Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.lunarpages.com
Lunarpages General Information
  Lunarpages is providing Linux Windows and Reseller web hosting services, has been founded in 2001 and now it's years in business.

lunarpages.com average uptime is 99.936% (rank #2115 on our directory) with total 3120 successful and 2 failed checks, monitored since 2005-06-29. Similar companies with 99.936% uptime are midphase.com and globat.com.

Search for "lunarpages.com" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 375333 results so company name popularity rank is #26.

There have been 1108 positive votes for Lunarpages and 251 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #38 (similar companies are bizland.com and tierhost.com)

Web Hosting Packages
  The Basic Hosting Plan (Type: Linux) - 350 GB space, 3500 GB bandwidth for $6.95/mo

The Windows Hosting Plan (Type: Windows) - 5000 MB space, 400 GB bandwidth for $8.95/mo

Reseller Hosting (Type: Reseller) - 1000 MB space, 100 GB bandwidth for $5/mo

Some technical data about lunarpages.com
  IP Location: California - La Mirada - Lunarpages
Blacklist Status: Blacklisted
Nameserver: NS1.LUNARPAGES.COM
Registrar: TUCOWS INC.
Server Type: Apache/1.3.34 (Unix) mod_auth_passthrough/1.8 mod_log_bytes/1.2 mod_bwlimited/1.4 PHP/4.3.3 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 mod_ssl/2.8.25 OpenSSL/0.9.6b
Website Title: Web Hosting by Lunarpages - taking your site higher
Description: Lunarpages Web Hosting provides affordable business, Ecommerce and homepage hosting plans. Offering domain names, database, frontpage, php, asp, stats, mysql and website builder.

Back to "L" directory
Some bonus features Lunarpages offers
  1 FREE Domain Name for Life


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
Emily , 11th 2011 October, 2011
Despite repeatedly telling them I wanted to cancel my account and basically disabling my site, they still tried to auto-renew with me. It's like none of them communicate with each other in billings. No way to permanency delete with them outside of emailing them either.
Steve, 08th 2011 October, 2011
Beware of Lunarpages

They have been known to employ people to post FAKE positive reviews.

Also, be careful of CHAD, the owners idiot son. He acts like a street thug sometimes instead of an intelligent business man
Sam, 05th 2011 October, 2011
I had NOTHING but positive thing to say about Lunarpages since 2004 when I signed up. Sure, the occasional glitch here and there, as well as slow customer support from time to time, and twice sites were hacked on servers there (to which they never admitted nor gave any directions in finding rogue files put in our directories) aside from "we suggest you change your passwords" - seriously, for years they were OK by us and we were one of their biggest supporters. What went wrong? In a nutshell, with NO change in site traffic over the last several years (actually a decrease) they begin sending us warning letters regarding high cpu usage. We were on a business plan there. Loads of emails exchanged with suggestions which we followed and then it ultimately comes down to "you need to move to a dedicated server" - no VPS, only a dedicated server will do. Which of course, costs a whole lot more than a VPS. Essentially, and according to our own tech staff we discovered that they were totally trying to hoodwink us and push us into something not only very expensive but unnecessary. In reading online reviews we find more and more people are being put in this situation. But, if they begin to push the sites they have on servers that are generating traffic to move to a dedicated option, they make more profit. Even if 1 out of 5 make that move through their scare tactics they will still remain profitable. We were disgusted with these shady, scamming business practices and we moved to a company in the USA (with 24/7 support in the USA) that I will not name since some peple might think this post is bull and advertising for another company. It is not. Stay away from lunarpages if you have a website with any popularity at all.
Sherry, 04th 2011 August, 2011
I have been with Lunar Pages for 8 or 9 years and I have always had a great experience. I can always reach someone in customer service which is what I like. Pricing is very reasonable.
Terry, 26th 2011 July, 2011
Poor service all around. Lunarpages do not meet their commitments. I find a lot of complaints here. Please follow up with complaints (BBB) so they clean up their act.
Jay, 27th 2011 May, 2011
Lunaparges has apparently become the registrar of choice for spam-happy and clearly illegitimate sites like "send2pro.com" which is a major spam source. Despite numerous reports with clear proof of spamming they have left the site up and spamming and are according to whois info protecting the sites owners (or are in fact the owners of the spamming site). Have reported them to authorities including the Orange County sheriffs office for this shady activity.
Mark, 23rd 2011 May, 2011
Best web hosting company ever. I have no idea what these people are talking about!
Stella, 05th 2011 May, 2011
This is an honest and true review. I came here because something on another site suggested googling a certain term. I do have an unresolved issue at the moment but I have actually JUST recommended lunarpages to two people and helped one organisiation set up a new account only a week or so ago. So I was worrying and at first I was thinking "oh dear this is all awful".

I have read an article elsewhere with someone who says they used to work for them, and talking about false reviews, so I was thinking "oh no". I remember I had a panic about the bad reviews years ago, but after checking everything decided it was a historical problem and not relevant any more.

I'm glad I ignored the bad reviews. I have had a lunarpages account since shortly after the EARLIEST reviews on this page and I have to agree with the few posts that point out that most of these negative reviews are just pure rubbish. There are ones - sometimes a few in a row - claiming issues about things that supposedly affected the whole service that NEVER HAPPENED.

Looking in other forums, more generally, with similar search terms but no word "lunarpages" turns up some very insightful posts pointing out that most of these issues are actually due to badly configured websites - and even I can see that a lot of them are from people who simply couldn't find their way out of a paper bag.

I have had lunarpages support helping me day after day for THREE WEEKS once, to help me figure out what was wrong with my email. And guess what? It was a bug in OSX (apple mail). They were so polite and patient and never complained.

I really honestly feel this is a GOOD hosting company. Maybe they have done this or that, but they have been around a while and just because another newer host doesn't have bad reviews that doesn't mean it will always stay that way.

I was looking for hosting for a client, but went straight to lunarpages when I read people having CURRENT real problems with godaddy and hostgator. Problems that they say keep happening and are pissing them off. Problems I know I don't have to worry about with lunarpages.

So maybe if I really get a lot of traffic I will have to change - but maybe I will just have to wise up and learn how to optimise my website properly.

It's hard to be objective, and I am worried about my own situation but it's a misunderstanding and ultimately my own fault. I have NOT found out ANYTHING relevant except for a bunch of hysterical complaints from people who think port 25 won't do email and things like that (like, wtf?).

So thanks a lot idiots. You have been no use at all but have kept me awake all night with worry because I have a fear now that I just can't TRUST them. My work is on my server, it bloody matters. What am I to believe, 5 years of web hosting and excellent support or a bunch of people who seem to be unable to actually figure out how to use their accounts?

If they mess me about, I will have to move. It's not difficult, people. Annoying, yes, possibly an expense I can't afford too. But I have not seen any scams or negligence at all in all that time.
Mila, 10th 2011 February, 2011
This is THE best web hosting company I have EVER used. And I have gone thru quite a few. When I need support it's always there. I am extremely happy with the service and would recommend their business to anyone. After reading all these prior negatives, I can only say that 99% of the time it's your own mistakes or negligence of why things didn't work out. READ the terms/ policies before you sign a deal and if u don't understand ASK. LP has wonderful customer service. Quit placing blame on a VERY successful company that has been around and will be around for a VERY long time.
J. L, 27th 2010 December, 2010
I have been their customer since 2006, and that account was fine. Then I got a 2nd account last year, and today they suspended my 2nd account and told me I am dragging down their servers. After checking the log, I only have 50 visitors per day, and they think that's excessive usage? I used to recommend them to others, now I will tell everyone to avoid them.
Sherry, 22nd 2010 September, 2010
This hosting service is extremely not acceptable. They fraudulently charged my credit card and refused to refund my money even though they admit the charge was not valid. They said “Let your credit card company handle it”. Customer service?
Adam, 20th 2010 August, 2010
I joined lunarpages about 8 years ago coz a friend who uses it said they are very good. Unfortunately I can tell you that is not the case, I'm on a basic hosting plan with unlimited everything and now I got quite a bit of people coming to my site, but they have made it a habit to suddenly suspend my site, then send a message saying I am using too much resources and give me price plans for their dedicated service. What a bunch of losers, sucking in people with unlimited resources scams.


I thought I was alone but searching on google i found this page and looks like they do this to everyone.

My recommendation: if you got static pages and expect a few people to come to your site daily, go for it, but if you are looking for a solid deal, this is not the place for you, they will make your hosting life a hell and try to up sell every chance they get.
Duke, 13th 2010 July, 2010
LP is a pile of shit honestly! They shut down my site because I had exxasive CPU and MEM usage. If I can control my cpu usage from the thousand of peple going to my site...then I'm internet god!
SHUT DOWN MY site for no warning whatsoever. Just out of the blue, an email. What if my site is money making machine and I was in holiday without internet access for 2 weeks??!?!

dumb ar*e hosting company! Think of your customer first....you sh1th0le!
joe, 05th 2010 July, 2010
Every host have problems, but Lunarpages is by far the wost host ever - and I tried dosens of the most popular hosts around.

I was one of the many guys in here that are saying "Lunarpages is excellent". And yes, it is excellent if you have a small website, and never need to contact support ever! Below are some points:

- If you need to contact support, you are screwed, most of the costomer support persons dont know what they are doing and dont have any basic understanding of hosting.

- If you are lucky and your website gets a few extra vitors one day, its likely that the guys at lunarpages will suspend your account becuase your website will consume more resources. (Even if you dont have a grat website with tons of traffic, sometimes they simply suspend it and thats all!)

- If anyone file a spam report against your website, your account gets suspended regardless if you send the email or not. You can ask someone to send a spam email and include your address to try this, lunarpages will not check anything, simply see your "innocent domain and suspend it".


Anyways, i rate this host 0 out of 10. Even if you never had problems i wouldnt sleep at night having a website hosted at lunarpages because i know that its a matter of time before something happen and my website is offline!

A HOST is a good host when things that i explained above are not tackled by mindless people.


I was with lunarpages for 5 years without problems, and then things started to come up.

check on google for hosts reviews and you will see that lunarpages is ful of negative feedback!



Casey, 02nd 2010 June, 2010
This sevice sucks! They shut me down with no warning what so ever. No phone call, no email no help whatsoever! Shut off email as well which is my main form of communication. They suck!
Casey, 02nd 2010 June, 2010
Yep, they suspened my account for eccessive cpu usage. They wouldnt help me figure out why and just shut me down. The worst part is they shut my email off as well which is my main form of communication, I found out on my own by going to my site and finding there was not site. No phone call, no email no help! This service is a joke!
Todd, 03rd 2010 February, 2010
Looneypages suck!!!!
Todd C, 03rd 2010 February, 2010
Charged me for "phantom services." The folks over at looneypages are nothing but a pile of hot steaming cow dung crooks!!!
Jason, 22nd 2010 January, 2010
I have been using Lunarpages.com since October of 2005 and had nothing but great things to say about it. I have several sites running on their servers, some are CMS systems while others were created in Microsoft Frontpage and both have ran perfect for the entire time that they have been hosted with lunarpages. I am not a professional web designer, but I feel that I have a good deal of knowledge in this practice and believe that the people with problems are nothing more than people who aren't technically savvy and try to blame it on the web server. If you don't undersand how to create a website, you can't take out your frustrations on the company....they simply give you a platform for your files to run on, you can't expect them to bend overbackwards for you for a mere $4.95-$8.95 per month, can you? Lunarpages has always had good support for me along with a pile of free ad-ons to get your site going. The only thing that I will say is yes Lunarpages charges your credit card automatically about a week before your plan is expired, but that is merely to assure that your site doesn't experience any downtime for billing reasons. So, if you are planning to switch services or close your account I suggest that you do it before the last minute so you aren't automatically charged. But aside from that everything with lunarpages is a go for me.....2 thumbs up. Don't let the others on this blog fool you, they are a great hosting option!
Asmatullah Kohistani, 09th 2010 January, 2010
This company doesn't give you what they promise after you use 6 GB of storage the suspend your account after contacting they said to me that I am using too many resources and asked me to host two dedicated server for my web site I transfared my web site immediately I tell never ever try them the worst Hosting Company I have ever used in the past 10 years amond 20 hosting companies.
Steve, 22nd 2009 December, 2009
will not process my order until i fax hard copy of Credit card and ID. However, they will not give me credit for the amount that they charged on my card
steve, 22nd 2009 December, 2009
They take your money but then request hard copies. This is not the way to do business. Referring me to their billing department for a credit.

A technician responded to your ticket with:

Hello,

Thank you for your interest in Lunarpages. The reason we ask for verification, is for security purposes only. We would like to assure you are the proper credit card holder. We like to protect our clients, as well as Lunarpages from any fraudulent activity. You may cover the first set of numbers of the credit card if you would feel more comfortable. We only require the last four digits and full name for verification.

Once verification is received, we will process the order. Should you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us.

Thank you once again.


Best regards,

Lydia Ocampo
Lunarpages Web Hosting
_______________________________________________

Lunarpages.com - Taking Your Site Higher
Phone: 1-714-521-8150
steve, 22nd 2009 December, 2009
Interesting, they take my money but will not setup my site until I send a hard copy of my credit card and id. WOW, when I request my credit they defer to their billing department. If you have requirements you request those before excepting my cash. This is crap!
I have 6 sites on lunarpages., 17th 2009 December, 2009
don't let the few people that have had a bad experience sour your choice. Every company has problems now and then and no one is perfect. Give them a shot, I did... and I refer many clients of mine to them as well.
tigin, 13th 2009 December, 2009
DONT USE THIS HOSTING.

i'm existing LP members, and i want to terminate my account now! my site is h*acked and they did not do anything! they dont answer your question!

believe me, STAY AWAY FROM LP! LP Su*CK~
tigin, 13th 2009 December, 2009
when i was signup on LP 4 years ago, everything is almost perfect! but now ..pls guys ...DONT USE IT..they up the price without notification, and worst part is ..when my website get hacked, (i wonder, how can my site get hacked easily, my username and password was stolen easily!), THEY HAVE VERY VERY BAD SUPPORT! i have to wait for 3 days! and my site still down!!!

BELIEVE ME, DONT USE THIS S*UCK HOSTING!!!
haha, 30th 2009 November, 2009
haha at the review below, that company suspended my account only after telling me that torrent trackers are allowed! Rubbish, not reccomended.
George Boy, 21st 2009 November, 2009
Used to be good, now horrible service. Lots of spam scripts inserted into web sites. Why?... BIG CONCERN.. Owner Ron Riddle is a Hells Angel... check this out http://www.myspace.com/filthyron
Carl, 03rd 2009 November, 2009
These people suck, they claim I used too many resources I mean what the hell. I came across someone on a forum and he offered me free web hosting at first and later set up a web site (http://hostrace.net), I signed up to silver, willingly and havn't had a problem since! Don't use these big companys.
Lunar User, 02nd 2009 October, 2009
Jimbo - dont you know you can use 587 for smtp also?
Amazing, 13th 2009 September, 2009
Lunarpages has been reasonably good for me since may 2007. I have 2 windiws accounts an 1 linux. Some problems here and there from their server, but overall more than satisfactory. Customer support via tickes is very good most of the time. It gets a little slower and less efficient in the summar months.
Linux hosting is non competitive, maybe ypu can find better companies, but windows hosting is really good, I was not able to find another company that offers comaprable windoes services for decent price as Lunarpages do. Needless to say I would improove a few things, but you cannot pay a RollsRoyce at the price of a FIAT Panda
Rita
Cosa Nostra Nephew..., 29th 2009 August, 2009
You know that this company must fear backlash from a lot of upset customers when their office is located directly accross the street from the police station...that should tell you something.

That's OK. I aint skeered...
Jimbo, 21st 2009 August, 2009
This is a very strange company indeed. They only allow SMTP on port 25, which is of course blocked by every ISP on the planet. It is a port relegated to spam. EVERY other ISP uses an alternate port. Basically, this means that you do not get email with their hosting. This makes no sense, but it is their policy. I was outta there as fast as could!
This site sucks, 06th 2009 August, 2009
This website is loaded with a bunch of idiots posting reviews about their horrible personal experiences... how do we know they're legit?
Steve, 26th 2009 July, 2009
If you need absolute basic hosting then LunarPages is for you.
For those who need more than plain web pages hosted, STAY AWAY from LunarPages - tech support is absolutely the worst out there!
James, 07th 2009 July, 2009
I am an advanced student designer and I would like to build my portfolio of sites to show my future clients. If you need a site built under ten pages in size for your online biz then email me as I will build it for you for free if possible.
bobbysusi8@gmail.com
David, 05th 2009 July, 2009
Lunarpages.com has been sued in New York.

Mehmet v. Add2Net d/b/a Lunarpages.com
David, 05th 2009 July, 2009
Becareful, an employee of Lunarpages.com stated that Lunarpages.com was paying her to post fake positive feedback.

I wouldn't be surprised if the postive posts here are from Lunarpages employees.
Nathan, 20th 2009 May, 2009
Lunarpages has a stupid policy that they will shut down your website at any time without a warning notice just because your usage is high, but they do not provide a tool for a client to monitor the usage. So you never know if your usage will be high or low next day or next minute, in other words, you never know when your website will be suspended by them. If you are running your business, never put your website on a host like lunarpages, because when they suspend your website in this way, you will need one week or more time to deal with them and beg them to get your website back. They will hold your website as hold a hostage, and force you to move to an expensive dedicated server.
frank, 12th 2009 May, 2009
lunarpages yea don't make me laugh this place is one sick joke hours waiting on tech support if you'd like to call it that no wonder they have "24/7/365 Award Winning Support" on the bottom of their packages read the small print....There is no smallprint
Ben, 30th 2009 April, 2009
I tried them. Didn't like their overselling attitudes.
-J, 04th 2009 April, 2009
I didn't like their JSP at all, they are NOT a good Java host at all. Their ASP worked ok. Like most hosting companies - hard to reach customer support.
RussianGuy, 01st 2009 April, 2009
Almost a year went by and they are sending e-mails (Lunaticpages) and are trying to collect some sort of charges. 165 dollars!!! Account was closed a month of miserable hell with their support - cPanel "glitches" the domain was transferred as soon as it was "unlocked" - paid all the fees associated with that and now a year later they are asking for billing ahead on account that doesn't exist. Insane people from insane company... The name says it all... Lunar Pages... Looney Pages as my wife call them...
Tim, 09th 2009 March, 2009
I've switched my website from lunarpages.. but they still kept my money. It should be illegal for lunarpages to even advertise webhosting. You could not find a worse host even if you try to.
Brian, 14th 2009 February, 2009
This article is true, I have been a long time customer of Lunarpages and have recently terminated my account. Everything you read about them from other sites is true as well. It may not happen to you now, but trust it will.

Lunarpages when compared to other hosting companies has the worst customer support out there. The people that you actually speak with are not savy enough to handle technical requests and are not intelligent enough to do their job. It’s not thier fault Lunarpages doesn’t have the money to compete with other hosting companies and cannot afford to pay for quality help. When you call, you’ll be on hold for at least 30 minutes to an hour during regular business hours. Only one person answers the phone.

Also, they have shut sites down during normal business hours to migrate servers without notice. Something that should be done after hours, not during peak hours.

They also have the worst e-mail system on the planet. Lunarpages allows for spamming sites to be hosted on their servers and as a result (shared hosting) you will find your e-mail getting returned because your server has spammed MSN, AOL and others. It’s a pain to have to e-mail support, (you cannot call “real” support)and wait for a response which can take days, just to send e-mail to clients.

So to those that read this and think this cannot be true, sign and wait and see…it WILL happen to you. Same applies for those that are currently hosting with them.

This company will be out of business very very soon and the world will be a better place for it.
uNeedHelp, 18th 2008 December, 2008
One of my clients bought a domain and hosting at Lunarpages and it sucks! The control panel interface looks like something made for kids and is about useless - I can't find my DNS numbers, domain lock or any other pertinent information. Support blows - tickets never get answered. And the idiots that say "What do you expect for $8/month?" are MORONS! I have nearly 50 domains at Go Daddy and several sites hosted there. Go Daddy support is fantastic and hosting is less than $5/month with zero downtime or problems.
Lunarpages Sucks, 03rd 2008 December, 2008
Lunarpages is bullshit. Stole my domain name which was averaging 500 users online at once and then sold it to a warez site owner. They made about 2,000$ from me. What did I get? I lost thousands of dollars from possible sales.
J.L., 26th 2008 November, 2008
Bad. Very bad company. Lunarpages had suspended my account 2 times in 24 hours and deleted my databases without advices or warning. This is a very bad company.

Disabled me for CPU usage (same story - mind you, I had only used 3GB of bandwith out of the 800G that came with the package).

I prefer the lfchosting. A reliable company
Mike Riley, 07th 2008 November, 2008
Guys this is a good company! But not to those who buy an awesome domain name. The reason they shut you down for bogus reasons is that they can gain access to your great-looking URL/domain and sell it for gold!!!This is how they make money.To prevent this search for tucows log in and claim your domain at least you can have your dignity!!!Seems like BBB cant help either, u have take it to the law!Cheers...
fadsfdsgf, 14th 2008 October, 2008
Hell this service
fasdfds, 14th 2008 October, 2008
Hell this service
Gonz, 05th 2008 October, 2008
I had hosting with them and was using 5gb a day of transfer and they said i was using 12% of their servers CPU. They suspended my account and my site started becoming very stagnant and no longer makes money for me.
Battery Universe, 03rd 2008 August, 2008
I've been with them for 2 years. My secure key has broken 3 times. I cant get them to fix it. This time its been down for 3 days. Same BS answer every time I call. I told them what to do because of the problems last time. 3 Days havent even looked at my ticket yet. Ive lost THOUSANDS in sales. Never hosting with them again.
Chris, 14th 2008 July, 2008
go with networksolutions.com their hosting may be a bit more expensive but they have won the jdpower customer service award the past few years. Get what you pay for.
JBT, 13th 2008 July, 2008
This company is begging for lawsuits.
Jeff, 03rd 2008 July, 2008
I Was with this company for a while, and had many problems.

The offers are too good to be true.
But I got what I paid for. No point in trying to buy a ferrari for the same price as a family sedan.
I ended up going with deepbluehosting.com who allowed me to trial for a week as I explained to them about the problems I have had, and although their prices are much more expensive, everything has been great! Support times are really quick, and no problems yet!

Bill, 24th 2008 June, 2008
What a crappy fraudulent company. They blacklist any one who tries to upload to their own server. They shut off domains and don't tell you and their tech support makes threats if you ask for them to fix things. They should not only go out of business they should be shot.
tina, 18th 2008 May, 2008
many downtown issues, support comes back with generic answers without any real investigation of your comments. they deleted one of my web sites without notice, then charged restoration fee to an old version ov web site.
I've decided to leave them.
curious once again, 03rd 2008 May, 2008
This site is owned by someone in Russia
Kaunas Lithuania to be exact.
curious again, 03rd 2008 May, 2008
According to the BBB this webhosting company has 45 complaints in the last 36 months!
They started their business in 2002-6 yrs ago.
Evidently every poster on this page complained about them to the BBB.
WHY are they still in your top 10 list???
curious, 03rd 2008 May, 2008
To this website owner:
WHY oh why do you have these webhosting companies listed in high ratings when so many ppl are complaining about them?
This has to do with the crediibility of YOUR company.
Let me check YOU out with BBB and see what they got to say!

David Helder, 01st 2008 May, 2008
Do not mess with them! I suppose their business is part of money laundering scheme.
Peter, 26th 2008 April, 2008
They are playing fools.
Support is extremely bad.
I paid for anonymous domain registration and after a while discovered, that ALL my details exposed in WHOIS search. My home address, my phone number, everything!
I paid to be secure - they did exactly the opposite!!!
Hosts are overloaded - that is the reason they "cheap", they will cost you a lot of money, time and effort!!!
Their support is very impolite and they DO NOT GIVE ANY POSITIVE RESOLUTION IN ANY CONFLICT SITUATION.
Stay away from them!!!
Looneypages, 19th 2008 April, 2008
Crooks!!!!....Plain and simple
Lunrpages, 07th 2008 March, 2008
Lunarpages has defaulted in answering a $10 Million lawsuit against it and a hearing is set to enter the default and calculate damages.
ryan, 04th 2008 March, 2008
not a bad hosting. No downtime for my site (almost one year) so far. HOWEVER, they disabled my web folders (galleries) as they claimed my site takes too much traffic/simultaneous connections (as what the declared 50 for each shared account). Allowing 50 connections for each account? That's way too low!
James L, 20th 2008 February, 2008
I second the Julian's comment. I dislike these monster companies in general. Very poor service and stupid promises of mega bandwidth and storage. Try to use it and you'll be disconnected in no time. I went with TRK Hosting after one of my friends recommended them. Best move I ever made !

James
Rachel, 19th 2008 February, 2008
I got suckered - signed up for the shared account, after ten days they disabled me for CPU usage (same story - mind you, I had only used 13GB of bandwith out of the 800G that came with the package) - so i shelled out the big bucks for a dedicated server.

What a mistake. I thought that for several hundred a month, you would get better service. Turned out to be Worse! Your server, your problem was the general attitude of the support staff. In my dedicated sign-up email, the IPs were wrong! And it just got worse from there. Three months and we were out of there - of course, they charged me for the renewal even though I had written them expressly denying them permission to charge my credit card.
Got that money back in the end (can you say chargeback?)
julian, 04th 2008 February, 2008
This is a very strange company indeed. They only allow SMTP on port 25, which is of course blocked by every ISP on the planet. It is a port relegated to spam. EVERY other ISP uses an alternate port. Basically, this means that you do not get email with their hosting. This makes no sense, but it is their policy. I was outta there as fast as could!
Herb York, 01st 2008 February, 2008
Visit my website at www.astromart.com and register. I need the money.
Holt, 22nd 2008 January, 2008
Very poor customer support. Stay away from this hosting service.
Tanweer, 12th 2008 January, 2008
I've been trying to switch from Linux hosting to Windows hosting, and when I tried to place an order, I couldn't go through, as every time their system say, The transaction has been declined, I have used my all credit cards, each card returned me a same error. Even I tried to call the support team, and no body answered, just forwarding to the answering machine. So I count their sevice as a NEGATIVE.
Larry, 07th 2008 January, 2008
A lot of you people are on crack!

LP has been my choice for SHARED hosting for years. I've had a couple of problems, but support was there and helped me out, BIG TIME.

If your site sees too much traffic or server load, then you should upgrade to DEDICATED hosting! Period.

What the hell do you people want for $8/month...
Bruce M, 27th 2007 December, 2007
Quality and support go downhill from the start. Problems are cause by Lunarpages, eg I lost several weeks of the cumulative log file (info relied upon). That was due to an upgrade or change they made elsewhere. Logging stopped. I discovered at ? 2 week of no logging. Then it took them a long time to fix. Affected other sites on that server. When they imposed requirement to change passwords every six months, this being not acceptable for self and because a programmer is used, only confusion and lack of security could result, I decided to leave them at end of my paid period. Had 2 hosting accounts. Sent them an email, then a fax. Gave all details that would allow authentication and for them to confirm validity of notice of termination. They confirmed for one account but not the other. For the second account they gave the line of "To continue with the process of your cancellation you will need to verify the
last 4 digits of your credit card you have in file with us. Per management,
username and password information is no longer sufficient to cancel. If it
helps the credit card we currently have on file is a Visa that expired on
11/2007." They confirmed for the one account without a card number. Seems like a conflict and arbitrary rules. Actually they should not have card number "on file" because it was requested at payment to be zeroed out and be set to check/invoice billing. Apparently they may not comply. Now to 3 faxes with signature, latter one includes driver license. I also notice in terms (which they had never provided to me) that they say regarding my personal info "may disclose such information to public or private third parties as applicable law may require or permit."
About a dozen emails now back and forth and 3 faxes, still awaiting confirmation of termination AND full DELETION of ALL my personal information. Their TOS info (now obtained) may be illegal and not binding.
George, 27th 2007 December, 2007
I left them because of declining product and poor service. Troubles with service were usually caused by LP staff. Jan 2007 I had renewed for 2 yrs thinking not "too" bad, but their newly imposed requirement to change password every 6 mos was unacceptible and they would not budge. Other hosts do not "require" password changes every X months. There was no need for it. Took 3 faxes and multiple phone calls to terminate. My leaving was due to "their" causes. They initially were not going to refund anything. I had used 6 mos out of 24 mos. I would have gone to court and after a letter to the owner via certified mail they finally refunded. I feel their terms may be illegal. May not be binding being that they don't provide a physical hard copy. And little or no protections in their terms for customers. I would say keep far away from Lunarpages and Add2net. Owned by Ron Riddle. Son, Chad Riddle can also be rude and defamatory. I should have sued the son and may still consider it.
John, 22nd 2007 December, 2007
They suspended my site permanently without notice for "using more than 1% CPU". Doing the math, 1% is about 3 clicks per minute. Absurd!!!! Cost me tons of customers and profits. Oh and they offered to bring my site back up for a mere price of $100 one time fee + $99/month!! No where in the contract on advertising did they mention this 1% rule. (They sited me for 3%)
Brian, 19th 2007 December, 2007
Hell from day one. They nuked my account the day after it went live because a search engine indexed it. That was 98 days ago, and after two days of downtime, I convinced them to bring the site back up. Yesterday, they killed it again. Their support could not figure out why. Eventually, it was determined that it was an error. They cited the 98 day old incident, but later a supervisor confirmed that they had no idea why it died, and had the site restored. 15 minutes later, it was disabled again, and again, with no explanation. The site's about to grow, and I'm happy to be leaving this horrible host. I suppose you're fine if you serve static html pages and get less than 100 hits a day. If you do anything fancier than that, look elsewhere.
Jeremy, 14th 2007 December, 2007
I was with these guys for a couple of years. My experience was very stressful. As my traffic and bandwidth grew, rather then telling me I needed to upgrade they simply removed me and required me to sign up to much greater packages. Apart from being close to extortion, for me this was really bad for business with downtime running into days. If you have clients who rely on your website and plan to grow - DO NOT select this provider. The fact that they are even on the list at #10 amazes me.
UPDATE, 01st 2007 December, 2007
Lunarpages.com has been served with the Summons and Complaint requesting Ten Million Dollars against them for their bad behavior. Lunarpages has harmed other consumers who use their services. You use them at your own risk as they have exhibited a reckless disregard for the rights of others.

Read the Lawsuit against Lunarpages.com:
http://www.badisse.com/LunarpagesLawsuit/Complaint.html
User Agreement, 24th 2007 November, 2007
As proof that Lunarpages.com is run by a some bad people, read their user agreement. '

Lunarpages user Agreement contains multiple illegal clauses. For example, it restricts punitive damages, it exempts itself from "intentional" misconduct, it gives itself reimbursement for attorney fees and it's clients nothing, which is in violation of State and Federal Consumer Protection laws. It provides zero compensation in its "liquidation of damages" clause that is commingled with its "Limited Liabilities" clause. It also fails to give sufficient NOTICE of contract amendments as per law. In addition, it violates federal statutes as it prohibits federal lawsuits, which is unconstitutional as it prevents clients from suing them under federal jurisdiction like a claim under the RICO act.

Just know this. At this time, Lunarpages contract is illegal and can be entirely rescinded. It shocks the mind as to the one-sided clauses. It is a contract of adhesion. By showing that Lunarpages committed gross negligence or acted with reckless disregard for another's rights, or malice, States will not allow them to hide behind a "limited liabilities" clause and a request for damages in the millions can be requested, which can include punitive damages.
Review, 24th 2007 November, 2007
I've heard that Lunarpages.com has been setting up phony websites and giving itself positive reviews to make it look like they are being recommended by legitimate third party websites. They are committing a fraud to mislead consumers.
Lunarpages.com, 24th 2007 November, 2007
Lunarpages.com has been sued for Ten Million Dollars. Before you use their service, you should read the Complaint and know that this is habitual bad behavior that they have exhibited to other clients of theirs. You use their services at your own risk.

Summons and Complaint:
http://badisse.com/LunarpagesLawsuit/Complaint.html

Lunarpages, 24th 2007 November, 2007
Lunarpages.com has been sued for Ten Million Dollars. Before you use their service, you should read the Complaint and know that this is habitual bad behavior that they have exhibited to other clients of theirs. You use their services at your own risk.

http://badisse.com/LunarpagesLawsuit/Complaint.html
John Newnham, 14th 2007 November, 2007
I was with with these guys once, and horrible experiences.
I ended up moving to deepbluehosting.com which costs me more than these guys but I havent had any problems whatsoever, and their support is awesome!
I found that they are honest as I did ask why they were expensive, and they mentioned a list of reasons including that most cheap companies give you the world but restrict cpu usage, which clients generally cant monitor.
So you guys should maybe ask deepbluehosting.com for a trial or something.
Wade, 07th 2007 November, 2007
DON'T USE LUNARPAGES. It's a scam. Like many others reviews, I've also experienced the "high" cpu usage and my account has been suspended. The funny thing is, my site wasn't even live, I was in development stage. STAY AWAY!
greg, 21st 2007 October, 2007
Just tried lunar pages after reading the good reviews. I signed up for a year, and after not hearing from them for two days, I inquired. I found mysylf stuck in their e-ticket system (all I wanted was my username and password). I had to give them all my information a second time round, and the they suddenly tell me my account was cancelled for a "problem with my phone number." My number is valid, I've had it for 12 years. If there was a problem, why did they not contact me to begin with? Why was I forced to track them down when I already paid? Truthfully, I'm sort of glad this got exposed now, before I put my sites on their servers.
ramnam, 11th 2007 October, 2007
One of the worst hosting company - but surprise why it is getting ranked amongst top 10?

They offer 400 to 800 GM bandwidth - which of no use - because if couple of users are browsing the same webpage, they would move your site to temp. server and after 24-hours you site will be nonoperational citing 'high resource utilization'. At one stage, my website had ONE PAGE - and still they reported OVER UTILIZATION of resources?

### LUNARPAGES is NOT recommended ###
Darth Ak-Sar-Ben, 08th 2007 October, 2007
Their transfer of our domain went well. I've added add-on-domains without problems, emails all went well. What I REALLY don't like is this new hijaking of the error pages and then come up with a new Terms Of Service after the fact. It is hard to get ahold of tech support but possible. Not possible during late evening or or weekends. They recently deleted a whole 9 page thread dealing with issues of the 404error fiasco. They used THEIR client's domain names as a server for some sleasy advertising if someone types in a wrong or non existent web address for one of the domain holders. Rather than a standard error404 page, it directs to a sort of search page with hints of dating, games, travel and other unapproved links from the CUSTOMERS DOMAIN. Serious isseus here with deleting whole threads, banning their clients for expressing their views and opinions, and lack of support overall. Not good.
Bill in AZ, 08th 2007 October, 2007
Uses customer domain names for affiliate advertising without permission. Support has gone from great to non-existant. Their support forum has been decimated by administrators deleting posts and banning regular posters.
Mesquiter, 08th 2007 October, 2007
LP has placed ads for companies on their 404 error pages. People objected on their forum and the forum posts were deleted as well as some users banned. They seem to be in the cover up mode. I have been with them for years and now looking for a new host, which is why I'm here:)
Tom, 22nd 2007 September, 2007
Oh yeah - and another thing. One time when they notified everyone (tried to anyway) that passwords would automatically expire on a given date, I never got *any* emails for *any* of my domains. When I complained, I got a sorry letter stating that yes, in fact, many mail ISPs had flagged the e-mails as spam and never even delivered them to their customers. They said they were totally aware this had happened, went ahead and expired the passwords anyway. Then the letter stated that the notices were "likely" flagged as spam due to the advertising links in it.
Need to tell your customers something absolutely critical via e-mail? Don't miss an opportunity to try and sell them something while you're at it! Even if it makes your e-mail look like spam. Smart. VERY smart.
Tom, 22nd 2007 September, 2007
Sorry guys...I have to step in here. Whatever you think of Lunarpages, it is simply NOT POSSIBLE to claim they have lightning fast, excellent support when you CANNOT SPEAK TO A PERSON WHEN YOU CALL ON THE PHONE FOR HELP. All you can do is leave a message, and then go bang your head on the keyboard while you pray someone gets back to you at some point in the near future. For me, it was the next day. Maybe they're faster at times, maybe they're slower. Even if it only takes "an hour or two" under no criteria can that be labeled "excellent" or "fast."
Sorry.
Also - they've locked me out of my own domains several times without warning, my password being "expired" for "security reasons." Fine. Just let me know...and give me an opportunity to choose a new one *before* I lose access and have to explain to the client that I cannot make the changes they need right now because, "Uh...I dunno the password..."
Jay again, 21st 2007 September, 2007
Its obvious reading half the posts that some of the idiots writting are either from other hosting companies or got their websites shut down for a reason. DONT BLAME SUPPORT. I've been a webmaster for over 6 years and they have the best there is to offer.
Jay, 21st 2007 September, 2007
I run about 10 sites with them and like any other hosting company they do have their share of problems. But, these bashes regarding support is totally untrue. E-mail I get a response within an hour or two. Price is unreal and I like the unlimited bandwidth. For that alone and all the add on's you can't totally lose.
The downsides are ... they are blacklisted from many mail servers. Comcast, Verizon and afew others sometimes have issues with them on various accounts. Its odd. Also, they just changed their affiliates program. Now instead of paying after each one you need to do three. What pissed me off is they never retroed anything. Thats not a huge deal, but I like to be told upfront things.
I've used 8 hosting companies in my life and Lunarpages is so far the best by far. Just be sure to never use Elevated Hosting. They totally blow.
raj, 17th 2007 August, 2007
old hosts with old servers ..they should close their company worst..
Joe, 07th 2007 August, 2007
After 1 year of service and with the account paid for the following year, Lunarpages deleted the entire web site with no backup. When I protested that the web site was inoperable, they said I hadn't paid. I forded proof of payment from several months before. Their reply oops sorry didn't check the receivable status. Web site gone no back up. I would never use them or recommend them
surprised, 31st 2007 July, 2007
I'm surprised by all the negative reviews. I've had Linux hosting with them for years with no problems, super-fast & excellent tech support and they upgrade their plans regularly. No complaints whatsoever here. Guess I'm lucky?
Scott, 22nd 2007 June, 2007
After being with them for 3 years they suddently decided to suspend my account, refund my remaining money to a card number that i no longer have, deleted my websites, don't respond to emails i sent them, the download link to the backup of my site did not work so i have lost all my members etc. I will not using them again.
Mack Truck, 16th 2007 June, 2007
Been with them a couple of years with no problems. Then been transfered to another server and emails got lost and delayed on a regular basis. No solution from tech support.
Big C, 13th 2007 June, 2007
I also started a Windows-hosted account with them when they began offering them and its just been one problem after the next. In particular, the e-mail for their Windows accounts is a disaster, with constant problems, including blanked passwords, e-mail bouncing, and sustained downtime. DO NOT get Windows hosting here.
Mike, 30th 2007 May, 2007
Wow! My EMAIL accounts, FTP accounts, FILES ARE GONE WTF.. OMG I AM SO PISSED OFF RIGHT NOW! I google "lunarpages deleted my site" it's not COMMON?!?! THEY CAN DIE!
Paul, 25th 2007 May, 2007
I maintain sites for a couple different organizations, and set them up on LunarPages. I haven't had any problems at all with them.

Now keep in mind, these are bargain prices; you can't expect them to wait on you hand-and-foot for $8 a month! If you want premium service, you best pay premium prices. For what they offer, I have to say I have no complaints. Rare downtime, emails seem to go through, haven't dealt with any spammers messing up my current servers (knock on wood!).

I cannot speak much about customer support, though, because I rarely have any issues.

Here's a negative for you blood-suckers:
They offer free hosting to public schools which is admirable, but they won't do it for private schools, which I think is pretty lame.

So this review is MOSTLY positive.
john, 21st 2007 May, 2007
not happy at all with this company!
Christie, 15th 2007 May, 2007
I used them for a bit and then decided to go to providerwebhosting.org because they were giving away free domain names. I may keep my account here as well though
Vanessa, 27th 2007 April, 2007
Few days ago their gemini server crashed. Myself and others have experienced ours of outage, restore of files was incomplete and sometime old version of files were restored. Permissions on directories were set wrong. Emails were gone. I've decided to leave them.
Philip Grayson, 07th 2007 April, 2007
I've been with Lunarpages for 2 years. I'm a relative novice, and I've found them to be good. Uptime has been fine - only one noticeable break of 3 hours in 2 years. I'm independent - I have no axe to grind either for or against them - I'm the webmaster for www.filestreamsystems.co.uk
Danny O, 01st 2007 April, 2007
Used them for over a year, TERRIBLE people, constantly tell you new hardware is needed even when it is not, they make extra charges on your account based on nothing but lies, servers are ALWAYS DOWN, their support is very inexperienced and VERY rude
Mario, 31st 2007 March, 2007
Lunarpages had deleted my databases without advices or warning. This is a very bad company. The service is arbitrary and discontinuos. The users support is comic.
In italiano: sono i soliti furbetti del quartierino che ingannano i principianti.
jamie, 28th 2007 March, 2007
I would not recomend lunarpages to a friend
Gabe, 16th 2007 March, 2007
This company is all about one thing and one thing only... Rippin customers off! LP will not be around much longer.
David, 27th 2007 February, 2007
Lost incoming emails. Tons of them. That is completely unacceptable. Switching ASAP.
TheOne, 20th 2007 February, 2007
We switched to lunar but we got so many problem with the server ,always down, slow, service is a big ZERO, we decide to switch over bluehost, Since we are on bluehost no problem.

They have similar price but the service is way better
kipp, 12th 2007 February, 2007
lunarpages was my 2nd host....although not as bad as addr.com i would not recommend them. now i'm search for my next host. there's gotta be a reliable host.
Rob, 09th 2007 February, 2007
Super! Very helpful with setting up Zend for PHP.
Rick, 01st 2007 February, 2007
Absoulutely worst host, signed up and in 2 weeks still NO SERVER, they however did charge my credit card, I HAVE TO DISPUTE THE CHARGE NOW. Cust Support is nonexistent, no servers BUYER BEWARE SCAMMERS
Justin, 25th 2007 January, 2007
Morons. Don't even think about using them for Windows hosting. I can't speak about Linux, but I have constant unremedied problems with them. My email doesn't work one day in ten.
Jessie James, 20th 2007 January, 2007
Support is slow and they take forever to resolve an issue. Do yourself a favor Rank the 100 not 10 spend a dollar or two more get a real service provider.
James, 20th 2007 January, 2007
The Worst Support Ever.
Searfin, 30th 2006 November, 2006
Money suckers, they suck better than a leech infection you with viruses...
Bob, 20th 2006 November, 2006
I had two sites on Lunarpages.com. I believe they can offer such low prices because they unplug their servers two or three days a month.

Seriously, if you want to drive away your customers through frequent downtime and system unavailability, go with Lunarpages
Mike, 21st 2006 October, 2006
I can speak only for their Windows hosting plans which are good for the money. Email system is down frequently and anything sent to you will be lost. The support respond to you with cut-and-paste delay tactics - and that is for urgent probelms. I am switching... but where to!
joe, 21st 2006 October, 2006
still with them although stability/reliability is terrible for the windows plan and support is even worse. moderators on their forums are in Baghdad Bob full-spin mode: "there was no outage! do not listen to the infidel customer! LP is great!" i'd move off of them but it's too much of a hassle right now.
James, 10th 2006 October, 2006
I've had nothing but good support. The onw and only time I needed help and called support they told me the person tat would need to help me had unfortunately just went on break but they paged him anyway and within one minute the guy came and helped me fix my issue - on his own time. Also, I've been a lunarpages customer for years and have never once had downtime. I think some of these reviews are isolated incidents.
Ming, 10th 2006 September, 2006
Whoever says that lunarpages has no support are idiots. Lunarpages provided me the greatest support I have ever encountered. Their life chat support usually responds in 10-45 seconds. The email and phone support are quick too. Those who posted negatively about lunarpages here got to be working for another company wanting to defame lunarpages. You guys dont even explain yourselves well or provide any evidence why lunarpages is bad at all.
Clive, 05th 2006 September, 2006
Had two sites for four years; excellent service and impeccable uptime; Only problem was when I sent out a mail shot to 1000 of my registered users they stopped the account until i spoke to them. they certainly do not like you sending out mailshots!
Kelly, 17th 2006 July, 2006
worst uptime

Dont have sme;; this host, it stings
Kevin Whynot, 14th 2006 July, 2006
Of all the hosting companies I have dealt with lunarpages has the most problems with uptime. There have been multiple instances in teh past 6 months when I couldn't even get to their site, let alone mine. Not impressed
Bryan K Thompson, 11th 2006 July, 2006
Lunarpages sucks because they shut down my site for supposedly taking up too many resources. No warning and NO HELP to get the problem resolved. These people are a bunch of morons. DO NOT chance your time and money to them. They made my life very painful for about 7 days until I could get off their servers and on to another host - JavaServletHosting.com. I have been with JavaServletHosting.com for over a year and never had one problem. It costs 11.95 per month versus the 8.95 I was paying at Lunarpages but I get what I pay for. Stay away from LunarPages!!!!!
mindaugas, 30th 2006 June, 2006
I had 2 or 3 accounts at lunarpages, and agree - their support is horrible. Run away from lunarpages! Now i'm live at eapps.com
John, 14th 2006 June, 2006
these people suck! don't use big companies like this. Too impersonal and outsourced. Go with smaller companies who still care about customer service such as http://trkhosting.com
They provide excellent service and personal support

John
Jason, 12th 2006 May, 2006
I've never had any issues with Lunarpages in my 3 years as a customer. I've had accounts on different servers, and asked a fair share of questions, and never once have I had a bad or unforgiving experience. Uptime is impeccable, and support stuff is friendly, courteous and have always been willing to go that extra little bit just to get me set in the right direction. Lunarpages gets 10/10 from me!
Kathy, 12th 2006 May, 2006
I have 2 accounts with Lunarpages. Never had a problem with either. Support has always been excellent and much better/faster than another host I was using who is rated higher. Would recommend.
Jim Estes, 11th 2006 April, 2006
bunch of amateurs. Don't recommend.

J
Jeff, 08th 2006 April, 2006
bad host , absolutely the worst. No support. Only morons work there.

Jeff
john, 07th 2006 April, 2006
this company sucks. No customer support. Do not recommend !

John Stell
Write Your Review
Your name

Your lunarpages.com review

Positive Negative





Do not miss - latest discount from lunarpages.com
Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. © 2004 - 2010