Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.linuxwebhost.com
Linuxwebhost General Information
  Linuxwebhost is providing Linux and Reseller web hosting services, has been founded in 2003 and now it's years in business.

linuxwebhost.com average uptime is 99.998% (rank #15 on our directory) with total 89242 successful and 2 failed checks, monitored since 2005-10-02. Similar companies with 99.998% uptime are and zonerhosting.com.

Search for "linuxwebhost.com" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 496 results so company name popularity rank is #1254.

There have been 33 positive votes for Linuxwebhost and 21 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #1871 (similar companies are cougarhosting.com and webhsp.com)

Web Hosting Packages
  Basics (Type: Linux) - 200 MB space, 10 GB bandwidth for $9.74/mo

LinuxEssentials (Type: Linux) - 350 MB space, 15 GB bandwidth for $14.99/mo

LinuxProfessional (Type: Linux) - 500 MB space, 20 GB bandwidth for $29.24/mo

R-Basics (Type: Reseller) - 200 MB space, 10 GB bandwidth for $7/mo

R-Essentials (Type: Reseller) - 350 MB space, 15 GB bandwidth for $12/mo

R-Professional (Type: Reseller) - 500 MB space, 20 GB bandwidth for $12/mo

R-Enterprise (Type: Reseller) - 1000 MB space, 25 GB bandwidth for $16/mo

LinuxEnterprise (Type: Linux) - 1000 MB space, 25 GB bandwidth for $44.99/mo

Some technical data about linuxwebhost.com
  IP Location: Maryland - Baltimore - Alabanza Inc
Blacklist Status: Clear
Nameserver: NS.THE-WEB-HOST.COM NS2.THE-WEB-HOST.COM
Registrar: BULKREGISTER, LLC.
Server Type: Apache/1.3.33 (Unix) ApacheJServ/1.1.2 PHP/4.3.10 mod_throttle/3.1.2 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 Rewrit/1.1a
Website Title: Linux Web Host :: The original linux hosting provider
Description: Linux Web Host is the original Linux host provider and your single-source solution for all of your website hosting needs.

Back to "L" directory


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
Ron, 12th 2011 June, 2011
Linuxwebhost and therefore my website has been down for 2 days now, can anyone give me some info on what is going on?
Jilaen, 28th 2011 May, 2011
I have been with Linuxwebhost for over 10 years. They used to be brilliant but now both Linuxwebhost and Navisite have the worst support in India. I no longer recommend them and about to MOVE finally as I have had enough! They will not fix problems properly.
Eric, 08th 2011 May, 2011
I've been with them for years, but will probably be changing soon. (I would have already changed, but am too lazy.) I put up with the great outage and a bunch of smaller outages. The current problem they are giving is that the outbound mail server is blacklisted by various services and they are apparently unwilling or unable to reconfigure to a non-blacklisted IP. I would suggest never starting with them and thus avoiding the inertia I suffer from.
Marty, 13th 2011 January, 2011
BLEAK AT BEST. I started with this company years ago. They have deteriorated to a point where I'd rather get into a car crash than do business with them. I finally switched all my domains to godaddy.com this week and wish I had the sense to do this years ago. Save yourself and avoid these people at all costs!
Jason, 29th 2010 July, 2010
ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE! I have had a site sitting stagnant for a couple years now. I finally got off my butt when I started another site through GoDaddy. Their customer service is phenominal. I called Linux Web host to cancel my hosting and switch my domain name over to GoDaddy and after 10 calls, I finally spoke to a human who spoke little to no English. She told me that she couldn't give me the domain transfer # over the phone and I had to check my email. That email was NEVER sent!!! I have been trying today to contact them. If you press 1 for sales, you get an answering machine. If you press 2 for technical support, you get a man who speaks very bad English who simply transfers you to billing. If you select 3 for billing, you get an answering machine. When you choose option 2 and he transfers you, no one EVER picks. up. So I keep calling tech support and talking to this man and he keeps giving me a run around. I PROMISED to call him every 2 minutes every day until I get the damn domain transfer # so I can be done with this company FOREVER!!!!!!
web designer, 11th 2010 May, 2010
These guys are horrible. Service is bad. My website ended up on a server in spamhaus! Avoid Linux Web Host at all costs.
Sara, 24th 2009 December, 2009
Anyone use this company recently? Are they good now since the migration has happened?? Anyone?
I only posted "negative" because I do not know yet to post positive after reading all of this!
Jack, 27th 2008 December, 2008
They are the only company who kills you with additional bandwidth charges...look somewhere else
Tom LWH customer, 07th 2008 December, 2008
In the 10+ years I've had a business web site presence, Linuxwebhost and Navisite are the worst in providing customer service. Since the purchase of Alabanza and outsourcing the support to India, technical support is practically non-existent. Would recommend to look elsewhere than Linuxwebhost and/or Navisite.
JohnLi, 10th 2007 December, 2007
This is the worst company I have ever done business with. I cannont even change service.
Stephan, 12th 2007 November, 2007
One of my domain is still down as a result of the migration, down 8 days and counting. I have already migrated two of my sites elsewhere, proceeding with my own migration!

Will never do business with them again (now NAVISITE.COM)
Tim, 08th 2007 November, 2007
Unbelievable and unacceptable service. Except there's NO service. And LWH has the audacity to send an e-mail saying "If you have any questions or concerns, please send us an email at support@linuxwebhost.com or call us at the number listed below. Linux Web Hosting 1-866-546-8993".
They cannot reply to e-mail because their servers seem to still be down. They do not answer the phone.
Horrendous! I am gone!
Pat, 08th 2007 November, 2007
11-08-07, They're still down, no one answering phones, cannot connect to their site. Does anybody else recommend dreamhost.com?? I'm definitely moving but don't want to make another mistake.
GMT, 07th 2007 November, 2007
Piss Poor, wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy.
Peter, 07th 2007 November, 2007
Still down and no informative information from linuxwebhost about when my server might be available. At this point, I only want it up so I can grab the remainder of my data.
Extremely disappointing experience and no apologies in sight.
Oculous, 07th 2007 November, 2007
I have used LWH for many years. I have referred dozens of ppl to them because they USED to have excellent service. That was ALWAYS more important to me than dismal cost/MB i got through them. Almost all of my sites are still down after the data move and it has been FIVE DAYS. I have lost many clients (resold domains) and countless thousands because my e-mails are missing. I have moved ALL of my accounts and domains to a different provider. I pay dearly each month for the best in customer support and uptime... this is what they feed us? I can't even get in touch with them via web OR phone. I'm so miffed right now. Stay away people, stay away.
Jilaen, 07th 2007 November, 2007
I used to love them and have been with them for years but this past week has been a nightmare move with no idea whats going on! I am moving too!
Stephan, 07th 2007 November, 2007
4 days later and still many issue and one site still down! Finally got someone from customer service (In the US!) today who informed me they were posting updates @ http://www.navisite.com/sublevel.aspx?id=2017

Navisite.com is the company who acquired LinuxWebhost and planned the migration. I do plan on moving all my sites elsewhere but meanwhile I am asking them for one month free for each day the sites were down.

I was told the person to contact to escalate the issue and ask for a refund was John Speidl @ 877-485-9251
Mary, 07th 2007 November, 2007
Question to all, I'm switching my service as well, how can we cancel our accounts so they don't charge us anymore? I can't even reach sales on the phone. What to do? Call BBB?
Russell, 07th 2007 November, 2007
I gave up and switched to dreamhost.com ... what a difference! The diskspace is four orders of magnitude greater, for less money than LWH charges. Try using the promo code BYELINUXWEBHOST for an even greater discount at dreamhost.com (50% off one year, and a good discount off monthly too). I only wish I had dumped LWH sooner.
MikZ, 06th 2007 November, 2007
Oh, and did I mention that all those e-mails looked like they were written by a 12-year-old trying to sound adult? And after 75 minutes on hold, I'm giving up on trying to get any answers. I'm ditching them right now.
MikZ, 06th 2007 November, 2007
STAY AWAY!!

I've received dozens of e-mails from them over the last week or two detailing their plans to move their datacentre... it's going ahead... no, it's not... we're really going to do it this time... no, we stuffed it up again... I should've known it would end like this. Both my sites have been down for days and I'm losing e-mail at a time that I can't afford to lose it.

I've had two sites with them for years. On many occasions I've almost switched over, and decided it not worth the hassle. That's a decision I regret now.
Erik, 06th 2007 November, 2007
Linuxwebhost is awful. Over the past 6 months, I've had only about 90% uptime on my 3 sites that they host, and probably 50-75% uptime on the email for my most essential site they host. This culminated in the ongoing datacenter "move," which as others here have noted, has meant over four days with my sites off line.

In the meantime, it's impossible to reach anybody at linuxwebhost by phone (calls are disconnected after 90 minutes on hold) and there's not even a recorded message indicating status.

Avoid Linuxwebhost!
Ted, 06th 2007 November, 2007
How do I move my account if no answers? They just billed me for six more months to add insult to injury.
Mary, 06th 2007 November, 2007
My website has been down for 3 days, no email coming through, their website doesn't load, nobody answers the phone at all, I even tried to call sales, nothing, it's like they dropped from the face of the earth, does anyone have any info on what is going on??? I need another provider, any suggestions?
Peter, 06th 2007 November, 2007
I agree, bunches of messages warning about a datacenter move, then nothing, and my site is still up and down today (it was basically down till late yesterday). I'm moving to someone else.
Mike, 06th 2007 November, 2007
These people suck!! A 4 hour data center move has had all 37 of my resold domains down for over 4 days. I'm losing customers left and right and can't even get someone from LWH on the phone. DO NOT USE THIS HOSTING SERVICE!!!
CM, 06th 2007 November, 2007
Tuesday morning and all my sites are still down. This has gone on since Saturday morning. Support has merely deflected my calls and not given any details on what has caused these issues or a plan of action. I will be moving my hosting business elsewhere... unless my business has already been destroyed.
Stephan, 05th 2007 November, 2007
Numerous call to get an ETA when the sites will be back up and could not get a real answer! I have been involved in migrating a data center before with over 400 hosts and never had more than 4 hours downtime on any site. Very poor planning or lack of GOOD technical resources for sure. 72 hours later, I still have issues with some of my customer's sites!

I will never do business with them again and plan on migrating all my sites and email elsewhere.

Shame on them for cutting corners, unfortunately it seem to be the trend in IT now days.
Russell, 05th 2007 November, 2007
I have also, of course, been stung by this week's failed datacenter move. (I DID get in touch with their Indian support center last night and heard the same lies, plus a false promise to put me in touch with management.) It finally provided the urgent motivation to switch to another host. I wish I had switched long ago, because the diskspace per dollar is pitiful.
JT, 05th 2007 November, 2007
I have been on hold trying to get an update for two hours now and can't seem to get any information.... Does anyone know when our websites will be up and running?
Emily, 05th 2007 November, 2007
I used to be very pleased with them, but as of Saturday, November 3rd, 2007 they have been offline. They said they would be offline no more than SIX HOURS. it is well over 48 hours now. I have no website, and no email service. I will probably take my business elsewhere if they don't get up and running soon.

There should have been a backup plan in place!
Bob, 05th 2007 November, 2007
Friday 03Nov 2007 we updated the site. Saturday 04Nov2007 as others here reported we checked the site and it was down. Called and got the same story "we are moving the servers". Our contract was up Nov 22, that was the final straw for me. We have used them since 2003 and every time they crash they have no backup plan, no way to notify customers what is going on and when they will be back up again. We moved to GoDaddy as their service includes good phone support (they host our domains) and they appear to be a "real" company. Linuxwebshost (aka Alabanza) appears to be a seat of the pants operation. We run a real business and we need a real hosting company to support it!
ben, 05th 2007 November, 2007
Linuxwebhost used to have great service. My sites have been down since Saturday. I wonder if they'll be coming up at all. I'm glad that I previously transferred all of my domain names away from them.
jackie, 04th 2007 November, 2007
I got a notice that all servises may be down until all data is moved, but its been down since sat. morning. Each time I call and wait for 1/2 hour-45 min to get someone on the phone, they keep telling me, just a few more hours. I am searching for a new company tomorrow. HORRIBLE service
Stephan, 04th 2007 November, 2007
Been with them for over 5 years, support USED to be excellent. They recently outsourced their support overseas to provide 24X7 support, they might as well not have support! It took me 3 days to have a simple DNS issue resolved even though I told them exactly what was the issue! Now they are migrating their data center, they announced about 6 hours downtime, now over 48 hours downtime! I will never do business with them again and will start migrating my existing sites elsewhere this year.

Shame because they were a good company!
downtime, 04th 2007 November, 2007
11.3.2007 Website down all day due to "maintenance". Each call got a simple new update, "It will be completed in four more hours. Twelve hours since my first notice, still no website.
jilaen, 22nd 2007 March, 2007
I have been with linuxwebhost since they started and have seen some changes. Support used to be much better than it is now. I do find the server is usually very reliable and have not had many problems over the years. I do recommend them.
Cecilia, 19th 2006 April, 2006
Linuxwebhost is holding my domain hostage and refusing to close my account. What more is there to say? They do not answer support requests of any type (phone, email) and without support, what do you have?
Write Your Review
Your name

Your linuxwebhost.com review

Positive Negative


Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. 2004 - 2010