Home Best Hosting Companies Cheap Hosting List Web Hosting news Coupons / Discounts Links
Visit www.thinkhost.com
Thinkhost General Information
  Thinkhost is providing Linux web hosting services, has been founded in 2000 and now it's years in business.

thinkhost.com average uptime is 99.906% (rank #2123 on our directory) with total 7424 successful and 7 failed checks, monitored since 2005-10-16. Similar companies with 99.906% uptime are hosting24.com and icdsoft.com.

Search for "thinkhost.com" on 3 biggest search engines returns average of 38566 results so company name popularity rank is #130.

There have been 425 positive votes for Thinkhost and 33 negative. And overall company rank on our directory is #853 (similar companies are dfx.org and yourwebpagehere.com)

Web Hosting Packages
  The Plan II (Type: Linux) - 100 GB space, 1000 GB bandwidth for $7.95/mo

Some technical data about thinkhost.com
  IP Location: British Columbia - Vancouver - Netnation Communications Inc
Blacklist Status: Clear
Nameserver: NS1.THINKHOST.COM NS2.THINKHOST.COM
Registrar: TUCOWS INC.
Server Type: Apache/1.3.34 (Unix) mod_ruby/1.2.4 Ruby/1.8.2(2004-12-25) DAV/1.0.3 AuthMySQL/2.20 mod_ssl/2.8.25 OpenSSL/0.9.8a FrontPage/5.0.2.2510
Website Title: PHP MySQL web hosting, FrontPage hosting - multiple domains support


Back to "T" directory


www.Hosting24.com
#1 MOST RELIABLE, GLOBAL #1 RATING Unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth, Unlimited Reseller Hosting Option, Free Domain for Life all for $4.84/mo

www.000webhost.com
Best Free Hosting provider, 250 MB Space, 100 GB Bandwidth - $0.00/mo, no advertising

www.IXWebHosting.com
Value for Money: 100 GB Space, 1000 GB Bandwidth, Host 2 Domains, Free domain registration, all Just for $7.95/mo
Web Hosting Reviews and Ratings
Genny, 05th 2011 April, 2011
One of the worst online companies in business. My webmaster warned me about this company in terms of how very difficult it was for him to work with them to set up my account. I went with them anyway due to their advertised social responsibility. HUGE MISTAKE. Now I am in second round of disputeof $190 charge posted a second time to my credit card after I cancelled already and transferred account months ago. The number next to the credit card statement to contact the company is "nonfunctioning". There is no representative to talk to --all is online.
HORRIBLE BUSINESS
debbie, 05th 2010 October, 2010
I agree with much of what was posted regarding the problems and service. I will just add that they auto renewed my 2 year service and charged me without so much as an email beforehand. Their FAQ for "how to cancel service" appeared to apply to monthly billing service, not mine. They refuse to refund even the bulk of the 2 year charge even though it was cancelled within 2 days of the auto renew and even though the website has been down for months. Auto renewing a 2 year service without warning is dishonest and unreasonable.
Debbie, 05th 2010 October, 2010
I signed up and paid for 2 years. I stumbled through many problems with their customer service's online messages; they don't have a phone number. Their FAQ for "how to cancel service" was misleading; it appeared to apply only to monthly billing services, not 2 year pay in advance service. At the end of the 2 years, they auto-renewed for 2 more years and charged my card without warning. I cancelled within 2 days of the new service but they refuse to refund any of the charge. I feel their auto renew policy is unreasonable and dishonest. Is it so hard to send an email after 2 years before charging someone? Don't do business with them. They will waste your time and money.
Vicki, 26th 2010 June, 2010
Unethical business practices. I became an affiliate of Thinkhost because I liked their environmentally conscious mission statement. I sold hosting for them, and then they never paid me my commission. I wrote numerous times and never received a reply. Now I will be filing a complaint with the Attorney General's office.
bob, 11th 2009 December, 2009
Very bad and terrible support. I have had many problems from down time to no answers on support tickets. It is not unusual to never get a reply to a ticket! I cant do database backups because they cant figure out a problem on my server. I am moving my websites off asap.
Michael, 11th 2009 June, 2009
Just like the others I got ripped off. Signed up, never got a confirmation email with hosting instructions. Tried to contact to only get support who couldn't do anything. Send numerous emails to the "Sales" and now they are coming back undeliverable. I have put in numerous tickets with the promise they will call back and they never have. Am submitting a DOJ complaint, BBB complaint and disputing the charge. I have been robbed by "Socially Conscious" people.
Jonathan, 23rd 2009 May, 2009
I've been stumbling through my first year of my 2 year think host contract. They support team often answers by tickets with information that is totally irrelevant to my problem.

At first I had enormous problems with downtime. Then for a long time I wasn't able to add new domains. Now I can't set up any new email addresses or forwarding.

It seems like as long as I bombard them with complaints the major problems only take several annoying months to fix. In the mean time clients are frustrated and my hands are tied.

I would not recommend Thinkhost to anybody for any reason.
RG, 11th 2009 April, 2009
Downtime for thinkhost servers is too high. Although I experienced good service for the first year, the last six months, and particularly the last month, was horrible. I received notices from website monitoring services on a daily basis notifying me that the websites were not available. Although I notified Thinkhost, nothing was done to improve it. I received complaints from customers about returned emails and website not available, or pages too slow to load. While they didn't do anything to improve that, thus deteriorating their image, they caused me to look unprofessional towards my clients. This is unacceptable and showing lack of professionalism, tarnishing the image of green web providers.
egi squire, 08th 2009 April, 2009
one of thinkhost and goodavocado victim here
... very bad hosting
randal williams, 13th 2009 February, 2009
thinkhost think ponzi scam
horrible polished scam artists - they'll terms of service you to death until you get fed up trying to get a refund - horrible service - the bermuda triangle of customer care - lost or misdirected emails etc...
Christopher Parker, 28th 2009 January, 2009
My experience has generally been positive. I find myself liking their support team and they've been helpful and occasionally accommodating (willing once to suspend a memory limit overnight so I could dedupe a large contacts database). In my experiences they were knowledgeable and while I'm pleased they're a green company, it's never come up in the actual providing of the service, which seems good.

They are definitely not a scam operation. They do actually have a good reputation in the industry according to others I talked to.

My complaint is that it takes too long for support tickets to be answered. I just went back and looked over my tickets. 40% were answered within an hour (one in 10 minutes). One took three hours. Two took 5-6 hours. One was almost 24 hours later, one almost 48 hours later and today it's been 16 hours, during which my site has been down (I caused it, but now I need their help). I may have made these response times worse by updating my tickets while I was waiting. Perhaps their system bumped me back to the beginning of the que?
Harry, 18th 2008 October, 2008
I tried filing a complaint with the DOJ, but you need to be a US resident it appears. http://www.doj.state.or.us/finfraud/concompform.shtml
Summer, 30th 2008 September, 2008
DO NOT MAKE THE MISTAKE OF BUYING THIS COMPANY'S BULLSH*T! They are incompetent and absolutely do not care about their customers. Very much a "take the money and run" scam.
Mark, 15th 2008 August, 2008
I wish I had read all these comments before getting suckered. I signed up for two years, was working on their control panel, excited to add domain names, logged off and couldn't log back on. They sent me - can you believe it - an e-mail called "Thinkhost signup manual verification required" saying "Sorry for the inconvenience, but our accounting software has flagged your recent
order for manual verification." and Please complete the form and then fax it to us with a copy of a government -issued
photo identification and a copy of your credit card.

All the instructions and our fax number are available on the form.

We apologize for needing to ask you to do this, however as a security precaution,
we are required by our credit card processor to ask for this before we can charge
your card and activate your account. As soon as we receive the fax, we can process
your order as soon as possible." with a pdf attachment asking for images of my credit card and driver's license that I am supposed to fax to to Elko Nevada. Trouble is, they have already accessed my credit card. I have not been able to have any contact.
they are slime as far as I'm concerned.
I feel like such an idiot.
I am willing to file that - Duped. Thanks.
Duped, 16th 2008 July, 2008
Are you willing to file a consumer complaint with the Oregon State Department of Justice? I just did.

http://www.doj.state.or.us/finfraud/concompform.shtml
Mary, 16th 2008 July, 2008
Same problem as everyone else...paid 2 years up front, never received an email with my account information, I have sent 4 emails to them through their support system and have not received one reply back.

This is a scam!
Duped., 14th 2008 July, 2008
Have any of you considered contacting the Oregon Department of Justice Attorney General's Office and filing a complaint? http://www.doj.state.or.us/
Bob Richardson, 07th 2008 July, 2008
Do not choose this company! When I require support, I do not want to dealt with a make believe ticket system. I asked for their contact information including phone and mailing address to no avail. They simply state that all communication goes through their Mickey Mouse support ticket system. I am a Restoration Biologist, someone who actively helps restore degraded environments. I thought this would be great, to work with someone who "appears" to be like minded. Whatever. I requested my money back and they are refusing to do so. They are nothing but frauds as far as I am concerned.
Chuck, 25th 2008 June, 2008
Absolutely a waste of money. Steer clear. Nothing but problems.
Ian, 10th 2008 June, 2008
" I chose ThinkHost due to their ethical values of using 100% renewable resources. From the moment I registered for their service I have had nothing but problems.

To begin with, I did not receive my confirmation email which included passwords. This is when I first realized that in order to contact them, you need to open an online support ticket. They don't provide a phone number for you to reach them directly.

My webmaster had spent continuous hours trying to gain Ftp access but received numerous errors and could not login. In the 2 weeks of registering for their service, we have had approximately 10 login failures.

In the rare opportunity that our webmaster was able to login, he could not upload our site due to downtime... which we were not previously advised on as they claim they will do.

These issues have caused serious delays in creating our company's website which has resulted in a delay in business. I have spent too much time opening tickets for ThinkHost support and reading emails from my webmaster with all of the download errors they have received. Basically in the past two weeks, I have wasted too much valuable time away from my business in order to get nowhere.

I have attempted to exercise my right to their 120 Day Money Back Guarantee only to be given the run-around by Thinkhost stating the guarantee specifically excludes quality of their service. They have had the nerve to claim their guarantee is for Truth in Advertising. Little of which they understand the meaning of. I prepaid for 24 months of service but haven't even been able to get 2 weeks of service. Instead of being a stand up business and providing a refund, they offered 3 additional months service free. Isn't that amusing?

At this point, I really have to question if they have any ethical standards at all, non-the-less environmental standards. "
graham, 03rd 2008 June, 2008
I have been with Thinkhost one month and had nothing but problems - for the majority of the time I have not been able to access my website at all - it has cost my UK business hundreds of dollars. As has been said above - they advertise a 120 day money back guarantee but they tell me that the fact that
there is no hosting or it is down 90% of the time does not count. In the UK we have trading standards, the US equivalent should have them shut down. I have been robbed by them and it seems there is nothing I can do.
Tim, 30th 2008 May, 2008
Absolutely the worst web host I have ever had to deal with. I've been designing websites for over ten years and have never had so many problems from one host on what seems to be a daily basis.

They constantly have downtime, don't answer support tickets, if you can even send one. Or, if they do answer, they claim that all is well and that we should reboot our computer.

We've lost customers due to the incessant downtime, we've lost email and most of all, we've lost patience...
Harry, 26th 2008 May, 2008
Like most people I signed up my client with thinkhost because I valued their socially-conscious low carbon footprint web hosting. If I had known the problems that would ensue, I never would have paid them any money. My story is really quite simple. Due to some technical issue, I never received a welcome email detailing how I could access the control panel, and Dns transfer fields, etc. I sent them a support ticket, which was my first clue that trouble was brewing. At that time I also noticed a small message saying "sorry for the technical problems while we migrate our servers." (yikes, if I'd only seen that before!) Also, a comment on support-ticket systems; when a company does not provide any email or phone contact information, it is usually because they want a barrier between them and their customers behind which to hide. I'm not kidding about this, I recommend you Never do business with a company that uses only support-ticket systems for technical support. Anyway, I explained that my client couldn't wait for them to sort out their problems, and wanted to cancel the account. This was completely in accordance with their advertised money-back guarantee. After filling out the necessary online forms, I received an email saying that my account had been cancelled, sorry to see me go, etc. I could feel that something was wrong, so I kept track of my credit card statement online, and what do you know? They had cancelled my account without refunding my credit card. Keep in mind, I had never used their service for even a second, had quickly followed up in asking for a refund, had been polite, etc, etc. All this is moot anyway because they advertise a money-back guarantee. So again I sent another support-ticket, asking, quite assertively, for my credit card to be refunded. The email I received was the most bullying legalese I have ever experienced. They claimed that by paying them I had agreed to their contract (true), and that they would not refund my money at all. However the contract I had agreed to also stated a money-back guarantee. If you've ever been ripped off by a company like this before, you know the feeling. It's tantamount to be robbed on the street. You feel powerless and angry. This is how I feel now. Why would you want to risk doing business with this company? Why will they treat you any differently? A company which creates conflicting policies offering money-back guarantees in one paragraph and reserving the right to reject claims in another, is not a company dedicated to customer service, or social change.
Jackson, 13th 2008 May, 2008
Their technical staff's knowledge seems to be limited. They're also so focused on the "Green" that it gets in the way of getting the site launch.

Needs more of a business focus in their business plan.
Susan, 13th 2008 May, 2008
I found customer service to be rude and unfriendly.
jeff, 13th 2008 May, 2008
very dificult people to deal with.
Christie, 15th 2007 May, 2007
I used them for a bit and then decided to go to providerwebhosting.org because they were giving away free domain names. I may keep my account here as well though
Write Your Review
Your name

Your thinkhost.com review

Positive Negative





Do not miss - latest discount from thinkhost.com
Hosting24.com #1
000WebHost #2
IXWebHosting #3
EasyCGI #4
iPower #5
ICDSoft #6
HostGator #7
HostOny #8
BlueHost #9
LunarPages #10
Hosting Type
Disk Space MB
Bandwidth GB
Price $/mo
Links
Cheap Web Hosting Reviews
Top Web Hosting
Web Hosting Reviews
Vistainter.com is web hosting reviews directory. 2004 - 2010