosting, HostGator keep on billing me every month. I’ve contacted the Consumer Service and the answer is:

Me: “…This is a "No Contract", and please do not assume the account is active until you have received my confirmation to continue your services and make the monthly payment. Thank you…”

Host Gator: “…While WE DO NOT HAVE CONTRACTS for hosting plans, you DID AGREE TO OUR TERMS OF SERVICE, at the time you ordered your account. Our TERMS OF SERVICE includes the following…. 4.) Payment Information… YOU AGREE to … YOU AGREE that until and unless you notify HostGator of your desire to cancel any or all services received, those services will be billed on a recurring basis… invoices will be manually generated and payment expected for the time the account was suspended… ”

Me: “…Oh okay, so you did impose some terms (contract) on your service. This is a misrepresentation of facts or worst, a fradulent misreprentation...”

The term or condition that mentioned “YOU AGREE” is an AGREEMENT, and thus, is a CONTRACT. Question now arise does their representation of “NO CONTRACT” match with their practices?

NO, and the “NO CONTRACT” representation is a SCAM, intentionally made and strategically planned to deceive the consumer to purchase their hosting services. It is a fraudulent misrepresentation to deceive the consumer.
brent oxley, 04th 2010 October, 2010
Hello,


I'm the owner of hostgator and I just wanted to post that if anyone ever has a problem with regular support I'd be more then happy to get personally involved to do everything I can to help. I can be reached at brent@hostgator.com

Sincerely,

Brent Oxley
brent oxley, 21st 2010 September, 2010
Hello,

I'm the owner of hostgator and I want everyone here to know that if anyone ever has an issue with us that I'm just an email away to help. Please email me at brent@hostgator.com

With that said I do believe most of the reviews here are fake. I'm emailing the site owner to see what type of verification they do if any.
Suraj, 18th 2010 June, 2010
These mother fuckers suck big time ... They never answer you properly ... they have automated messages in there chat and will keep you waiting ... they claim to have so many people on chat but there are only few peoples with multiple IDs
Mark Seydel, 31st 2010 March, 2010
I have never had a problem with HostGator. I have been with them for years. Support has always been great. I don't think some people are being honest here :-(
Truth, 04th 2010 March, 2010
HostGator is falsely advertising their hosting plans as "unlimited." Even the owner will tell you "there is no such thing as unlimited" as he asks you to leave, even though there has been no violation of their TOS. They lie, and it's wrong.
sahara , 07th 2010 January, 2010
During the trial month they were great! Then the support became a nightmare. The phone support was very limited in what they could help with. I was told to start an email 'ticket' on several occasions which means you will go round and round typing emails to clarify your problem over and over again (because a different person answers each one) instead of actually working on your website! I was told by chat and phone support that some services (back-ups, and having them move data from one site to another) were provided as a courtesy and then when it comes down to it they charge you for it -- I think they do this intentionally to get more $ out of you. I would not recommend them.
Ron, 30th 2009 November, 2009
They are nice and good.

The support was great before i had joined it; they were so quick in responding. But after it joined they slowed down a bit. It's still good.
TiNA, 21st 2009 August, 2009
I have been with them for more than 1 year and I am leaving now.
Their service was good, you can get a result in 30 min. But now, sometimes it takes 16 hours for a critical ticket. The online support will give you different excuse without helping you solve the problem.
Fuck this website, 06th 2009 August, 2009
8=========D
Russ, 04th 2009 June, 2009
Great bunch of folks at Hostgator is all I can say.
based on 10 max here is what I give
customer service==== 10
Tech support=======10
Up time ==========9.9
billing============10
overall value=======9
http://kohlarn.com
Arnold Alvarez, 15th 2009 May, 2009
I'm from the Philippines and I have been with HostGator for more than a year now and so far I have no problem with them. I have several sites on one shared hosting account, the server I'm on is fast and is rarely down, and if ever, just for a few minutes (I use an uptime monitor). And my bandwidth is about 80G a month. To prove my review is true, here is a list of my Philippine sites hosted at HostGator: http://net.philsite.net . I would recommend them anytime (and I have).
Steven, 06th 2009 May, 2009
I used HostGator for over a year now. I did not believe in the negative review until I got some problem with the e-mail. Thoughtout the whole time there was a lot of down time. I did not think much of that; since I read all the review on the other hosting company, they all seem to be the same... NONE OF THEM IS PERFECT... But in recent months, I got missing e-mail, No e-mail. I tried to contact their support and they give me the run around. 4 weeks already and I still cannot get a answer on why I can not access my e-mail. The only answer I got up to now is that they are looking into this.

I guess it is time for me to look for a new hosting company. I just wish that they did not waste my time and give me the run around. The problem with this kind of review site is that it seem that they are also trying to rate the web site and as the sametime promote them. The one that is listed on the so call top ten look more like a scam. I am sure that they are getting incentive for this. Some of the review is so one sided that is sound more like a competitor than a client.

The site is a review site and they are promoting coupon and free quote. This sound more of a reseller job that a review site. So when you are reading these review, keep in mind why the site promote these top ten vendors. I hope this will help.

I would not recomment HostGato. Average service at most and server up time is poor. Once you get a problem, then you can now experience the real pain in dealing with their support... slow, slow, slo...w
Nathan, 03rd 2009 May, 2009
Okay, i have had HostGator for the past 10 months, they are an excellent host, I have never needed their support group, but from what i hear its on point. The only issue I have is the whole bandwith issue. Sometimes it drops, but they can resolve this issue by having less people on shared servers. as for pricing, I wont complain, in the past 10 months, no downtime... who would complain?
M6.net, 30th 2009 April, 2009
M6.net is way better!
Jun, 29th 2009 April, 2009
I have a Baby Croc account and decided to create a separate dedicated account.

I paid $174 for that and they they've asked me to verify my account.

I send them a valid government id, but they liked the ones with the address imprinted.

Responses take 3 hours at least before you get their 1-2 liner sentence. Sounds weird and rude if you're a new customer and new to hosting stuffs.

So far, I'm quite satisfied with hostgator, but this time, it really got me on my nerves.
dave, 25th 2009 March, 2009
they should work
Webmaster , 25th 2009 March, 2009
there better that you at least
yes, 25th 2009 March, 2009
no
Webmaster, 24th 2009 March, 2009
They are a great company they cost a lot more than some reseller plans but you can at least trust them.

Thats what really matters how the hosting company treats there clients.

Price matters but it will never matter if the people running your website are shady people and stealing your clients from you.

Think about it Ok your Re-selling web hosting packages and have lots of users you get suspended and your users are gone but your clients websites are still online.... Huh

I RECOMMEND www.HOSTGATOR.com

You can trust them

They Won't steal from you

They won't treat you like your garbage

And they will help you if you need help

Plus they are there for there clients and not your clients :O)

Hostgator.com - Is Very Trust Worthy
bad reseller pices, 12th 2009 March, 2009
bad reseller pices

more reseller plans :

http://whrev.blogspot.com
Jeremy, 11th 2009 February, 2009
I have been using Host Gator for 5 years now and have had little to no problems. I have a reseller account with them with ample bandwidth and disk space. Over the years my web sites have only been down 2 times and for less than an hour. I am very pleased with their response time and handling of my service requests. Only comment I have is regarding SSL certificates. They tend to be painful to setup, but aside from that they are a good provider.
a visitor , 11th 2008 December, 2008
I want to put negative, the reason is only coz of that person who is spamming many times (I'm reading a lot of bad reviews...) seems he is from hostgator and he doesnt want other people to read bad reviews, he wants only good reviews
todor, 28th 2008 November, 2008
5 days customer, i moved my site from asshole siteground to hostgator.. at the moment no problems..ticket response times are also good
Why? , 29th 2008 October, 2008
So why host with a company that outsources their own servers? What the fuck? They can't run their own servers? They get a bunch of noc monkey's to run their servers? And what happens when their servers crash? ...
x, 23rd 2008 October, 2008
go back before 14 oct (below) to see worthwhile reviews that are not just repeated text ad infinitum
dasdfdsgfds, 14th 2008 October, 2008
Hell this service
Hell this service, 14th 2008 October, 2008
Hell this service
Niel, 14th 2008 October, 2008
I currently have a site hosted with hostgator. Love the unlimited databases, hate the mail functions. Turns out that the IP my shared hosting is on has been on ten different blacklists since 2002. I just got the account this year. They should have known that I would not be able to use the mail functions without problems. It would seem that they're recycling blacklisted IP's for the Baby plan at least.

Technical assistance has been pleasant at times, but far from helpful on any issues. I've kept them for a host, as it's more trouble than it's worth to move, but now I pay a separate bill each month to use Aweber for my mailing needs.

There should be a law against recycling blacklisted IP's to new customers without first clearing the blacklisting.

When I contacted them using the Live Support window, the live "tech" couldn't help and recommended that I email support for help. I did, and received no response. Seems their mail isn't working either.
elmo, 14th 2008 October, 2008
bad company - fraudelent
Zed, 14th 2008 October, 2008
I have my website hosted by them. Seems ok except from time to time someone said they sent me e-mail that I never received. Have you guys experienced that? It is very critical to business and so I am kind of frustrated. Help.
5648454, 14th 2008 October, 2008
I was with hostgator from past five months. I got to http://www.yfchost.com a free host its better than hostgator.. I dont have to pay anything and they provide help. Hostgator sux of helping clients. I got to live chat they made me wait for 5 hours.. and never helped me. They just make excuses.
Ani, 14th 2008 October, 2008
I was with hostgator from past five months. I got to http://www.yfchost.com a free host its better than hostgator.. I dont have to pay anything and they provide help. Hostgator sux of helping clients. I got to live chat they made me wait for 5 hours.. and never helped me. They just make excuses.
Slavi, 14th 2008 October, 2008
I was with hostgator from past five months. I got to http://www.yfchost.com a free host its better than hostgator.. I dont have to pay anything and they provide help. Hostgator sux of helping clients. I got to live chat they made me wait for 5 hours.. and never helped me. They just make excuses.
fdsfdsfa, 14th 2008 October, 2008
I left hostgator about 2 months ago after being with them for 1 year. Server I was on was like a yoyo. Up and Down.... Everytime I called them, they acted like there wasn't a problem or would give excuses like updating software ect. When I asked to be moved to another server they acted like it was a big problem. I have switched to IVHOST and have had much better service. Site is rarely down. If it soes go down it is only for 2-3 minutes.
fasdfdas, 14th 2008 October, 2008
I left hostgator about 2 months ago after being with them for 1 year. Server I was on was like a yoyo. Up and Down.... Everytime I called them, they acted like there wasn't a problem or would give excuses like updating software ect. When I asked to be moved to another server they acted like it was a big problem. I have switched to IVHOST and have had much better service. Site is rarely down. If it soes go down it is only for 2-3 minutes.
fdasfwe, 14th 2008 October, 2008
I left hostgator about 2 months ago after being with them for 1 year. Server I was on was like a yoyo. Up and Down.... Everytime I called them, they acted like there wasn't a problem or would give excuses like updating software ect. When I asked to be moved to another server they acted like it was a big problem. I have switched to IVHOST and have had much better service. Site is rarely down. If it soes go down it is only for 2-3 minutes.
Daniel, 14th 2008 October, 2008
I left hostgator about 2 months ago after being with them for 1 year. Server I was on was like a yoyo. Up and Down.... Everytime I called them, they acted like there wasn't a problem or would give excuses like updating software ect. When I asked to be moved to another server they acted like it was a big problem. I have switched to IVHOST and have had much better service. Site is rarely down. If it soes go down it is only for 2-3 minutes.I left hostgator about 2 months ago after being with them for 1 year. Server I was on was like a yoyo. Up and Down.... Everytime I called them, they acted like there wasn't a problem or would give excuses like updating software ect. When I asked to be moved to another server they acted like it was a big problem. I have switched to IVHOST and have had much better service. Site is rarely down. If it soes go down it is only for 2-3 minutes.
Charlie, 14th 2008 October, 2008
I left hostgator about 2 months ago after being with them for 1 year. Server I was on was like a yoyo. Up and Down.... Everytime I called them, they acted like there wasn't a problem or would give excuses like updating software ect. When I asked to be moved to another server they acted like it was a big problem. I have switched to IVHOST and have had much better service. Site is rarely down. If it soes go down it is only for 2-3 minutes.
fdsfasdf, 14th 2008 October, 2008
I have a few sites with them. So far I've only had one minor problem and support has always been very fast.
Andrew, 14th 2008 October, 2008
"E.P., 01st 2008f May, 2008
I'm having a problem with Hostgator right now. They suspended my reseller account for non-payment" - You didn't pay and you are upset? If you don't plan on paying your host don't plan on having a running website moron.
Lhs, 14th 2008 October, 2008
openned a resseler account with them and I had control panel and ftp access in 10 minutes. Not with them long but I have chatted w/ their techs in the middle of the night and they are always there. not one complaint so far
nfcuaew@yahoo.com, 14th 2008 October, 2008
funny ringtones
Weldo, 14th 2008 October, 2008
I can echo what's been said here. I've been with them for two years. In that time support and reliability has gone from very good to poor. Such a shame to see a company fall apart like this.
Eugene E, 14th 2008 October, 2008
Nothing but trouble, before they were ok. Now just bad, the support is poor and slow. Ask them a technical question they cant answer it.
Jon, 14th 2008 October, 2008
I have a few sites with them. So far I've only had one minor problem and support has always been very fast.
Clarke, 14th 2008 October, 2008
Hell this service
Zed, 14th 2008 October, 2008
Their website has a good appeal. There response time to answer is very very slow.
Chad, , 14th 2008 October, 2008
Read the whole review. Great packages, great pricing BUT slow time and a lot of down time. Both myself and my old employer has had a lot of troubles and downtime with them. Two or three times our ecommerce site was down for DAYS because of THEIR OWN FAULT. THATS LOSS OF MONEY FOR US. If your site doesn't require fast loading speed and if you can handle days of downtime from time to time - go for it.
Tony Phelps, 14th 2008 October, 2008
Generally quick response to reseller problems, low prices, and lots of tools (Web Host Manager, CPanel, Fantastico, Autopilot). A good find in a crowded market.
Matt, 28th 2008 September, 2008
We use hostgator for several wordpress blogs, whats great is that the mysql server is run locally so there is less lag than with a host that puts the mysql on a different server.

Overall great for smaller lower traffic sites. Rarely do we see any downtime, just a few glitches here and there over the course of the last 2 years.

asfdfasd, 14th 2008 August, 2008
is this good?
r0x, 16th 2008 July, 2008
"E.P., 01st 2008f May, 2008
I'm having a problem with Hostgator right now. They suspended my reseller account for non-payment" - You didn't pay and you are upset? If you don't plan on paying your host don't plan on having a running website moron.
Russ, 08th 2008 July, 2008
I think they are great. I asked them to change my billing date to a day later in the month and they did it with no problem. Can't say enough about them. I very happy.
Chek, 01st 2008 July, 2008
stay away they are bad
Nuts ?, 30th 2008 June, 2008
Absolutely nothing wrong with their service.

The problem with accounts that get shut-down is because they use newgroups on their website which sucks up processor time, hence they get shut-down. Don't have newsgroups and there won't be any issues. This is not a local issue with this company, most hosting company's will do the same thing.

I don't understand what these people are ranting on about poor support, did they even contact support ? I'm sure there's no love lost with the customers who've upped and left, they seem as nasty as the comments they've posted.
el-mo, 20th 2008 June, 2008
bad company - fraudelent
cariani, 20th 2008 June, 2008
VERY BAD COMPANY - the just work like
"cosa nostra" ... if you have not more than 500 vistiors a day- you can host with them... if you have more than 500 a day, the will SUSPEND YOU - THE WILL CLOSE YOUR ACCOUNT AND WILL TAKE WEEKS TO CONTACT THEM and resolve the problem, wich is not really problem... BEVOR REGISTERING A HOST WITH THEM THEY PROSMIS YOU EVERYTHING- after that you will dissapointed...

NEVER AGAIN !!!!!!!
Jimmy., 18th 2008 June, 2008
I was with hostgator from past five months. I got to http://www.yfchost.com a free host its better than hostgator.. I dont have to pay anything and they provide help. Hostgator sux of helping clients. I got to live chat they made me wait for 5 hours.. and never helped me. They just make excuses.
FedUp, 31st 2008 May, 2008
I was invoiced for my reseller domain, the invoice was paid and yet they have suspended my account and my domain now needs $160 to be renewed. Obviously along with this all my sites have gone down, including client sites and email because the dns pointed to this site, which is now back in their name, even though I did pay for the renewal. I opened a new account with them recently and have had nothing but trouble with getting it set up, my private name servers up, and everything sorted. I am beyond fed up and support takes over a day to reply.
Me, 31st 2008 May, 2008
I worked for Hostgator. I could not believe my eyes. They are the most incompetent bunch of idiots on the planet. No one knows what they are doing. They expect each rep to take 5 chats at one time as well as a phone call. It doesn't matter what you tell the customer as long as you "Get rid" of the customer so you can take another chat or call. I lasted two months before I had to quit. I couldn't do it any longer. It is a real joke. I honestly couldn't believe it. Do yourself a favor and find another host if you know what's good for you.
cm65, 02nd 2008 May, 2008
Yahoo email cannot be delivered. Know issue - http://forums.hostgator.com/showthread.php?t=28577&highlight=yahoo+email
ttsc, 02nd 2008 May, 2008
Know issue about YAHOO email not being delivered and no bouncebacks occuring. Host Gator represents this is known and UNRESOLVED issue. See this thread
http://forums.hostgator.com/showthread.php?t=28577&highlight=yahoo+email
E.P., 01st 2008 May, 2008
I'm having a problem with Hostgator right now. They suspended my reseller account for non-payment, but they haven't been invoicing me for 2 months. It has now been 12 hours since I made the payment and only a few of my sites are working. The support is slow and they're attitude comes across as snotty. It is a top priority for me now to find another host. I hate them.
Ben, 02nd 2008 April, 2008
this company is not genuine. Will charge you even have suspended your account. I have upgrade my account from baby croc to dedicated server but they charge me for 8 months for the baby croc package.

I advice you to read every word of their TOS or you will need to pay for something extra.
Mark, 28th 2008 March, 2008
They suspended my site for no reason at all. I do not recommend them.
John, 12th 2008 March, 2008
I am with Hostgator and always got the support I needed.

One thing though I got a warning email recently from them saying my files/innodes is going to exceed 50,000 limit. Never heard of it, me either. But you read the TOS and you will find it there. Nowadays big company will use some method to limit your usage one or the other. For me everything is OK but if you want to install quite a few Database CMS websites with MYSQL then you will easily go to the limit. Ask the detail before you join in. If you just have a simple website then I think is totally OK with them.

Why I writing this because I just want to make sure for myself and you this site is written by real person like me. If a person use different names then may be we can tell from the styles??
Jim, 28th 2008 February, 2008
Been with Hostgator over a year. I know some people hate them and some people love them. I'm in the very satisfied crowd. I never had problems with their support -although a few times they tripped up on a boo-boo they'd make in one reply and apologize later when they realised it. Their email support replies within hours just about all the time -and I've used their support alot -overwhemingly about enquiries rather than server issues. I can only remember one bad day of downtime otherwise at all hours I'm checking my site I never have ever seen it down.... I'm very happy with my stay there so far and backup regularly.
Mike, 21st 2008 February, 2008
Newwebsite.com is a lot better than Hostgator
Donna, 06th 2008 January, 2008
Took two weeks to migrate a few blogs. When you send a ticket to their support team its like you have sent it to a bunch of Morons.
Fruit Pie The Magician !, 03rd 2008 January, 2008
I used to be a homeless rodeo clown but since i started hosting with hostgator i am now a world class magician !
Douglas, 24th 2007 December, 2007
I'm with Host Gator and I like them. I've been with them for one year now. I was running half my sites with them and the other half on Site5 and the difference is night and day: Host Gator is significantly more reliable, their servers are much more stable, and their support is infinitely better.

I do indeed fully despise Site5 and am glad to be gone from them. Host Gator has literally saved my business as I had several clients ready to walk (those on the Site5 server). Their are a few knuckleheads in support but... at least they answer the damned phone (Site5 is e-mail only and they are slow to reply, sometimes several days while you're down - chew on that) and sometimes you get a really sharp person who is quick to help and knowledgeable.

All in all it's a safe bet in a crowded market of hosting providers that are far-too-often atrocious (such as Site5).

I see some other folks on here have had trouble with Host Gator but I cannot echo those sentiments, knock on wood.
Vincent Nye, 08th 2007 December, 2007
BEWARE OF 'ProWebSpace.com'

they are very LAME
Yeltsin Lima, 12th 2007 November, 2007
I use a Brazillian version. But the suport is fantastic.
Richmedia, 05th 2007 November, 2007
Westnic : Such and Eat Hostgator !
Fred, 29th 2007 October, 2007
Customer support is a joke with them. Even their support staff admit they'd have a hard time giving Hostgator a positive rating.

Ian May, 13th 2007 October, 2007
Been with them for over two years now. No real issues with them. Got a client of mine on there with over 150 sites too.
reply to "vistainter.com is Fraud &, 13th 2007 October, 2007
reply to message below of 08th of September, 2007
you say.....
All reviews are written by one person.

>That is clearly rubbish - anyone can write here

Michael, 06th 2007 October, 2007
I have one site with them that relys heavily on a double opt-in newsletter. I have about 4,000 subscribers and ever since I moved to them, over 60% of my newsletter emails get returned as "spam". They also limit the number of emails to go out every hour to 200. At that rate, I would have to sit in front of my computer all day just sending out my newsletter.
When I contacted them about this, I got no reply.
zigzagdownloadz, 13th 2007 September, 2007
Ive only been with these guys for about 5-6months but i haven't had any downtime and went on live chat yesterday, really friendly and helpful, problem solved in 2 minutes!! so far i would recommend them anyday and price is great, i can't speak for everyone though...
sooner marketing, 11th 2007 September, 2007
Used them for nearly a year and loved them EXCEPT that I could NEVER get the e-mail to work at all....would try them again.
MegaMoose (Mark Wylde), 09th 2007 September, 2007
I am 100% satisfied with HostGator.com. I think they are a fantastic company. I run some medium traffic websites, such as phpbb3styles and wonderforum and some others and I have never been let down with them.

All support questions are answered within a few hours most times, and their prices are more than fair.

In the year I have been with them I have never personally experienced any downtime with them, however I'm not on them 24/7 so I can't be sure :P But I have never had any complaints from my members/customers.

I use a reseller plan and there is only one feature missing I would like to see and this is the ability to oversell. But I fully understand why they don't enable this option and it's probably one of the things that make them such a great host.

Anyway I'm sad to see some members here haven't had a good experience with them but I have had a great experience with them and think they're fantastic.

HooRay!! for HostGator.
Mark
Chris, 05th 2007 August, 2007
I've had a reseller account with HostGator for nearly a year. To be fair, the server was speedy, and I experienced almost no down time (I use a service that monitors uptime). But that's about the only good thing I can say. Support is awful. They are slow and incompetant (even level 3). They are not honest about mistakes they have made, like "upgrading" something that broke several of my customer's webistes. They will shut down your entire reseller account becuase one of your customers script's used too much CPU ( a script they had been using for over six months). There is no need to shut down the entire reseller account when they could simply disable the offending script and inform the reseller about the problem, but they will shut down your account without so much as a warning. The worst part of their service is the chronic blacklisting of email. If you or your customers want to use an email account associated with your domain name, don't go with HostGator. Their server's are chronically blacklisted. This isn't a small problem! The sever I was on was blacklisted nearly every day. Their prices are good and their server seemed adequauate, but everything else was just awful. If you're thinking about a reseller account with HostGator, do yourself a favor and keep looking. These guys just want your money...if only for a few months. Then their on to some other sucker.
AK, 22nd 2007 June, 2007
I've had a very-low-traffic site with Hostgator for little over a year on their shared servers. About the only problem I had with them was with regards to how to renew! A little confusing. No real complaints, but again, I'm not running a high-traffic site.
somebody, 19th 2007 June, 2007
I'm reading a lot of bad reviews below however I think Hostgator is one of the best hosts around. I've been with them for more than a year and server uptime is great. Their support is also good and I have always recieved replys to my tickets within a few hours. I recommend anyone wanting to get a website go with Hostgator.
Jacq, 17th 2007 May, 2007
POOR (or yet, WORST) CUSTOMER SERVICE services and support!! And good thing I haven't made any orders yet. Just can't imagine whatta nightmare it would be if i did. You'll be like a wasted typing secretary typing and typing again because they'll be like telling you these:

"Hello,
Your comments did not come through. Please resend your comments without formatting to ensure it does not get edited out by our ticket system."

and then after REsending 4-5 emails, they'll say

"Hello,
I can see the exchange between you/T****/W**** in your other tickets. Your comments were merely edited out during your second e-mail. If you would kindly copy and paste these along any other questions into this reply, we can get those answered for you." --- the heck, i still got other things to do, why don't you do it yourself instead!

and then, after being polite and patient enough, copying and pasting without any formatting the blah blah blah as per their request, only ending up receiving this:

"I'm still not able to see your comments below. Could you simply copy and paste them as a reply to this message without any formatting? We are able to see the past replies to this message so we're able to tell who said what. If you want, you can tag your comments with simply a ***."

Whatever. If they got so much time well then good for them. Just please note, others don't, I don't.

Look for other options as much as possible people, trust me, you don't want to have that (and many more others) kind of hassles.
Steven, 24th 2007 April, 2007
I have my website hosted by them. Seems ok except from time to time someone said they sent me e-mail that I never received. Have you guys experienced that? It is very critical to business and so I am kind of frustrated. Help.
HostGator Hater, 26th 2007 March, 2007
These guys at HostGator wasted 5 days of my time and still did not get the server working 100%

Hate to dis a company but either the support and tech are over worked or just don't give a sh*t.

The reason for the comment is that anyone who reads this might want to check out some other companies so they dont have to go through what I did.

By the way, in the time it took them to process the cancellation I had another fully functional server with another company.
parham, 23rd 2007 March, 2007
i just joined them lets hope they live upto their expectation
raymonds, 12th 2007 March, 2007
I have been with them for more than 1 year and I am leaving now.
Their service was good, you can get a result in 30 min. But now, sometimes it takes 16 hours for a critical ticket. The online support will give you different excuse without helping you solve the problem.
Ronald McClinton, 02nd 2007 March, 2007
Hostgator was ok until they starting erasing my files from the server. If they have to shut your site down they never inform you on such until it's like 12 hours later. They are completely overloaded with users on one server. You can't run a simple script without them complaining. Run from these guys if you're in it to win it.
Dan, 24th 2007 February, 2007
I left hostgator about 2 months ago after being with them for 1 year. Server I was on was like a yoyo. Up and Down.... Everytime I called them, they acted like there wasn't a problem or would give excuses like updating software ect. When I asked to be moved to another server they acted like it was a big problem. I have switched to IVHOST and have had much better service. Site is rarely down. If it soes go down it is only for 2-3 minutes.
Neil, 17th 2007 February, 2007
I currently have a site hosted with hostgator. Love the unlimited databases, hate the mail functions. Turns out that the IP my shared hosting is on has been on ten different blacklists since 2002. I just got the account this year. They should have known that I would not be able to use the mail functions without problems. It would seem that they're recycling blacklisted IP's for the Baby plan at least.

Technical assistance has been pleasant at times, but far from helpful on any issues. I've kept them for a host, as it's more trouble than it's worth to move, but now I pay a separate bill each month to use Aweber for my mailing needs.

There should be a law against recycling blacklisted IP's to new customers without first clearing the blacklisting.

When I contacted them using the Live Support window, the live "tech" couldn't help and recommended that I email support for help. I did, and received no response. Seems their mail isn't working either.
Lhs, 30th 2006 November, 2006
openned a resseler account with them and I had control panel and ftp access in 10 minutes. Not with them long but I have chatted w/ their techs in the middle of the night and they are always there. not one complaint so far
kasemodel, 19th 2006 November, 2006
I've been with Hostgator for about a year and for the most part, they're fine... until you have a problem. Any host that you have to email them about a server that needs a reboot has serious issues. However, they have always responded reasonably quickly, so that counts -- but due to their downtime record, I would not put anything mission critical at Hostgator.
Chris, 09th 2006 November, 2006
I have been using HostGator since they used to outsource support to India. Now all of their support is in the USA and 24/7 on phones and chat. Response is great, and uptime is good. Unlimited domains for $9.95 can't be beat btw
Kris, 19th 2006 October, 2006
Been with Host Gator for a year now. Absolutely the best in my opinion. Support is always fast with live support and telephone contact 24/7.
They had one period where I got a little frustrated. The server my sites were on had a harware failure. Not their fault and something we all expect to happen sometime. That is the only issue that arose in twelve months. Previously I was with HostElite (Prowebspace) and they were a bunch monkeys. Glad I made the change to Host Gator and have moved all my hosted sites to Host Gator without any problems at all. Highly recommended by me for now!
nfcuaew@yahoo.com, 06th 2006 October, 2006
funny ringtones
Weldo, 26th 2006 September, 2006
I can echo what's been said here. I've been with them for two years. In that time support and reliability has gone from very good to poor. Such a shame to see a company fall apart like this.
Eugene E, 13th 2006 September, 2006
Nothing but trouble, before they were ok. Now just bad, the support is poor and slow. Ask them a technical question they cant answer it.
Jon, 07th 2006 September, 2006
I have a few sites with them. So far I've only had one minor problem and support has always been very fast.
Clarke, 17th 2006 July, 2006
Hell this service
Zed, 28th 2006 June, 2006
Their website has a good appeal. There response time to answer is very very slow.
Chad, 19th 2006 June, 2006
Read the whole review. Great packages, great pricing BUT slow time and a lot of down time. Both myself and my old employer has had a lot of troubles and downtime with them. Two or three times our ecommerce site was down for DAYS because of THEIR OWN FAULT. THATS LOSS OF MONEY FOR US. If your site doesn't require fast loading speed and if you can handle days of downtime from time to time - go for it.
Tony Phelps, 28th 2006 February, 2006
Generally quick response to reseller problems, low prices, and lots of tools (Web Host Manager, CPanel, Fantastico, Autopilot). A good find in a crowded market.
Write Your Review
Your name

Your hostgator.com review

Positive Negative





Do not miss - latest discount from hostgator.com
Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. © 2004 - 2010