Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.thehostgroup.com
Thehostgroup General Information
  Thehostgroup is providing Linux and Reseller web hosting services, has been founded in 2002 and now it's years in business.

thehostgroup.com average uptime is 99.997% (rank #225 on our directory) with total 89062 successful and 3 failed checks, monitored since 2005-10-13. Similar companies with 99.997% uptime are and v1hosting.com.

Search for "thehostgroup.com" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 646 results so company name popularity rank is #1070.

There have been 23 positive votes for Thehostgroup and 17 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #1769 (similar companies are ivhosting.com and eslhosting.net)

Web Hosting Packages
  Plan 1 (Type: Linux) - 250 MB space, 5000 MB bandwidth for $9.95/mo

Plan 2 (Type: Linux) - 500 MB space, 10 GB bandwidth for $14.95/mo

Plan 3 (Type: Linux) - 750 MB space, 15 GB bandwidth for $24.95/mo

Reseller Plan (Type: Reseller) - 2500 MB space, 5000 MB bandwidth for $14.95/mo

Some technical data about thehostgroup.com
  IP Location: Alabanza Inc
Blacklist Status: Clear
Nameserver: NS.THEHOSTGROUP.COM NS2.THEHOSTGROUP.COM
Registrar: WILD WEST DOMAINS, INC.
Server Type: Apache/1.3.33 (Unix) ApacheJServ/1.1.2 PHP/4.3.10 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 Rewrit/1.1a
Website Title: Reseller Hosting & Web Hosting Services.
Description: THE HOST GROUP offers reseller hosting, web hosting, domain names and dedicated servers.

Back to "T" directory


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
The HostingGroup, 11th 2010 April, 2010
Their Support team cannot be trusted. If they can't fix it they destroy it. Especially, James D.
Don, 25th 2008 August, 2008
Site went down Friday, 8/29/08 and came back later in the weekend but the comments portion of Wordpress was corrupted.

I was given 4 different answers to the same question and it's now Monday 8/25/08 and the site is completely down again.

Log in to my panel and status says "normal" but the comments DB is still gone.

I'm told they are working on it but after reading the posts from last Nov. I'm beginning to think this is a very, very bad situation.

If I don't get my site back for a good backup the game is over for me on that particular site. This is a blog, imagine if I had my business site with them?

Keep looking, The Host Group is not reliable and shouldn't be trusted with any type of website.
Jerry, 19th 2008 March, 2008
I have been a long time client of The Host Group. Today I am in the process of moving my customers and personal sites becasue of the poor service I received. They, in my opinion, would not assist me with a customers ticket but instead opted to close them with no effort. Little do they know that without my customers contributions, they will be losing thousands of dollars.
Joe A, 16th 2007 November, 2007
If your website is up with them - you better get your stuff out of there and fast. I had 4 clients loose everything!
FuBar, 13th 2007 November, 2007
heandfi - You hear the old saying: "Screw me once, shame on you, screw me twice shame on me." History ALWAYS repeats itself!!! Good luck, hope you are not betting your Clients future on this one.
heandfi, 09th 2007 November, 2007
HostGroup up and running. I did in the end receive personal and satisfactory communication and a link to a website that kept me up to date with the progress of the situation. We have decided to stay with them for now as we believe that a 'tin-pot' company could not have recovered the situation at all - albeit after downtime of a week.
GabrielS, 08th 2007 November, 2007
The owner of the Host Group, John Scanlon, lives at 6105 Still Water Way, McLean, VA 22101 (no its not the tall building on their website, its a $2.5M Home) John is home and his number is 703 532-3669. Today Host Group Support confirmed he is the owner. Since they are not answering their phones maybe John will?
T Sanders, 08th 2007 November, 2007
Wow TheHostGroup address:
2200 Wilson Blvd. Suite 102 #338 Arlington, VA 22201 is a UPS Store! What are these guys up to? Very shady!
F Johns, 08th 2007 November, 2007
This IS a HOME not a business as you are led to believe on their site. You $$$ going to the BIG Guy.
THE HOST GROUP Residence?
John G. Scanlon
6105 Still Water Way
McLean, VA 22101
http://sec.edgar-online.com/2007/01/05/0000899681-07-000021/Section8.asp

P Smith, 08th 2007 November, 2007
This quote sums up the incompetence of TheHostGroup (may they become TheGhostGroup)...
"Genius may have its limitations, but stupidity is not thus handicapped."
- Elbert Hubbard

P Smith, 08th 2007 November, 2007
These people are crooks. The address listed is a Residential Home in McLean (not the building on the site) and a UPS Store P.O. Box not their Building Suite 102 in Arlington! The service is so bad they do not answer the phone when issues arise and the escalation process is broken. Worst of all is the fact that they keep their site going when their customers suffer their incompetence, and they do not proactively communicate down times when it comes to maintenance. I would strongly recommend finding a company that can stand behind their service and not fall apart when an issue arises.
CamMac, 08th 2007 November, 2007
My clients have lost thousands $$ this week - What legal recourse are we going to have??
heandfi, 08th 2007 November, 2007
HOST GROUP! Listen to the chatter!!
Be honest and tell people whats going on.... if you've lost it all TELL US! All I want now is the database part of our blog back. We backed up our own code, but what good is it without the data.
Your reputation is in the mud, and only you can pull it back. I can't believe your own site is still up and doing business. Even if your off-site back up data is not up to date - LET US HAVE IT! Something would be definitely better than nothing.
I'm just glad we didn't use the email service.
Brian W., 07th 2007 November, 2007
I posted before on 05 November 2007. Still no service. Way too many support tickets have been returned with canned responses.

One of my sites that I host with them DID come back, and the data wasn't corrupted. However, the other is still MIA with no hope of recovery in site. Today I contacted another hosting service which still knows what the concept of Customer Service is all about - the live chat support was awesome, and the guy called back when he said he would, and every promised time for completion on an action has been met. The company - hostmysite.com

HostGroup - just admit you lost the damn data - it would definitely help me sleep tonight if my clients had some damn resolve over this, no matter how bad the final outcome.

I suggest you hop that private plane and fly the hell out of there ASAP, 'cause there are several thousands of pissed off people waiting to lynch all of you.
Gina, 07th 2007 November, 2007
What in the world is going on? Have they had a nuclear explosion at the data center? My clients are all very MAD at me. 5 days down for them and thousands of dollars lost. Please tell us what's going on?? Can we please get a backup of our code? I know you said you had tape backups offsite. Surely you weren't lieing about that too!!
Matthew "Caleb" Williams, 07th 2007 November, 2007
My site is still down for the SIXTH day, and we are not far from SEVEN! Yesterday the refused to answer the phones. Their phone system hung up on me 8 times after 17 minutes each. They tell me 2 servers should be up shortly, that was 36 hours ago!!! What the heck!
heandfi, 07th 2007 November, 2007
HostGroup hold our blog - nothing important really, but VERY important to us... its our online diary, so is personal and special to us. I was VERY surprised when the site went down and their own site was down too. When their own site went live again I was hopeful it meant others would too. Like other users I am appalled that their own site IS up, clients' ARE NOT, and their site offers no explanation or guidance. Shoddy shoddy shoddy service. An announcement on their own site would have gone a long way to placate me and others.
Host Group - if you are reading this! - don't forget customer service! Without it you may as well switch out the lights and go home.
Matthew "Caleb" Williams, 06th 2007 November, 2007
My site has been down 5 going on 6 days. There "help-line" hangs up on you after 17 minutes and no one will respond to support tickets. I have been told no less than 8 times it will only be 2-3 more hours. This is absolutely insane. My site is down and I have lost untold business, but their site is up and running just fine. What is going on here???
Darryl B., 06th 2007 November, 2007
Completely down yet again!
Darryl B., 05th 2007 November, 2007
Some e-mail is now starting to flow. One of my 3 websites is up but the other two are still down.

Their homepage is now up... with absolutely no mention of what is going on.
Brian, 05th 2007 November, 2007
I have two sites hosted through thehostgroup. They have been having reliability problems for the past week, but now this. Their reputation with me has been damaged permanently. This is totally unacceptable.

Sandy, 04th 2007 November, 2007
They really blew it. Thehostgroup site has been down for two days so far --along with sites of my clients. It would have helped if they were at least honest about what is going on and what to expect. I wouldn't have bothered to wait...
Darryl B., 04th 2007 November, 2007
They've been down for nearly 2 days now for a "migration." This is a major disaster. So much for the 99.995% uptime.
Bob T., 01st 2007 July, 2007
Good people running this service. New site design is terrific. Control panel pretty ok.
Price rocks for resellers.
Dan O'Neill, 13th 2006 December, 2006
Serive availability is fine, but I keep geting my e-mails blocked by SPAMCOP or other spam filter services that my clients use. I get no notification that I have been blocked, just my client does not get the e-mail. Really frustrating.
Write Your Review
Your name

Your thehostgroup.com review

Positive Negative


Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. 2004 - 2010