Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.hostway.com
Hostway General Information
  Hostway is providing Linux web hosting services, has been founded in 1998 and now it's years in business.

hostway.com average uptime is 99.998% (rank #10 on our directory) with total 89418 successful and 2 failed checks, monitored since 2005-09-03. Similar companies with 99.998% uptime are and zonerhosting.com.

Search for "hostway.com" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 62200 results so company name popularity rank is #94.

There have been 80 positive votes for Hostway and 21 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #115 (similar companies are drak.net and got-hosting.com)

Web Hosting Packages
  Gold Plus (Type: Linux) - 20 GB space, 300 GB bandwidth for $19.95/mo

Gold (Type: Linux) - 12 GB space, 250 GB bandwidth for $13.95/mo

Some technical data about hostway.com
  IP Location: Illinois - Chicago - Hostway Corporation
Blacklist Status: Clear
Nameserver: A.DNS.HOSTWAY.NET B.DNS.HOSTWAY.NET
Server Type: Apache/2
Website Title: Web Hosting, Dedicated Servers, Web Design Services
Description: Hostway provides web hosting, domain name registration, web design, weblog tools and web site marketing on shared or dedicated servers for small business owners everywhere.

Back to "H" directory


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
Benjamin White, 19th 2010 December, 2010
I have been with Valueweb/Hostway for nearly 5 years. During that time my site has actually been up close to 3 years with the "normal" 2-3 month downtime in between. I have had to completely rebuild my site from scratch 2 times after they lost all of my files and back-ups, with nothing more from them than " We don't know what happened..sorry". They also have the tendency to "misplace" their client's payment histories and demand that you pay the amount that they "think" you owe them or they will shut down your site. Don't bother sending in financial records, from your bank, to prove them wrong, as they will only get "misplaced" as well. My advice to anyone who is considering using this, and I am using this term very loosely, "company" to host your site, should RUN! I have finally broken away from them, just this week, but not without having to leave my site behind. -Benjamin White - Founder/President of Deckpros Inc.
Robin, 24th 2009 December, 2009
I have been with Hostway for 10 years, and loyalty means nothing to them now. They used to be great. Now they have no customer service, no good hosting packages, my site has been offline for days at a time, email is usually slow and unreliable. They change things internally without your knowledge, if you need help, Tech Support is non-existant. You will be on the phone for hours, and get no answers except that they will try to fix it within 24 hours. You can't run your business if your site is offline. I am a very small company, and I think they are more interested in large, global companies now, and the little guy gets screwed. I am switching to a company that is not outsourced and mostly green. With so many other choices out there, don't even consider using Hostway.
Unhappy Cust., 05th 2009 August, 2009
They used to be good - we came to them from Valueweb who was horrible. Since then they acquired Valueweb and it seems they brought their problems along as well. We've had a lot of problems with their email system as well as gaining access to our site for maintenance. To their credit the website itself has been up most of the time.
intertlan.com, 30th 2008 May, 2008
Very good company, NO problems, fast support & uptime, but little expensive.
andrei, 19th 2008 May, 2008
the way customer support responds, makes it seem that they think your an idiot.
Ron, 17th 2008 April, 2008
Terrible hosting company. Their support takes days to reply. My online store is currently down and has been for 7 days while tech support makes me wait for a solution to fix it. If you're doing ecommerce definitely stay way from hostway.
realized, 12th 2007 December, 2007
i have been with hostway for 4 years now and for the most part things are good - but when they are broken then support is non existant.

I am convinced that hostway doesn't in fact have their own data center or full time staff. This would make sense as most of the time nobody picks up the phone - you are in queue and it just rings and rings and rings and rings.

Hostway shared email might work 6 out of 7 days a week every week if that. Most of the time you are lucky if you get an email within an hour of sending it - EVEN FROM YOURSELF TO YOURSELF.

When you call hostway they say that they think they fixed the problem - and it might start working.. for a few hours.

Then its down again.

hostway was good for me as now i know what to avoid in a hosting company.
Skippy, 22nd 2007 September, 2007
No major problem with website but email is very rudimentary and spam filters are a joke. Email support is simply annoying.
Lately getting email from web (vs. downloading) is very slow
dave, 08th 2007 July, 2007
Been with Hostway for 5+ years. Have 2 domains, 1 work, 1 personal. I think I stayed with them about 2 years too long. Their service and support really crashed and burned around 2 years ago and has not recovered. Constant website and email downtimes... but the most annoying thing is the changes they make to their service without telling you ahead of time. Some of which has performance and feature repercussions. Such as removing email auto responders without telling you, or removing real audio streaming, or adding virus blocking to your account without telling you, or - and I kid you not - even changing IPs without telling you. One day our email just stopped working, turns out they changed out mail IP and didnt tell us.

I'm slowly migrating to someone else
HOST PERT.NET, 02nd 2007 April, 2007
The most EXPENSIVE company I have ever dealt with
Bob Bercansticks, 23rd 2006 November, 2006
OMG!
NO WAY, LIKE TOTALLY!
Write Your Review
Your name

Your hostway.com review

Positive Negative


Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. 2004 - 2010