Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.shieldhost.com
Shieldhost General Information
  Shieldhost is providing Linux web hosting services, has been founded in 2003 and now it's years in business.

shieldhost.com average uptime is 99.995% (rank #658 on our directory) with total 84189 successful and 4 failed checks, monitored since 2006-02-16. Similar companies with 99.995% uptime are and ihubnet.com.

Search for "shieldhost.com" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 439 results so company name popularity rank is #1331.

There have been 39 positive votes for Shieldhost and 61 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #2127 (similar companies are broovey.com and nemesistech.ca)

Web Hosting Packages
  Starter (Type: Linux) - 2000 MB space, 50 GB bandwidth for $3.99/mo

WebPlus (Type: Linux) - 5000 MB space, 200 GB bandwidth for $5.99/mo

Gold (Type: Linux) - 10 GB space, 200 GB bandwidth for $8.99/mo

Some technical data about shieldhost.com
  IP Location: Everyones Internet
Blacklist Status: Clear
Nameserver: NS1.SHIELDHOST.COM NS2.SHIELDHOST.COM
Registrar: GO DADDY SOFTWARE, INC.
Server Type: Apache
Website Title: ShieldHost.com - Web Hosting


Back to "S" directory


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
McPhilly, 25th 2011 August, 2011
Billing: terrible.
Usability of site interfaces: terrible.
Reliability: poor.
I am looking for another host.
Anything else you need to know?
Joe, 08th 2010 August, 2010
I get the same payment emails from a 5 year old account and I sent back that I don't owe - they don't care, just spamming and scamming, maybe some people pay and they make money - DO NOT USE SHIELDHOST.
tony, 10th 2010 May, 2010
i have been getting spammed with payment emails the last several days for an account that expired over three years ago. i get one email every five to ten minutes for hours on end. i would not recommend them to anyone. i think 30 emails in just 24 hours is a little ridiculous.
Matt, 23rd 2010 February, 2010
I actually had a great experience working with assorted internet. Hosting was spot on. I would get instant support and it was 24/7. Try working with them.
Roy, 31st 2009 July, 2009
Yes shieldhost is easily the worst hosting service I have ever used. I believe it is one guy who rents server space from rackspace or theplanet and does nothing to support customers, and who actively tries to be as inaccessible as possible.
David, 12th 2009 February, 2009
Customer Service for billing or questions seems not to exist. My site had good uptime and the Technical support was good.

But twice they closed my website, when the account was paid, it was there error!

Trying to find a telephone number to talk to anyone is a huge challenge. I finally decided to move my website. The hassle was not worth it.
SHieldhost Phone Number, 20th 2008 February, 2008
They do have a phone number
www.shieldhost.com
3003 Marlin Ave.
3
Tampa, FL 33611
813-293-6991 - 813-695-2984
John, 08th 2008 February, 2008
Didin't like it, i moved to hostshield.com
Robert, 02nd 2008 January, 2008
I don't want their service, my contract expired and they still keep sending me a bill. They don't answer my email tickets and I can't find a phone number to talk to them.
Dan, 11th 2007 December, 2007
I am in a fight with them now. I have three sites with this crappy company, and they are getting nothing but worse.
The proverbial "straw" was when I registered my newest website with them, and they first tried to tell me that I needed to point to their servers (they set it up), then they needed 12-24 hours to make it work from the time it was set up (it had already been three days!) and then (after 8 days!) I get a working website, only to do a whois search and find out that I'm not even listed on the site! They have some "russ" guy as the owner, and the phone number they have listed is to a guy that doesn't even WORK THERE anymore!

If you're reading this and still wondering if this is a company that you want to go with, get a lobotomy. Quickly.
I'm switching ALL my websites away from them THIS WEEK!
dhmn, 14th 2007 September, 2007
Shieldhost is a joke.. transferring away from them because they lack customer service and they don't answer emails
Daz, 09th 2007 September, 2007
These people are fraudulent. They stole my money from my credit card and refused to return it back despite the fact that I was no longer interested in their service. At the time of renewal, my credit card had expired and a new card was given to me with a different expiry date. The old credit card info was in ShieldHosts records. Can you believe that these Shieldhost manipulated the expiry date on my card until they guessed the right one? (cause the new one had the same number). That's how they stole my money. Do not ever join this group because of my story.
ali, 10th 2007 July, 2007
I signed up and was charged over 2 weeks ago and was not able to login to the account. Reseting the pw did nothing. Emailing tech support did nothing - they just sent me generic emails requesting more info or that they'd forward it to the correct department. WHAT? they have all the info they need. They're just stalling. They never resolved the issue dispite numerous requests for help.

I will now talk to my credit card company to get my money back as I know shieldhost.com will never do anything but take my money.
Big Jon, 01st 2007 June, 2007
Been with them for about 4 years, and its simple they are average... i had a couple of instances where they took my site down and didnt even tell me why. they're support is average but usually they get back to you in a timely effort. A phone number would be helpful though. Price is slightly cheaper then alot others. bout a 6.5 outta 10.
Roger, 30th 2007 May, 2007
They do not respond to posts and PayPal was rejected after they were unauthorized to auto bill me. They are crooks.
Willy, 07th 2007 March, 2007
ShildHost automatically renewed my package without authorization. I had sent an email to both the SUPPORT and the BILLING department concerning this. The ONLY response was from the SUPPORT dept saying that the email will be forwarded to the BILLING dept. STILL over 2 weeks any many emails, NO RESPONSE from the BILLING department about my refund.
thanks
Trevor, 17th 2007 February, 2007
Shieldhost has got to be the single worst web hosting company in existence.
iIcannot express to you how happy I was to finally move my site from their servers.

During my time with them, my site was down ver frquently.
When I needed tech support for simple issue, I had no one to call - only email support. Email resonses from them were always slow or non-existent. My issues were rarely resolved in under 4 days. (Sometimes never - they would simply ignore my requests).
On one accasion I was contacted by someing in billing for a simple password reset. It never happened, by the way, which was the final straw. I couldn't even have access into my own site after they had done some "updates".

Buyer Beware - this company is awful. I would strongly recommend you choose a different host. It's simply not worth the hassle and aggrevation.
CallMeHal, 25th 2007 January, 2007
I was with Shieldhost for a year and ONE person was helpful while others were simply unresponsive -- to the point where I was thinking they are really a one-man company. They seem to either be going through acquisition (not sure who would want to buy such a bumbling company!) or "migrating" to better equipment, which of course begs the real issue, is this a company which can be improved simply by getting new equipment? (I say "No!") They are quick to bill, and slow to credit to the point where the effort at getting a refund is almost more trouble than just kissing your money goodbye -- except for the principle of the thing! I have moved to another provider but I still want my money back. I agree with Goodfriend, above... There are better ways to be hosted.
Zach, 26th 2006 December, 2006
When I first got it it went down for a month or so, and I couldn't get a response. When I did they switched to Cpanel, and it hasn't been down since. Now my other site had a domain name switch, and they haven't been able to simply change the domain name for that package. I've had to threaten to get them to do things. This site is for a buisness, and they can't come through.
Haris, 21st 2006 July, 2006
Their down time is too long and too often. Even though I have earned a lot of money as an affiliate throught SH, I am gonna move my personal websites someplace safe. Actually, i'll keep earning my affiliate money, so the ShieldHost will pay for best hosting I can find... :)
clickonthese.com, 12th 2006 May, 2006
Aside from a kernel panic taking down their server today I haven't had any problems with them yet as far as down time, and they answered 2 of my questions by email within an hour, ON a weekend even.

Haven't used the email account yet because I do all my business type stuff through the 5 email addresses my ISP gives and I don't want to change that right now.
Derrick Goodfriend, 05th 2006 April, 2006
When I was with Shield Host, my website was constantly down. I could never get them to answer even one support ticket. While their pricing is okay, their service is not. In this case, you really get what you pay for. After I switched hosts, I had forgotten to cancel my PayPal automatic billing and was charged for the next billing cycle. I flagged my message to them "Ultra-Important" and got absolutely NO response. Luckily PayPal was able to get my money back after I disputed it. I haven't been with Shield Host for well over a year now and I still receive "Payment Notices" for hosting I do not use, even though I have sent numerous cancelation requests (followed by cancelation notices). DO NOT USE THIS HOST!
Callmethecat, 31st 2006 March, 2006
Waste of time and effort we just moved to a new provider
Chris, 14th 2006 March, 2006
Cheap. Good Features (scripting, databases, etc), but they are down A LOT. They bounce back legitimate email in an overzealous attempt to filter spam, and you receive no indication. I would use them for a personal site, but stay away if you want to do a site for a small business
Scott, 14th 2006 March, 2006
Horrible. Each problem ticket takes too long to answer - and when it IS answered, it is flagged "closed". FTP server is down far too often. Passwords mysteriously reset. Should I go on?
shawn, 01st 2006 March, 2006
takes days to answer your tickets
Write Your Review
Your name

Your shieldhost.com review

Positive Negative


Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. 2004 - 2010