Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.hostmonster.com
Hostmonster General Information
  Hostmonster is providing Linux web hosting services, has been founded in 1999 and now it's years in business.

hostmonster.com average uptime is 99.988% (rank #2031 on our directory) with total 59366 successful and 7 failed checks, monitored since 2006-10-27. Similar companies with 99.988% uptime are ntchosting.com and cmit-sys.com.

Search for "hostmonster.com" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 16433 results so company name popularity rank is #233.

There have been 473 positive votes for Hostmonster and 71 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #350 (similar companies are active-venture.com and terrasite.com)

Web Hosting Packages
  Professional Hosting Plan (Type: Linux) - 300 GB space, 3000 GB bandwidth for $5.95/mo

Some technical data about hostmonster.com
  IP Location: Utah - Orem - Hosting Solutions Inc
Nameserver: NS2.HOSTMONSTER.COM
Registrar: WILD WEST DOMAINS, INC.
Server Type: Apache/2.0.52 (CentOS)
Website Title: Host Monster - Web hosting


Back to "H" directory


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
Rocky, 18th 2011 July, 2011
I have a client who told me he registered his domain name with hostmonster.com and I looked up the whois record and it's owned by "hostmaster.com." I told him this is unacceptable and he called them and they told him they did this to protect his privacy.....which is sort of like saying "I'm going to put the deed to your house in my name so that you don't get any junk mail."
I went into their Terms and conditions and the way I read it, they are pretty much saying that you own your site...however they can use it royalty free.
Here's the verbage I have a problem with - and so should you.

http://www.hostmonster.com/cgi/info/terms.html License to Hostmonster.com. Hostmonster.com claims no ownership interest in the content of Subscriber's web site(s). By submitting content and data to Hostmonster.com, Subscriber grants to Hostmonster.com, its successors and assigns, the worldwide, royalty-free, and nonexclusive license under Subscriber's copyrights and other rights, if any, in all material and content displayed in Subscriber's web site to use, distribute, display, reproduce, and create derivative works from such material in any and all media, in order to maintain such content on Hostmonster.com's servers during the term of these Terms. Subscriber also authorizes the downloading and printing of such material, or any portion thereof, by end-users for their personal use. This license shall terminate upon Subscriber's cancellation of the Services as set forth in Paragraphs 2.01 and 3.0.

THIS ALSO IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE SINCE HOW ARE YOU GOING TO VERIFY OWNERSHIP OF THE DOMAIN NAME? THEY REGISTERED IT, ITS THEIR NAME ON THE REGISTRATION! THAT'S THE WHOLE POINT!!!:
Notice of Cancellation. Subscriber agrees to direct all cancellation requests to Hostmonster.com via email, billing@hostmonster.com, phone (866) 573-4678, or online chat. The cancellation request must include verification of ownership of the hosting account and/or domain(s), as determined by Hostmonster.com.

Being in the ISP and data center industries for 13 years, I would not ever agree to these terms.
Nit, 20th 2011 May, 2011
Used to actively recommend them before. Their Customer Service is now horrible - for sure the CS Manager knows nothing about C.S. They treat you really bad. They have become very very arrogant.
RaKa, 23rd 2011 March, 2011
Interesting to see all of these negative responses. I have been with Hostmonster for several years and never had a problem. Not one.
CAR, 17th 2011 March, 2011
They do not disclose that they have the right to change your manual billing preferences to automatic...surprise!
Farres, 06th 2011 March, 2011
Basicaly i like hostmonsters service and also the chat option they ogger for help is good.

BUT hosting prices are going every year higher
now they want to charge me for 8.95$ ..i concidering to close the account.
anas, 03rd 2010 November, 2010
very bad response and too slow
Feppe, 16th 2010 October, 2010
Their pricing indeed goes up the longer you are with them. And they love to automatically deduct from your credit card. This will definitely be my last year with www.hostmonster.com. Thanks for letting me vent my thoughts.
Joe Oliver, 25th 2010 May, 2010
same/same bluehost/hostmonster - con artists

Today is may 25th 2010 and as I type this, after over an hour, we are still waiting for a reply

R. Clayton: [1:51:56 PM] Welcome to our real-time live chat. Please have your domain, password, and a detailed description of your problem; please note that I am chatting with several other customers as well, so my responses may be delayed.
CCMurphy.com: [1:51:56 PM] phpmyadmin?????? whats up with the login for phpmyadmin when you click on the link from cpanel? No matter what PW is used - the database or the account, it will not login
[1:52:36 PM] we used to just click on that link from cpanel and go right into phpMyAdmin
[1:53:44 PM] also, went to setup a new hosting account soft-vision.com - said you already had soft-vision.com. Impossible, I own the domain and have since 1996
[1:59:59 PM] 7 min 50 seconds - no response?
[2:01:26 PM] 9.00 min no reply Arvixe is starting to look like a good choice for me and future referals
[2:03:43 PM] I will post this chat save on any site I setup that compares hosting accounts and service, along with other chat sessions I have saved to show this is not an isolated experience with Hostmonster.
[2:04:14 PM] 12 minutes and no reply...
[2:05:00 PM] Just took a screen shot
[2:07:12 PM] 15 minutes - no reply
[2:13:31 PM] 21 minutes
[2:16:57 PM] is Matt Heaton in?
[2:17:24 PM] 25 minutes and no reply?
[2:22:59 PM] 30 minutes I just emailed this transcript to Matt at bluehost.. I hope it's a wakeup call and your sorry butt is canned.
[2:27:44 PM] 35 minutes
[2:42:36 PM] 50 plus minutes
[2:52:04 PM] Now monitoring "prabhareddy.com" (the primary domain for "hostmonster.com").
[2:56:20 PM] 1 hour and 4 minutes


Ajayi Oluwaseun Emmanuel, 22nd 2010 May, 2010
I just moved my sites to servint, hostmonster blocked my site saying i was causing perfomance issue.

Thats a big lie, because, i never modified my site script for 3 weeks and for my site to be able to stay for 3 weeks without causing perfomance issues means it definitely wasnt.

they shut it down when i started placing facebook ads and was getting 100 active visitors on the site
jp, 03rd 2010 April, 2010
The hosting is not unlimited. I have a Gallery 2 site installed from one of their Fantastic script templates, but they told me the site was too large. As in too many pages. They have a limit of 200,000 files. And if you know Gallery 2 then you know there is caching for this site. The bottom line is they will shut your site off if you exceed their undocumented limits.
cristiano nogueira, 26th 2010 March, 2010
Yes, hostmonster sucks when it comes to treating the customer with respect. I have been with them for 5 years, and today got my 43 domains deactivated, with a meager “malware/virus on your account” explanation. Since I obviously wouldnt install anything like that in my account, I had no idea what they were talking about. they could have been more specific.

While trying to get support they treat you like criminals, regardless of your history of patronage.

After 44mins on the phone to talk to a tech specialist (yes, they dropped the line 3 times) someone was able to help the minimum sufficient for me to spend a few hours trying to figure it out for myself.

Stay away unless you want the headaches.
Simon, 23rd 2010 March, 2010
I signed onto HM over 3 years ago, originally because it was reasonably priced, and had nice features.

At first, they were great, but things went downhill about a year ago, as their shared servers started to get over-sold. HM jacked up the yearly renewal price, and dropped their "free" anti-spam filter (because it took up too much processing power to filter emails.) Then they introduced CPU throttling without having tested it properly-- my sites were sometimes throttled for no reason. (This has since been cleared up *magically* although my sites haven't changed.)

I suffered through all this, because they seemed to have "real" tech support reps, not outsourced-- and just before I renewed, after repeated complaints from me, they agreed to migrate my account to one of their newer server, since the old one was increasingly slow/crashing. (Yes, they kept customers on failing servers until they were forced to upgrade them.)

But this past week, Hostmonster finally lost me as a customer.

On Friday, without notice or warning, HM decided to do an unannounced system "update" on my hosted server — in the middle of the day (around 1PM central) — which ended up causing the entire server to go down. Over a dozen of my domains, some fairly notable– and an untold number of other customers– went offline without explanation.

When contacted, their tech support initially claimed they would be back up in “30 minutes” after a file integrity check. It wasn’t until over five hours later, that the domains finally returned.

After dealing with the Tier 1 tech, who was pretty much clueless, I spoke with a some spineless-sounding "supervisor" who could give me no answers as to what was actually going on with the server, and only offered a weak “sorry for the inconvenience” apology. No explanation as to why they don’t have any contingency or backup in place to prevent such mishaps, or why they didn’t bother to notify customers before they engage in such updates-- or to send out a note when a site may be unavailable due to a server failure.

And he stated that no compensation is offered to customers who suffer downtime-- your only recourse is to cancel your service.

Then, Sunday, same thing -- sites down, this time for only about 30-45 minutes; but again, middle of the day with some generic "file integrity check" notice.

Suffice it to say, that HM isn’t the only game in town at its price point– I’m moving elsewhere.
The Valte, 18th 2010 March, 2010
I've been using hostmonster since 2007. And has recommended it to more than 5 people. But now, I want to take back all of my words.

I liked hostmonster, at first. But now, I really don't. Why?

1. Their server is way too slow.
2. Support used to be good, but now you have to wait ages to get a response. I waited for more than 30 minutes the other night. No response. Called them. No response. I had to keep on listening to their answering machine repeating something like "We appreciate your patience" over and over again, and then there is the other promotions that were played.

I gave up after trying for 30 minutes, when the chat window closed itself and told me that "I had chosen to quit the chat."

I am switching to a different company as soon as I can. Which will mean that I will have to move more than 5 sites. But providing their inadequate service, it will still be worth it.

Any recommendations?
miroquai, 05th 2010 March, 2010
unlimited my a.. , 50000 files only, cpu throttling, slow, becoming more expensive from year to year...I don't like them any more
Pirvan, 25th 2010 January, 2010
Hostmonster SUCKS STAY AWAY THEY PAY PEOPLE TO GIVE POSITIVE REVIES..

Consider yourself warned. In three years they shut my account down (which hosts 12 sites) no less than 5 times. The last time was on christmas day!!! Customer suppoert says they are open 24/7 but NOT ON CHRISTMAS instead of enjoying an evening with my familiy I get calls about the website being down AGAIN!!!

Also, the last time I complained about them taking my sites down during the middle of the say they replied that they have critical server maintenance!!! What a load of crap!
HMWebMaster, 01st 2009 December, 2009
I have to concur with previous reviews:

1) Their live chat support is lackluster and often times outright arrogant (phone support is somewhat better, but you have to wait for live operator to pick up the phone, which can get quite expensive, if you're like me and don't live in the States).

2) Their uptimes are some of the worst in the industry: some of my least frequented sites have uptimes at around 96 - 97% and no amount of tech support requests was able to clear this mess up. On the other hand my main site has uptime of about 99%, which isn't THAT bad, so I guess it largely depends on your luck and which server you get assigned to when signing up with them.

3) Their pricing scheme is appalling: if you use promotional codes you can sign up at $4 / mo. ($7 at regular prices), but the longer you stay with them the more you pay! At my first renewal after 1 year I had to pay $8 / mo., while at my second renewal I was already requested $9 / mo.! If it goes up at that rate each year within a couple of years it'll become one of the priciest hosting accounts I have.

All in all, if I had a chance to go back and rethink my decision, I'd definitely skip HostMonster. Pick them only if you're cash-strapped, are not planning to stick with them for more than a year, have a very simple site that doesn't need any tech maintenance and are willing to overlook horrific uptime rates - i.e. don't pick them for anything more serious than a family album webpage at best.
.), 18th 2009 October, 2009
Hostmonster is good, but sometimes a bit slow, I recommend Hosting 24, but when you're a starter Hostmonster is a good value.
Frankyboy, 01st 2009 September, 2009
I changed hosting recently and so far, I like Hostmonster. Reliable and cheap.
Only issue, since I'm with them, I receivespam and they offered my anti-spam... what a coincidence... never had spam on my sites before. I think it's a trick... they send you spam and offer you the anti-spam.
Apart that, it's good.
George, 29th 2009 August, 2009
What really bothers me is the rate increase. They said it was because I had a first year special. However, this is my third year and second increase. This is false advertising and fraud. I suggest we all file complaints with the Utah Attorney General and the BBB.

They also never told me that there was an hourly limit on e-mails. They are getting very larcenous.
Christos, 04th 2009 August, 2009
I have 2 packages at hostmonster with many sites on each. I like them as shared hosting company. I always get support or at list some good responses from live support (maybe i was lucky). I really think that, because of the "shared" part of the deal, it's only luck if you'll be ok or not. my first package has some problems with the MySql (getting down- non responsive) but i think it's better now. Maybe someone else on the same server was pushing the sql server too much. My second package is ok. I didn't have any problems so far. I was at siteground.com and the only reason i left, 2 and 1/2 years ago was the fact that hostmonster had all the same package inlcuding SSH witch is very handy and not everyone gives it away :)

I would recomend it cause it's cheep, has great features and not bad support.
Carl Clayburg, 12th 2009 July, 2009
anyone that needs reliability and opts for a 'shared server package' is asking for trouble, regardless who is hosting..
Pacho, 19th 2009 June, 2009
They are pure publicity!!! Do you know that all this 3 Hosting Providers are the same?
- BlueHost
- HostMonster
- FastDomain
This company has 3 different webpages and 3 different names, but there is only one service, chat agent, sales people, and .....
JP, 18th 2009 June, 2009
I've never really had any issues with hostmonster...So, it surprises me to see so many negative reviews! I do get way too much spam, and think it's somthing internal as I never received much before, and I've had the domain for many years. But, with regards to features, dependability, and communication on changes, it's been great!
soooo pisssed, 11th 2009 May, 2009
When something seems too good to be true, it usually is. The same holds true with HostMonster.

They claim : Unlimited Hosting ..but there’s a catch.

Unlimited domains - Yes
Unlimited server space - Yes
Unlimited bandwidth - Yes

The catch??? Unlimited number of files - NOOOOOO

Hostmoster just decided to limit file count at 50,000.

I had 890,000 files. I’ve been moving files around now for ten days.

Does HostMonster suck? Hell ya they do. They suck big ones!
Toni, 08th 2009 May, 2009
I received an email from Hostmonster informing me that me host was due for renewal. I then get an email saying they had deducted $107 from my credit card! What happened to their $6.95 per month and why didn't they tell me the amount would be a lot higher. I emailed them asking why this was so much higher ($8.90) and the reply I got was this:

Last year, due to customer requests, we purchased additional equipment of higher quality. We also needed to increase our staff and hire on additional developers. The staff change was to prevent long hold times, and assure quick and accurate customer service. We spent a great deal of money and time on a better accounting system, so that we could prevent human error in account activities. Due to all of the changes, we had to increase our rates. We have kept our prices the same for about five years, but could no longer do so with the changes we've made for our customers.

I wrote back saying that I understood that prices increase but they should have had the professionalism and courtesy to inform me before deducting this off my credit card! They then apologized and asked me to contact their feedback department who would look into it. Their feedback department simply sent me a link to a page with these higher rates and wrote:

We didn't make any official price changes. You paid the promo rate when you signed up. I did say " You can still get a 6.95 rate if you're willing to renew for longer." ++ facts and figures!

Did I forget to mention that it had to be for 3 years! Another clause I find is that should I decide to cancel and move over to another host we forfeit the FREE domain registration!

I would highly recommend NOT using Hostmonster. Purchase a domain with GoDaddy and seek an alternate host. And to think we have another few sites with them!
james, 07th 2009 May, 2009
So frequent website shutdowns at hostmonster.com

It seems they are not monitoring, there is no sense of urgency to fix problem days.

I WILL NOT use Hostmonster.com

Their service seems really amazing to make me to post the feedback.

Do not let them to hurt your business.
Mahbub, 04th 2009 May, 2009
Their abuse department are full of strange creatures. They suspend page and fly away. And then another support personnel tells me "We cannot do anything until abuse dept. clears it". Even if it was not an abuse issue, they wrongly use the abuse dept. And yes, you don't get a warning before suspending. THAT SUCKS!!
Tuba, 09th 2009 March, 2009
They also suspended my site blaming it on "performance issues", I had the same script with 500 visitors/ day for 2 years and suddenly they decided performance issues.. nothing chagned.. Most hosting review sites giving stars to hostmonster are paid by Hostmonster or have affilate link.. THanks to this site it seems unbaised also share your experiance here AntiHostmonster.com
tony, 03rd 2009 March, 2009
I left hostmonster because I needed windows technology, but when I was there, it was great! If you do not need windows technology, hostmonster truly is the best, especially when it comes to customer service, and if you think they are horrible, then probably you haven't seen the worst from other hosts.
Sick of false advertising and unprofessi, 02nd 2009 February, 2009
They claim to offer Unlimited drive space.. I uploaded photos (that I link to via my site) ~10gigs, they SUSPENDED MY ACCOUNT WITHOUT ANY WARNING, NOTHING!! They could have emailed or called, given me 24 hours to remove or SOMETHING! TOTALLY DISRUPTED MY BUSINESS! Then they tell me to delete my photos while I don't have access to my account?? Completely unprofessional and unreliable. They could at least give me 24 hours warning so I can comply. Wow, I use a few too many gigs of my "unlimited" space and they rudely screw me over!! GO ELSEWHERE!!!
UNPROFESSIONAL!, 02nd 2009 February, 2009
They claim to offer Unlimited drive space.. I uploaded photos (that I link to via my site) and they SUSPENDED MY ACCOUNT WITHOUT ANY WARNING, NOTHING!! TOTALLY VIOLATED ME! What idiots, they tell me to delete my photos and they lock my account down.. How am I supposed to delete files when I can't FTP?? Completely unprofessional and unreliable. They could at least give me 24 hours warning so I can comply. Wow, I use a few too many gigs of my "unlimited" space and they rudely screw me over!! GO ELSEWHERE!!!
UNPROFESSIONAL!, 02nd 2009 February, 2009
They claim to offer Unlimited drive space.. I uploaded photos (that I link to via my site) and they SUSPENDED MY ACCOUNT WITHOUT ANY WARNING, NOTHING!! TOTALLY VIOLATED ME! What idiots, they tell me to delete my photos and they lock my account down.. How am I supposed to delete files when I can't FTP?? Completely unprofessional and unreliable. They could at least give me 24 hours warning so I can comply. Wow, I use a few too many gigs of my "unlimited" space and they rudely screw me over!! GO ELSEWHERE!!!
Dalia, 18th 2009 January, 2009
Host monster sucks ... They really suck!!!
they deactivated my account saying that my database is causing problems.. but i noticed that it was just a lie and that was Because my website is getting more visitors 5000 and more than 7000 visits per day... not to mention their bad customer service, also they chrged me alot more than the first year without even asking me!!
they are the worst!
David, 09th 2009 January, 2009
STAY AWAY FROM HOSTMONSTER. I've never seen a worst people like them, as soon as you start getting any real traffic, your site will be shut down. My site was SHUT DOWN WITHOUT ANY PRIOR WARNING, and no explanation was given. My site was down for 48 hours, costing me money. In addition my hosting fees were not refunded.
They really a Hosting Monster indeed!!!
Robert, 04th 2009 January, 2009
First of all I will thank the owner of this site. I'm web designer and I purchase many hosting packages for my customers. I was planning to move to Hostmonster. I wanted to do that because of high rate and score in reviews sites like webhostinggeeks.com. I changed my mind after read so many negative reviews from hostmonster.com. Thanks everybody for share experience.
MF Malaysia, 01st 2009 January, 2009
I have been hosted more than 10 domain with HM. But on last Dec 2008, all my website page loading speed VERY SLOW like SNAIL. After complain, they ask me to use cloak link at www.ninjacloak.com to see the speed of page loading my website. WHy should I use this cloak link. I just want my web page loading speed became faster as usual but nOT LIKE SNAIL!

My sales was down in Dec 2008 and may be continously on Jan 2009.
G ISHAM, 21st 2008 December, 2008
Hostmonster.com review: they suspended my account because they said there were "performance" problems. This was bs and that is why I am writing this hostmonster.com review. They took my money, never wrote or called, but suspended the account - I suspect because I got too much traffic. Recommend you find a different host than hostmonster.com. If you have a problem with hostmonster.com I suggest you write a hostmonster.com review so others will know they are not a good company if you have a successful traffic website.
bairey, 29th 2008 November, 2008
SAME STORY! My account was terminated with no warning for "causing performance issues." I never received a single error from my sites (phpbb?? not known for throwing mysql errors) and had to scramble to find a new host. Today I called back to find out when they were going to send me the rest of my money (said they'd prorate the rest of the year's worth I had paid) and hear they're keeping $10 because I registered my domain with them. That's right, the "free domain" that comes with the package? Only free until they kick you off.

SUCKY HOST! UNRELIABLE!! They'll screw you whenever they feel like it and you can do nothing.
John, 19th 2008 November, 2008
I too just had my website permanently disabled and pretty much told to go take a hike, my money is no good here any more. (like the comment left by: 'HostMonster Sucks, 19th 2008f November,' )
And yes, this was done my the CEO/head tech (named Matt Heaton, FWIW). No warning, no recourse at all. The only thing I got from the 'abuse' department, aptly named because the woman was a royal whatever to me, was that my site was causing 'performance issues'. Ok... what sort? You tell me, I fix them , I keep sending you money. That's how it works, right? I tell others how great you guys are and more people send you money. Life is good. But... Now I have to go around warning them that you guys are acting rude and crapping in your own soup.
My domain would get about 5k comments a day (mostly spam) so I think that it must have used a second or two over the arbitrary domain/CPU allotment. Could have sent warnings to me about this, my profile info was all correct.
To say I was stunned by the unprofessional attitude of this company is like saying the Titanic had a wee accident with an ice cube. To not give warning to a customer tells me one thing: the company is headed for the a quick sale. Make sure everything looks hunky dory for the prospective owners and get rid of any 'problem children' and show them how much money they will make by buying this veritable goldmine. It might be worth keeping track of the three (that I know of) companies that Mr. Heaton owns. You can do a whois for the address of Hostmonster, look for other hosing service that offer pretty much the same deals and I'll bet you that the addys will match. BTW, you can read Matt Heaton's blog. It's got a real imaginative name, I think you can guess what is is. Hint: Try his name and sling a '.com' after it.
If your looking for an unbiased review of Hostmonster I can't give you one. They were fantastic when I switched to them back in June of '08 but my how things have changed... If your adventurous and have a low traffic site (i.e. no traffic) have a go at them. Don't bother with the 2 year plan, I'm going to guess that you will be wanting a refund before your sentence, er, contract is up.
HostMonster Sucks, 19th 2008 November, 2008
After 2 years hosting the same exact site, HostMonster deactivated my account, permantently, . . . without notice! They said there was a problem with the mysql querries but would not give details. Tthe logs did not show anything and did I mention that the site has been up for two years! You would think that there would be some notice. I know what your thinking, the code was changed, I started getting more traffic, something. Nothing changed. I am still scratching my head trying to figure out what happened and am walking around in a fog of disbelief. When I asked if there was anyone I could talk to about this they said it was the owner/CEO's decision and there was no recourse. When I asked how many sites a year get "deactivated" they said maybe two. I guess they would get more accurate info if they read this one post. I see two from today alone on just this one website! I guess that's what I get for putting up with all thier outages and "routine maintenance" that they schedule in the middle of the day.
J hAWKEY, 19th 2008 November, 2008
tHESE GUYS WHERE FINE UNTIL MY TRAFFIC GOT TOO HIGH AND THEY CANCELLED MY ACCOUNT WITHOUT NOTICE COSTING ME 1000'S AND NEARLY ENDING MY BUSINESS!

BASICALLY THEY CALL IT PERFORMANCE ISSUES AND INSTEAD OF WORKING WITH THEIR CUSTOMERS TO RESOLVE ANY SUCH ISSUES THEY SIMPLE CANCEL UR ACCOUNT AND TELL U TO FIND A NEW HOST!

STEER CLEARAT ALL COSTS!!
KP, 13th 2008 November, 2008
Went on the site, looked alright, clicked on the "live chat" link and the girl/guy couldn't spell.
serge lemire, 27th 2008 October, 2008
J'en suis à ma 2ième année avec Hostmonster et je n'ai rien à redire. J'ai été un an avec Yahoo, un an avec http://www.iscream.net/ (Québec) et je puis vous assurer que je renouvellerai pour une 3ième année avec Hostmonster. Bon prix, fiabilité, personnel attentionné...pourquoi changer une formule gagnante ? Pour une question d'espace disque de storage ? À la quantité offerte là y a pas à s'inquiéter, en tout cas pour l'instant!
Alex, 16th 2008 October, 2008
Beware of hostmonster, once you get near 5,000 hits they will suspend your site for hours and warning you if your site continue to get to many hits they will destroy your account, they said unlimite everything, B... S... is a big fat lie, I change to a different hosting right away and now iam happy with my new hosting
aj, 13th 2008 October, 2008
Hostmonster also deactivated my account, they did not even try to get in contact with me by phone or email, i wish i could get the rest of my money back.
pissed off, 24th 2008 September, 2008
Hostmonster sucks, deactivated my account for no reason, and customer support sucks, their abuse dept phone has been disconnected. WTF????
J, 11th 2008 September, 2008
You guys sound like newbies.. One guy crying about uploading with dreamweaver, come on! What do you expect a tutor to do everything? Don't run a website if you are such a newbie. I'm sure most of you run a site with Comic Sans MS, a scrolling marquee, and a bunch of animated gifs; better yet a wordpress with a free theme! Do yourself a favor and learn a thing or two rather then waste companies time to pamper your delicate bottoms.

Hostmonster has been great for me no problem whatsoever.
Alan Thorne, 29th 2008 August, 2008
I haven't had too much problem with these guys. Tech support was a little slow for my taste, but I have had much worse.

I haven't had much trouble with speed either, other than php socket, but given what I was doing with live data transfer, I was not expecting it to be that amazing. Multiplayer pong game programmed the wrong way... haha.

They have been pretty good to me though. I will come back if I have problems though.
John Weeks, 24th 2008 July, 2008
Looks like the bottom fell out at HostMonster. Its great when it works, but I had so many outages. Everytime I went to show my site to someone, it was down. Their excuse was always that a software update was going on. On the 16th of July, they had a total outage when they lost power in their datacenter. On the 21st, I started seeing corrupted image files. System was down all day on the 23rd. I put up fixed files that evening. System went down 1AM on the 24th, and still has not come back13 hours later. They keep saying 20 minutes more or 1 more hour, but E-mail and web are still down. My only hope now is to get my data back since my last full backup is 2 weeks old.

-john-
NSD, 27th 2008 June, 2008
Terribly slow
Satisfied Hosting Customer, 25th 2008 June, 2008
Hostmonster is the best value for your money. I use their hosting and set up hosting for all my customers with them. No problems, everything works. I've been with Startlogic before. At Startlogic, my site was hacked. Some of my customers' sites were hacked at Startlogic. Now that I've moved to Hostmonster I never see that happening. My customer's sites are safer here. No resetting the permissions on files after uploading to Hostmonster's server either. That was a problem at Startlogic. I also have a much higher maximum browser based file upload limit with Hostmonster also. 8 to 10 MB allows for even the largest image to be uploaded to their server. The old host only had 2MB and most of the time it wouldn't work at all. Hostmonster is the best host I've had in the 8 years that I've been producing sites for customers. After you've tried the other hosts in this price range you'll appreciate Hostmonster. THEY ARE THE BEST! I love them and so do my customers. I won't go anywhere else.
Dan, 21st 2008 June, 2008
after a year with them i decided to up grade my service to a static ip with them to run a chat service. after asking if it was allowed the sales rep said yes. 1 month later they tell me i have to find a new host. if you dont mind getting lied to or scamed in to services you can use any way. go with them. they allso have this bad habbit of shuting down for 5-10 min and if you call they say every thing is fine and they can get to it all just fine. there support agents dont know any thing. i called to find out why my "mysql.sock" file whent missing the agents response was what mysql. after spending 6 hrs on the phone i got to talk to a director and was promised a full refund for being lied to for a year. we will see if they come through or not.
k, 11th 2008 June, 2008
hostmonster product quality has deteriorated severely in the last few months. Did you know they have a policy where they will shut down your site for 5-10 minute stretches if your site is perceived to use too much cpu? They also routinely take down servers without any notice. What was once a decent outfit has really gone downhill.
slimetoner @ yahoo.com, 11th 2008 March, 2008
After much surfing, here's my top 10 shared web hosting. (not in particular order)

hostmonster
bluehost
lunarpages
hostgator
ixwebhosting
startlogic
dreamhost
globat
1and1.com
anHosting

I know you have a different list than those listed above.

One of them caught my attention.
But doubtful... i did more surfing(read more forums comments & more reviews, etc.).

I found out that all of them have this in common...
the CPU LIMIT.
Yes, they offer lots of space & bandwidth.
But here's the catch: you use too much cpu... they suspend your account.
So as you can see, there's no way your going near the bandwidth you paid for. What a bunch of liars!

Well, that's my research, you should do your own.
Help me find a better host.

Tell me:

why you hate about your past web hosting?
who is your web hosting now?
how is your new web hosting is better than your previous one?

your website url? (so i can see how busy your site is.)

- slimetoner @ yahoo.com
Aaron, 19th 2008 February, 2008
I've had a few issues with Hostmonster now, mainly the speed. Originally I thought it was a CPU issue, but after carefully rewriting my script (php), no improvement. The script executes <0.00MS, and the page loads in >6000MS... no mod_python support either, it's all Python CGI, which is about 1/10th as efficient as PHP (Mod_Python is smokin' fast, but they don't have it installed). Speed. They're using bandwidth limiting software. Which, is understandable, but my speeds are soo low, that it would take (seriously) 38 Days to fill just 500 Gigs of their servers. They might as well promis 20 TB for the price. Doesn't matter, you'll never be able to fill it. Limited uploads. Limited downloads. Forced caching. Bottom line, the price is awesome, the speed is below anything I've EVER used before.
Bob, 31st 2008 January, 2008
I can't upload with Dreamweaver and I don't want to use Filezilla or wp. Tech support has had 15 callers in front of me for a while. Forums generally support that this is a major issue. No clear explanation on the site- they push against using Dreamweaver. My client purchased this company - not me. I have 15 other sites that I update regularly on 3 other hosts without issue. I have asked 2 other developers with 200 sites out there & the same issue.
dissatisfied customer, 19th 2008 January, 2008
This is how they respond to an issue with a script which works everywhere but on their servers, claiming that the query consumes too much CPU time when all it does is simple select insert and update queries on a few records:

"Hello,

if your going to be rude about your request, then we are denying you the support for it.

Bluehost/hostmonster policy on 3rd pardy software coding and scripts:
http://helpdesk.bluehost.com/kb/index.php?x=&mod_id=2&id=497

BlueHost does not Support or Assist with Scripting, Coding or Third Party Product issues including but not limited to Instillation, code Maintenance, Custom Scripting, or Technical Maintenance in relationship to these areas. If you have Scripting, Coding or Third Party Product questions BlueHost recommends you consult or hire a programmer, design group or the manufacturers of your third party products."

Do NOT believe all the good reviews you see on the Net - my last portal was bought by a UK-listed company for good reason, not for bad queries.
Database User, 18th 2008 January, 2008
Database servers are down all the time. Constant problem. They are trying to pack too much on servers and it is not dependable service for using databases. Websites are also slow to load or sometimes are also down completely. You get what you pay for. Customer service is helpful though. Server service is total crap...
jack, 01st 2008 January, 2008
Don't know you don't want to.
I know My acount was charged by who knows who at my expense.
God damn you for stealing from me, and
may your children seek simultanious sexual gratification from four
generations of Syphieltic Camels
George R, 27th 2007 December, 2007
I switched to Hostmonster summer of 2007 and I find that the product has been good. They "do" have 24/7 telephone support and the technicians and other staff seem to understand problems or questions that a person may have. I also have been very impressed with the technical knowledge of the staff at Hostmonster. Very knowledgeable. Good response on the 1 trouble that I encountered and they are generally helpful and courteous. A Huge improvement over that which I received from my prior hosting company.
I am knowledgeable in telephony (1980's with BCTel), electronics, computers (from cp/m to concurrent ccp/m 1980's to win98se), assembly language programming for 8080 z80 8086 and 80286 cpu chips, and with html 4.01 transitional. I would recommend this company to others, and have done so. I believe Hostmonster is associated with Bluehost.
Stanley, 24th 2007 December, 2007
I haven't use their hosting package but from my experience on the live chat with sales, they are patient and professional in handling my enquiries.
Steve, 19th 2007 December, 2007
Poor service, slow loading. They overload their servers, and you get very little ram memory per site.
Megan, 12th 2007 December, 2007
I signed up for for HostMonster and a couple days later they suspended my account saying it was fraudulent because when they checked the phone number it wasn't in my name. I tried to explain things to them and about a week later they said they'd reinstate my account. 3 weeks later I emailed them asking when I'd get my account back since nothing had happened yet and they said they had no record of them saying they reinstate it. Another month later they finally gave me my money back. My sites were down for over two months because of them.
boogerhead, 05th 2007 December, 2007
I like to pike my nose..
dugger, 05th 2007 December, 2007
I really like this host. I program websites for a living and deal with several different hosts; for the price you just can’t beat hostmonster. They have all the features I need and then some. For the people complaining! Its $6.00 a month, deal with it. If you are trying to run a mission critical website you should up the ante and get a dedicated server.
Dan Rynaski, 20th 2007 November, 2007
I am having a bad experience with HostMonster. We use several services such as PHP, cURL (with SSL), and the site has been up for a few months. They updated their systems recently and did not re enable all of these services (which are pretty standard), and our site has been working improperly since then. They did not send out a notification about this either.

Their tech support isn't very helpful, and everything loads slowly.

With all of these problems, I've been looking at other hosts and stumbled on this quote from MediaTemple.net

"When you truly consider the facts - when you add up all of the features - we undeniably offer more value than any nearest competitor. Sometimes you have to look beyond the price and consider all things such as quality, uptime, support and then features. There is a cost to "cheap web hosting" - don't let it burn you."

HostMonster will burn you
hostmonster sucks, 07th 2007 November, 2007
well, all i can say is that hostmonster sucks. it is true that they provide a lot of services for low cost, huge disk space and so on. But with the speed of snail on page load time, you will never exceed it. I just try to check the page load time today for a single image of 800 kb, it took like 10 sec. And i got over 16 MB connection, tried it on another hosting company i have, took 1 sec. So here is my advice, dont listen to all the hostingreview shit out there on the internet. They are paid well to get hostmonster listed in top 10. trust me
dk, 07th 2007 November, 2007
Just got hostmonster today, danm!! i wish i didnt do that. The speed is so slow, even a mobil phoe with internet access will pull more bandwidth than what they provide. it took 2 sec to load my site on localhost, with refresh no catch, on hostmonster it takes 30 sec or more!!!! WTF!!! god danm it!!
DAn, 15th 2007 September, 2007
Not a bad hosting site. I've had them a week. no problems.
Raymond, 03rd 2007 September, 2007
I have Hostmonster hosting right now....terrible...it's up generally but definitely not 99% of the time. Sometimes in the evenings my sites will slow to a crawl. I've called in so many times in the last month or so and the customer service is always telling me that he doesn't have the power to look into it or do anything about it. I think they are sticking too many domains and sites on one server to save money...I'm likely to change to another provider if this keeps up.
Anti-Spammer, 17th 2007 July, 2007
They refuse to delete a usenet spammers account who is spamming hostmonster.com's affiliate program
Mujtaba, 22nd 2007 May, 2007
I'm From India,,

Hostmonster.com is a best site.... i like sever speed... Server is Excellent
but customer support is very bad...
Customer support is very bad......
Sunny, 10th 2007 May, 2007
I was chatting with support regarding ftp errors to site I had just set up. The speed of response was very, very slow; he would reply with a sentence and then be incommunicado for 15 minutes straight. Understandably he must be stretched between multiple chat windows, but what happened next was unpardonable. Frustrated (total time spent by now was over an hour), I just typed "This is so slow, I've gotta go" and you know what he did? He just shut the chat window...abruptly, without warning! If the powers-that-be at Hostmonster are reading, here are the details. It happened yesterday around 8 AM, name of support person : TOM.
Wayne Stewart, 23rd 2007 April, 2007
Terrible! I could not get the help I needed via their "ticket" system, which, on two occasions, took hours and hours and hours, to get back to me. And, when they did answer, they only selectively, addressed my concerns. When I told them two days after opening my account that I was not happy and wanted a refund, they jumped at the chance! One of them even sent me an email (which I have from just a few days ago) saying that since I used PayPal to finance the transaction that, for security purposes, they would need my PayPal account password in order to refund my money! I contacted PayPal, who promptly gave me a copy of their regulations to forward to them. Of course then I got the big apology for the "mix up" in understanding. There was no misunderstanding on my part. They did what they did and I can prove it. And, guess what? They have the guile to prorate my refund! I never did, get my website up. I simply could not get enough help, and what help I was able to find on their website was either, over my head or did not apply. I seriously cannot recommend these guys.
DN, 28th 2007 January, 2007
Just changed from Completinet. HostMonster.com is much easier, smoother, better. Will update as experience goes on.
logicguy, 17th 2007 January, 2007
I think Hostmonster writes its own reviews on sites that they create to scratch themselves on the back. I mean common man www.hostmonsterreviews.com
Eirik, 12th 2007 January, 2007
Hostmonster is the best and the most realible ever! Im very satisfied!
jo public, 26th 2006 November, 2006
come on folks . . . does anyone have any reviews I need to know any negatives .
Write Your Review
Your name

Your hostmonster.com review

Positive Negative


Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. © 2004 - 2010