Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.siteground.com
Siteground General Information
  Siteground is providing Linux web hosting services, has been founded in 2004 and now it's years in business.

siteground.com average uptime is 99.994% (rank #902 on our directory) with total 85428 successful and 5 failed checks, monitored since 2006-01-30. Similar companies with 99.994% uptime are and ihubnet.com.

Search for "siteground.com" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 61500 results so company name popularity rank is #96.

There have been 3418 positive votes for Siteground and 73 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #570 (similar companies are aitg.com and endertechnology.com)

Web Hosting Packages
  Super Package (Type: Linux) - 500 GB space, 5000 GB bandwidth for $5.95/mo

Some technical data about siteground.com
  IP Location: Everyones Internet Inc
Blacklist Status: Clear
Nameserver: NS1.SITEGROUND.NET
Registrar: ENOM, INC.
Server Type: Apache
Website Title: SiteGround - the experts in Mambo and Joomla hosting services, $5.00/month, 12000MB space, 500GB traffic, osCommerce hosting, Zen cart hosting, PHPbb hosting, PostNuke hosting, Mediawiki hosting, Flash hosting, Dreamweaver hosting, FrontPage hosting
Description: SiteGround specializes in Mambo hosting services, installation of Mambo modules; Joomla hosting, Joomla addons: SMF, Virtuemart; Mediawiki, phpBB, osCommerce, Zen Cart, PostNuke, and more. Hosting for Dreamweaver, Flash, FrontPage and Adobe GoLive

Back to "S" directory


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
MiraxGrp, 12th 2011 October, 2011
Sorry im newbie , pls help to create new topic
MButkus, 26th 2011 July, 2011
1. they are in Costa Rica
2. Their TOS is absurb, they can call anyting abuse, close your account, no refund.
3. Any CC charges have surcharges added because they are out of the U.S.
I was with them for 4 years. The claim I abused their servers (my site got popular) but it' s been that way for more then a year. July 2011 they tell me I'm too big for their top shared program. Pay $120 a month or else. They cripple my site, no refund, nothing. 22 months left and too bad..
What can you do.. see #1: they are in Costa Rica.
Bob, 17th 2011 May, 2011
Having had several sites hosted with siteground over the last few years, its not possible to stress just how god aweful they are.

for example, one of my sites got compramised, which resulted in a couple of malicous scripts being uploded to my sites root directory. Siteground immidiatly blocked the account, which is understandable.

But after they explained the issue asking me to remove the scrips, they refused to unhblock the directory until the scripts where removed. Well, i cant remove the scripts if i cant get into the directory from FTP or Cpanal, and they wouldn't unblock them until the scripts where gone.

It took 3 months to get the directories back, and when i finally did, they had messed up the permissions and DNS settings to the point that i had to redo everything anyway.

(for those wondering, the scripts in question where an issue with E107 CMS, they where used to attack other sites using E107)

other issues include:

# Randomly blocking drupal theming content
# Making changes to DNS settings without asking, causing permissions issues
# Terrible support
# Massivly overpriced
# Alot of basic tools simply unavailable, Including DNS Zone additions

they are beyond aweful, avoid like the plague
Loredana, 25th 2011 April, 2011
I have been with SiteGround for almost a year. When I first joined I had 0 experience in building and maintaining web page. I was reading tutorials (there are more then enough tutorials on EVERYTHING!) Siteground provides and soon enough was able to build my site. Had lots of issues, but Tech Support is JUST GREAT! As soon as I have n issue and open a ticket, someone gets back to me and starts working on the issue within... the MINUTES!
I love these guys! And I love to be part of the community!
Samantha, 21st 2011 April, 2011
It is a great experience with the online help they provide on time which is a must and which is a rear character. This is truly affordable joomla hosting service provider.

Keep it up
Julie, 13th 2011 April, 2011
I have to agree with some of the things posted here about SG - but I've been using them for years and the service is excellent. And although I do not like to use the e-mail support - they do take care of everything quickly. In fact, I just made a stupid mistake and don't have premium support and they fixed it for me anyway.
kiran, 27th 2011 March, 2011
Siteground is quick, resonsive and reasonably priced.
Nikos K, 25th 2011 March, 2011
I have been using siteground for several years. And NEVER had any problems.
They have an extremely quick and over sufficient support.
I do have experiences with other hosts as well since i have my own websites since 1998 and after all that i have decided that I will be a Siteground customer for EVER.

Thank you Siteground
Slavek, 24th 2011 March, 2011
Stay away. Just got a "Second Server Resource Usage Violation" The funny thing is that since I had a similar problem with them last year after which I upgraded account I've already moved my crm system to an other server so actually no one is using it. But still they suggest upgrading and they've suspended the page
Roger Dixon, 24th 2011 March, 2011
Siteground Sucks. Had 20 sites on for a year. They go down often and support is useless. Warning, you get ehat you pay for. Remember that.
Dimitris Bor, 22nd 2011 February, 2011
They suck bigtime!
I was a customer for 3 years.
I decided to change host for better offer.
When they realized i'm about to go they renewed my account without any notice 2 months before expiration!!!
They never refund me the money of cource...
SiteGround Victim, 07th 2011 February, 2011
Siteground suckers you into their hosting plans with cheap prices, advertises unlimited traffic, then waits for awhile as you build up your communities, then claims although the traffic is unlimited, the cpu usage is not. They refuse to tell you or advertize what the cpu usage limits are, that way they can make it up as they go, then they hold your site hostage unless you upgrade to a host plan 15-20 times more expensive then what they bait you in with, and if you refuse, they do everything they can to not let you move your site elsewhere, including demanding bribes, refusing to release your domain quick, etc.

NEVER register your domain name with them!

These people are tyrants! You've been warned!
Ken Bryant, 2 Jan 2011, 02nd 2010 January, 2011
Eeryone should stay away from sightground, especially if you are a new user or you are not sure how to use a site effectively. As a student, I signed up for their one year special for $9.95. I used their site for class requirements for a semester. After the course, I did not cancel thinking it might eventually be useful.

Fifteen days before my site was to expire they automatically renewed the site and charged my CC for $107. That day I called and cancelled asking for the reversal of the funds. They refused. After four discussions with people at the sign thru online chats, I got nowhere.

At this point I am probably stuck with a product (or a scam) costing $107 which I will never use from a company that sucks.

I only wish I had been aware of the negative remarks that others say about sightground. (What I saw was 60 negative and 58 positive). This should tell others to beware and avoid them like the plague. I certainly will and I will tell everyone with whom ask me for a reference to stay from them, they are trouble. As I grow in the business, I will certainly not give them any good references.

At this point I may have to accept their refusals to do good business but I will not forget.
Terry, 23rd 2010 October, 2010
They shut my site down and want to charge $99.00 to tell me what the so called security risk is. Any yes, they continue to charge my card monthly even though my site is down. I'm not even going to contact support. I'm just going to move on and kindly thank them for the service they have provided. Thank god I didn't move all 15 of my sites to their servers. They showed their lack of support and professionalism one to many times for me.
Espana, 22nd 2010 October, 2010
I was a little bit concerned first , since siteground has no phone support, but the moment I had an issue & posted a ticket, I was totally amazed by them. The support guy was very helpful and described the whole issue in details and saved my website. He answered to my help request on the third minute, and the issue was resolved on the 15th minute.
Mike, 01st 2010 September, 2010
Siteground sucks !
Mahouny, 01st 2010 September, 2010
Firs of all thank you for this blog.
So bad I didn't found it before I ordered a domain name with siteground.com .I bought one year hosting plan on 16th septebmer, 2009.
My experience was absolutely horrible, my site was hacked many times via server side (shared hosting) Site where down many many times for long period of time, because overloaded server (nor my website) Support is truly awful...

On the beginning of the August 2010 I've informed siteground support that I want move my site to the other hosting provider, because of all those problems.
They answered that it's ok...

When it comes to the end of one month, they charged me $107.40.And now they wont refund me ! They say, that I haven't told them "clearly enough" if I will really move from them, or I just planing to do so...

Now I will ask my bank for the charge-back.
Everybody who's planning to purchase hosting with siteground, STAY AWY FROM THEM !!! Siteground SUCKS !
Avoid SiteGround, 25th 2010 August, 2010
SiteGround are totally insecure. I have just managed to convince them after two weeks of complaining that they are the reason that the phishing links were uploaded to my site hosted by them.

The reason is simple. SiteGround send out your login password in the clear and that means anyone with access to intermediate mail servers (and i have proof from them that their blacklists are not up to date) can get access to your account.

And from this information the hackers were able to launch phishing attacks and log into my email account.

Avoid this company like the plague.
Jimmy, 11th 2010 August, 2010
STAY THE HELL AWAY FROM THOSE CROOKS! Siteground's brand new scam: they say their "sitebuilder" partner -the free service- is violating copyright laws, so they don't do business anymore with it, and now they ask me to pay for the "Wizard" instead!
Greg B., 08th 2010 July, 2010
Just switched from Hostgator to Siteground. Their response and the transfer of the website were really fast. I can't even imagine going back to Hostgator. They suck!

If you are looking for a good support, go straight to these guys.
Brian, 02nd 2010 June, 2010
Don't ever do business with this extortion ring. I opened a hosting account a few months ago, things working just fine for months. Then all of a sudden I get an email saying I have copyright infringing material on their server.
First of all I'm completely floored that any host is busy snooping on me. Second they only gave me 48 hours and I was away the entire weekend. So basically before I even had a chance to log in they closed my account and demanded $50 for reactivation.
So I emailed them back stating the issue and to ask for a clarification of what files were in violation, since they never named specific files. I typically use my web hosts to store personal media files for easy remote access. Keep in mind that these are not public files! Either way they didn't seem to care if they were fair use or if I was away for a holiday weekend.
After multiple emails they won't budge and won't answer or address any of my issues which are as follows:
1. Why is siteground snooping around in my personal files and what right do they have to do that?
2. Which files were infringing and how did you come to that conclusion?

These people are scumbags and deserve to be thrown in jail for running an extortion ring.
Tom, 26th 2010 April, 2010
Terrible company. Stay away or you will be sorry!
Tom Stewart, 26th 2010 April, 2010
Don't give them your CC number, they will charge you even if you don't want to renew and there is no way to remove your cc number. Their tech support is terrible.
Tom Stewart, 26th 2010 April, 2010
Siteground is a bunch of crooks. There support is non-existant. All they want is your money and don't give them your CC number, there is NO way to remove it once they have it. What does that tell you? They charged me for another year when they knew I didn't want to renew.
JP Robillard, 13th 2010 March, 2010
horrible! stay away!
JP Robillard, 13th 2010 March, 2010
Try to change your DNS settings to point to another host.... IMPOSSIBLE with Siteground. Site ground would not allow these settings "resolver1.opendns.com" and "resolver2.opendns.com" or Microsoft's Office Live "NS1.officelive.com" or "NS2.officelive.com". They want you to host it there so basically they force it by blocking those settings. All I can do now is transfer my domains to GoDaddy or somewhere else.

As a reseller, what I pay is more than what my customers would pay if they get it straight from Siteground's website. After complaining about their practices, they say that's how they do it (in Europe). This stupid company based in Luxembourg is a total scam. Stay way from them. I've started my process of moving all my reseller business away from them.
Elsa, 04th 2010 February, 2010
Very reliable host. I have always received response from the support in up to 10 minutes. They upgraded my Wordpress without losing any data or damaging the plugins. I am very grateful!
Val, 28th 2010 January, 2010
Excellent support, very short response time, solved the problem although it was down to me. Just great!
Fabio, 21st 2010 January, 2010
I canīt understand. I have been using siteground for 2 years. Excellent service. All my technical tickets was reply in a few minutes and the 35 web pages I have works 100%... them I recommended 100%.
dsummars, 23rd 2009 December, 2009
We definitely would not recommend Siteground.com to anyone, except psuedo masochists who love pain and misery.

Siteground suspended our website, and then corrupted it, rendering it useless. So, we moved to another webhosting service.

Here's our last message to Siteground.com:
___________________________
I now want to thank Siteground for the following:
(01) On 12-DEC-2009:03:13am, Siteground.com complained of high CPU usage (which we never received E-Mails about).
(02) On 19-DEC-2009:12-19 08:29am, Siteground.com suspended our website.
(03) On 20-DEC-2009, I was refused access to make remedies.
(04) On 20-DEC-2009, when access was allowed for one IP address, the system was corrupted and unusable, and a full restore from backup was useless, and Moodle was not restored either.
(05) On 23-DEC-2009:04:05am, Siteground.com suspended our account AGAIN, modified the .htaccess file again to block ALL IP addresses (making any potential remedies impossible again), and claimed that Moodle is using too much CPU. However, there is no Moodle installed.
(06) On 23-DEC-2009:09:00am, We deleted everything (after backing all of it up first to another webhost), we deleted all MySQL databases, and we deleted all Moodle related files, etc. We deleted EVERYTHING.

Are you happy now?

Now it's not too hard to understand why Siteground.com's webhost ratings have fallen so drastically to 96th place:
http://www.vistainter.com/reviews/S/siteground.com/

On the other hand, if losing customers is Siteground.com's objective, Siteground.com is doing a wonderful job. In that case, keep up the good work!

Again, Thanks a bunch.
DaleE, 28th 2009 October, 2009
A year after parting ways with Shiteground, I'm still angry. Typically, when I receive really lousy service from a company, I chalk it up to experience and move on. Not so here. I feel wounded and wronged. I'm still particularly incensed by the way they tried very, very hard to discourage me from actually communicating with a representative. They do this by simply not providing an email address or telephone number for support, which means you have to choose from a menu of not-quite-exactly-the-same problems and then read unhelpful FAQs. This company deserves to go out of business, and I will gladly continue to do my small part to hasten this outcome. Do not give this horrible company your business.
mgunawat, 29th 2009 September, 2009
AVOID SITEGROUND!!!!!! They suck!!!!! I've got two websites that were hosted on siteground and they were injected by malware link. They told me that their server is secure, bla bla bla.. however sometimes this thing happens and worst is they ask me to pay $50 per site to get the links removed, with no guarantee they will not come back.. if I want a guarantee, I have to pay $150!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Seriously???!!!!?? Bullshit!!! I hope people get to read this and never use siteground again....
xmen, 24th 2009 August, 2009
http://rapid share.com/files/262466352/X-M3n.0rigins.W0lv3rin3.DVDRip.XviD-JUAMNJi.part1.rar
http://rapid share.com/files/262509866/X-M3n.0rigins.W0lv3rin3.DVDRip.XviD-JUAMNJi.part2.rar
http://rapid share.com/files/262494943/X-M3n.0rigins.W0lv3rin3.DVDRip.XviD-JUAMNJi.part3.rar
http://rapid share.com/files/262521234/X-M3n.0rigins.W0lv3rin3.DVDRip.XviD-JUAMNJi.part4.rar
http://rapid share.com/files/262508676/X-M3n.0rigins.W0lv3rin3.DVDRip.XviD-JUAMNJi.part5.rar
http://rapid share.com/files/262529547/X-M3n.0rigins.W0lv3rin3.DVDRip.XviD-JUAMNJi.part6.rar
http://rapid share.com/files/262516070/X-M3n.0rigins.W0lv3rin3.DVDRip.XviD-JUAMNJi.part7.rar
http://rapid share.com/files/262532609/X-M3n.0rigins.W0lv3rin3.DVDRip.XviD-JUAMNJi.part8.rar
somename, 14th 2009 July, 2009
the worst web hosting service I've ever got
the problem is that they are being advertised by phpBB!!
Art, 20th 2009 June, 2009
SiteGround is absolutely the worst! Have had them a year now, will NOT renew. E-mail this morning is DOWN again for the umpteenth time. Service is totally non-existent. Try filing a ticket - again response is they are already aware?!?!? Then FIX it. Try calling, they might call you back the next day with someone who knows nothing about your ticket and cannot help, other then to say everything is working fine with them. If you need e-mail service, do NOT use sitegroundless.
Tommy M, 18th 2009 June, 2009
Absolute worst customer service around. Completely non-existent. Ticketing process is long. If you want to talk to someone (anyone) you have to join their sales chat. I canceled my VPS with them (totally overpriced, outsourced to PowerVPS, no tech support for higher paying customers). After I canceled my VPS, they suspended my account so I can not file a ticket. Additionally, they were my registrar for two domain names. I had to change the DNS settings for one of them, but they HID the domain names from me. Only after arguing with them through Sales chat did they finally realize it is probably against ICANN protocol to not allow a domain owner to edit the DNS settings/administrative fields.

Always be ware of companies that are eager to get your business but not eager to keep it.
Micah Mitchell, 06th 2009 March, 2009
I actually like SiteGround, I've heard a bunch of horror stories here but it's the only host who's been able to properly run my Joomla Site with JoomSuite Installed.

Big thumbs up from me
James, 23rd 2009 February, 2009
this is a bad company
they charged me $ 50 to hire there team to put a logo on my site and one time someone who worked at siteground wanted charged me $49 to just tell me how to Instill Joomla what is this company doing with the money buying 6 pack
SITEGROUND SUCKS, 27th 2009 January, 2009
worst company ever... you might as well give them $80 and have someone kick you in the @ss, its about the same
derek, 27th 2009 January, 2009
couldnt agree more...siteground is the worst
clhmedia, 27th 2009 January, 2009
james, you work for siteground i know you.

tim, just wait - they dont screw with you till 6 months in

pablo is junk from the company

SITEGROUND TOTALLY SUCKS- DONT BE THESE LAME EMAILS SAYING THEIR FAST AND DEPENDABLE - ITS TOTAL B.S.

if you are planning on making a website thats public dont bother using siteground... they are by far the worst for evil stipulations. i was with them for almost 2 years and gave up and ran to ixwebhosting


whatever you do... dont get a mambership from siteground!!!!!

i warn you now because it will save you stress in the future
Art, 10th 2009 January, 2009
Site Ground has been a nightmare. E-mail service has been vegas-style for over a week - chances of getting e-mails delivered less than craps. On-line support is a joke - ticket says it's still "working", message says "waiting for customer response" yet doesn't take response. This has been worst customer service response this decade.
Frank, 04th 2009 January, 2009
I have been with Siteground for over two years. The most impressive part of their service is the speed with which they answer any help desk problems - helpful, knowledgeable and fast.
Keep up the good work.
Jeremiah, 17th 2008 December, 2008
In November of 2008 I got the same "your site is over CPU time". I'd never heard of a CPU restriction and tried to resolve it by killing everything but the generic forum board. This is after hosting with them since the beginning, moving to a reseller account and purchasing "credits" for the extension of my websites.

They hit me with the VPN account and I said no, might as well go with a full server. There are enough projects I haven't done because it's not a full server to merit this, and I figured the VPN resources would quickly be consumed and they'd bump me anyway, pain all over again.

Going to the new server has been painful- not only did they split my account and try to charge me to move everything, but refused to give me credit for my reseller accounts or even the unused credit.

They seem wholly unconcerned that the reseller accounts are pointless since I have AN ENTIRE SERVER I'm paying for and can set up webpages ad infinitum.

Getting my site back was priority #1 as they had suspended it for CPU usage, which is really nasty- gun to the head anyone?

I stayed and upgraded mainly from the stellar service I'd received in the past- siteground was always my hosting secret.

However with my server completely out for hours and configuration errors, no explainations or excuses when things go wrong (I'm a techie and they outright lie sometimes) I am now looking for another solution.

I think they've gone down the crapper- just read the comments from oldest (2006) to newest and you can see a decline in their postive ratings.
David, 01st 2008 December, 2008
After being with SiteGround for over 3 years, I can say 100% without a doubt STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOSTING PROVIDER.

1.) Email is down pretty consistently. It is down at least 10% of the time.

2.) They advertise 750 gigs of storage. When I signed up, it was only 40 gigs. At 40 gigs, you could post as many support tickets as much as you needed and they were fast to resolve the issue. By the time they got to 500 gigs of storage, they buried the links to the ticket support system as deep within the endless pages of generic support, intern written psychobabble as they could. It was nearly impossible to get any kind of support if you have an issue. No phone, no ticket, no email.

Also, they went from the "you can use your 40 gigs of storage however you want, as long as you don't go over" policy to "5gigs of multimedia, that is any pic or file that isn't an HTML file. Really, you can host as many HTML and TXT files as you would like. We mean it counts as part of your 750 gigs, but really it doesn't. You can use your 750 gigs however you need, but not really. Look, lets just cut to the chase (siteground customer service rep pulls out a gun) NOW HAND ME YOUR WALLET AND NO ONE GETS HURT!!!!"

Really, they suck
todor, 28th 2008 November, 2008
simply let me tell my situation:
they told me my forum consumes too much cpu usage etc, they wanted me to upgrade to a dedicated host, otherwise they said, they can give my site's backup..i moved to another host. gues what? my forum eats 0.1/100 of cpu,ram etc..i know this because i can see it my new host's cpanel...STAY AWAY FROM THEMM

if you dont mind, i will copy/paste my review for them (i tried to submit my review to at least 10 hosting review sites..only published in 1 of them!!!)

here is the copy/paste:
if you gonna host a simple blog it is good, otherwise you will start to ask yourself where this mysql has going away. i heartly advise to stay away from them! 3-4 years before they were one of the best. This is the story of how a company can destroy theirself. if you open a ticket robots (messages) will reply you, dont expect a reply for a few days. their cpanel is at stoneage. they may suspend your site for high usage of traffic/cpu and would request from you to upgrade a dedicated host (which is normal) but search intel atom 330 in ebay and see what will you pay 179 dolar per month (it is a mobile, even not desktop tech computer, has nothing to do with server technology, and you can buy one for 80 dolar) cpanel is at stoneage, most of the apache modules that are defaultly available in other hosts are missing..my site suspended for high computer usage, and they wanted from me to upgrade to dedicated otherwise they said they can give me mysite's backup, i opened a ticket that i will solve this problem and i moved mysite to another host. currently i see that my site use 0.1cpu 0/100ram 2 processes from cpanel (you cant see that in their cpanel) i strongly felt that i am fooled. all i can say stay away!

------------
if i could save only "1" person from them, this will be my success!!
Scamed by Siteground, 11th 2008 November, 2008
Avoid them at all costs. I lost my money and all my data. They are crooks. You have been warned.
William, 11th 2008 October, 2008
Really bad service and hosting. Avoid it!!!!
Joe, 19th 2008 July, 2008
DO NOTE USE SITEGROUND. Had a very bad experience with Siteground. Their terms of service are very restrictive and you cannot actually use the bandwidth, email or disk space you buy. See more info here www.siteground-sucks.com.
GW Bush, 28th 2008 March, 2008
avoid them. They oversell features and then dont deliver
shoud, 28th 2008 January, 2008
for this "Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings", I think vistainter.com have to put a warning: All the reviews is according to the poster, customer have to in their mind that, there may be got really's cases and also there is a ... ( Beside black and white, there is many color also in this world.... )
siteground sucks, 16th 2007 November, 2007
read more about experiences hosting with siteground at....
http://www.ladishes.com/sgscybercrooks

(copy and paste into your web browser)


Linn, 02nd 2007 July, 2007
Website has gone down several times in several months. Email works, then doesn't work. I can't recommend this company. The tech people don't seem to know what they're doing.
Bill, 12th 2007 June, 2007
Avoid siteground!

This is my second year with this host. During the first year everything worked fine, but just about after renewing my account, they changed my server's (shared) IP. Since then, numerous problems emerged! SENDMAIL stopped working. OK, they fixed it, but after that my site is almost constantly down, unavailable (503). They informed me that they had to limit my site's shared resources since one particular script "overloaded" server. Also, they suggested purchase of VPS account.
During the first year my site had significantly more traffic (and no changes were made to "problematic" script) and now they're trying to get me to pay more because of "growing needs of my website"??? I am afraid that this is just a scam...
Nice way of thanking for customer loyalty!
chris, 15th 2007 May, 2007
I used them for a bit and then decided to go to providerwebhosting.org because they were giving away free domain names. I may keep my account here as well though
Animora, 03rd 2007 May, 2007
Have been with company for couple of months. Am leaving. Horrible customer support. Technicians are not able to resolve any problems. Every questions gets answered with an "unfortunately" that is outside our scope or pay extra.
ian, 09th 2006 December, 2006
as with many hosts there's good and bad. However, siteground do have (during 2006) more outages than would be acceptable for my commercial site - and I suspect other users. Their disc space is actually limited to about 5GB , not the full 40GB stated in headline figure, so be careful.
Kamal AOUDA, 09th 2006 December, 2006
Same thing for me. I've got two of my websites hosted with siteground. I've never experienced any noticeable downtime or latency. It works fine and the company delivers a great value for the price. They are very generous in terms of bandwidth and hard drive space. Plenty of popular OS products can be installed in a blink of an eye through their Fantastico script. The Cpanel interface allows you to have a lot of control over your website inner parameters without contacting the support team. Itís definitely the best package out there for small to medium size community website.

I transferred my account from Brinkster to Siteground two years ago. Brinkers are the most incompetent and arrogant guys Iíve never dealt with. Stay away from them.

Kamal AOUDA

http://www.kamalaouda.com
http://www.ecommercedev.net
real customer, 27th 2006 November, 2006
I noticed a good review of customer's experience of siteground as a web host is available from the following web url...

www.sitegroundsucks.com

just type that into your web browser to see a full report. (sorry, no click to open from here)
Roger, 26th 2006 November, 2006
Simply an appalling host. Main problems are server uptime (very bad) and lack of support (poor customer service)

Their headline webspace sounds good, but in reality its not really there.
mike, 14th 2006 November, 2006
I can only assume that the positive reviews are from employees, or people running small, infrequently viewed sites.

I signed up for service and crashed when I reached 1% of bandwidth and 1% of diskspace (this are real numbers, not estimates) and they stated that I am using too much of the server resources. I have mostly text and a few pictures - no streaming anything, and probably about 500 visitors a day.

I thought I had done something wrong, and posted to Joomla.org, and within minutes had people emailing me with the same problem with the same host... coincidence, I think not.

Generously, Siteground offered to upgrade my service to a VPS for $80/month. Maybe if I was on some kind of drug I would consider this, but I think I'll pass for now. I'm not interested in buying shares of Enron either.

b, 19th 2006 October, 2006
I have been monitoring SiteGround for over a year, now. I have reviewed statistics and reviews as my website is very important for me and I do not want any problems with the host. Despite, they have experienced downtimes and have clients that are complaining, this is one of the best hosts I have ever seen. The tech support is great and the response time is incomparable.
My experience with hosting companies is more than worse. I have been with Ipowerweb, Lunarpages, and BlueHost. Unfortunately, no other host, but SiteGround, made my website up and running. SiteGround treats its clients with great care and maybe for this reason they have grown that much for such a short period. They already host 35 000 websites and are up since 2003. This is just another fact that shows how awesome SiteGround are!!!
Stan V., 08th 2006 September, 2006
I've been hosting with this company for a long time. At the beginning their service was very good for the money: fast ticket response, good (if oversold) account features.

From then on, as they grew, things went downhill. They kept boosting their apparent bandwidth/HDD space limits, while putting clauses in their Terms of Service where they take those features back. For example, they currently state you can host 40GB on their account, but their ToS claims you can't have more than 5GB of "multimedia". In a conversation with their team it turned out mostly everything containing a piece of image or sound is multimedia, including archives containing multimedia, except I guess plain text files.

Their reliability is poor. They don't keep their servers in a RAID setup which will ensure they have a good drive mirror in case of a drive failure. I've had about 2 days downtime when the server my account was on, crashed. They backup once a week which for a dynamic site is heavily insufficient.

Their support went downhill too. They still reply within 15 minutes of inquiry but itís rarely a problem resolution, instead it's usually a template answer or something like "ok we're working on the issue". To resolve the actual issues, lots of hours may pass.

They no longer offer free support as well. 5-6 months ago they introduced a new system where you have 7 free tickets per year, and free "site down" tickets. What constitutes a site down is not clearly written down and they occasionally convert tickets reporting emergent issues to the paid tickets. They advertise live chat and phone support, but those will immediately hang on you if you are an existing customer (pre-sales only).

Their responses are polite, but repetetive and frequently not helpful; they often will treat you as an ignorant and talk their way out of real problems with template answers like "we're striving for best customer satisfaction". You'll hear that a lot when they screw up, the irony of which is simply unbelieveable.

One morning I woke up to see my sites down, I checked my mail, no messages. Some of them were down, some displaying empty directory listing and some displaying "account is disabled" message.

I went and posted a "site down" ticket, to which I first got reply I got banned for hosting more than 5 GB of multimedia. I have 10 GB archive on their site which is not multimedia. Upon clarifying this they said they are "sorry" and apparently I was not banned, but my sites went down as they moved them (without notification) to another server and I need to update my DNS for all my domains.

When I asked why was I not notified, they said they are "sorry" again and the e-mail bounced (the e-mail server is again hosted there). When I asked: why their own e-mail bounced off their own e-mail server, I was ignored.

I also had issues with their SpamCop protection which was letting around 20-30 spam mails a day in my inbox, and occasionally blocked legitimate mails without notification. When I found that I asked them to not filter my e-mails in any way, after which I didn't notice increase in spam activity (goes to show how much SpamCop works).

I updated the DNS of some of my domains which were most critical to me and confirmed that I see the proper IP/DNS on my site (it propagated to me).

I then noticed the account was not moved properly at all: the e-mails didn't recognize their passwords (had to reset the password of each e-mail), half my files were in the wrong location, some of them having duplicates, some of them older (from a backup?) and the other half were missing. I also started getting duplicates of old e-mail and missing messages from people who e-mailed me the last few days.

I, of course, panicked, and having already more than a day unplanned downtime I started asking what the hell is going on.

The reply was "the files couldn't be moved, but we can give you access to download them". On a consumer connection it'd take me a week to download, verify, repair and re-upload such amount of content and so I asked them to just erase the copy on the server and try to move it again from a backup, properly this time.

I got reply that I'm being rude, my account was suspended and they told me to stop posting tickets until someone from upper management looks into the issue. I want to clarify I didn't insult them, but in the panic I used few curse words to describe the sorry state my account was in. Being "rude" is in no way a reason to suspend someone's account.

Another day of downtime, and no response. I posted another ticket where I described my situation and asked why noone is working on my issues and noone replying to my tickets. I gave them a run by their own ToS and gave a listing of my site's contents explaining how I host neither illegal content or breach their terms in any other way, so to end up with my sites suspended.

I got another "sorry" reply and that someone would personally take care of the situation.

Few hours later and after few internal redirects of the ticket between their departments, I got several "is it ok now" replies to which I had to answer negatively explaining where my files are still missing and what else is wrong in my CPanel, mail server and so on. After one point I was just ignored and the account was left in whatever state it was in.

I asked why was my account moved and I got the usual "we upgrade our hardware all the time since we strive for best customer satisfaction". My answer was that I, as a customer, am not satisified with random 3 day downtime periods and said I just want my account fixed and not moved for the rest of the time I have paid to be their client (8 months..), so I can gradually transition my sites to another provider.

At that point my account was suspended again and I was told I breached their ToS and my account is canceled. When asked where I breached their ToS, they pasted a section where it basically said "SiteGround reserves the right to determine whether a client has breached their ToS and terminate their account at any time". And that was it. I was given three days to get the pieces of my content that survived, and my account was shut down.

My mistake was I revealed I don't plan to renew my account after the remaining 8 months I paid for, expire. Keep this in mind when you have to deal with rogue hosting providers.

They were simply not interested in providing service to me and trying to fix my account further, since I paid a full year ahead and they wouldn't get more money from me after that either way.

My verdict is this:

If you want a cheap $5/mo hosting where to put some family photos to show to friends, no need for stability or staff that cares if your account goes down, it's as good as any other shared hosting. Of course you can find a similar service for even less than $5 out there.

But if you have dynamic content and want to host serious sites or have e-mails you rely on, run like hell in the opposite direction.
Tim, 27th 2006 February, 2006
I have had my pages hosted by Site Ground for about 3 months now. I have had no problems and when I have had questions they have always replied within 24 hours by email or phone. I use the MySQL db and it has been performing very reliable.
James Croft, 26th 2006 February, 2006
Been with the company for a couple of years - never had complains with the server speed - they use 3.2 dual xeons servers...also the support is great, my Mambo site was up and running within a couple of minutes. Also the price and the features are unbeatable. great host
Write Your Review
Your name

Your siteground.com review

Positive Negative


Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. © 2004 - 2010