Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.meccahosting.com
Meccahosting General Information
  Meccahosting is providing Linux web hosting services, has been founded in 2001 and now it's years in business.

meccahosting.com average uptime is 99.998% (rank #86 on our directory) with total 85439 successful and 2 failed checks, monitored since 2006-02-01. Similar companies with 99.998% uptime are and zonerhosting.com.

Search for "meccahosting.com" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 67766 results so company name popularity rank is #85.

There have been 27 positive votes for Meccahosting and 25 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #231 (similar companies are atlanticinternet.com and inmotionhosting.com)

Web Hosting Packages
  Mini (Type: Linux) - 50 MB space, 5000 MB bandwidth for $2.95/mo

Value (Type: Linux) - 100 MB space, 20 GB bandwidth for $5.95/mo

Basic (Type: Linux) - 200 MB space, 40 GB bandwidth for $8.95/mo

Express (Type: Linux) - 300 MB space, 6000 MB bandwidth for $11.95/mo

Corporate (Type: Linux) - 600 MB space, 100 GB bandwidth for $19.95/mo

Some technical data about meccahosting.com
  IP Location: Texas - Houston - Everyones Internet Inc
Blacklist Status: Clear
Nameserver: NS1A.NXEV.COM NS1B.NXEV.COM
Registrar: TUCOWS INC.
Server Type: Apache
Website Title: Mecca Hosting ® - Fast. Reliable. Secure.
Description: Mecca Hosting is a pioneer in developing low-cost, customized hosting solutions since 2000. Fast, Friendly Support 24/7 365 Days. 60-Second Account Activation Guarantee. Member of the Better Business Bureau.

Back to "M" directory


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
Tom, 24th 2011 July, 2011


I've never experienced any down time. Their customer support has always been prompt, courteous, and effective (I use the contact form on their site).

Twice Meccahosting has saved me from my own disastrous blunders: one time they reinstalled Wordpress for me when I had hosed it beyond repair, and another time they rescued a domain name for me that I had let lapse without renewing it on time.

Meccahosting may not be the best ISP for completely non-technical customers -- the user interfaces on their site are more functional than elegant.

When asking for support, I always give them something to go on, after doing some research myself. For example, to enable "pretty permalinks," I knew to ask them to enable Mod-Rewrite. When I couldn't get automated emails for my blog to work, I knew to ask for SMTP support.

If you are a frustrated, non-technical user who wants to scream at somebody over the phone with vague complaints, Meccahosting is probably not the service provider for you.
Tom, 24th 2011 July, 2011
Some of you people are obviously in a parallel universe, because I've used Meccahosting to host 4 different web sites -- all with excellent results.
Reviewer, 05th 2011 July, 2011
Please stay away from this company. They defrauded us, stole our emails and are unethical. BE CAREFUL. Find a host that has a WORKING PHONE NUMBER. MECCA HOSTING DOES NOT!!!!
Bob O., 09th 2011 March, 2011
I build sites for a living. A client decided to use them. Worst ever. No features, no control. very limited. It is real basic and not worth it.
Most hosting companies give you unlimited space, they don't. Not much. Avoid!!!!
zorzetta, 23rd 2010 August, 2010
seriously, never use this company.
Kevin S., 22nd 2010 February, 2010
They have no support, no phone contact info, just some canned email responses. Really, really bad.
xmen, 24th 2009 August, 2009
http://rapid share.com/files/262466352/X-M3n.0rigins.W0lv3rin3.DVDRip.XviD-JUAMNJi.part1.rar
http://rapid share.com/files/262509866/X-M3n.0rigins.W0lv3rin3.DVDRip.XviD-JUAMNJi.part2.rar
http://rapid share.com/files/262494943/X-M3n.0rigins.W0lv3rin3.DVDRip.XviD-JUAMNJi.part3.rar
http://rapid share.com/files/262521234/X-M3n.0rigins.W0lv3rin3.DVDRip.XviD-JUAMNJi.part4.rar
http://rapid share.com/files/262508676/X-M3n.0rigins.W0lv3rin3.DVDRip.XviD-JUAMNJi.part5.rar
http://rapid share.com/files/262529547/X-M3n.0rigins.W0lv3rin3.DVDRip.XviD-JUAMNJi.part6.rar
http://rapid share.com/files/262516070/X-M3n.0rigins.W0lv3rin3.DVDRip.XviD-JUAMNJi.part7.rar
http://rapid share.com/files/262532609/X-M3n.0rigins.W0lv3rin3.DVDRip.XviD-JUAMNJi.part8.rar
Brian J Thomson, 30th 2009 June, 2009
A very poor choice as a service provider.
Derek Ingram, 30th 2009 June, 2009
Most unethical company I have ever run into!
Anonymous, 08th 2009 June, 2009
I have been with them for 3 years now. I am not a professional web page person, but I do know that some of the things going on with my site are screwed up. I have gotten horrible responses to problems and half the time my site doesn't come up with my company name it is through their server name. Now their server name isn't even working.

Please someone tell me who to go with so that I can get on with it! UGH!!

Thanks in advance.

PS: I am a Mac user if that makes any difference.
Dorene, 23rd 2009 March, 2009
I've been with meccahosting for over 3 years now and the service has been great. I'll admit that I really don't know anything about building websites, but with their Site Studio program it was easy and I get MANY compliments on how great my site is.
Mike R., 12th 2009 March, 2009
I was a Meccahosting customer since 2004. For serveral years they provided me great service. Not sure what happened, but in the last year it all fell apart. Their uptime and the quality their support went down quickly. I canceled my account today.
Nate, 09th 2009 January, 2009
Worst service ever!!!
wb, 04th 2008 November, 2008
I am looking for a website host and looked at meccahosting. Thanks for letting us know NOT to go with them.
Jonathan M., 13th 2008 July, 2008
No control over subdomains or any advanced options.

My experience: Their system dropped hosting prematurely. Customer support is either automated or outsourced to the cheapest sources imaginable.

The issue of the fact that they continually sent irrelevant canned responses eclipsed the original support issue. Pete, who I believe is in charge of support, was unwilling to address most of my complaints directly. The compensation was 10 extra months of service, but I had to pretty much ask for an outright apology for how I was treated. The apology was also rather disheartening.

I've posted the entire transcript here: http://www.jfmayer.com/meccahostingsupportdebacle.html
RON, 04th 2008 June, 2008
MONTY,

THANKS! I am starting the process now.

ron
Monty, 04th 2008 June, 2008
Ron - There are tons of companies from which to choose. That Blue Host name came up okay on the reviews list, but since I haven't finished the process, I can't officially vouch for or against them. http://www.bluehost.com/

Still, they were helpful on the PHONE (what a concept). It's a two-step process. It's very easy to start an account (like with all of them - they're very happy to take your money and get you set up). It's extricating yourself from the old host that is difficult. Blue Host looked up who had my domain and found that Network Solutions company. I called them and Network Solutions explained how I could get control of the domain from mecca hosting. I started that yesterday (oh yes - and mecca was supposed to call me within 1 business day- HA!). I knew that wouldn't happen so started the forcible takeover of domain control. Network Solutions (or whoever has your domain) will give you a form to do this. Just fax it back to them.

The way I understand it, when Network Solutions has completed the forcible control transfer, I can logon to their site and point to my new host servers, which allow e-mail to be resumed for my domain name.
RON, 04th 2008 June, 2008
Same problem here. I still can't access email. Can someone advise on how to transfer my service to another company. I am not a webmaster and I am not sure how to get my information such as the DNS info etc. HELP!

Also any advise on a better webhosting company?
Shea, 04th 2008 June, 2008
Here's some more info for you. This answers alot. This H1 data center "event" is affecting lots of companies.

I'm just an individual customer, so am just now figuring this out. It's old news to everyone else I guess. Apparently, it's far wider than just mecca hosting, though. Regardless, I'm moving my accounts from mecca hosting, too. 1) They should have provided us information (or a backup plan for this), and 2) I have to get my sites up and going again.

Data center event/fire/FBI raid? Who knows?

http://www.texasstartupblog.com/2008/06/03/data-center-explosion-fire-or-fbi-bust/

http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?p=5145640

Looks like it's nothing more than they lost their servers and didn't have a backup plan in case of an extensive outage. I'm just trying to save myself, now. Monty is right - Run for the hills. Find another company that works and move your sites there.


Monty, 04th 2008 June, 2008
Here's my course of action. Network Solutions said it would take 2 to 3 days to wrestle control of the domain away from mecca hosting, so I didn't waste time starting that. The catch is that mecca controls the domain. As such, I had to actually fax Network Solutions a form specifying that I wanted individual control of the domain because of unresponsive service from the hosting company. At that point, I can re-establish e-mail through an account at Blue Host ( http://www.bluehost.com/ ), which I'm trying. They appear to have had decent reviews, at least. I've talked with them a couple of times already - yes, by TELEPHONE (Wow!). I guess I will just write off all the e-mails I've missed and ping customers who may have tried to contact me. Fortunately, I'm not a web-based business. I cancelled the other two web hosting accounts I had at mecca hosting just this morning. If they have had a major disaster and had let the customers know about it, as well as their recovery path, then I might forgive that. Keeping customers in the dark is unforgivable.
rhyder, 03rd 2008 June, 2008
haven't had email access in 4 days now, no way to contact the company aside from the explosion and fire phone number. Has anybody heard anything? this will kill my business

Monty, 03rd 2008 June, 2008
Since no other information available from mecca hosting, this list seems to be the only way to transmit information. I started process to transfer domain to another host. When contacting Network Solutions (domain host), they said that this would have to be initiated by mecca. I tried to call a number listed on NS for mecca - only phone number I've found (Mecca: 1 866 996 5959). A recorded message describes explosion and fire (yes - you read that correctly. Call yourself). I tried to cancel another hosting account I had and was not allowed to do this through the account manager on mecca. I will call credit card company tomorrow and stop future payments. RUN FOR THE HILLS! They deserve a big lawsuit if there's any company left after all of this.
weeklyblip, 03rd 2008 June, 2008
Dead in the water now entering 4-days: Cannot receive mail from two email accounts and one website has disappeared due to ns10.meccahosting.com and ns2.meccahosting.com name server fails, no way to contact by phone, phone message to Service Manager Pete Howell not returned (this is the phone extension printed in their "Welcome" email), internal messaging system doesn't work, even message.meccahosting.com doesn't work , account webpage functions fail to load, no way to redirect domain names, etc. --- out of business? Doors closed?
Shea, 03rd 2008 June, 2008
I used to get halfway decent responses from these people via web support; however, this time their phone is down, I haven't gotten e-mail for three days, and no explanatory message is on their website. I think they closed their doors and didn't tell the customers. I'm about to be looking for a lawyer to sue for damages, that is, if there is even a company still out there. I suspect they've taken our credit card numbers and headed for Mexico.
D Monroe, 02nd 2008 June, 2008
Started out OK (2005-2007)
In 2008 they started falling apart.
Downtime...poor support.
Anonymous, 02nd 2008 June, 2008
Email service down for three straight days. Problem report submission not functioning either. Company phone number no longer on their website.

Done with their service as soon as I find a replacement.
Nicholas S, 01st 2008 June, 2008
You would not believe how bad the service and the product is until you start having problems. They are no help at all and you will never get to speak to a real person. Email NEVER works when you need it the most. Please do yourself a favor and find a different company! I waited over a year before I finally made the change...So much happier when you can call if you have a problem.
Jonathan, 10th 2008 March, 2008
I've been with Mecca Hosting for a while and as the previous reviewer wrote: you get what you pay for. They claim 24/7 technical support but all that means is that you'll receive an automated email response that your problem has been escalated and someone will work on it within 24 hours.

Their support is a joke. Half the time the first answer is a canned response. Completely worthless.

Now they have been having serious problems with email forwarding. I have lost many, many emails due to them not being forwarded correctly. And I had no idea until I saw that I had a huge dropoff in the number of daily emails. It''s been 2 weeks and they still haven't fixed this.

So if you rely on emails for your business or personal use then I cannot recommend Mecca Hosting.
Karen S, 10th 2008 March, 2008
Meccahosting is cheap and you get what you pay for. If you're okay with trying to access your importnat e-mail and getting a "server not responding" error message half the time then Mecca is for you. If you work on a Mac like me, don't expect easy access to your mail on Firefox either.
Write Your Review
Your name

Your meccahosting.com review

Positive Negative


Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. 2004 - 2010