Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.icdsoft.com
Icdsoft General Information
  Icdsoft is providing Linux web hosting services, has been founded in 1999 and now it's years in business.

icdsoft.com average uptime is 99.889% (rank #2125 on our directory) with total 4519 successful and 5 failed checks, monitored since 2006-01-30. Similar companies with 99.889% uptime are hostgator.com and bidforhost.com.

Search for "icdsoft.com" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 30000 results so company name popularity rank is #154.

There have been 561 positive votes for Icdsoft and 54 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #925 (similar companies are relmax.com and synergyconnect.com)

Web Hosting Packages
  1000 MB Universal (Type: Linux) - 1000 MB space, 20 GB bandwidth for $6/mo

2000 MB Business (Type: Linux) - 2000 MB space, 40 GB bandwidth for $10/mo

Some technical data about icdsoft.com
  IP Location: North Carolina - Cary - Savvis
Blacklist Status: Clear
Nameserver: NS1.ICDSOFT.COM
Server Type: Apache
Website Title: ICDSoft.com - The Ultimate in Web Hosting
Description: Web Hosting starting at $5/mo, Domain Registration at $5/yr. Control Panel, Webmail, Superior Tech Support, Super Fast Servers!

Back to "I" directory


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
Mike, 12th 2011 September, 2011
9 years and going strong. No downtime. Great support. Fair pricing. What more is there?
Teo, 11th 2011 March, 2011
6 years experience = the best support for shared hosting
ICDSoft Support, 16th 2010 April, 2010
Joel, we appreciate your good words about our services, and we will do our best to keep the same way.

About the multi-account control panel and domain management panel - we have such interfaces available. Our customers can manage all their hosting accounts and domains from a single interface. Also, the same interface allows one-click login to the management panel for each domain. Changes in this domain management panel are added directly to the registrar database - whois details, nameservers, etc.

Best regards,
ICDSoft Team
Joel, 11th 2010 April, 2010
Customer for ... 9 years I think. Excellent is not a strong enough word. I directed my employer to them and until we brought our sites inside, we relied on ICD for years with ZERO issues. I have directed numerous people to them over the years and always get positive feedback from them.

I only wish they had a multi-account control panel and more importantly, some type of interface between them and ENOM. I have several accounts that I have domain only redirected to ICD.
John C, 19th 2010 February, 2010
ICDsoft's support is simply unmatched. I have yet to wait more than 5 minutes for a reply! When my server has been migrated, it is done very quickly and smoothly.

My only issue is that they do not support mod_wsgi (an apache extension for serving Python pages more efficiently).

Simply the best!
John C., 19th 2010 February, 2010
I personally do not have an account with ICDsoft, but I have had a customer with an account there for the last several years. I have maintained that customer's website and domain name for the last 5 months.

In that time, the support from ICDSoft has been amazing. I have yet to wait more than 10 minutes for a response. When I needed extra services, they were quick to help me out and downtime was minimal. Today my server was (voluntarily) migrated from Hong Kong to US. The migration happened within about 15 minutes. After the migration I had a small issue where I could not log in through SSH. I contacted them, and within 5 minutes my account was fixed.

The only reason that I do not have a personal account with them is that they do not yet support mod_wsgi, which I use for Python applications. However, the company I host with (which does support wsgi), simply does not match the support of ICDSoft.

ICDSoft is simply the best, provided that they support your software.
Greg, 16th 2009 November, 2009
Hands down one of the best hosting companies to sign up with. I have over 20 accounts with them. Their support is unparalleled with astonishing reply times and resolutions to questions being asked. Highly recommended.
Ivana Fuch, 11th 2009 August, 2009
Hello world
Juan, 24th 2009 June, 2009
THE BEST. This is the best hosting company nowadays. If you check the reviews of the leading shared hosting providers on the Internet, you will find no better recommendations than those one finds for ICDSoft. I have 3 hosting accounts with them since 2004. The super-great quality of the support service they have is not comparable with any of the current hosting providers. In one of my accounts I have more than xxx files (including statistic files, scripts, log files, etc..), in 8GB. I have no complains about them, but only good things to say. The only downside is that I was running out of disk space, so I just did an evaluation of the 15 most popular shared hosting, and again did not find any as ICDsoft: You can verify what I’m saying, reading many of the reviews on the Internet (which is one of the best ways for evaluating good and bad things for these companies); you will find that the word BEST (for “is the Best” or simple “the Best”: service, hosting, support, etc.) appears the most of the times qualifying this provider, while for the other is almost zero.
I definitely recommend it. After my last investigation, I will make one more effort not to grow my site in space in the coming months, hoping that ICDsoft increase the disk capacity of their servers (as they have made in the past without asking for more money for that).
Juan, 18th 2009 June, 2009
The best support.
Dick in KC, 05th 2009 April, 2009
A reminder - there is an ICDSoft users group on Yahoo! at:

http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/ICDUSERs/

This group is not affiliated with ICDSoft but exits to pass messages among users in case of a service interruption and to discuss ICDSoft plans and service.

Traffic level is low so there's minimal email if you do join and choose individual or digest email delivery.

Dick Williams
moderator
John Payne, WBBA.NET, 24th 2009 March, 2009
I have been very pleased with ICDSoft Been with them for 5 years now. Firefox Flagfox does not always show the correct country of origin for all registered IP's. I do wish they would work on an AIP interface so I can manage all the Hosting easier/automatically to the price I offer. Highly recommend.
jeff, 24th 2009 February, 2009
What a joke this company is not what is says it is. I had 1 question before I bought the servers and I could not get a reply back .

That is good reason for me not to buy there services
exasolar, 28th 2009 January, 2009
Flawless host with excellent support!
Actually their Business plan comes now with 10Gb of space and 100Gg of monthly transfer.
You should correct this on your site.
Jan B., 28th 2009 January, 2009
I have been with ICDSoft for about 7 years now. I've never had performance issues with my website. Their tech support is EXTREMELY fast to reply and they're also very good. I don't have a single negative thing to say about this company.
JB, 09th 2009 January, 2009
My company has been reselling hosting through ICDsoft for about 4 years. Their customer service is FAST! No complaints whatsoever.
Kevin, 12th 2008 December, 2008
Best host I've used! I first went with PolurNET, which according to reviews was supposed to be pretty good. It worked for a while, but then the server I was on went down. I submitted a ticket, and after several days, I didn't get a response. After studying several user review sites, I went to ICDSoft, and I've never been happier! I've contacted support a couple of times in the evening and weekends, and they've responded and processed my requests within 15 minutes (by email!) So far, I haven't experienced any downtime, and the servers are fast.

I *highly* recommend ICDSoft.
David H., 05th 2008 December, 2008
I currently don't have any ICDSoft hosting service but I used to have 4 different hosting with them in the past. Only reason I left ICDSoft was because of limited diskspace and bandwidth at that time. However, they are definitely one of the best (if not the best) hosting company out there. I'm glad that they made the time to explain what really happened regards to "awoifa" and "Robert S" stories because there's no way ICDSoft would provide such a bad service.
che guevara, 20th 2008 November, 2008
I agree, BTW vote for Obama
I would if I wasn't dead .................................
Vladimir Putin, 20th 2008 November, 2008
Seems like your reply makes his point, you seem too extreme for me. I recommend hostmonster or 1and1 why have the drama of people that have nothing better to do than reply to one bad review with such hostility ...........
I don't recommend that .................
do as you please but why risk it ?
ICDSoft Team, 23rd 2008 October, 2008
The comments of "awoifa" and "Robert S" are posted by one and the same person.
This is a customer of ICDSoft, Mr. Robert Sori, who was holding two accounts with ICDSoft. The two cases refer to each of his accounts. The purpose of our

post is to provide the readers of this page with the complete information on both cases, as Mr. Sori failed to do that for some reason.

CASE 1: Domain awoifa.com
On July 29, 2008, we received a mail from Mr. Robert Sori, stating that he will not renew the domain which was expiring on Aug 2, 2008. Here is his message:
========
----- Original Message -----
From: "Robert Sori"
To: "ICDSoft"
Sent: Tuesday, July 29, 2008 3:19 AM
Subject: RE: Important Notice: Please Verify Contact Data for your Domain Name(s)

I will not be renewing this hostname/site

robert sori
....
awoifa.com
========

We did nothing further and the domain expired.
More than two months after that, on Oct 8, Mr. Sori contacted us again, with an inquiry on how to renew the domain.

When a domain name expires, it is kept for renewal by the registrant for 30 days. After that it is locked in a Redemption Grace Period. A domain in a

redemption period can be renewed at a price of $160. This is a regulation by ICANN and global registries and not a rule of ICDSoft.

The $160 (incorrectly mentioned in the post as $200) is not a charge of ICDSoft. To take a domain out of a "Redemption period" status, we need to pay to our

affiliate registrar Enom $160. We ask the customer to send $160 to us, and then we send $160 to Enom. Actually, when a customer submits $160 to us, we

receive in our accounts between $151.2 and $155.32 (depending on the payment method), as there are certain transaction fees for the payment processors. But

we still pay $160 to ENOM, covering the difference ourselves. We have decided that we will cover these transactions fees on our behalf, just because we do

not want to add several dollars to the customer bill at such a moment. We lose a small amount with each renewal in "Redemption period", but there are just a

few similar cases each month.

About the domain of Mr. Sori - we have had the chance to renew it at a normal price up until Sept 2, 2008, but that chance was missed.
When Mr. Sori asked us about the options to renew the domain in October and we informed him about the redemption period and the registrar fee, we received

the following answer:
QUOTE:
============
can you tell them to kiss my ass, or do I have to send them an email
fuck this place........ I can make another like
ICDSOFTSUCKS.US
now your just an employess, and I don't want to disrespect you
BTW are you in China
and are the Commie Gestapo reading this
============
Apparently after threatening us to make a "hate" site of ICDSoft, the first post appeared here an expression of his "hate" policy.
The facts are: he alone refused to renew the domain, changed his mind two months after the expiration and became angry that the redemption fee (which is not

even imposed by ICDSoft) is $160.

CASE 2: "IPs are out of China... they cannot fix it"
On Oct 14, we received a complaint from Mr. Sori that his account is located on a server in China and that he would renew his account with ICDSoft only if we

move his account to a US server. According to him, he could see that his domain is in China from a browser extension he was using and this software was

showing the Chinese flag next to his domain (later confirmed to be the Hong Kong flag, not the Chinese one).

The domain/account of Mr. Sori has never been on a server in China. We do have servers in Hong Kong (not mainland China), but our biggest server farm is in

Boston, MA (USA), at the datacenter of SAVVIS. We have a server farm in Europe/Frankfurt as well, as mentioned below. The account of Mr. Sori has always been

on a server in Boston.

We checked the piece of software Mr. Sori was using (Flagfox), and traced the problem to the GeoIP database of the company Maxmind. It was incorrectly

showing some of our US networks as located in Hong Kong. This is an obvious mistake in their database (or algorhytm for gathering data), as the IP networks

are part of ARIN (the American registry of IPs) and not APNIC (the Asian registry of IPs), also the address of the organisation maintaining the IPs is an US

address. Of course, when tracing the IP, anyone could easily see that the IPs are in the United states. We contacted Maxmind on the issue and several days

later they corrected it.

We informed Mr. Sori that the software he is using displays some locations incorrectly and even the vendor company states that the GeoIP data is not 100%

correct. It seems that this was not satisfactory for him and he posted the second comment about ICDSoft (as Robert S.)

We consider that the two comments of Mr. Sori are biased and do not represent properly our attitude towards our customers. Our company policy has always been

to make everything possible for solving each customer’s problem, even if this does not depend only on us.

Best regards,
ICDSoft Team
Roger, 23rd 2008 October, 2008
ICDsoft have servers in USA and Germany, as well as china (hong kong). You can choose - when you sign up - where you want to host from.

Also, you can host with domain registration inlcuded - or do it separately. From comment just below, it might be best to do separately.

A good hosting company overall.
Robert S, 13th 2008 October, 2008
Nice place but IP's are out of China, not local country.. With some software, causes site viewer to think they are on a web based in China.

With all the monitoring that goes on in that country, I don't think that's a good thing.
and they can not fix this issue
awoifa, 08th 2008 October, 2008
icdsoft has some good features, but if you want to change providers, the gangsters come out and they demand upwards of $200 bucks for your registered domain

IMO
I should have registered elsewhere
Z0MBIE, 02nd 2008 October, 2008
The best. No question.
www.Projex.com, 13th 2008 August, 2008
Terrific webshost that I've used since 2001. Now have around 30 websites with icdsoft and during all this time the support levels have been outstanding. Low prices, great site performance, simple webmail access, control panel, SQL and CMS (we use Drupal) couldnt be easier. I couldnt recommend them more.
http://www.projex.com
Philip, 06th 2008 August, 2008
They are the best. I have four sites with them and counting. They respond quickly and politely, and are always helpful. Great job ICDsoft!
AHMED, 28th 2008 April, 2008
This is no doubt the best of the best hosting company I have ever found. Excellent support. You will get a reply within minutes (not even hours).
Cheyenne, 22nd 2008 April, 2008
I am a newbie when it comes to web design. I have designed six sites. Each site is hosted with ICDSoft. I cannot imagine going anywhere else. The price is great, the features are great, and the support is OUTSTANDING! I recently had to transfer a domain for the first time and never once did the support techs make me feel like my questions were dumb (and I am sure some of the questions were). The questions were answered VERY quickly. Also, the downtime with ICDSoft is non-existent. I will NEVER use anyone else. I started out planning on creating only one site, but thanks to the great features and support at ICDSoft, I just keep on adding to my portfolio. THANK YOU!
salamonka, 16th 2008 April, 2008
Since I signed up with icdsoft I stopped searching for other hosting comp.
Amy, 28th 2008 March, 2008
Been using ICDsoft for many years, for many sites. Smooth sailing, excellent support - what a great experience all around! When a client asks about hosting, the first words out of my mouth are "ICDsoft".
Ellen Brundige, 28th 2008 February, 2008
I've been using ICDSoft since 2003 and recently started a new blog on it. I recommended it to my mother for her online business several years ago and have received Good Daughter brownie points thereby. It works. I've had a VERY few glitches over the last 5 years -- down once or twice for a few hours, and one time there was a server hiccup so that it rolled back recent updates (a blog post on a Wordpress blog) by about 2 hours, thereby losing 2 hours of work (or would've done if I hadn't had backups). But that is 3 incidents in 3 years, and VERY very minor ones. Their support has always been quick to respond to emails and top notch, and their online manual seems to anticipate all the questions I may have (e.g. when I went to install Wordpress blog software, I searched "Wordpress" in ICDSoft's documentation, and it actually gave better step-by-step instructions than Wordpress, which is pretty danged good at explaining things).

In short: good company. Good price. Good service. I started using it 5 years ago after reading a lot of favorable reviews, and I'm not surprised to see it's still earning them.
Tom Joe, 13th 2008 February, 2008
I'm using ICDSoft for several years for my company and my clients. I also use and used other ISPs. I can only say, ICDSoft is the best. Why?
- support
- performance
- features
- control panel
- price

Neil, 12th 2008 February, 2008
I've only used one hosting company (well, a few freebies, and you get what you pay for) but I have never had cause for complaint with ICDSoft. Their response time to my queries has always been a matter of minutes. When they can't answer straight away they send an email sayting so. Their emails are extremely polite, too. As for downtime, well, the statistics speak for themselves. I've never had a problem up/downloading.
Dan, 01st 2008 February, 2008
THE SINGLE BEST WEB HOSTING COMPANY.
gorrion, 24th 2008 January, 2008
Have hosted with ICDSOft for several years now, multiple domains. Good company, outstanding and fast customer service. Unfortunately, little storage space and bandwidth for amount charged, compared to others. Still, a great company!
SamK, 07th 2008 January, 2008
I have several sites hosted with ICDSoft and they are amazing. Customer service is unmatched.

Regarding sites blocked from China - note that China has an aggressive filtering network set up that blocks sites that aren't approved by the government. Censorship at work.
webdude, 31st 2008 December, 2007
I can tell you this company is quite good top notch I have never seen support times so fast from any host no joke they respond somtimes in less then 5 mins and if its a big prob they contact you in like 15mins to let you know there working on it so that post at the tope is bull it says ICD soft is a scam thats the farthest from the truth infact there even posting back in this thread what other hosts do that ...

Plust that post saying they are a scam says that on mny of the hosts here but the one that matches and is true about would be IPOWER now they are a scam they are the worst host bar nine dont ever use IPOWER web or any Endurence International owned web company ever...

PS IPOWER suport if your lucky you may get a response in a few days with ICD soft its minutes ...
Larry, 24th 2007 November, 2007
I've had ICDSoft hosting our website for several years. But a few months ago, our website can not be accessed for people in China. Am I alone or this has happened in general to ICDsoft hosted sites?
Olga, 10th 2007 October, 2007
Been using ICDsoft for many years, for many sites. Smooth sailing, excellent support - what a great experience all around! When a client asks about hosting, the first words out of my mouth are "ICDsoft".
Troy Vitullo, 02nd 2007 August, 2007
These guys are just too good. Read the reviews of the other top web hosting companies on the upper right hand of this page. None of them stack up. What trips me out most is the way ICDsoft users naturally formed a community during the Jan 2-3 outage. I just wish they offered colocation.
Administrator, 29th 2007 July, 2007
Thats a really great host, i like it!
chris, 06th 2007 June, 2007
I've been using ICD for about 6 years. I always recommend them top clients who don't already have a host. I can count on one hand the number of times I've had any downtime problems, and still have 4 fingers left over.
Brant Arthur, 14th 2007 May, 2007
They don't offer the most generous disk space, but they say they don't oversell their servers like other hosts. I believe them, they've been fast and reliable.
Jim, 08th 2007 May, 2007
Using them for 3+ years...customer service BEST IN BUSINESS. Usual response time is less than five minutes.

Rock solid company - highly recommended. I was seduced by other company's lower prices and always come back to ICD!
george, 15th 2007 March, 2007
ICDsoft goes above and beyond the call of duty. With under 5 minutes they contact you and have a courteous and professional solution.
Steve White, 22nd 2007 February, 2007
I have been using ICDsoft for over 5 years now. ABSOLUTLY the BEST company I have used. Polite, responsive, freindly, cost-effective. They did have some down-time that was caused by an east coast provider and they responded with updated news and information regarding the status. That was the only 5 hour outage I have seen during my time with them. VERY porfessional and HIGHLY reccomended.
R. Jerjo, 10th 2007 February, 2007
Icdsoft hosts 95+ accounts of mine! This should tell you something about the quality of service these guys offer. Huge discounts for resellers. I'm more than happy. To tell you the truth, I tried to find a WHM reseller account but always turned back to Icdsoft. Their packages are more profitable and the support system as good as your 24/7 bodyguard :) They're always there around the clock. I highly recommend them.
Stewoo, 30th 2007 January, 2007
This is one of, if not THE best hosting company out there - support is second to none. If only every company were like this. I've been a customer for 3 yrs now and I will not change to another company!
Dick Williams, 19th 2007 January, 2007
ICDSoft Support has posted some additional info on the January 2nd outage via the new Yahoo user group at:

http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/ICDUSERs/
ICDSoft Team, 16th 2007 January, 2007
This is a response from ICDSoft about the issue with jodywarner.com

There was a 6 minute issue with the server that hosts jodywarner.com, around 12:30 PM EST on 15.Jan.2007. The problem was caused by a customer database on the same server, which overloaded MySQL.
The MySQL server was unavailable for 6 minutes. It took 6 minutes the System administrators of ICDSoft to find the abusive site/database and disable it. For these six minutes, the MySQL driven sites on the server were displaying "Server maintenance" along with a specific error below.

The support staff of ICDSoft did not receive any inquiry from the owner of jodywarner.com about the problem.

The server was not down during the issue, the only unavailable service was MySQL (for 6 minutes).

Zafir Slavov
ICDSoft.com
JodyWarner.com, 15th 2007 January, 2007
BULLSHIT - now the pages load and say "server maintenance". DO NOT GET ICD SOFT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
JodyWarner.com, 15th 2007 January, 2007
It looks like ICDSoft is DOWN AGAIN!!!!!!!!

No email and web as of 1:30 pm CST.
Roger, 05th 2007 January, 2007
I have several sites hosted with them over several years. Phone support is not much use in times of major outage if you dont live in US , eastern europe or Hong kong . .. And - What if the phones go down too ? (could happen in times of nuclear war. meteor impact or other exceptional occasions)
So its no good going with a hosting company just because it has a phone number. ICDSoft are so fast anyway, phone support is unnecessary!

My site is hosted on their HK servers, so dont know if I had a problem this week, but think all is okay there. If site is critical maybe host on both places - if its possible.

I would continue to say this company is very good, hopefully the downtime on 3rd jan in USA is exceptional, and the Savvis centre will be okay ofr many years to come.
Zafir Slavov, 04th 2007 January, 2007
Hello to everyone,

Here is some more information on the problem:

On Jan/3/2007, the datacenter of SAVVIS Copr., where the equipment of ICDSoft is co-located, experienced a network outage, which lasted for about 6 hours.

Besides ICDSoft, among the affected companies were Lycos Mail / Tripod, the magazines CIO and CSO - basically everyone whose equipment is in the Savvis datacenter in Boston.

It seems that both main and backup communication lines of the datacenter went down in a short period of time. Still there is no official information from Savvis about the cause of the problem, we expect to receive a full report from them in the next few days.

Savvis is one of the largest providers in the US and they have performed very well in the last few years (we have equipment there since 2003). This is the first major issue we have experienced with them. Unfortunately, its magnitude was quite severe.

We apologize to all our customers, whose sites were down during the outage.
During the outage, we did our best to supply our customers with all the information we had, through our HK support site: [hk.suresupport.com]

We have a technology for moving whole shared-hosting servers between datacenters, with 0% downtime for our users during the move. Unless we receive from Savvis Corp a very convincing plan what will be done to prevent similar issues and clear proofs about the reliability of their infrastructure, we are ready to take the hard decision to move all our equipment elsewhere.

Zafir Slavov
[icdsoft.com]
Matt, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Awesome!!! Thanks Dick! I bookmarked it.
Dick in KC, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Newly created ICDUsers group on Yahoo.com

http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/ICDUSERs/

Another site for handholding in case of a repeat.
David, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Stephen,

I believe this website ranks hosts based on connectivity: uptime.
Stephen, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
David, not sure. The actual servers hosting our sites were probably still running so not downtime - we just could not reach them. Interesting one.
Matt, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
We are back up! Hopefully, the rest of you are as well. Thank you all for your wonderful support and sharing of information. You all are FIRST RATE, and I wish you well.
David, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Does today mean that icdsoft doesn't have at least 99.5% uptime???
Stephen, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Fom Suresupport:

Jan 2 2007 16:08 EST

SAVVIS engineers just reported that the issue in the Boston datacenter has been fully resolved. In case you still experience troubles with your website, please do not hesitate to contact our support team here
James, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Thans Philip!

Everything seems stronger than the first time we got back online. Hopefully it stays this way.
Philip, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
From ICD Soft:

Jan 2 2007 15:54 EST

Repairs are currently in progress. Intermittent loss of connectivity can expected while defective hardware is being replaced by the Boston network engineers. We expect to have the service fully restored soon.
Philip, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Hi James,

No problem. As an example, I just received as of 4:00 pm a test e-mail from gmail that I sent at 12:24 pm, which didn't make it through the first time the site was back up briefly.
Stephen, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
The global backbone is showing no loss of packets. Boston <> Phoenix has high latency (LA & San F also quite high) so possibly some timeout issues? My sites came back on line then went and are now all bak again. Crossing EVERYTHING. Emails should still arrive eventually (when all is reliable), the good sending servers are configured to retry after so long and for so long. Retry period could be hour(s) though
James, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
My site is up again
Andrew, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
My "back again" site is now "back again" for the 2nd time
Philip, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Back up as of 3:58 PM EST

little to no latency this time.
James, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Thanks for the reassurance Philip. I was hoping that would be the case.

Agreed Matt. We feel the same here at our little company. It's not so much the web but the lack of receiveing client emails that kill us.
Mark, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Jan 2 2007 15:04 EST

Service has been partially restored in the Boston data center. Packet loss and slower access can still be experienced. The SAVVIS people are doing their best to have the issue fully resolved.
Matt, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Good point James. I didn't think of that. i am getting sick over what loss of business we have already exprienced, including possible new clients and follow up responses. For our little company, any revenue lost including lost opportunity is a big hit for us.
Philip, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Regarding e-mails:

If someone sends you an e-mail and it doesn't bounce, you will get it eventually. Most SMTP servers are programmed to try re-sending the message periodically. So it may take a while for all of those e-mails to trickle in.

(Assuming our sites get back up an running consistently again)
Mark, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Looks like the temporary fix is broken again. We are down again as well. Happy New Year!!!
James, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
I'm mostly worried about the emails that didn't bounce. I sent a test email from my hotmail account about 4 hours ago which never bounced. But even when the site was up and 20 emails came in, it wasn't there.

I wonder where it is, and how many others are with it.
Matt, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
We are still down ( all seven of our sites never were up) and as of two minutes ago, still getting calls from my clients about email bouncebacks as well.
James, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Maybe someone accidentally pushed the little red button again.
Amy, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
I think we are down again. Very disappointing.
James, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Yeah me too. My 2 sites were working, now they are not. :-(
Jay, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Funny thing is some of my sites work fine other did for a few minutes now they are down again
Stephen, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Emails coming in - including ones sent to me during the Savvis Boston down period. Amy, it looks like Cody was correct.

Hope not to speak to you all again soon. ;-)
Len, of Iowa, USA, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
I have been using icdsoft for multiple web sites for several years. I have had very few problems and they have all been resolved quickly. I am sure that I will stay with them. But, as has been mentioned, a voice line to call for status updates would be appreciated.
Mark, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Andrew you might want to close and restart your e-mail program so that it tries for the new connection. It might still be connecting to the bad one.
Andrew, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
3 of 3 sites back. No email yet.
d, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
houston we have lift off, slow, but none the less, business is at least getting off the ground!

thanks to all
Amy, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Good news folks - I have received a few e-mails. Not sure if it's everything or not, but at least something is happening!

Thank you again for all of your help!
James, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
My site is back up. ~J
LASGRWC, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Hooray! We're back up and running also. I've been with ICDsoft for about four years and never had a problem (up till today). Friendly and helpful customer service!
Mark, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
My e-mail is up too. As of 2:57 pm EST.
Philip, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
UPDATE

My site & e-mail are working again as of 2:51 PM EST
Stephen A.., 03rd 2007 January, 2007
I also moved an account from HK to USA and all subsequent purchases are in the USA, but not because of the earthquake. The USA server responses ware three times quicker - they are a bit slower at the moment though!.
Steve, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
I thought they were pretty good when they moved my accounts from HK server to Boston server after the earthquake incident. I was back up in a few hours. I guess I should have left it HK.
Sanya, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
I love Icdsoft.. BUT what the hell? I am losing business, I have 10 clients with accounts.. Any news at all as to when this will be over?
Mark, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Jan 2 2007 14:07 EST

Both the main and backup/redundant lines providing connection for the Boston datacenter are down. SAVVIS are currently negotiating new backup lines with other upstream providers. Unfortunately, an estimated time of resolution is still unknown at this time. For those of us on the East Coast, I don't think this will be solved before COB at 5 pm. I still believe in ICDSoft. This one probably caught them by surprise. Lets hope Savvis gets restored soon.
Stephen A..., 03rd 2007 January, 2007
UPDATE

Jan 2 2007 14:07 EST

Both the main and backup/redundant lines providing connection for the Boston datacenter are down. SAVVIS are currently negotiating new backup lines with other upstream providers. Unfortunately, an estimated time of resolution is still unknown at this time.
Mark Snyder, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Like all of you, I was shocked to lose my email and websites this AM. It took a while to get an idea of what was going on.

Here is a thought about the numerous comments about the lack of a phone number for ICDSoft. I spent 14 years behind the ticket counter working for numerous airlines. I have worked with literally of thousands of passengers when flights have been delayed due to mechanical reasons.

The timeline is always the same.

1. First the problem is discovered, but there is no word on when it will be fixed as the cause of the problem is not known.

2. A mechanic is summoned (hopefully one is at the airport.)

3. The mechanic looks into the problem. It may take 5 minutes or 50 minutes before he has a guess as to what it is.

4. Once the mechanic gets a handle on the problem he notifies dispatch and gives a best quess estimate of the time of repair.

5. Almost always a part needs to be replaced. The mechanic does not know for sure if one is in stock and calls to find out where the nearest part is.

6. If the part is available, the defective part is replaced and then tested.

7. Often the test results in the mechanic saying SH.....T. There is a multiple system failure and the process starts over again.

8. In the mean time, I'm trying to keep all the passengers updated each time I get news. Unfortunately I'm out straight rebooking passengers who will miss connecting flights and have little time to stay on top of the latest reports. In fact, the entire station staff is working with passengers at this point while still trying to get the other flights out on time.

9. Passengers are beginning to check back multiple times. Sometimes I have an update, other times I don't. In some cases the estimated delay is shortened as the mechanic has better luck than he thought. In others it "creeps" later and later as last minute problems come up.

10. I often resort to telling passengers there is an indefinite delay. This is not received well. The first response is when will you know? At this point I don't try to explain the definition of "indefinite." I just tell them I'll get the word out to everyone ASAP. And go back to rebooking passengers who are in a loooong line in front of me.

11. Then I start getting the passengers who are checking in near the flight departure who tell me they should have been called at home or at work and told they could check in later. I explain, with little luck, that delays can change and are often shorter than expected so the flight may have left before they checked in.

I don't know the number of customers ICDSoft has. Let's say 25,000 and of those, 10,000 try to call! How are a few employees going to handle that volume?

Don't know if this helps, but at least the next time you fly and there is a delay, you might go a little easier on the ticket agent:)
John - Montana, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Just wanted to state this - ICDSoft is still one of the best providers that I have ever dealt with.

Thanks also for all those that have kept us posted on this forum.
Mark, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
I am sure ICDSoft will be making new backup plans after today. I am also sure they have a few ulcers and are probably bald by now. There is not much else I can do at work until the e-mail gets restored. We are way too dependent on computers. The Amish are laughing at us.
Stephen A.., 03rd 2007 January, 2007
I think the emails sent to your address bouncing depends on how it is sent (who with). I have had bounces at other times saying my message has not been delivered after 24 hrs but will keep trying.
Amy, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Justin - I agree with Mark. I know of e-mails that have been bounced back and also those that have not. I think the cut off time was whenever the server went down. I'm worried that I may not end up receiving all the e-mails I am supposed to... Hopefully it will be up soon. That's all I can ask for.

And yes Mark, AT&T has been brought up. It can definitely happen to any company and I still back ICDSoft (if they will hurry up and get this fixed.) But as long as someone doesn't make the decision themselves, there's always something to complain about!

GO ICDSoft, get it fixed!!!
Justin in JC, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Mark

Thanks for the info. I just sent myself an email from Yahoo. See if it bounces back or not.

If so, then this is probably the absolute worst day this could have happened!
Mark, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Hi Justin
My CFO e-mailed our Cairo Office with his AT&T account to let them know our situation and copied his ICDSoft hosted account for record. He said the ICDSoft hosted e-mail bounced back. I think anything that got sent prior to the outage estimated around 9 am EST is probably still on the ICDSoft servers. Anything sent after 9 am EST I think is bouncing.
Cody in SoCal, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Emails wont be lost, the should mostly come flooding in when the connection is restored with the remainder trickling in for a few hours.
Beth, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Glad to find this list of reponses, as I have been trying to figure out what is up. Interestingt the date of the posts is tomorrow, though.

Can't trust computers anywhere.
Mark, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
I feel for you Amy. I am hearing from the VPs in our company. "Maybe we should look at AT&T" This could happen to any company. I just called Savvis and they still do not have an estimated repair time but their upper level management is supposed to be putting the pressure on the Telco to help fix the problem.
Justin in JC, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Boy, it's funny to see all you guys chatting on here!

I will agree with the group that I love ICDSoft. I have four sites / 2 blogs hosted on their equipment, and they have been the nicest, most courteous people I've ever worked with, in ANY company.

But it sure does suck that I can't get my New Year emails!

Does anyone care to speculate if the stuff sent today is lost, or just in limbo? Are people getting bouce-backs on their emails?

Dick in KC, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/ICDUSERs/

For next time or this time also.
Amy, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
This is killing me - people are starting to get pissed. All I hear now from my coworkers is "AOL is working!" I hope they hurry with the fix!
James, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Yes Amy... I now finally understand the meaning and purpose of support groups! ~J

Steve, I gave a Negative review this time just to balance things out - even though I don't think ICD is to fault.
Jay, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Spoke to them at 888-638-6771 opt 1 case # 888298

Said that a curcuit had blown in a major network componant and they are working with AT&T and another telco to resolve. said there was no ETA but pretty sure it will be today.

The guy i spoke to was very nice. I def. will still recomend this company. I've used tham for like 4 years with no problem
Amy, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
All I have to say right now, while I try to wait patiently - is thank God for this website and for all of you! Otherwise I may be pulling my hair out right now.
James, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Mind you that I know nothing of these sophisticated hardware systems... but what could possibly be taking 5 hours+ to fix? Tell them I've got an extra extension cord lying around in my garage they can borrow.
Mark, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Backhole or Pile driver. Or worse. They were expanding the library in college and severed a fiber optic node with a pile driver. It took out the computers and phones on campus for a day
Dick, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
The awesome power of a man with a backhoe.

I don't know that - just a guess.
Mark, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Yes, as we have been saying ICDSoft does need to provide an emergency info number so we can get updates in times like this. I got a simular response from Andy De Suza that SAVVIS had no further updates. Well its just after lunch here in Maryland. The day has been shot so far as we can not communicate with our overseas offices. I still am for ICDSoft, but they do need a better emergency plan.
Dick, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
If we all live the Pos/Neg button on Positive (with the form submit box) this will greatly enhance ICDSoft's ranking there at the upper right on this page. They could be up to Number 1 by the end of the day.
Edmund, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
John

You can get updates (such as they are) at
hk.suresupport.com
That is their Hong-Kong site.
Remember to "reload" to ensure up-to-date info.
Dick in KC, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
This is canned reply to an email sent to Savvis support:

Dear Valued SAVVIS Customer,

Please be advised that the SAVVIS data centers, BO1 and BO2, are still
isolated due to a network related issue. SAVVIS continues to work with
the local Telco vendor and hardware vendor to restore connectivity.
The SAVVIS Executive team is engaged in this customer impacting event.
An estimated time of resolution is unknown at this time. An update for
this incident will be sent within 2 hours. This incident is being tracked in Master Case 888298. Please contact the SAVVIS Support
Center at 888-638-6771 and reference the case number above for further
information or questions.


Thanks

Andy De Suza
888-638-6771
ssc@savvis.net
Mike, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
They don't offer phone tech support that's why they don't provide a number.

I've been with a few companies that offer phone tech support but I always have found that it takes so long to get through and when we do the support people never can resolve the issue.

With ICDSoft we have always found that the e-mail response time is fast and knowledgeable we prefer it.

Remember they are not based in the USA and that's why you get good $ for their service.

It's a globally connected world now remember. Also, even if they had phone support we probably wouldn't be able to get through now.

One thing they should consider though after this problem is an emergency announcement line that gives system updates. They could get 100 VoIP lines and virtually no cost and address these issues.
William, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Spoke with SAVVIS tech support. Both their main and redundant connections to the internet backbone for their Boston node are down. They are working with the Telco providers, as we all have been hearing about, and they're also considering partnering with another provider to run lines to their datacenters in the mean time. No matter what, things don't look too good, but have little to do with ICDSoft--who represents only 1 of hundreds of SAVVIS customers affected by this. Since ICDSoft has nearly 100k customers themselves, I can only imagine the impact of this netwide. SAVVIS tech support is: 1-888-NETOPS-1 (1-888-638-6771) - dial option 1.
John, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
OMG Updates would be real nice to have. Were are you guys getting these 12:30 EST updates?
I'm tired of telling my customers :Duh! I' don't know" or just outright BS'ing them. I'm out of Pacifiers HELP!
Mark, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
I see they did provide an update at 12:30 EST with no estimated time to resolve the problem. I like being kept informed one way or another about the situation. Since Savvis' executive team is now getting involved I bet some heads will roll. I think Savvis and ICDSoft will both need a lot of Tylenol today.
DouG, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Has anyone found another forum/group to exchange updates and workarounds to the ICDsoft problem?
Loree, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
New update:

Jan 2 2007 12:30 EST

The Bostong data centers, is still isolated due to a network related issue. SAVVIS continues to work with the local Telco vendor and hardware vendor to restore connectivity. The SAVVIS Executive team is engaged in this customer impacting event. Unfortunately, an estimated time of resolution is still unknown at this time.
Dana, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
I've been using ICDsoft for several years and today is the first significant problem I've had. Normally the tech support is excellent and the prices are great. I agree that it is better for small/medium sites. The control panel is easy to use and my clients have no problem managing their email accounts.
Michel, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
I recommend ICDSoft for sure. Many sites, a support team available with right answers in minutes (go to France and ask for service... takes hours or days...).

Now we have a big problem but due to unknown circumstances...
Same rules for web sites that for stock exchange : never keep all eggs in the same nest !
Regards
Edmund in Boston, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Cody, you are probably seeing only your browser cache in order to see www.ICDsoft.com (or there may be another cache somewhere in your path). You could try clicking "reload".

Dick. I have people who successfully checked e-mail at around 7 am EST, but it was down by 9 am EST.

hk.suresupport.com appears to be where those able to access www.suresupport.com are being re-directed. Its IP agrees with that my DNS servers reported for www.suresupport.com earlier this morning; but the DNS has gone back to the original IP now.
James, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Dick, I received an email at 6:51 Central Time (Guatemala), almost 5 hours ago. ~J
Dick in KC, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
What time did things go down? I know at 1500Z it was down - my first attempt this morning to access email. And I concur, by now they should have posted more info on what's happening and what they're doing. "Circuit related issue" - I could say that from here without knowing anything.

80K domains registeed - lots of impact.
Jeff, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
If they are using Savvis to host their service in the US and Savvis is supposed to be a top tier hosting provider, how is it possible that their is no redundancy in their network? Something doesn't add up here.
James, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
I agree, Laura. I think removing the "2 hour" was the update. 2 hours have passed and that's all they've changed.

Kinda funny. You'd think that for a company with such a good support reputation they'd find time to write a fresh human response every 30 minutes or so to keep us feeling happy. ~J
David, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Thank you for the update Amy!!
Laura, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Mark, out of expericence, by removing the "2 hour" update means that they know that they won't be able to tell you anything new in that time frame. It might be wrose than they thought.
Pam in Philadelphia, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
My experience with ICDSoft has been nothing but the best up until now, especially, their tech support. I can't reach suresupport.com in Philadelphia.
Cody, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
I have used ICDSoft.com for years and have about 35 sites hosted with them. I recommend them to anyone. At this point I can only reach the main www.icdsoft.com website at this point from Orange County, California (my provider here is cox.net).
Dick in KC, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
http://www.icdsoft.com.hk/

Hong Kong is up but no help or info for the BOS situation (that I can read)
Mark, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Agreed suresupport.com is the best source right now. I see they have dropped "an update will be given in about 2 hours" from their 10:14 EST update. Hopefully this means they will be releasing an update soon.
Amy, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
I was able to get onto suresupport.com. This is their response:

Hello, Currently there are network connectivity problems in the whole Boston datacenter. The SAVVIS data center facility team has reported that the Boston data center is isolated due to a circuit related issue. At this time equipment is not reachable. SAVVIS is working with the local Telco vendor to restore connectivity. An estimated time of resolution is unknown at this time. An update for this incident will be published here at about 17:00 GMT +0000. You can check for updates of the problem at: http://hk.suresupport.com/savvis.php Best Regards,Support 28suresupport.com
jerry, 03rd 2007 January, 2007
Looks like best source of information at this time is

http://suresupport.com/savvis.php
Jennielyn Abrot, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Amy,
see what happens if you Clear History..
Amy, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
I am still unable to connect to suresupport.com or their main site. Keep me posted! Thanks.
Edmund, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
My DNS servers are now resolving www.suresupport.com back to the old address at the Savvis data center. Yours may be also, so suresupport may be inaccessible again.
James, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Yeah, I can get onto SureSupport. Their main site is back up too, and you can access it from the Support link.~J
Stephen Aynscough, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
I have many sites hosted by ICDSoft. As others have commented, they are great to deal with and have extremely quick 247 support and good rates. Pity about the current failure in the States and the earthquake damage to the sub-marine cable that affected the Hong Kong based service at Christmas - both out of their control. I would still recommended them. Support site: www.suresupport.com is contactable and shows an email form for contact + an email address.
Edmund, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Postings seem to be showing as Jan 03, that must be this site's server with the wrong time. The registrant of this site is listed as being in Lithuania (look it up in WHOIS). The problem appears to be with a communications link; there ought to be redundancy but I guess we get what we pay for. From the descriptions given by ICDSoft (when the site is available) and SAVVIS one would expect such redundancy for this major data center; perhaps they just didn't think about that(?), or perhaps it is more complicated.
Mark, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Thanks, James. I don't think the site is on the dark side of the moon. Mars maybe???
Amy, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
James - are you able to access suresupport? I still can't get on.
Dick, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Q: Where is this site based?

A: Dark side of the moon!
James, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Hi guys, I emailed the link to this thread to ICDSoft about 20 minutes ago. Maybe they'll drop in for an update. cheers ~J
Mark, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
I think we need to forward the link to this site to ICDSoft so they can see what their clients are going through today. I thought the same as the rest of you. January 2nd company must have folded. I hope suresupport has an update within the hour. I also agree that the redundacy thing is not working. Things should have been switched over to a different carrier by now. I guess the same could happen to AT&T.
Amy, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Yes - why are postings shown as January 3, 2006? Where is this site based? I'm getting REALLY worried now!
Pam, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
You would think they would post an announcement on their website now up, why ours are down!
Matt, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
LOL Dick. If that's the case, then i am taking a vacation tomorrow! :-)
Dick, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Matt, your post shows as 3 Jan 07. Does that mean we're still down all day Wedneday?

:)
d, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
agreed, they should have a number at least, this is not fun fielding all these phone calls from my clients, and me with basically no time frame or anything, I am still an icdsoft backer, they have been great, but this is not starting my new year on a good note.
--D
Matt, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Mark, I agree with you about banning together to get a phone number. I absolutely understand that things come up; however, I don't understand not having an alternative way to contact for information and updates. Just as we are held accountable to our clients, ICD needs the same accountability to us- their clients. I do agree that ICD has been outstanding with their level of support, response time, and up time; however, this one is a doozy and needs and some remedies put in placeso it doesn't happen like this again.

On a related note: yeah Dick, I am with you- the whole 'redundancy' model is't exactly working. Another remedy ICD soft really needs to put it place- fail safe isn't working.

Thanks for all the great posts and the great info!
bill, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Jan 2 2007 10:14 EST
Currently, there are connectivity problems within the network of our US upstream provider - SAVVIS, and all servers in our US datacenter cannot be reached.
Please be advised that the SAVVIS data center facility team has reported that the Boston data center is isolated due to a circuit related issue. At this time equipment is not reachable. SAVVIS is working with the local Telco vendor to restore connectivity. An estimated time of resolution is unknown at this time. An update for this incident will be published here within 2 hours.
Dick, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Was I naive in thinking the two centers in Boston and Hong Kong backed each other up almost seamlessly? Apparently that's not the case and maybe never was.
Mark, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
We should at least ban together and have ICDSoft provide a number to call to find out about system problems. I am in the same boat as the rest of you. I have 3 companies with no e-mail access or web sites right now. I guess we will have to go back to using the phone today. When I called Savvis, the lady that answered the phone just said they were having a power problem with their Boston Site. I guess she didn't know more. I just spoke with the VP of our company he thinks this is rediculious and now wants to look for another hosting company. I told him we weren't the only ones being affected.
BigFan, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
icdsoft.com site is back up! That's a good sign...my site is still down, however.
Amy, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
I searched the BBB and cannot find them listed. I am in Detroit, Michigan and have had no luck with a phone #.
Matt, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Well I am glad to find this web site withs ome explanation, as I also have several sites hosted with icd soft and all are down. For a brief moment, fear gripped me as I thought they tanked over night. I also cannot find a phone number anywhere. I even went to North Carolina Secretary of State websit and did a coporation search to try to find a phone number, but nothing came up. Does anyone know what other names (besides icdsoft or Sure Support) they may be incorporated under? if so, please post as this may be a lead to getting a number. Thanks.
Dick, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
We've been with ICD for several years. This is the first real issue we've had. If the Savvis MA. Data Center is down due to a Telco Problem as the Suresupport.com website says, then there's a whole lot more folks than just the ICD people that have 'issues'. Hope it's resolved quickly, but sometimes things happen.
Edmund, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Thank you Laura.
Suresupport was also hosted at the same site and was previously unreachable, so they have managed to quickly get a new site up for Suresupport and get the DNS name servers to re-resolve to the new IP address. It currently resolves to 203.194.209.187 (iAdvantage); the main site was 64.14.68.138. It looks as though the entire 64.14.xx.xx block may be out.
Amy, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
I can't connect to suresupport.com or icdsoft.com. I would love some kind of e-mail group, because I do not know where to turn if this happens again. But I would suggest an @yahoo.com or @hotmail.com account - otherwise we are once again SOL.
d, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
just called savvis as well, if you are in boston, they have comfimed a problem at that data center, guy said they were working with a telecom group to isolate the problem,I know our stuff is at the walthem data center, So i am not sure where the earthquake in asia stuff is coming from, but Savvis has indeed acknowledged a problem at that data center. FYI, I called (314) 628-7000, and navigated to "co-location hosting" and then to "tech support", if memory serves me correct, and got right thru to an operator.--D
Jennielyn Abrot, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Thanks, Laura!
I'm glad you got in touch with them... I can't seem to connect to http://suresupport.com ... is anyone else having ths problem.
Jan, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Maybe all of us icdsoft.com users/webmasters should stick together and form some sort of email group. I was greatful to find this website and see that it's not just me having problems this morning. And thanks to Laura too! I forgot about checking SureSupport.com
Amy, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Thank you Laura!
Laura, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
This is what the Suresupport.com site says:

Jan 2 2007 10:14 EST
Currently, there are connectivity problems within the network of our US upstream provider - SAVVIS, and all servers in our US datacenter cannot be reached.

Please be advised that the SAVVIS data center facility team has reported that the Boston data center is isolated due to a circuit related issue. At this time equipment is not reachable. SAVVIS is working with the local Telco vendor to restore connectivity. An estimated time of resolution is unknown at this time. An update for this incident will be published here within 2 hours.
Amy, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Does SAVVIS have any updates or hints as to what might happen?
Laura, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
I also contacted Savvis. They confirmed that their Boston Servers are down and are working as fast as they can. You can go http://suresupport.com/ and that site is up so you can email them. . . but I guess all we can do is wait.
Toni, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
I have been using ICDsoft for several years - never a problem. Unfortunately when one bad thing happens at this magnitude, it wipes out all of the good. I hope evertyhing is back up and running real soon
Jody Warner Images, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
I'm screwed in Chicago - no site, no business. ICD, what the hell is going on?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
d, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
have about 75 sites with them, always have been good. yea, today not good, all are down. other than today always been satisfied. if anyone gets any updates, please post here, i will do same, thanks--d
Phyllis, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
There was an earthquake in Asia that has affected ICD. I just spoke to someone in Savvis and he confirmed it.
Pam, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Are they in Cary NC? I am looking for any news report. Because they have been so good, I have quite a number of sites with them as I am a web designer and so I have to answer to all my people too!
Amy, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Does anyone know how to get a hold of them? I don't think there's a phone # to call. Maybe a customer service e-mail address? (That I can contact through yahoo or something.) I'm not sure what to do about this... I suppose there's nothing I can do but wait?
Dick, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Launched a new website 1-1-07 - announcement going to biz accts today and new site and 2 others disappear along with email. Embarrassing but glad to read here of the problem. Other than today welll satisfied - would be good to have a fall back, independent company site to go to for info on such outages. Guess this is it.
Pam, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
I cannot find any info on a power outage in Boston. This has been a very good company, but today is disturbing.
Amy, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
I have been with ICDSoft for quite a while now. I introduced the new company that I work with to it about a year and a half ago. I am getting extremely worried now though - because I can't get into any of their support websites and all e-mail is down. Not sure what to do, everyone is asking for answers that I cannot provide. Any updates or tips that someone may be able to provide?
Edmund, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
I just called the Savvis network technical support center. They are having some sort of problem in the Boston area, but could not confirm what the problem was. I hope it is nothing as simple as a power outage; that should not cause all these problems.
Mark, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
We have been using ICDSoft for about 3 years now for e-mail and webhosting. Our company e-mail and sites are down today too. I just called SAVVIS and they told me that a power outage in Boston is causing this problem today. A great way to start the New Year. I do wish ICDSoft would at least provide a number for updates about service problems. Other than that we have liked them and hope they get back on line today.
Philip, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
I have 3 websites with ICDsoft and none of them are working today, and neither is icdsoft.com nor suresupport.com

Can someone please provide more info, and also a US phone number?
BigFan, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
I've hosted my site on ICDsoft for 3 years now. Their tech support is amazing - they've helped me install multiple open source CMS packages over the years (I've tried a lot), and I think the user control panel is robust and easy to use. They usually reply to a service request in a matter of hours (if not sooner). Their uptime has been, today notwithstanding, quite good. I've been extremely pleased with their hosting plan.
Phyllis, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
Dec. 31, 2006, I was working on my CP and got a notice that there had been an earthquake that was interferring with ICD service. I believe they are located in Hong Kong. This is the first time I've had any problem with ICD. I don't think they'd have phone service either.
Jennielyn Abrot, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
I found this number for ICDsoft 35929633034 (Bulgaria).. not sure if it's the right # to call...
Bill, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
I just called Savvis, and there is a network problem with there Waltham site. Not directly ICDSoft's problem, they are working the issue. I have been very satisifed with ICDSoft with 3 domains.
James, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
These guys are great. We've been with them for 4 years now. They respond to web support questions in minutes if not seconds. This is the first time their site has been down the same as ours. And yes, I confirm all our sites are down too. Something tells me that even if they had phone support it wouldn't make a difference today. I am sure they are working on it as fast as they can and a phone call would only confirm that point.

Cheers all,
James
Matt, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
We have hosted over 45 domains with ICD Soft for the last few years. I second Bob's remark as they are all down today, January 2nd, 2007 with no phone support number.
Gerald, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
These guys have been great for 3 or 4 years but they seem to have diappeared today. I have 10 sites with them and I'm getting a little nervous.
Bob, 02nd 2007 January, 2007
I have been with ICDSoft for several years and have about 20 sites hosted with them. Their email support has been very, very quick when I have needed it. In fact, they have been perfect up until today, January 2, 2007. Today a number of my sites are down and so is theirs. The problem is that they have no phone support so you must contact them by email. BI highly recommend when you are looking for a new hosting company to get one that has phone support. Hopefully this is a one-time issue and a brief one.
Lou, 05th 2006 December, 2006
Sure they don't promise 500GBs of space but every Mb they offer is fully supported and up all the time. I have never waited more than 10 minutes for customer service response. I have over 20 accounts with them and will probably have 20 more.
DAG, 05th 2006 December, 2006
I've been with ICDSoft for a couple years now, and I would very highly recommend them to others.

Broad array of features and services, there is nothing I would change about this company.
phil, 26th 2006 November, 2006
very good support service . If you dont need high bandwidth or disc space for your site, this host is ideal. (only does about 2000Meg storage or 40GB bandwidth for Business plan at present) . Good value, plenty of features. (but last time I checked it didnt do ASP) . In short, perfect for small/ medium sized websites, and the support is second to none. I've been with them 3+ years and have had no serious problems in that time
Rizal, 05th 2006 November, 2006
I have been hosting with powweb and free host before signup with ICDSoft. Powweb give you big space and bandwidth with cheap pricing but the service & support is not good enough. I experiece slow n downtime almost every month with powweb. But im not going to talk about powweb here.

If you looking for really good service & support, signup with ICDSoft. They didnt give large space and bandwidth BUT THE SERVICE AND SUPPORT IS FANTASTICS! But you can upgrade later..
Within an hour after signup i can login my control panel(CP). Thats fast coz when i signup with powweb it took me a day. Goto CP is easy, bcoz using ur own domain like this: www.yourdomain.com/cp/
I like the CP, coz it really nice and helpful. On the left navigation menu, there is LIVE stats/information about your space, bandwidth, ftp account, etc.

If you using mysql4, they recommended to chg to mysql5. Not forcing but as early notice as they might be chg to mysql5 completely soon. Been with ICDSoft for 3 month, yet they havent tell us anything about moving to mysql5. Wht i mean here is, they let you know early and let you prepare for it first. more nice about them is, they provide a tools to convert your database from mysql4 to mysql5. At first i was thought it going to take long time to convert as my database size is 300mb++. But it only took less then 1 minute. Some other hosting only give you tutorial you to do it.

They provide you free statistics(Webalizer) and you can set the password. Accessing the stats also using ur domain. I send them 1 ticket, they then respond me back less then hour. They keep their promise :)
Ricky, 02nd 2006 November, 2006
Stinks from here 'til half past forever. Impossible to find a phone number for this company. They've screwed up my account and since they can't find me in their records are telling me that I must have had a different web host, not them. I haven't been able to get my mail since JUNE! I can't wait to leave this company, I'd just like to be able to get my email before I do it.
Jorge Pedrosa, 26th 2006 October, 2006
I've been working with them since 2003 and I never had a problem. I manage over 10 accounts, I can say that ICDSoft has been an excellent partner to fullfill my corporate mission. Support is the best.
Juan Gabriel Mejia, 17th 2006 October, 2006
We are hosting till now 6GB of mp3 from conferences, and managing all these files with PHP scripts in combination with MySql, offering audio streaming, podcast and downloading of audio files. We are also using some Perl scripts.
All this stuff is working very well!

We feel that Icdsoft really take care and appreciate clients; this sounds “estrange for nowadays” but it is what we feel.

Is a little expensive in comparison with other hosting sellers, but it is very very difficult to find elsewere such a support service. For us this is the principal aggregate value. One of the best things from ICDSOF is the Impressive, fast and very professional guaranteed 24/7 support, within one hour, guaranteed - We have never wait for more that 10 minutes for a response. This is true!!! and the best thing is that the support teem really knows about every thing related with your hosting (sales, billing, tech) and give always the right answer, you don’t have to explain more than once!!! They answer what you're asking. It is great that they have help us in installing some Php and cgi scripts, even when they "don't have" to help with it.

I'm also satisfied with then complete-usefull-easy2use Control Panel.

One more thing: they have upgraded (disk space, traffic) for free to ALL their clients, giving 50% more for free. Also they offer 20% discount for new accounts, reseller programs, they give you money if you promote their hosting.
vic, 22nd 2006 July, 2006
ICDsoft has been very good while i have been using them... very responsive customer service staff, very reliable hosting. They were pretty easy to leave when i cancelled my account. I highly recommend.
Larry, 07th 2006 July, 2006
Amazing customer service. I repeat: AMAZING customer service. Response to questions has been practically instantaneous.
Dan, 22nd 2006 June, 2006
I was with ICDsoft and didn't have many problems - until I wanted to change to a new host. Trying to leave ICDSoft is harder than cancelling with AOL or breaking up with the daughter of your boss. Three years of good support tarnished by very bad service in trying to leave. I will start early in transferring my other domains away from them.
Vinu, 13th 2006 June, 2006
ICDSoft's the best! I've been with them for more than 3 years and I've never had a problem which their excellent support team couldn't solve in a few minutes. In fact their average turn around time for all my support calls is around 10 minutes ! Where else can you get customer support like this.

www.vinuthomas.com
Ray, 17th 2006 May, 2006
ICDsoft has the best support of the five hosts I have tried. They are also close to the least expensive.
My only complaint with them is that their servers are in Hong Kong, so there is some latency in pages loading.
However, that is a minor factor compared to the headaches that my other hosts give me.
Tim, 23rd 2006 April, 2006
After much trial and error I discovered ICDSoft. I find it hard to believe that there could be an easier interface and more quality personnel behind a host company. This company is all about customer service - and they do it right!
If you think you might want to be a reseller - with ICDSoft it is so easy! Over 40 accounts now and finding it a breeze.
My recommendation - just do it!
Jan, 25th 2006 February, 2006
I have been with ICDsoft for several years now, and I am still impressed with their servicelevel. The helpdesk is accurate, swift and good!

I can certainly recommend ICDsoft.
Write Your Review
Your name

Your icdsoft.com review

Positive Negative





Do not miss - latest discount from icdsoft.com
Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. © 2004 - 2010